Delaware County NY Genealogy and History Site

The History of Delaware County
W.W. MUNSELL 1797-1880


Electronic text by Patty Smith, NY, Steve McNeill, SC, and Richard Nesbitt, NY

Walton is one of the most important towns of Delaware county. It was the seventh formed, and the last before the erection of the county, in 1797. It was embraced in Franklin prior to that date, and was named from William Walton, who, in 1770, obtained a patent of twenty thousand acres of land extending from the Delaware river to the Susquehanna valley, within which the village and a portion of the town are embraced. The east line of the Walton patent meets the river near the present residence of Stephen Berray, running thence north 20_ west a distance of fifteen miles, thence down the Susquehanna valley to a line which, parallel with the first, will meet the Delaware river at the bend just above George Bradley's, below Joshua Pine's. Livingston's patent joins it on the east and Rapalje's on the west. Walton includes the entire southern portion of the Walton patent, a large portion of the Livingston and a small triangular part of the Rapalje, north of the river; while the Hardenberge patent includes that portion of the town south of the river, formerly in Ulster county.

The town is beautifully diversified with hills and valleys, is well watered and admirably fitted for grazing. It was, when first settled, heavily timbered with pine and some hemlock, which at an early day were rafted to Philadelphia in lumber or logs, constituting the all-absorbing industry from which the land debts and living expenses were paid.

The mountain east of the village of Walton received its name from the immense pines that covered its sides, and the entire valley of the village was a dense forest of the same. It was not until the clearings were made that the wealth of the territory developed itself, and the friends of the first settlers thronged in from the mother State--Connecticut. The town has many large brooks, including Townsend, East, West, Third and Pine, the valleys of which were equally rich in timber, as well as the towering hills between; but the best of it has been floated down the river by the rapacious lumbermen.

About fifty-five years ago the farmers commenced dairying, and Walton is in the front rank of towns in that interest in this or any other county. It gives employment to various mechanism, and utilizes some kinds of timber in which the town abounds. There are over three thousand cows in the town.

The river flows through the center of the town westerly, giving rich alluvial farms on either side, and along it and the creek bottoms the farm houses are built.

Walton was formed from Franklin February 17th, 1797, it being then the center of the great township of Franklin, Otsego county. When set off it comprised the territory of the present towns of Tompkins, Walton, and Hamden, with parts of Delhi and Masonville. The town meetings previous to this were held at Deacon Root's, on Strong Hill.

The territory embraced in the original township was bounded as follows: Beginning on the Delaware river at the upper line of the White patent, just above Delhi village, thence northerly on that line five miles; thence 60_ west until it met the "line of property" (now dividing Delaware and Broome counties); thence down that line to the Delaware river, and up the same to the point of beginning. These boundaries have been narrowed to their present limits by the erection of Delhi in 1798, of Tompkins in 1806, and Hamden in 1825; and during this time that portion of the town south of the river was transferred to Walton from Colchester. It contains over eighty square miles.

The first town meeting was held at the church of the "Union Society"-- a log church erected in 1791 on Mount Pleasant--on the 4th of April, 1797; but as many names mentioned among the first officers afterward belonged to Delhi, it will be well to remember that Walton included the Delhi settlement that year only. The following officers were elected for the town: Robert North, supervisor; David St. John, town clerk; Levi Baxter, Sellick St. John and Thomas Dennis, assessors; Samuel Frisbee, Azel Hyde and Thaddeus Hoyt, commissioners of highways; James Howard, collector and constable; Wait Cannon and Samuel Johnson, jr., constables; Benajah McCall and Thaddeus Hoyt, overseers of the poor; John Hulce, Daniel Pine, Joseph Cannon, Jonas Parks, Joseph Crawford, Michael Goodrich, David Smith, William Townsend, Jared Hoyt, Samuel Frisbee, Jacob Platner, Samuel Johnson, Charles Marsh, Ephraim Beers and Robert Curtis, overseers of highways or pathmasters; William Cornell, Samuel Frisbee, James Durfee, John Eells and James Howard, fence viewers; and Azel Hyde and Isaac Darrow were appointed to adjust any accounts between Walton and the mother town, Franklin. At that early day the justices of the peace were appointed, and Gabriel North and William Townsend were so appointed and acted.

In 1798 Joshua Pine, jr., and Thomas Dennis were appointed to run the line between Walton and Delhi, which latter town then held its own town meeting.

The supervisors since the organization have been as follows: Robert North, 1797-1804; David St. John, 1805-08, 1812, 1816-22, 1826; John Eells, 1809, 1810; Gabriel North, 1811, 1814; Isaac Ogden, 1813; Bennett Beardsley, 1815; William Townsend, 1823-25; Thomas Marvine, 1827, 1829, 1831; Alan Mead, 1829, 1830; Samuel Eells, jr., 1832, 1833-35; Jetur Gardner, 1836-38; John Townsend, 1837-42, 1846, 1847; Abraham Ogden, 1843; John Mead, 1844, 1858, 1866-68; David Moore, 1845; Gabriel S. Mead, 1848-54; Gabriel S. North, 1855-57; Benjamin J. Bassett, 1859-62; J. B. Eells, 1863-65; C. B. Wade, 1869; M. W. Marvine, 1870-75; A. D. Peake, 1876; George C. Meade, 1877-79.

At a special town meeting in 1846, 196 votes were cast against licenses to sell liquor, to 82 for license.

A special town meeting was held December 29th, 1863, at which it was voted to pay $300 for each and every volunteer for the civil war, and this amount was made $500 later.

Justices have been elected as follows: Walter Hanford, 1831; Robert North, jr., 1831; Bennett Beardsley, 1832, 1836; Thomas Marvin, 1833, 1834, 1840, 1844, 1848, 1852, 1856, 1860, 1864; Thaddeus St. John, 1834, 1838; Thomas Noble, 1835; Isaac Ogden, 1836; Abraham Ogden, 1837, 1841, 1845, 1849, 1853; William Gay, 1839; Platt Townsend, 1842, 1846, 1850, 1854; Darius Seely, 1852; Smith H. White, 1854, 1855, 1861, 1862, 1866, 1870; L. S. Steele, 1855, 1859, 1863, 1868, 1872; Russell M. Gallup, 1857; Gabriel S. Mead, 1858; John M. Lyon, 1861, 1865, 1869, 1875, 1877; Seymour Seely, 1867; Samuel E. Benedict, 1870, 1871; L. Marvin, 1871, 1875, 1878; J. M. Raymond, 1872; W. P. More, 1873; A. L. Hoyt, 1875; George St. John, 1876; W. F. Randall, 1879.

During the early settlement great care was taken to shield domestic animals from the wild beasts, and as late as 1850 the town paid bounties for the scalps of carnivorous animals. A bear story of 1830 certainly will show that the great hills and rocks of the town were very fitting places of abode, to say nothing of the fattlings of the pen and field being very fitting for improving bruin's condition before his winter nap. In the autumn of 1830, after the first light snow fall of the season, as Ambrose and Whiting Beebe one morning were going up the hillside north of East brook after wood, they crossed the track of a bear that had, too plainly for his own safety, left behind impressive evidence of his dimensions. The alarm was given, and these men, accompanied by a mixed multitude from that neighborhood and the village, each armed with a gun or some weapon of defence (sic), tracked the monster to some ledges of rocks in the hill, just north of where Butler Howland now lives, among which the animal succeeded in finding a seeming place of security. But the fearless followers, remembering his depredations, at once cut away the bushes that shielded him from sight, and had him at their mercy. His bearship made three attempts to run out and away, and on the last was shot quite dead by Allen Eells; but the bear was doomed to several sure deaths, for five men deliberately shot him after he was dead, and thereby injured his hide. The bear weighed four hundred and fifty-six pounds, as several reliable citizens of this day attest, and the large gathering of hunters were compelled to work lustily to drag him with ropes to the foot of the hill. Many of the good people assured the historian that when the monster was rolled into the box of a one-horse wagon he completely filled it. He was carted about until public curiosity was gratified, and after being dressed was divided up among the lovers of bear meat. The skin was sold to Major Gardner for $10. At the present time small game abounds, and the numerous brooks of the town furnish trout so that the seekers find profit and pleasure.

The early settlement and various industries will be as fully set forth as possible in the succeeding pages, but before passing to the different heads, Walton deserves a special mention for the sacrifices and teachings of the early settlers, by which the present high standard of culture and religion has been in a measure attained. Its earliest settlers were men who had risked life and limb for an overtaxed and oppressed country, and who came here with full reliance upon that God who had supported them in all trials, and for freedom in whose worship their ancestors had cast themselves upon the unknown Atlantic in the cabin of the "Mayflower" to establish the New World. These descendants, soon after they had erected comfortable log cabins in this wilderness, while enduring innumerable hardships from toil and poverty, congregated in 1791 and rolled together logs for a place of worship, which, through successive and better edifices, has developed into six beautiful churches, with large congregations at this writing; and their tall spires, with musical bells, contrast strangely with the tall pines and their dismal sighing of long ago. Many of the descendants fill the honorable places of to-day, at home and abroad--the direct result of the toil and public spirit of their ancestors; and in proof of their early wisdom we will mention the public library, of which but few know, and an enterprise of which the young should be informed. In 1802 a library was established for the benefit of the few pioneers and their families, among whom we find the Norths, Townsends, St. Johns, Stocktons, Raymonds, Eellses, Fitches, Pines, Meads, Gays, Ogdens, Griswolds, Whitmarshes, Goodriches and others. They took shares to the number of near fifty at $2 per share, and suitable and valuable books were purchased. In 1809 a large addition of names and stock was made, and the "Walton Library" was incorporated under a general and wise act of Legislature. Its meetings were kept up, and by assessments and fines the number of volumes increased to six hundred and fifty-eight--a large and valuable collection. For fifty years did these earnest men keep the library in active circulation, and not until the dawn of a newspaper millenium (sic) and adequate postal facilities was it divided by lot among its members--January 27th, 1852.


The first settlement of Walton is due to the energy and perseverance of five families--in all twenty souls--and Dr. Platt Townsend was the prime mover. In 1784 Dr. Townsend agreed with William Walton for a tract of five thousand acres from the south end of his patent, for which he was to survey into lots the entire tract at a stipulated price, and pay for the residue in current money. He paid for seventeen hundred acres by his work. He was to have as much hill land as level, to be taken along the river, and a line was run half a mile from the river, commencing on the lower line of the patent, following the river as near as possible, taking in the whole of the present corporation of Walton village, to the upper or east line of the patent, above Mount Pleasant, thence over Pine Hill to the river near Stephen Berray's. From this tract Townsend sold to the Norths and Pines. In March, 1785, Dr. Townsend, his sons William and Isaac, Robert North, his wife and infant son Benjamin, Gabriel North, his wife and his daughters Hannah and Deborah, William Furman, his wife and two children, and Joshua Pine, his sons John, Joshua and Daniel, and daughters Nellie and Mollie, left Long Island for a settlement in this wilderness, coming up the Hudson in a sloop to Kingston Point. The women and children were left at Marbletown. The men traveled on snow shoes, as they best could, over the Colchester mountain--near where the present road is laid--and upon their arrival found a log hut near the mouth of East brook, upon the premises owned by James Launt, which gave them shelter. This hut had been rolled together by some timber pirates from down the river, who, in 1784, had cut and rafted a large quantity of spars from Pine Hill, near by. This enterprising party of pioneers at once set about preparing for a corn crop and habitations for those left behind, and in autumn returned to conduct their families to their future homes. On the return they came up the Esopus creek to Shandaken, cut a road over Pine Hill down the east branch of Colchester, and over the mountain to Walton. It is said that the most of the goods were transported by the young men of the party in canoes down the east branch and up the west to the site of Walton village; but all accounts agree that Mrs. Robert North came on horseback, with her child in her arms and her bed and furniture lashed behind, and was the first white woman upon this soil as a resident. The Norths purchased a farm from the river northward, of which the present North street, in Walton village, was the west boundary. Robert North built a log house where Mrs. North now resides, and Gabriel North built where Benjamin Bassett lives, on Delaware street. Dr. Townsend and sons lived in the hut mentioned as having been found here, and in the spring of 1786 built a very imposing log house on the bank opposite the present residence of Mrs. Townsend, Delaware street. Joshua Pine concluded to take that part down the river, where that family has since resided, and at once built a substantial log residence where Mr. Graham lives; this was opposite the residence of the present Joshua Pine, which was erected in 1799 by Joshua Pine, jr., his father. We have been as explicit and correct as possible in this statement of these, the first settlers, and can only find room for the dates and places of settlement for those who followed. many of these are given under "Prominent Localities." It must not be forgotten that the site of the Walton village corporation was then and for many years after a dense pine forest, and rather a low, wet place, including as it does the mouths of three important brooks--East, West and Third. Robert North settled up near Mt. Pleasant, Gabriel North on the higher land, where Mr. Bassett lives, Mr. Pine down the rivers, and Dr. Townsend was located on the bank, as has been stated, and for years the settlers chose other lands than those between the brooks mentioned.

In 1786 Major John Pine and Daniel Pine settled near Joshua Pine. It is said that they came on foot, and Daniel brought a crowbar from Kingston, on his shoulder.

In the same year Charles W. Stockton, father of Dr. Stockton, purchased one thousand four hundred acres on the south side of and adjacent to the river, and built his cabin where the palatial residence of S. H. St. John, his grandson, now stands, on Stockton avenue. Richard Gosling came with him and settled where Dr Doig's farm is.

In 1787 Michael Goodrich came, and soon after built the first grist-mill of the town, where E. P. Howland's mill now is. Elnathan and Elizah soon followed.

Seth Berray (real name Johnson) came in 1787, and settled where Arbuckle lives, opposite the Bassett farm. Five of his children yet survive: Stephen, Edward, William, Emmett and Mrs. H. E. St. John.

Samuel Beebe and his son came in 1788, and settled where Mr. McDonald lives.

Samuel Towsley, Rogers Case and Francis Tilkin came the same year, and settled the Bassett farm.

Ezra Benedict settled the farm where Cyrus St. John lives, in 1790.

Quartus Merrick came in 1792, and settled on the Breesack farm.

Nathaniel Steele settled the place where E. R. Howland lives, in 1795.

Azel Hyde settled in 1787 where J. Smith now lives, and Alex. Bryant where Albert Eells resides.

In 1795 and 1796 William White settled where Mr. Doig lives, King Mead where John Delamater and Mr. Ellis reside, and the orchard he planted is still in use; the seeds were taken from apple pumice in Connecticut. William Andrews settled a portion of the farm of John Delamater; his remains still there.

Michael Goodrich, jr., in 1797 settled the J. Henderson farm.

Jesse and Harmon Sawyer came in 1795, and made their clearing on the farm of David McDonald.

In 1802 we find a few others along East brook -- Peter Merritt, Uriah Hanford, William Fitch, Joseph Adams, John Heath, Isaac Hathaway, Calvin Rogers and others.

On West brook the first settler we find after leaving point of the hill is Alan Mead, whom came in 1791, at the age of seventeen, with John Eells. They settled on the road beyond where it turns to the left by Mr. Pierson's -- that being the only road then, the one by Mr. Bodine's being a recent one. Mr. Mead is mentioned elsewhere; several children survive him -- John Mead, Mary A Breesack, Gabriel S. Mead, Elizabeth McLaurey, Andrew J. Mead, Adaline S. Mead, Edward B. Mead and Frances North.

John Eells, who settled on the West Brook road, or on "the hill," as it was called, in 1791, had a large number of descendants; but his only child living is Mrs. Mary Griswold, of Delhi. Reference is had to Mr. Eells under other titles.

In 1791 Judd Raymond settled where Mr. Thompson lives, and Nathan Kellogg settled Mr. Elliot's farm.

Silas and Shubal Johnson settled about 1792 on the farms now owned by the Kilpatricks; Henry Wilton, in 1793, where Mr. Harby lives.

Jacob Keeler and John Cowen in 1795 settled on the Townsend (now Ogden) farm, and D. Ogden was there in 1802.

Charles and Isaiah Marsh settled in 1795 settled in 1795 on the Miller farm.

Solomon Johnson settled the Tweedie farm in 1796.

Peter Atwell settled the Fitch farm in 1796.

Josiah Cleveland and his son of the same name settled just beyond in 1797.

In 1795 Daniel Root settled upon a farm now owned by Waters and the Brazees, which was then called Strong hill from a prior pioneer.

Casper Freer in 1799 came to "Freer Hollow."

Nathaniel Fitch, as did nearly all of the first settlers of Walton, came from New Canaan, Conn. He settled on Fitch hill, where Mrs. Signor now lives; he came in 1798.

Asa Fitch came in 1803, and built a farm house near where W. L. St. John now lives.

Ezra Fitch came in 1804, and settled on the hill where Mr. Jamison lives; he worked with Alan Mead.

Benjamin Lake and John Campbell were here in 1798, down below Dr. Townsend's. James Howard, James Crary, Thomas Raymond, Robert Freeman, Frederick Leonard, Lewis Seymour, John T. St. John, Lewis Raymond, Jared Hoyt, Captain Joy and Benajah McCall were settlers here between 1797 and 1802, and were living between the mouth of East brook and the then Delhi line, on the northwest side of the river.

D. Ogden came in 1802 from Morristown, N.J., but Isaac, Jacob, Abraham and William cam in 1797.


William was a physician in 1807. Isaac and Abraham purchased a tract adjoining the east line of the Walton tract, and erected mills. There are living now of D. Ogden's children, James and Thomas; of Abraham's, Mrs. Emily Wheeler, Caroline McKaig and Mahlon D. Ogden; and of Isaac Ogden's, J. Newton Ogden. Thomas W. Griswold settled next above the Ogdens in 1797; his son, White Griswold, still survives.

In 1802 we find on the southeast side of the river; Ephraim Warring, the Weeds, Nehemiah Richards, Matthew Marvin (whose son, Deacon Thomas W. Marvin, still survives), Asa Rogers and Robert Furman, down to the present corporation of the village. Then there lived on the Stockton flats Thomas B. and Samuel Whitmarsh. A portion of these came between 1797 and 1800.

There were some settlers in the latter part of 1802, and for a few years after, who contributed largely to the growth of Walton. We give them as far as possible:

Cook St. John came in 1802, and settled on the Jamison place, three miles of East brook, purchasing two hundred acres, of which his brother Peter took one-half when he came to Walton in 1803. T. S. St. John is the only surviving child of Cook St. John, Cyrus, Ephraim, Amos and Isaac yet survive Peter.

Everett Gould settled on Mount Pleasant and opened the harness business in 1810.

Asahel Steele came in 1803, and first settled near Nathaniel Steele's, on East brook. George C. and Lewis S. Steele are his only surviving children.

Archibald Bassett came in 1808, and occupied the Fitch house; he was the first installed pastor of the Congregational church. Hon. Benjamin J. Bassett and Mrs. Hoyt, his children, survive him.

William Gay, father of D. H. Gay, Esq., and Thaddeus Seymour came early in 1803; Benjamin W. North came later; they were early teachers in the village school.

Samuel Eells came in 1810, and settled on the "turnpike," where Buckley lives. Mrs. T. S. St. John, Mrs. Mary A. Jones and Mrs. D. Adams, his daughters, are now living.

"Uncle Billy Dyer" came here in 1802; he worked for Isaac Townsend for many years. We especially mention Mr. Dyer and his death, which occurred June 17th, 1879, because to him we are largely indebted for information of old settlers, and about the first of May he could and did give an exact account of where they all lived in the year 1802. His age was ninety-seven years.

William Seymour settled here in 1803, and opened a tailor shop on "Mount Pleasant," opposite Mr. Pierson's.

Jacob Eells came in 1807. He first lived where E. B. Howland now does, and had a lathe and carpenter shop where Mr. Breesack lives.

Samuel Seymour came from New Canaan, Conn., in 1803, settling on a portion of the farm now owned by James Arbuckle, three miles up East brook. His children, Andrew Seymour and Mrs. Thaddeus Hoyt, survive him.

Lewis Seymour also came in 1803, and settled where James Chrisman now lives, on Delaware street, Walton.

Jared and Amasa Hoyt came in 1803, and settled "on the mountain." From the four brothers who located in Walton has sprung a numerous progeny.

Simeon Howell came to Walton in 1824, and was a resident on the farm where E. More resides.


The first marriage was that of Seth Berray and Anna Goodrich, daughter of Michael Goodrich, which occurred in 1790; Dr. Townsend performed the ceremony.

Samuel North, son of Robert North, was the first child born in the settlement; the date was February 9th, 1787. It is said that William Walton offered one hundred acres to the first male child if it should bear his name. But Mrs. North, woman-like, had her own way, and Samuel was chosen.

The first frame house is a matter of some uncertainty among the present old residents. Some say Gabriel North built the first about 1788, where Hon. B. J. Bassett resides, and others that Robert North built his first, where Mrs. North now resides. From the evidence in the case the former seems to have the preference. The oldest in existence is the "North homestead," on North street, Walton village. It was built by Captain North, in 1799. It is occupied at this writing my Mrs. Mary North and her four surviving daughters. Mrs. North is the widow of Robert North, jr.

The first good bridge was put across where Weed's bridge is, in 1796. In 1805 Linus Warring built a bridge across the river opposite the house of B. J. Bassett. After some years it fell upon a raft which ran against it, and no other was built there; the present one below took its place.


The earliest settlers knew but little about the outside world for several years, except by the frequent visits of some of them to Schoharie, or other counties, to get a small grist ground, in which case the news-bearer became on his return the center of the settlement. Occasionally a newspaper from Ulster found its way here, and in 1800 a regular weekly mail route was established between Kingston and Jericho (now Bainbridge, just north of Walton, in Chenango county). This was a portion of the same route mentioned in the Delhi history, and Jabez Bostwick was its proprietor. He continued to run the same, personally and by an employee, until 1814, when Henry and Philip Odell sub-leased that part between Delhi and Jericho. This early mail service was faithfully performed by Mr. Bostwick, bringing New York and eastern mail on Friday and the mail from the west on Saturday evening. The post-office was usually at Gabriel North's or Jetur Gardner's, on Delaware street, in olden times. This route in 1820 was leased to Harry P. and Edward Chase; in 1828 to Ephraim Hunting, Peter J. Lamb and William Chase; and afterward Daniel A. Mapes took the route, and through coaches--the first ever seen in Walton--were put on. This was between 1822 and 1824. other routes for Walton and the people of the county were established as fast as the growth demanded. In 1820 the Catskill and Binghamton route through Walton was opened by Nathaniel Steele, of Delhi, and it continued for many years. We learn of mail routes from Unadilla and Franklin as early as 1820 through here to Delhi. A mail route between Delhi and Deposit--part of the Catskill route--was opened in 1824, and G. H. and Henry Edgerton, of Delhi, were the contractors, and were the stage proprietors for the line up to 1830, inclusive. This route was kept up until the plank road in 1850 turned the mail and stage route from Delhi to Hancock, when Walton, by direct communication with the Erie, which had previously been completed, was blessed with a daily mail. This mail and stage line was the "Appian way" of the county for years. It is said that it was not uncommon to see six great coaches, filled inside and out, start over the route in one continuous line--equaling in pleasure and profit, as well as grandeur, any of the steam-horse lines of to-day! This state of affairs ceased on the completion of the Midland road, and since 1872 daily mails from the east, west and south are received by rail. The only stage route in the town is the line with mail between North Hamden and Walton on Saturday of each week. This town has two other post-offices, in the north part, the New Road post-office, and West Brook. The New Road, or North Walton mail, is carried to the "zig-zag" each night and one received there, and the West Brook is carried to the village Tuesdays and Saturdays and one returned. It is quite impossible to give the line of postmasters; but L. Marvin is now in the Walton post-office, G. E. St. John at North Walton, and Mr. Brazee at the West Brook office.


We might mention several mountains as "prominent localities," but the more favored localities have been made prominent by their early settlement, and the intelligence of the people and fertility of the soil at the present writing.

"Dunk Hill" is, of the uplands, the richest part of the town. In 1789 Matthew Benedict, Thaddeus Hoyt, Seymour and Lindel Fitch and Silas Benedict came on foot from New Canaan, Conn., and wisely chose this spot. That season they erected cabins, cleared a patch, put in a crop and in the fall returned to Connecticut. In the spring of 1790 they brought on their families. Thaddeus Hoyt had to make shoes in the families of Messrs. Pine, North, and others, and did not get away until Christmas. Mr. Benedict settled on the land now owned by A. L. and E. Hoyt; Thaddeus Hoyt, above, where William L. Hanford owns; Seymour Fitch where Mrs. Hanford lives, Lindel Fitch where Mr. Levi Hanford and Mr. Olmstead live, and Silas Benedict where A. Tweedie now owns. Here they made the beautiful farms of the present owners. The same year, 1790, these pioneers instituted prayer and social meetings that are still enjoyed by the good people there. The name "Dunk Hill" attached itself through a laughable blunder. Silas Benedict in that early time went down on East brook to Azel Hyde's to get some seed potatoes, a new kind, called "Bunkers." But he twisted his tongue to saying "Dunkers" when he addressed Mr. Hyde, and Mr. Hyde called the people of the hill "Dunkers," and the place "Dunk Hill," which name has followed it to the present, although "On-the Mountain" is the more fashionable name. Others from Connecticut followed their friends and settled along up the road in the following order: In 1793, David and Billy Benedict near Fred Hoyt's and Simeon Hoyt next to where Tweedie lives; in 1795, next to him Sellick and David St. John, David Smith and Samuel Hanford, and later Seely Hanford. Settlements above were all of more recent date.

"The Den," so called from its cage-like appearance--surrounded on all sides by mountains--and then a favorite resort for wild animals, still bears the name. It is down river, adjoining Tompkins. In 1788 Ephraim Beers and Joseph Cable settled here, having visited the place the year before. Mr. Beers opened a blacksmith shop soon after. In 1792 Jonathan Barlow settled where John Q. Barlow lives, and before 1800 Epaphras Wakeman, John Jones, David Robinson, Daniel Nichols, John Demun (where George W. Beers lives), Luther Gould, James and Stephen Wakeman and Jeremiah Alverson had settled along the beautiful valley. We said it abounded with wild animals, and an incident proving it will bear repeating. In 1800 John Barlow, while making fence near the house, heard his pig squeal, and went to his assistance. A huge bear had him by the head dragging him away. Mr. Barlow seized the pig at the other end, and he and the bear played at pulling and scratching until the hired man came and shot the thief. The "Den" should, and soon will, be called South Walton.

Little York is a hamlet of one store, two small churches and one school-house, and is surrounded by good farmers. It is near the Tompkins line, in the northwest part of the town. It is on Loomis brook, so named from the first settler, Daniel Loomis, who purchased a farm about 1800. Mr. Loomis had a contract to build or keep in repair a part of the old Esopus turnpike, which induced him to settle there. The Hendersons and others settled a few years afterward. Stated preaching is kept up in both of the churches by ministers from Walton village.

North Walton, formerly New Road, is a very rich portion of the town, and the hamlet has a good store, a post-office, two blacksmith shops, a harness shop, a good church and parsonage, and is surrounded by an excellent and well-settled farming section. The church, with the one at West Brook--both Congregational--support a minister, as shown by the church history. North Walton was early settled by people from New Canaan, Conn. In 1795 Joseph Wood, Sylvanus Seeley and Jonathan Weed brought on their families, after having been there to look over the land. Mr. Wood settled near where Gabriel N. Benedict lives, William Seeley where Edward Benedict lives, and Mr. Weed on the knoll where Mr. Gasper and Miss Seeley live. It was called New Road from the fact that it was an unbroken wilderness in 1795, and soon afterward a road was cut through to the West Brook road; in fact it was quite a departure from the "settlement," and readily took that name. Before 1800 Samuel Johnson settled where Mr. Wright lives, by the "trestle," and set out the orchard now to be seen there; Moses Hanford settled where Mr. Honeywell lives; Josiah Cleveland where Potter lives; Caleb Benedict on the Anson White place; James Benedict on the Rogers farm--all of which are between the first settlers and West Brook. A few years ago the name of the post-office was changed to North Walton.

Weed's Bridge is about three miles above Walton village, and has filled a very important niche in the town's history. It was called by this name from James Weed, who settled where Mr. Bromley lives in 1788. Before 1800 this bridge was built; it was the connecting link between Ulster and Otsego counties, and over it the Kingston mail route ran. The north side of the river became quite famous in early days by having a store, masonic lodge, hotel and a high state of civilization. It is said that Mr. Thomas W. Griswold, Mr. Elias Butler and others held out every inducement that the village of Walton might be located there. We find Elias Butler engaged in a good hotel and store there in 1799. There was a flourishing masonic lodge, and just below were the fulling mills of Abraham and Isaac Ogden, and extensive mills of Thomas W. Griswold. Then the beauty of location and activity of the citizens rendered it a noted spot. It was while the lodge was in operation that the schoolmaster named Tanner, mentioned by Jay Gould in his history of Delaware county, was so anxious to become a mason, and a farcical duel occurred. Some of the young men of the town appointed a night to initiate Tanner, and gave him an introduction into the mystic rites and stern realities of something--not masonry--dubbing it "Croppy Lodge." The next day Isaac Townsend accosted Tanner with, "How are you, brother Croppy?" and was at once challenged for a duel. The spot chosen was on the Townsend lot, that beautiful spot east of and adjoining Mr. McLaury's residence, about two miles up the river from Walton village. The seconds and spectators understood the joke, and when Mr. Townsend threw up his arms with an agonizing cry, they gathered around him, which gave Tanner the opportunity to flee. It is said that Tanner ran to Thomas W. Griswold's, where he boarded, called for his clothes, hastened across the river and took to the woods and mountains. It is certain that no one has ever heard of him since, nor do they know that the murderer was ever conscious of this second joke. Doubtless he has long ago been cut down in the duel with time, whose weapons are are unerring, and from whose aim there is no escape. This was in 1805 or 1806, according to our best information. At present the only remains of the past at Weed's Bridge are the banks that mark the site of the Ogden and Griswold mills, the bare cellar walls or chimneys of the old dwellings, and a portion of the old masonic hall, which Mr. Terry, near the Colchester depot, has still in use. The charter of the lodge was forfeited in the Morgan excitement, and the building was continued as a tavern as late as 1831; T. Seymour St. John was the landlord during the last three years. This was a favored spot for "old taverns," for Thomas W. Griswold and General Elias Butler both had license to sell spiritous (sic) liquors as early as 1798. It is now of no more significance than any of the farming districts along the valley of the Delaware.

The facts of the early prominence of East Brook and Mt. Pleasant will be very naturally obtained by a close perusal of the list of early settlers and the industries as they are mentioned through the history of the town.



The first settlers made their own cloths, and the spinning wheel and youngest child were the usual accompaniment of the industrious housewife when on a visit to the neighbors; but very early a carding machine was put in the saw-mill of the Ogdens, above Walton village. In 1800 Isaac and William Ogden erected a fulling-mill near where Stephen Berray lives, and a Mr. Leonard was employed to work it. About 1807 Mr. Townsend erected the second one, where the grist-mill is, near the village of Walton, and about the same time Quartus Merrick started one up East brook, on the brook that is opposite Cyrus St. John's. The last was abandoned in a few years, but the others were employed until the larger manufactories could better supply the wants of the people. In the administration of President Monroe the mills above mentioned received medals from the government for the best cloths.

Judd Raymond was the first regular carpenter, and worked by the "scribe rule" several years. He settled in 1792 on the farm north of Squire Eells's--now owned by Thompson. he was followed by Thomas Dennis and Mr. Sweezer in 1795, who also worked by the "scribe rule". George Dennis came in 1804 and the "square rule" work was soon instituted. Benjamin B. Eells, a son of John Eells, was the first to learn, and in 1805, when only eighteen years of age, he framed and raised the first barn by that rule; it was on Mt. Pleasant, and people assembled from far and near to see the lad's failure, but their pleasure and astonishment were unbounded on seeing the great improvements of the age. The town has now scores of good workmen.

If distilleries can properly be called "industries" they need to be mentioned here. Indeed, they resulted in great industry, for Delaware county produced nineteen thousand gallons of whiskey in the year 1810, and none of it went out of the county. As early as 1795 John Eells established a distillery on the hill where John Smith resides; later, Fletcher Gardner erected one further up, on East brook; and about 1819 Sellick St. John instituted the third and last on East brook, where John H. Nichols resides; all these were discontinued before 1830.

In 1787 Ephraim Beers started a blacksmith shop in the "Den," but the first shop we find in Walton village proper of that day was built by Nathaniel Fitch, on what is now known as "Fitch hill," where Mrs. Signor now lives. This was continued many years by father and son, until the village had assumed formidable proportions on its present site, and had other shops. We also learn that Isaac Darrow kept a shop in 1790, and before that of the Fitches. Mr. Darrow was located near where W. L. St. John now resides, and Samuel Towsley had a shop on the Bassett farm, East brook, in 1806.

Prior to 1810 John and Nathaniel Steele kept a harness shop where S. B. Fitch & Co.'s store now stands, and later Everett Guild carried the business on very successfully, on the spot now occupied by Guild's store. Alan Mead had the first shoe shop--on the hill--before 1800, in connection with his tannery. These common and useful industries were increased by the growth of the town, and to give the succeeding list is useless.

Hand weaving for early settlers was carried on by themselves, but the first regular place of business we hear of, was Seth Hanford's, who came here in 1814, settled on West brook, and opened a business where Mr. Thompson lives.

Ansel Hoyt carried on the business of a hatter in 1810 on the E. B. Howland place, on East brook. He was engaged in making hats for some years, and alone could average about three hundred and fifty per year.

The manufacturer of potash was an enterprise commenced soon after 1800. Quartus Merrick had an ashery prior to 1810 on East brook, on the farm now owned by John A. Breesack. About 1816 Peter St. John purchased it, and the business was moved to his farm, now that of P. Arbuckle. This ashery was discontinued about 1823. In 1836 Niles Berray established another over near the present depot, and still later an extensive ashery was in operation near where the present baby carriage factory stands, and was owned and run by William Ogden and Harry Smith.

The community hereabouts was supplied with good brick of home make by a company on East brook, on the farm of James Patterson. As early as 1805 we find the company busily employed in a substantial brick kiln; who resided on the Cyrus St. John farm on East brook, commenced the manufacture of brick; and in 1830 Samuel Beebe started a kiln where R. D. McDonald lives. These were of short duration, and about 1834 Cyrus and Ephraim St. John commenced the business with renewed vigor, and it was continued by Andrew Steele until about 1860. About the same time W. W. Marvin and George W. Robinson made brick where E. Dan lives. Of late years a good quality of brick has been made by Smith Wakeman in the "Den," below the village.

The mechanics generally repaired wagons and sleds, and no regular wagon shop was opened until about 1818, when one was established on Mt. Pleasant, where the village was mainly situated. Samuel Eells and Horace Griswold were the proprietors, and this first shop was on Butler Howland's premises, or near there. They kept up the business for many years, and were succeeded by Thomas E. Marvin for some years. Myron Warring and William Mallory worked at it about two years in the village. For many years past J. B. Eells has carried on the business, having bought out Mr. Marvin in 1843, and moved to North street, on the spot once occupied by the Steele tannery. For a few years Mr. Hanford was associated with him, and now his sons are engaged in the copartnership. Mr. Lyon also has a manufactory in the village.

Planing-mills are of late date. The first was built in 1859, by J. D. Crisman, who sold to J. M. Lyon & Co. in 1864; it is on East brook, in the village of Walton.

The mills of the early settlers were very primitive. The mortar and pestle often cracked the wheat or corn, but for regular grinding for the first few years a small grist was taken upon the back and the tramp was made up the river to Schoharie or Rose's brook. In 1792, according to our best information (some of our informants give a later date, but wishing to assist the early pioneers in their struggle to live, we shorten the time they were without a grist-mill as much as possible), the ingenious Michael Goodrich built the first grist-mill, on the site now occupied by E. P. Howland's mill on East brook--on the north side. The increasing demand for grinding induced Thomas W. Griswold to build the second on the north side of the river, on his land, two and a half miles from Walton village. These, of course, were crude affairs, with one run of stones. In 1802 Daniel Robinson built the third, on the farm where Mrs. Beers lives, in the "Den"; and in 1806 William and Isaac Townsend built the fourth and last, which is still in existence and owned by Mr. McLean, just above the village, on the river side. The trouble these enterprising men had in bringing suitable mill stones by carts and canoes is another evidence of their great perseverance.

Several of the first settlers had each a vat and rude contrivances by which hides were tanned or cured for use; we find that Mr. Stockton, Mr. Pine and others had such very early. In 1803 Nathaniel Steele opened a full-fledged tannery on East brook, on the E. R. Howland farm. Very soon after 1803 Alan Mead opened a still larger one on "Mt. Pleasant," below the Franklin road. Ezra Fitch assisted him in the work. In 1810 John and Nathaniel Steele, jr., erected a large tannery on the corner of Delaware and North streets, where the brick block and carriage factory now stand. Alan Mead afterward purchased the Steele tannery and abandoned the one on the hill. In those institutions the grinding of bark was done by a huge stone, four feet in diameter, from the center of which a lever extended, by which the stone was driven around a smooth floor; the regular bark-mill was introduced into Mr. Mead's tannery in 1815. John and G. S. Mead, having learned the trade of their father, built an extensive tannery on West brook in 1842, which was burned in 1857. In 1858 they rebuilt, and it passed to the firm of Mead, North & Co. in 1863, who carried on the business until 1871, when Tobey & Warner, the present proprietors, purchased it.

In olden times the hospitality of the settlers would constitute nearly every cabin of any size a home for newcomers and travelers, but they could not be called taverns, for no pay for this hospitality was taken. The first "tavern" was kept by John Eells, on Mount Pleasant, on the Franklin road; he opened it soon after his settlement, in 1791. In 1797 Thomas W. Griswold and Elias Butler opened taverns on the Kingston road, near Weed's Bridge and below. In 1799 Judd Raymond opened still another, where Joseph Pierson resides, on the corner.


The reader will be interested in the steady increase of the value of property in the town, and of its population, and in the following statistics of taxation. In 1799 there were taxable inhabitants in the limits of the town, and they had to pay a tax of about $49.17, on a valuation of about $15,000, population 450. In 815 there were 190 taxable inhabitants in a population of about 1,000. The aggregate assessment was $186,256; taxes 32 cents per $100. In 1830 there was 256 taxable inhabitants; the population was about 1,300; the aggregate assessment $134,876; the tax 471/2 cents upon $100. In 1845 there were 379 people taxed in a population of nearly 2,000; assessment $195,250, tax 64 cents to $100. In 1860 there were 550 taxable inhabitants; population, 2,740; assessment, $541,340; tax, 74 cents to $100.

The highest taxation was in 1865, when on an aggregate assessment of $584,200 the taxes were $6.26 to $100, or 61/4 per cent.

The steady increase of population in the town is exhibited by the annexed census returns for the last forty-five years:

1835, 1,754; 1840, 1,846; 1845, 2,074; 1850, 2,271; 1855, 2,404; 1860, 2,740; 1865, 2,926; 1870, 3,216; 1875, 3,367.


Walton has been the birthplace of some celebrated men, among whom may be mentioned Joel T. Headley. He was the son of Rev. Mr. Headley, whose name appears in the history of the church of which he was a pastor. The spot of the birth of the renowned historian is said to have been on North street, Walton village, but the best evidence gained pointed to the ruins of the old house nearly opposite William L. St. John's.

William B. Ogden, the son of Abraham Ogden, was born in 1805 near Weed's Bridge. He was a gentleman of rare business attainments, and is spoken of as "the founder of Chicago." The early building up of the great interests of that western metropolis is largely due to his zeal and perseverance. He died several years ago.

Walton deserves the credit of having been settled by Revolutionary soldiers and men from "the land of steady habits." The puritanical zeal and unswerving patriotism of those forefathers largely exist in their descendants, as the general character and intelligence of the citizens and the town's military record will attest.


District No.2 is the continuation of the early district at or near Weed's Bridge, and was the center of a large circle of settlers before 1800. In 1837, after No.3 was taken off, the "Ox Bow " district, No. 14, was formed, and the present school-house was built on the south side of the river for No. 2. All of the early settlers along the Delaware above and below the bridge and both sides sustained it.

District No. 3.-As early as 1800 a public school was kept up where Thomas W. Griswold lived, now Mr. Terry's, near Weed's Bridge, which culminated in No.3. This district was permanently formed in 1827, when the schoolhouse was built on the present site The house now in use was built about 1840. Abraham and Isaac Ogden, Thomas W. Griswold, E. Butler, James Weed, N. Richards, Matthew Marvin and Asa Rogers were among the earliest settlers of the district, and No.2, from which it was taken.

District No.4 was organized and set off from the river district by Mr. Pines in 1865, and the schoolhouse was erected that year on its present site. This is now called Pine Brook, and is of recent date as to its settlement. The original settlers were James, John and Philip Launt, Jerry Wilson, Charles S. Fitch, Marcus Pierce, E. Drake, J. Demun, John Bristol, Lewis Patchin and others.

District No.5, joint, with a schoolhouse just over the line in Hamden, is composed of small portions of three towns. In 1843 the school-house was built, of logs, and in 1857 a good house was built on the present site. Cobine, Graham and others settled that part in Walton about 1840. Walton No. 5 is on the river; it was organized in 1829, and a house built on the land of Joshua Pine, on the high bank west of the brook. In 1865 a portion of the district up Pine brook was set off, and a new site for the schoolhouse of district No.5 was purchased on the Seward farm, where the present one was built. The Pines were the early settlers, and Walter Dag, Alfred Gould and others are among the prominent men of to-day.

District No. 6, in the "Den," had one of the earliest schools of the town, established before 1800. .4 frame house was built on John Cable's farm for school purposes, and the same was used for religious services for many years. In 1852 the present school-house was built and the site purchased.

District No. 7.-This was the early district formed on East brook. In the formation of school districts it was called No. 10; it was changed to 11 in 1829, at which time its present site was deeded by Sellick St. John, and the stone school-house built. In 1846 it was changed to No. 7. The Goodriches, Beebes, Hydes. Steeles, Meads, Sawyers and others settled this territory at an early day.

District No.8, up Third brook, formerly comprised a large extent of territory running west to the town line. In 1829 it was organized, being settled in the upper part mostly. In 1844 the school-house was moved down to accommodate the increasing settlement, and in 1849 it was again moved. In 1865 the present site on the cross road was selected and the present house erected. That part on the "Webb road " was settled and that road laid out in 1840. Seymour EelIs settled the Watrous farm; H. M. Webb his in 1845, George Webb the farm of Seymour Seeley in 1846, and Darius Fitch where Mr. Wood lives. On the turnpike and upper portion we find the settlers to be the Hoyts, Eellses and St. Johns.

District No.9 takes in a portion of North Walton and Woodlawn. The school there was a private one very early-1800. A house was built near Daniel White's before 1807. The district was formed in 1827. A new school-house was built on the cross road in 1828, and the number changed to 9. In 1854 a site was purchased: on which the present house was built. The New road was settled early, and is spoken of elsewhere; that portion in Woodlawn was settled in 1830, by Jesse L. Wood. Joseph Webb and Caleb Benedict. The name of Daniel White should not be forgotten in the building up of this district; he settled in 1807, near where his son, S. E. White, lives.

District No. 10 includes the upper part of West brook and a small portion of Franklin. It was organized in 1814, and part of district 13 was taken off later. The first schoolhouse, built in 1814, was on the Miller farm. A new house was built on its present site in the forks of the road in 1854. The lower portion of the district was settled early by the pioneers Marsh, Johnson, Atwell, Root, Rowell and Freer.

District No. 12, on East brook, is an old district. Azel Hyde gave a site for a school-house in 1813, on his farm-now E. R. Howland's-and a log house was built; it was just above the present 'site, on the old road, that ran higher on the bank. The district then extended from the Bassett farm to the Hamden line. In 1833 a frame house was built, which in 1843 was moved to its present site. In 1867 the present house was erected. The change of number from 11 to 12 was made in 1829. This district was early settled.

District No. 13, called " Dunk hill," was organized in 1813. School was kept before that, but in 1813 a log schoolhouse was built between the lands of David and Sellick St. John. In 1817 the house was moved down near Levi Hanford's. The number was changed from 12 to 13 in 1829. The present school-house was erected in 1843.

District No. 14 is the "Ox Bow " district. Very early this portion went down to the bridge. In 1837 the settlements up the creek required a school, and district 15 was formed, running from the river. In 1848 it was changed to 14. The first school-house was at "Ox Bow," in 1837, and in 1864 the present house was built on the Butler farm, above. Benajah McCall, Peter Shrine, James McLean and John Beagle were among the first settlers of the district.

District No.15 is between Little York and North Walton; it was organized as 24 in i868, from three surrounding districts. That year the school-house was built, on its present site, between the farms of Messrs. Evans and Herring. The number was changed from 24 to 15 in 1871. The early settlers of the district were James Freer, Benjamin Wood, Ezra Fitch, Darius Fitch and others.

District No. 16, on West brook, was formed in 1837, and the house then built between the roads. A school was first kept in the house now owned by Mr. Churchill. Stephen Berray, Malcom Wright and Seth Hoyt were the first trustees, and Alvah Rowell clerk. Judd Raymond, Nathan Kellogg, Samuel Johnson and Henry Wilton early settled in the district.

District No.17 was organized in 1860, and a school-house built on Beers brook the same season, which is still in use. The territory of this district is large, embracing the hill south to Bear spring and Trout brook. The first settlers were E. H. Hawley, George Beers, E. R. Gray, Lucas Cable, Burton Beers and Tunis Brazee, on the hill.

District No. 18 was changed from 24 in 1868. A school was kept in 1854 at McLelland's house, and the present house was built in 1818. This district is on the New road, and was settled early by Moses Hanford, W. F. Armstrong (at Woodlawn) and others. Joint district 18, with Franklin, was organized in 1839, and a school-house erected on Burns's land. In 1878 a new house was built on the Palmer farm, near by.

District No.19 contains a portion of Hamden. It was organized in 1850, and a frame school-house erected on the present site. The greater portion of the district was settled between 1840 and 1845, by Munn, Easson, Pierce, Fish, Beers and others. The regular district No. 19 was organized in 1848, and a house was built on Wakeman's farm. The district was settled as early as 1830 by Jerry Alverson, Silas Gray, E. Wakeman, Alfred Nichols and others.

District No.21, " Houck hill," so called, was joined with a portion of Colchester. It is settled mostly by Houcks, hence the name. In 1847 a school was kept in a log house. In i858 the present site was purchased, with a log house on it, in which school was kept until 1876, when the present house was erected. William Houck and his sons were the first settlers, and Nathan Williams, Joseph Gee, Harvey Hawley and Mr. Lanfield were early settlers. Sabbath-school and stated meetings are sustained in this district. It has not been a joint district since 1863.

District No. 22, at Little York, is an old district. About 1815 a log school-house was in use on the line between the Wakeman and St. John farms, which was used until another was built nearer the top of the hill. In 1825 a house was built over the line in Tompkins, which made a joint district. About 1843 the present house was built at Little York, and this remains a joint district. The early settlers were Daniel Loomis, soon after 1800, then John Henderson, James Henderson, Bristol, Baldwin and Wakeman. District No.23, "Marvin Hollow," was organized in 1850, and a frame school-house built on the lands of W. W. Marvin. In the spring of 1878 a new and commodious house was erected. The upper or northern portion of this district was settled very early by Benjamin Lewis, Henry McCall and David Benedict. In 1844 W. W. Marvin, and in 1847 J. A. Olmstead and George W. Marvin settled in the lower portion. There have been, between 1800 and the present, five saw-mills in this hollow; but only one remains, that of George W. Marvin.


Walton has many private burying places, and they are mostly kept in order and surrounded by good stone walls. The earliest public cemetery was established near the old log church on the hill. On the 21st of October, 1795 (before Walton was formed), Stephen Hogoboom, of Columbia county, N. Y., deeded to the Presbyterian Union Society of Franklin three acres of land adjoining the west line of the Walton tract, to be used for church and cemetery purposes, and nothing else. This ground is still used as a cemetery, but a large number of bodies have been removed to the more recent and beautiful one.

The Walton Cemetery Association was formed May 19th, 1852, and purchased six acres across the river, in the southeastern part of the Walton village corporation. It is beautifully located, and to the credit of the good people is kept in excellent condition. Additions of one and three quarter acres have been made. Near its center, in 1868, a grand shaft of marble was erected to the memory of forty-four heroes of the town, who went forth in their country's cause in the dark hour of her peril during the civil war. This fitting and elaborate monument, costing $1,400, was raised by the subscriptions of grateful citizens, and is thus also a fitting memento of the patriotism and devotion of the town.

The most important private cemetery is one of half an acre on the Doig farm. In 1811 Charles W. Stockton deeded this half acre to Jetur Gardner, Thomas B. Whitmarsh, Elnathan Goodrich, Thomas St. John, Elisha Sawyer and Dorman Johnson, reserving a portion for himself. Nearly all of these old settlers were buried there, and their many descendants, even to the present time, occupy the spot for burial purposes.



The early settlement of the north part of the town necessitated the withdrawal of a large body of the members of the village church and the formation of a society and erection of an ----- at North Walton. The organization was effected by thirty-one members, on November 18th, 1816, and the first deacons were Sylvanus Seely and Stephen Hoyt. The following is the list of ministers and the years each served: Isaac Headley, 1816-29; Elisha Wise, 1830, 1831; Charles Chapman, 1831-37; Frederick Janes, 1837, 1838; Calvin Warner, 1838-40; P. S. Burnham, eight months; Lucius Smith, 1841-43; Charles Chapman, 1843-47; William Baldwin, 1848-54; C. S. Smith, 1855-57; J. P. Root, 1857-59; C. S. Marvin, 1860, 1861; G. C. Judson, 1861-68; S. N. Robinson, 1869-74; W. W. Curtis, 1874 to the present.

The cost of the church edifice and parsonage was $5,500. The present membership of the church is one hundred and twenty-three.


This congregation now numbers 47, and although the edifice is just over the line in Franklin, it is called the West Brook church. The original members were: Chester Pomeroy, Isaac McLennon, James Berton, Simeon Freer, Phoebe Pomeroy, Deborah McLennon, Angeline Brazee, Caroline Freer, Helen Freer and Mary Ann Pomeroy. The first deacon was Chester Pomeroy, and in 1859 T. S. Hoyt was chosen. The Sabbath-school was organized in 1858, and is kept up at present. Fourteen new members were added to the church in 1859, and fifteen more joined during the pastorate of Rev. G. S. Judson. The ministers who have had charge of the church, and the years of each, are: A. J. Bud, a lay preacher, for a time; J. P. Root, November, 1858, 1859; C. S. Marvin, 1861, 1862; G. C. Judson, 1862-68; G. R. Entier, 1868, 1869; S. N. Robinson, 1870-74; W. W. Curtis from 1874 to the present.


During the winter of 1860 and 1861 Rev. E. H. Covey preached in the school-house at Little York, and several persons were baptized and joined the Sidney church. In May, 1861, seventeen members of the Sidney church, residing at Little York, formed the Baptist church there. They united with the Franklin Association and built an edifice, costing $1,500, which was dedicated November 16th, 1864. Then followed a revival, and twenty-five were baptized. They do not sustain a pastor, but have stated preaching from the pastors of sister churches. There are now 54 members, 3 deacons and 3 trustees, and a large and flourishing Sabbath-school and congregation. Rev. A. J. Adams supplies the pulpit.


This village was incorporated in 1851. Its first officers were John Mead, president; T. E. Marvin, W. H. Fancher, D. H. Gay and S. W. Smith, trustees.

The presidents, with the years they have been elected, have been as follows, so far as shown by the existing records: Gabriel S. Mead, 1872; John Mead, 1873; Edwin Guild, 1874; George O. Mead, 1875; George St. John, 1876,1877; John A. Warner, 1878.

The present officers are: John A. Warner, president; S. F. Reynolds, T. D. Childs and M. W. Marvin, trustees; W. H. Rogers, treasurer; Frank Randall, clerk; Ebenezer Patchen, fire warden; S. Comstock, chief, and Rev. H. M. Ladd, assistant engineer of the fire department, and G. S. Sawyer, collector.


No such stores as those of the present were to be found until within the remembrance of the present inhabitants. Joshua Pine's old account books, now in the possession of his grandson of that name, show that between 1787 and 1793 he furnished the settlers with sugar, rum, molasses and many needed articles of merchandise. The same was done by the Townsends, Norths, C. W. Stockton, Lewis Seymour and others who were able. Chase & Chapman opened a store on the street where G. S. Sawyer now resides, but it was very primitive in its stock. Wilton succeeded him for a time, and Kortz was the last "merchant " on that spot. In 1799 Jetur Gardner had quite a store where Mrs. Wood lives, on Delaware street, and in 1806 T. St. John and Fletcher Gardner opened a larger one close by, where Mr. Hull lives. In 1806 Jetur Gardner built and occupied the building now occupied by Major Mead, and it was quite a store for that day. Later Sellick St. John had a store on Mt. Pleasant, and Nathaniel Fitch, jr., opened still another there, which, after twelve years, was moved to North street, and is still kept by his sons. T. S. St. John was one of the later merchants.

Dr. Platt Townsend was the first physician, and came here, as has been said, with the first, in 1785. After the year 1800 we find Drs. Elliot, Whitmarsh, Page, Stockton, and in 1807 Dr. William Ogden. In 1828 Dr. H. E. Bartlett became an active physician, and in 1834 Dr. Thomas J. Ogden. Then followed Drs. McLaurey, Tafft and Hoyt, which will give the list to 1865, when Dr. Henry Ogden was added. The practicing physicians of the present day are: Drs. T. J. Ogden and son, Bartlett, McLaurey, Snow, Crosby, and Mrs. Michael.

Soon after 1700 the old Delaware House was erected, on Delaware street, one of the first frame buildings of the village west of East brook. This was kept successively by Rufus Smith, T. Heath, Thomas and George Smith, Jabez Bostwick, Frederick Launt, W. Martin, A. Williams, Charles Ostrom, Josiah Boice and others. In 1864 the importance of the village required a better and more modern hotel, and James Launt, the present proprietor, purchased and thoroughly repaired the Walton House, which is the only hotel in the town.

A private bank was organized in 1872 by E. N. Carver, in the building now occupied by Harby Brothers. Mr. Carver was cashier of the First National Bank of Oneonta, and S. E. Dutton was a clerk. This was a branch bank, but a charter was obtained February 11th, 1874, and it became a bank under the State law, with capital of $150,000. B. J. Bassett was president, G. O. Mead vice-president, and S. E. Dutton cashier. In the fall of 1874 Mr. Dutton resigned, and the management has since devolved upon Mr. Mead. By the action of the board July 6th, 1875, the capital was reduced to $50,000. In January, of each year officers are elected, and the same have been re-elected each year. The bank enjoys the confidence of the people, and has become a necessary institution. In 1876 a substantial brick building was erected for its reception, on the north side of Delaware street, where it is doing a successful business as the Delaware County Bank.

In the fall of 1876 W. C. Gould started the manufacturing of children's carriages at the factory of Lyon Brothers, and by the increase of orders it rapidly grew to be an important branch of industry. In June, 1877, the works were moved to N. O. Flint's building on Delaware street, and in November of that year N. C. Wood became interested, under the firm name of Gould & Co. This enterprising firm purchased the real estate in January, 1878, and it is now turning out yearly the ready-made parts of velocipedes, rocking-horses, propellers, shoo-fliers, &c., which are shipped to New York and Baltimore, bringing to the town nearly one thousand dollars each month. The firm employs thirty men constantly in various branches, from the saw-mill to the sand belt, each having his place near some elaborate piece of machinery. Last year 300,000 feet of lumber were used. Large amounts of black walnut are shipped from the west and used in the manufacture of a wire crib and cradle (Rollert's patent) for the southern trade. The business is rapidly increasing, and the factory is gaining much renown abroad, while it is practically a blessing to the town. The managers expect to erect new buildings and double the capacity of the present works.

In 1854 Alfred Gould started a saw-mill upon Bob's brook from which a large and profitable mechanical business has resulted. He was the first man in town to build a drag saw to saw wood, and in 1875 he erected buildings and put in steam works and machinery for the manufacture of baby carriages, velocipedes, &c., &c., for the New York market. He keeps constantly employed from twelve to fifteen men in the various departments. His enterprise is paying, and promises to be a large and successful establishment.


The first newspaper published in Walton was issued May 19th, 1856-the WaIton Blade, Edward P. Berray editor and publisher. It was a four-page, sixteen-column paper, the sheet being seventeen by twenty-four inches. After a few months Mr. Charles E. Pine was taken into partnership, and the paper was published by Berray & Pine. At the end of the first year the paper was enlarged to nineteen by twenty-four inches and the name changed to the Walton Journal. At the end of the second year the Journal was discontinued.

The first number of the Walton Chronicle was published February 3d, 1869, by Albert D. Hitchcock, publisher of the Franklin Register. The Chronicle was a four-page, twenty-four-column paper, the sheet being twenty-two by thirty-one inches. It was published in connection with the Register, Mr. Hitchcock living in Franklin, Mr. E. Berray being the local editor. After some months Mr. Hitchcock withdrew from the Register and devoted his whole attention to the Chronicle. September 6th, 1871, a half interest in the paper was sold to Mr. Bryson Bruce. At the close of volumn II. the Chronicle was enlarged to twenty-eight columns, and the size of the sheet to twenty-four by thirty-seven inches. Bruce and Hitchcock published the Chronicle till November, 1872, when Mr. Hitchcock sold his interest to Mr. Bruce, by whom the paper was published till May 1st, 1873, when he sold it to William A. White, who, as editor and publisher, has conducted the Chronicle till the present time. The Chronicle, when first published, was neutral in politics, but soon became Republican. In 1872 it was Liberal and supported Greeley for the presidency. Under its present management it is thoroughly Republican in politics. It also favors equal rights for women, local option, temperance and Christian morality.


The first school of any kind here was a private one, kept by Mrs. Mary Smith on what is now Stockton avenue, south of the river, soon after Mr. Stockton settled there; as soon as 1790 we hear of this school. In 1791, when the first log church was erected near the cemetery on the hill, it was to be used for the first public school as well as church and town purposes. Dr. Elliot, Thaddeus Seymour, William Gay, B. W. North and Miss Cook were among the early teachers. We know of none living who attended that first public school. In 1800 or 1801 a frame school-house was erected on the flat in the northern part of the present village, which, as the village grew, culminated in thc union school district No. 1. In or about the same year a district school was started for the settlement up East brook, which was first held in a barn until a house was erected on the knoll beyond William L. St John's-now district No.7. The Den, New Road, and Weed's Bridge schools were the next in succession.


In 1852 Rev. Julius S. Pattengill preached several sermons upon the duty of a Christian community to provide more adequate means for education than was there enjoyed. On December 23d, 1852, he delivered a lecture in the Congregational church, before the "Literary and Library Association," upon the claims of the rising generation on the wealth and enterprise of the place for an academic institution. At an adjourned meeting of this association, one week later, it was unanimously resolved that "Walton can and will build an academy." In January, 1853, a subscription paper was circulated to secure funds for a suitable building. About $3,300 was subscribed by 105 persons, in sums varying from $5 to $300. An association of the subscribers was formed, and known as the Academy Association. Every subscriber who contributed from $3 to $25 was entitled to one vote, and one vote for every additional $25. At a meeting of this association, held at the Congregational church February 3d, 1853, the following gentlemen were elected trustees, viz.: Colonel John Townsend, David H. Gay, Hon. John Mead, Dr. J. S. McLaury, William E. White, Rev. J. S. Pattengill, Dr. Thomas J. Ogden, General Benjamin J. Bassett, Smith H. White, Isaac H. St. John, Thomas Marvin, White Griswold and Nathaniel Fitch. The board of trustees was organized by the election of John Mead as president, Dr. J. S. McLaury secretary, and Nathaniel Fitch treasurer.

The trustees at a meeting held February 14th appointed J. S. Pattengill, John Mead and T. J. Ogden as a building committee. John Townsend gave the land on which the building was erected, then worth about $400. Orson J. Ells was appointed the master builder. The frame off the building was erected June 22nd, 1853. It consisted of what is now the main building. The lower floor, which is now all occupied as a chapel, was divided by a hall, having an entrance on the south side. The chapel was on the east end, with seats facing the south. The part west of the hall was used for the primary department, with a small room on the north end for a library and philosophical apparatus. On the upper floor were two school-rooms, the one on the west side for gentlemen and the one on the east for ladies. The building was not completed and ready for use until late in the fall. The building committee reported to the trustees December 3d a debt of about $300. It was decided to circulate a subscription paper, to pay the debt and raise $300 for apparatus and a library. The latter sum was contributed by White Griswold, and the balance by those who had already contributed largely.

Rev. J. S. Pattengill, on invitation by the trustees, delivered the opening address December 13th, 1853. The school was opened the next day, and incorporated by the regents February 10th, 1854. Mr. Eli M. Maynard was principal, assisted by his sister, Miss Lucy A. Maynard, for the first two terms. She was succeeded by the wife of the principal, Mrs. Maria W. Maynard, who continued in the school until the resignation of her husband.

Miss Adelia Gardiner was the first teacher in the primary department. She also gave instruction in drawing and painting. This connection with the school continued until August, 1855. During the two following terms she was employed in the primary department only. She again took charge of the drawing and painting, and continued to instruct until about the close of the winter term. She died suddenly, June 26th, 1858.

During the first few years instruction in music was given by Mrs. J. C. Brown and Miss Eliza Marvin (Mrs. James B. Root).

Mr. Maynard's health became greatly impaired, and during the academic year ending August 5th, 1856, he was absent during the second and third terms. During this time Mr. David B. Dewey acted as principal and assistant principal, until the resignation of Mr. Maynard, in March, 1857. The latter says in a recent letter to the writer: "My connection with Walton Academy was very pleasant. In all of my experience, covering about thirty years, I never found a community that so generally united with the teachers in their efforts to build up and maintain a good school."

During the academic year ending August 5th, 1856, Miss Sylvia St. John took charge of the drawing and painting department, and for the year ending August 4th, 1857, Henry E. Ogden acted as principal during the spring term. Miss S. Styles taught drawing and painting, and Miss E. St. John and Miss M. H. Osborne taught in the primary department. The next principal was Marcus N. Horton, who took charge August 26th, 1857.

During the spring and summer of 1859 the north wing to the main building was added, at an expense of more than $1,500. The credit of this improvement is due to Mr. Horton, although Mr. T. Seymour St. John and Colonel John Townsend headed the subscription paper with $100 each. It was resolved to enlarge the hall to its present dimensions, and to place the primary room, library and philosophical room with the entrance hall in the new wing, as at present arranged.

Mr. Horton resigned March 12th, 1861. During his connection with the school his sister, Miss Avis A. Horton, was preceptress until 1861. She was succeeded by Miss Charlotte M. Mead (Mrs. George A. Colton), Miss Jennie E. Minor (Mrs. Barnes), and Miss. Adelia R. Brown taught music, and Miss Mary A. Hatch, Miss Harriet Sinclair, and Miss Hannah Osborne in the primary department. Miss Cornelia C. Bostwick was teacher of drawing and painting. Isabella Sinclair (Mrs. M. W. Marvin) was appointed to take charge of the school during the summer term of 1861. For the three following years she taught in the primary department, except one term.

In July, 1861, Sidney Crawford accepted the position of principal. He began his work August 17th, i86i. He was principal for three years. He says in regard to his work in Walton: "As I look back over my experience it seems to be one of the brightest spots in all my life. The school was well sustained and the society of the town most pleasant."

During Mr. Crawford's administration Miss Jennie L. Bostwick (Mrs. Arthur Shaw), a graduate of Cooperstown Female Seminary, and Miss Charlotte M. Mead, educated at Mount Holyoke Seminary, filled the position of preceptress, and the latter as teacher of music during a portion of the time. Miss E. Maria Ogden (Mrs. George Burgin) was teacher of drawing and painting.

Hon. John Mead resigned the presidency of the board of trustees March 30th, 1863. Mr. David H. Gay has held the office ever since.

Mr. Charles E. Sumner was the fourth principal. Hebegan his duties August 24th, 1864; his resignation took effect July 2nd, 1867. Under Mr. Sumner's care the school was very prosperous The position of preceptress under Mr. Sumner was filled by Miss Lemira F. Wheat (in 1864 and 1865), Miss Jennie M. Sumner (in 1865 and 1866) and Miss Jeanie F. Barnes (in 1866 and 1867). Miss Hattie A. Tyler had charge of the primary department for one term and of the drawing and painting for four terms. Mr. Sumner was succeeded by Strong Comstock, who was born at Wilton, Conn., March 27th, 1844, and graduated at Yale College in 1867. He began his work August 19th, 1867.

In the spring of 1868 a union school was deemed advisable, and the academy property was conveyed by deed to the board of education, on the express condition that an academic department shall be forever maintained on the premises thus conveyed.

In August, 1868, the school was duly organized under the new system, with five different grades. Mr. Comstock resigned in July, 1870, in order to accept a similar position in Ansonia, Conn., where he remained for two years.

Miss Martha J. Atwood (Mrs. Strong Comstock) was preceptress for three years, ending July, 1870. She graduated at Cazenovia Seminary, in the class of 1863, and had had an experience in teaching of about three years. Rev. T. D. Barclay was the principal for the two years following.

It was not till 1871 that diplomas were awarded for completing a prescribed curriculum, although the school from its foundation had prepared students for all the leading colleges. The first class consisted of Ella E. Love, Hannah N. Benedict, Charlotte E. North and Cornelia F. White, Since 1870 Miss Laura Gay has been connected with the academic department as preceptress. She graduated at Vassar College, in the class of 1869. She had spent one year (1869-70) as preceptress in the Delaware Academy, Delhi.

Mr. Comstock was again called to take charge of the school in the fall of 1872, and has since held the position of principal.


The Walton Water Company was organized in May, 1879, with a capital of $15,000.

The reservoir of the company is located on Third brook, about one and one-half miles from the village, and there are two hundred and six feet fall from the reservoir to the village. The water is carried by an eight-inch iron pipe. Water for fire purposes is now supplied, free of charge, through seventeen double-discharge Matthews non-freezing hydrants. The hydrants are owned by the corporation of the village of Walton. There is "head "enough to furnish power for printing presses, turning lathes, mills, etc. The engineer in charge of the works was Mr. William B. Rider, of Norwalk, Conn. The contractors were Messrs. Sherman and Flagler, of Utica, N. Y.

The following is a list of the officers of the water company: President, Strong Comstock; secretary, N. C. Wood; treasurer, George O. Mead; superintendent, John S. Eells; counsel, N. C. and M. W. Marvin; directors, Strong Comstock, N. C. Wood, H. M. Ladd, George W. Fitch and S. Henry St. John.

The reservoir will hold from twelve to fourteen millions of gallons of water, and is fed by numerous living springs, making the water exceedingly cool and healthy, and giving an ample supply for fire purposes. The dam is very strong. The gate-house, inlet and waste pipes and all attachments are very complete, making the work as a whole equal to any in this part of the State, and superior to most for fire purposes.


The effective apparatus of this organization, together with good discipline and general interest, renders it worthy of more than passing notice. The machines in charge of the different companies are so well adapted to the wants of a village department, and are such perfect products of mechanical art, as to be models of their kind.

Defiance Engine Company, No 1, the first fire company of this village, was organized February 2nd, 1849, and known as Eagle Fire Company. It had twenty-one charter members. The first officers were: Foreman, George Smith; assistant engineer, Nathaniel G. Eells; secretary and treasurer, Gabriel S. North.

A short time before the organization of this company a little old fashioned engine was brought to the village and offered for sale at $160. This amount was raised by subscription. The engine was purchased and placed in charge of this company. It was the means of saving considerable property on several occasions, and continued to do duty until 1865, when the company received a new engine and changed its name to Indiana, No. 1. The name was again changed in 1878, to Defiance, No.1. It now has forty members. The present officers are: Foreman, J. Burdett Brant; assistant foreman, Frank L. Wright; secretary and treasurer, William Reynolds. The engine now in charge of this company is one of the best ever made by the celebrated builders Silsby & Co., and originally costs $2,500. It has a solid mahogany box, which is simply varnished and striped with gold leaf; all the iron work is highly polished, and the running gear painted a rich vermilion with gold stripe. It has eight-inch cylinders and brakes twenty feet in length, and is surpassed by no machine of its size in power.

Alert Hose Company', No. 2, was organized July 16th, 1871. The first officers were: Foreman, Lewis S. St. John; assistant foreman, George Parsons; secretary, Abram Crawley; treasurer, Edgar P. Hoyt. This company has recently purchased a new hose carriage of the skeleton pattern. Its graceful outlines of polished iron, and wood work decorated with vermilion and gold, make this a machine of great beauty. It carries four hundred and fifty feet of hose. The company consists of twenty members. The officers at present are: Foreman, Julius W. St. John; assistant foreman, Lindley E. Hoyt; secretary, E. Eugene Marvin; treasurer, Charles North.

Rescue Hook and Ladder Company, No. 3, has thirty members. It was organized December 20th, 1877, with George C. Steele as foreman; Allen R. Eells as assistant foreman; Walter F. Randall, secretary; Charles B. Bassett, treasurer; George Parsons, steward. The truck of this company is of the style known as the "Excelsior No-reach Hook and Ladder Truck," and cost $700. It has a twenty-four-feet trussed frame, and carries six ladders, by which a point forty-six feet in height can be reached. The ladders rest on rubber covered iron rollers. It has a complete outfit of other implements usually carried by such a machine. Owing to fine mechanism in every part, by which great strength is secured with no extra material, it is light and moves easily. It is very tastefully painted and striped with gold. The present officers are: George C. Steele, foreman; Joseph D. Nutt, assistant foreman; B. G. North, secretary; Edwin Hanford, treasurer; George Parsons, steward. A department organization was not effected until 1865. Charles B. Wade was the first chief engineer. From 1871 to 1875 the following persons filled this office: George C. Steele (two years), Matthew W. Marvin, George O. Mead. Since 1875 Strong Comstock has been chief engineer. The other officers at present are, Rev. Henry M. Ladd, assistant engineer; James W. Buckley, clerk; George O. Mead, treasurer.



This church was organized October 12th, 1793. From the earliest settlement of the place, about eight or nine years previous, there had been social and informal religious meetings held at private houses. The original settlers came mostly from Connecticut, the majority from New Canaan, with a few who, having conic over from Long Island to New Canaan during the Revolution, had joined the emigration party for Walton. As early as 1791 a log house was built for the double purpose of holding religious services on the Sabbath and for a school during the week.

September 17th, 1793, the following named members of different churches met at the house of John Eells, viz.: Cephas Beach. Nathan Kellogg, Ephraim Waring, Gabriel North, Thaddeus Hoyt, Selleck and David St. John and Daniel Root. They agreed on articles of faith and church government. Daniel Root and Gabriel North were then appointed a committee to converse with such persons as might be disposed to unite with the church when it should be instituted.

The church was formally organized, with forty members, October 12th, 1793, by Rev. David Huntington, a missionary from the "Reverend Committee of the General Association of Connecticut." Mr. Huntington's labors were continued only a few Sabbaths, and in their extremity the members invited one of their own number, David Harrower, to enter upon a ministerial course of study. At the end of two years he was employed as the first regular minister.

Only three days after the organization of the church, an ecclesiastical society connected with the church was organized in legal form (October 15th, 1793), and named Union Society. The first trustees appointed were Daniel Root, Samuel Johnson, Isaiah Marsh, Michael Goodrich, Gabriel North and James Weed. The first clerk was Robert North, who served twenty-four years; other clerks being Benjamin North, who served twelve years; John S. Coleman, who served twenty years, and the present clerk Dr. I. S McLaury, who has served twenty-nine years. William Townsend was the first treasurer.

The log meeting-house was occupied for church purposes ten years.

In 1795 Mr. Harrower was ordained by the Northern Associate Presbytery of New York. He remained with the church as stated supply for ten years, spending portions of his time in Colchester, Delhi and neighboring settlements. He was the last survivor of the forty who constituted the church at its foundation. The first revival occurred during his ministry, in 1799, and about forty were added to the church as its fruit.

In the year 1800 a new building on the hill was commenced, and finished in 1803, when the pews were sold to pay for the building. This house was occupied until the summer of 1840, when the main portion of the present church was built. The old church was a large, square structure, with high pulpit and galleries. The pews were of the old square box style, with seats running around the four sides, facing the audience in every direction. For twelve years, till 1816, this church on the hill was used without a stove. At the annual town meeting of that year it was voted to "buy a stove for the meeting-house in Union Society," and assess the cost upon the town for the privilege of holding the annual town meetings in the house. In the year 1807 a vote was passed to procure a parsonage and build an academy. A parsonage was soon procured, but the academy had to wait.

In May of this year Rev. Archibald Bassett was invited to preach, and soon after received a formal call. He was duly installed as the first settled pastor of the church, and remained pastor till 1811. Under the ministry of Mr. Bassett, in the year 1807, an extensive revival prevailed, when seventy-five were added to the church. During the interval after Mr. Bassett's resignation, Rev. Orange Lyman preached as stated supply for about six months. In 1813 Rev. Isaac Headley was called, and in 1815 he was installed. About this time thirty-seven members were dismissed to organize the Second Congregational Church in Walton, now known as the North Walton Congregational Church.

About this time, also, the first attempt was made at holding a Sabbath-school. It was held in the old church upon the hill, at five o'clock in the afternoon of the Sabbath, and was attended only by children, with a few teachers. The exercises consisted in reciting verses committed to memory from the New Testament. No questions were asked upon the lessons by the teachers. The object seemed to be simply to learn and recite as many verses as possible. There were children in the school that would recite two or more chapters at a time. The school was opened with prayer, and closed with singing. The same hymn and tune were invariably sung at this exercise. There were no Sabbath-school books or papers. For a number of years the school was discontinued during the winter months. Mr. Pattengill advocated the formation of classes of adults, and from that time the school has been much larger and more prosperous than before. An increasing proportion of the congregation has been connected with the school from year to year.

During Mr. Headley's ministry, in 1821, another revival occurred, and about fifty were added to the church. In 1824 the parsonage which had been procured was burned, and the records of the church perished in the ruins.

In 1826 ten members were dismissed to form the Presbyterian church in Colchester.

After Mr. Headley's resignation, in 1829, his son-in-law, Rev. Alvah Lillie, was engaged to supply the pulpit for six months. In 1830 commenced a revival, by which ninety-five were added to the church. Rev. A. L. Chapin succeeded Rev. E. D. Wells, who was stated supply in 1830, and he remained two years. He was followed by Rev. Jonathan Huntington, who preached six months, as stated supply. In 1834 the present parsonage was built. In November of the same year Rev. Fayette Shipherd commenced his labors with the church, and in the following April was installed as third pastor, by the Delaware Presbytery. The church at this time entered into relations with the presbytery upon what is known as the "accommodation plan." There was a revival in 1836, and during the pastorate of Mr. Shipherd fifty-five were added to the church by profession. Mr. Shipherd's pastorate closed in September, 1838, and in the following November Rev. William Clark was employed as acting pastor. He served until November, 1842. Under his ministry twenty-seven were added to the church.

In 1840 the present church was built, and in later years enlarged.

In February, 1843, this church left the Delaware Presbytery, since which time it has stood firmly on its old Congregational basis.

In August, 1843, Rev. F. D. Willis was called, and he was installed as the fourth pastor December 27th. This relation was dissolved in October, 1847. Under his pastorate forty-eight were added to the church by profession. During the winter of 1847 and 1848 Rev. Andrew Phillips preached six months. From September, 1848, Rev. J. S. Pattengill was the acting pastor of the church until April, 1868. In 1855 about fifty were added to the church by profession, and in 1866 about seventy-five. From July, 1868, Rev. S. J. White was the acting pastor until May, 1875. During his ministry about seventy were added to the church on profession. In September, 1875, Rev. Henry M. Ladd, the present pastor, commenced his labors with the church, and in the next month was installed. Since his ministry with the church began fifty-five have been added to it. The society is out of debt, and steps are now being taken to rebuild or remodel the church edifice.

During the history of the church eleven young men have entered the ministry from among its membership. There have been twenty deacons who have served the church. At the present time they are elected for a term of three years. The church has given largely to the various benevolent objects, ably supported its ministry, and exerted a most powerful reformatory influence upon the adjacent community. It has practically been the parent of a large number of churches in the immediate vicinity, and has generously helped them in times of need. The membership is now over 330. The Sabbath-school is in a flourishing condition, and everything gives promise of steady growth in the future.


Walton was in the old Delaware circuit until 1833. The first class was organized about 1802, as follows: Seth Berray (leader), Annie Berray, Esther Heath, John Heath, David Heath, Eleanor Heath, Mrs. Filkins, Elizabeth Orr, Quartus Merrick, Lucia Merrick.

The first Methodist preaching in the village was in Waring's tavern, by Nathan Bangs, in 1808. He was accompanied by Gilbert Townsend, of the Clove (now Clovesville), Delaware county, who was a great singer. He Sang:

"The voice of free grace cries, 'Escape to the mountain!'
For Adam's lost race Christ has opened a fountain."

The singing is said to have made a deep impression on the people, and the hymn and chorus were sung on the streets for months afterward. In the same year a preacher named Richmond came to the house of William Andrews, who lived on a branch of the East brook, where A. O. Dumond now lives. The preacher came to buy a deer skin, and preached. After this Rev. Asa Heath. a Methodist minister of Sharon, Conn., visited his father, Bartholomew Heath, on East brook, and accepted the invitation of Deacon Peter St. John to preach in his house on the hill. It is remembered that he sang a hymn with the chorus:

He brought my soul with him to dwell,
And gave me heavenly union."

With these exceptions Walton seems to have been without Methodist preaching. The class had been given up: some members had died, some had moved away, and the rest had backslidden, or become indifferent or discouraged.

The first regular appointment was on January 1st. 1819, at Jacob Heath's house, by Arnold Schofield, since which time there has been regular preaching.

After the division of Delaware circuit Walton was one year in the Deposit circuit, then it was connected with Bloomville from 1835 to 1844. From 1844 to 1850 it was called Walton and Hamden, since which time it has been known as the Walton circuit. The following have been the appointments.

Deposit circuit, including Walton: 1834, David Terry, Jesse Robinson. Bloomville circuit, including Bloomville, Delhi, Hamden, Walton and North Walton: 1835, M. Vandusen, D. B. Turner; 1836, S. M. Knapp, John Bangs; 1837, S. M. Knapp, Arad Lakin; 1838, Joseph H. Frost, Arad Lakin; 1839,1840, Joseph B. Wakely; 1841, 1842, Aaron Rogers; 1843, Sanford Washburn, Charles Mallory; 1844, J. Trippet, W. C. Smith, A. H. Mead. Walton and Hamden circuit, including Delhi, Walton, Hamden, North Walton and part of Sidney: 1845, B. M. Genung; 1846, M. S. Pendle; 1847, George Kerr; 1848, George Kerr, Elias Rogers; 1849, David Gibson. Walton circuit, including Hamden, Walton, North Walton and part of Sidney: 1850, D. C. Dutcher; 1851, Milo Couchman; 1852, Charles Palmer, Bradley S. Burr; 1853, 1854, John Davy; 1855, William Hall; 1856, 1857, Richard Decker; 1858, Charles Sitzer; 1859, 1860, Edwin Clement; 1861, 1862, John F. Richmond; 1863, 1864, Richard Decker; 1865, 1866, John W. Gorse; 1867-69, A. R. Burroughs; 1870-72, John J. Dean; 1873, 1874, J M. Burgar; 1875, Joseph Elliott; 1876, J. G. Slater; 1877-79, Edward White.

Mr. Whitehead for several years held regular services in Quartus Merrick's house, on East brook, where Albert Brisack now lives. Like most Methodist preachers of his time, Whitehead was an earnest speaker. His manner of speech was so sharp and pungent, his descriptions and denunciations of sin so vivid and terrible, and his exhortations to sinners so powerful, that some of the people who lived near by the preaching-house shut their doors and windows, that they might not hear him.

The year 1818 was a most eventful one in the history of Delaware Methodism. Great revivals took place in all parts of the circuit. In June a camp-meeting was held near Hobart, where scores were converted. Among the converts was Miles Curtis, of Hamden Hill, who returned home full of the zeal of a newly converted man, and gathered the inhabitants of Hamden Hill and East Brook to a preaching service in Nehemiah Bradley's barn. Gershom Howland, of Hamden, was the preacher, and the services were continued almost every day for many weeks. After the barns were filled with hay, the meetings were held at the house of Aaron Curtis and at William Barlow's and other places, both in houses and groves.

Many of the people who attended these services came long journeys, in ox carts and other primitive conveyances, which they had "rigged up" for the occasion. Several women would usually travel together, taking with them a saddle horse, which they rode alternately. The favorite hymns in that revival sixty years ago were those whose opening lines are:

"Oh that my load of sin were gone."

"Through tribulation deep the way to glory is."

"Tis a point 1 long to know,
Do I love the Lord or no."

"Oh how happy are they who the Saviour obey.
And have laid up their treasures above."

The first Methodist meetings in Walton were held in houses, barns and groves. Afterward the itinerants preached in school-houses until 1811, when the first church was built, at a cost of $1,600, the subscriptions having been raised the previous year by Rev. J. B. Wakely (afterward Dr. Wakely). The first board of trustees was organized as follows Sanford I. Ferguson, John McCall, Gershom H. Bradley, Hiram Fitch and Cyrus St. John.

The present church edifice was built in 1869, and dedicated in 1870 by Dr. (now Bishop) Peck. The architect and builder was James C. Cornish; cost $10,000.

The class leaders have been as follows: 1802 to 1807, Seth Berray; 1807, Quartus Merrick; 1819, Asa Dan; 1831, Ebenezer Rumsey; 1833, L. Burroughs; 1834, Hiram Fitch; 1841, Reuben Barto; 1843, S. I. Ferguson: 1848, Abner Crawley; 1874, Jacob Warner, James C. Cornish.

The present officers of the church are as follows: Pastor, E. White; class leaders-J. C. Cornish, J. Warner and G. Van Valkenburg; stewards-A. D. Peake, H. Niles, A. N. Tacy, N. Dan, R. Harby. H. Henderson, J. Dix, N. J. Kinch and A. O. Maynard; trustees-A. O. Dumond, C. St. John, J. M. Pierson, R. Harby, A. N. Tacy, A. D. Peake and W. S. Cole.

The members and probationers number 285, officers and teachers in Sabbath-school 20, scholars in Sabbath-school 220. The value of the church property is $11,500.


The first service of the Protestant Episcopal Church ever held within the limits of Walton is supposed to have been conducted by a Rev. Mr. Johnson, sometime before 1830. That there had been some services before 1831 is believed from the report of Rev. Norman H. Adams, of Unadilla, who says that during the winter of 1830 and 1831 a church was organized here with very encouraging prospects. The only record of such organization is the report of a vestry meeting, held February 28th, 1831, at which it was resolved to secure subscriptions for the purpose of erecting a house of worship. This first vestry was composed of the following named persons: Thomas Noble and Everett Guild, wardens; Isaac Ogden, Robert North, jr., James Smith, William B. Ogden, Jetur Gardiner, Joshua Pine, Bennett Beardsley, Benajah Hawley, John T. St. John, Adna Mallory and Rufus Smith, vestrymen.

It was resolved September 3d, 1831 to build a house of worship, to be known as Christ Church. James Smith, Thomas Noble. William B. Ogden, Rufus Smith and Jetur Gardiner were appointed a building committee. In August, 1834, the church was ready for consecration.

At the diocesan convention which met in Trinity Church, New York, October 7th, 1831, this parish was admitted into union with the convention. Ever since its organization services had been held with more or less frequency, either in the school-house or in the basement of the church, up to the time of the consecration. The first confirmation was held July 21st, 1832, in the Presbyterian church, Bishop Benjamin T. Onderdonk officiating.

The clergymen connected with the early history of the parish were: Rev. Mr. Adams, of Unadilla; Rev. Orange Clark, of Delhi; Rev. Russell Wheeler, of Butternuts, Otsego county; Rev. Edward K. Fowler, of Monticello, Sullivan county; and Rev. William Allenson, of Hobart. In August. 1834, Rev. John F. Messenger took charge of the parish, being the first settled rector. On the 22nd of this month Bishop Onderdonk made a visitation, consecrating the church and confirming a class of twenty-two. Mr. Messenger resigned at the end of June, 1836. In May, 1837, Rev. Amos Billings Beach accepted the rectorship, and he remained until December, 1838. After his departure occasional services were held here by Rev. Thomas Judd and Rev. Daniel Shepard, from Delhi, until May, 1839, when Rev. Robert Campbell was called. Rev. Asa Griswold followed him in May, 1840. He soon resigned. November 1st. 1842, Rev. David Huntington came, and stayed until April 1st, 1843. From this latter date until 1846 the only services rendered were by the Rev. John Bayley, who lives near Sidney, and perhaps by clergy from Delhi. During 1846, however, there were regular services held by the Rev. William G. Heyer. July 6th, 1847, Rev. John Creighton Brown was called. He accepted, came, and remained over thirteen years. He labored hard, and not only in Walton, but also at Deposit, Hancock and Hamden, and in Equinunk, Pa. October 29th, 1860, Mr. Brown resigned. About December 15th, 1860, Rev. Charles H. Canfield came, and he remained about four months. From April 1st, 1861, until March 22nd, 1862, there was only lay service. From this latter date Rev. T. Southard Compton was rector until May 9th, 1863.

The parsonage which had been built during the rectorship of Mr. Brown was improved about this time. In the summer of 1863, Rev. Frederick Nugent Luson became rector.

During 1863 and 1864 the parish school building was erected and the school undertaken under the charge of Mr. Luson. This was brought to an end in 1865 and the building now serves as a chapel for Lenten services and other purposes.

May 8th, 1865, a call was given by the vestry to the Rev. Gurdon Huntington, who came and served two and a half years. He died November 29th, 1875, and was buried in the Walton cemetery. Lay services by Mr. D. H. Gay followed, until the Rev. Theodore A. Snyder assumed charge, about March 12th, 1876. July 20th, 1877, Rev. Richard C. Searing, the present rector, succeeded him.

The number of communicants in Christ Church parish, as reported to the last diocesan convention was 103.


This church was made up of the Hamden and East Walton church, the South Walton church, and a branch of the Franklin church, located on East Brook, and whose meetings were held at the red school-house. Of the Hamden branch Jabez Bostwick and wife (Freelove Frisbee) came to this valley in 1809, and by their solicitations Elder Baldwin, of the Sidney Baptist Church, visited here and formed a branch, of which the Bostwicks, of the Delhi church, and Ralph Page and wife, of the Sidney church, were the constituent members. In 1833 a counsel convened and recognized it as an independent church, and the meetings were held in the Hamden church. The society increased in strength, with occasional preaching, and in a few years the membership was thirty. A revival at the "Ox Bow" gave more members, and the meetings were held alternately at Hamden and East Walton. The last meeting of this church at Hamden occurred June 10th, 1854, and then the meetings were held at Deacon Benedict's-now Deacon William Niel's restdence. Other unions were made and the Hamden and East Walton Baptist Church was organized. The church near Deacon Niel's was dedicated March 3d, 1859. The society could not yet sustain a minister, but united with other churches, with a good degree of prosperity. March 2nd, 1867, Elder Hathaway being pastor, this church united with the South Walton church (in the Den), which dated back to 1801. Soon the Little York church and all found that union is strength, and the present society was formed. In the years 1866 and 1867 Rev. D. H. Leach, supported by Rev. A. Reynolds, proposed the union of these feeble interests centering in Walton village, and the Hamden and East Walton Church fell into line, and it was voted to locate a church at Walton village. New members were received, and Rev. Jenkin Jones preached from April 1st, 1867, to April 1st, 1868. In May, 1867, John Wakeman, a just and devout Christian, was made deacon. May 25th the society met at Academy Hall, voted to be known as the First Baptist Church of Walton, and elected five trustees. May 28th the council recognized them as a regular Baptist church, and they now had 84 members; later they united with the Franklin Association. In November, 1868, Rev. L. M. Purrington became the pastor, and continued in that relation until November 1st, 1877.

The present house of worship was dedicated December 16th, 1868, at a cost of $5,000. There has been a gradual growth of strength since. In the winter of 1873 and 1874 an interesting revival occurred, and fifty-eight members were added. On the 1st of August. 1878, Rev. A. J. Adams became the pastor, and he is still serving with zeal and success. The church has six trustees, five deacons and 192 members; also a prosperous Sabbath-school.

The South Walton church-one of the component elements mentioned above-had for pastor Rev. Daniel Robinson, by frequent pastoral calls, from 1802 to 1817. The Platts, Wakemans, Alversons and Barlows were among the first members, and the school-house in the "Den" was their sanctuary. This little society went through various hardships, belonging to the Franklin, then the Cannonsville church, formed the South Walton church, and were so recognized. They had many excellent pastors, and Rev. A Reynolds served them faithfully over four years. John Wakeman was really looked upon as the founder. The last record of this branch is dated December 9th, 1865.

The Franklin branch of the Walton church-Boltons, Elderkins, Fishes and Pierces-formed a strong element of the present church at its formation. Rev. Levi Morse preached to the people of that part of the town with wonderful results, and in May, 1862, eighteen were baptized and joined the Franklin church, which, with the older ones, gave 22 members for the Walton church in 1868. Some of these branches had no written records, but the zeal of the present pastor, Rev. Mr. Adams, has enabled us to give the foregoing history of the present Baptist church of Walton, and its derivation.


This church society was formed September 5th, 1861, with a membership of 19, viz.: A. R. McDonald, David G. McDonald and wife, R. D. McDonald and wife, James Alexander and wife, Edward Bell and wife, Jane Chambers, Timothy Sanderson, Robert G. Sanderson and wife, Catharine McDonald, Margaret A. Howland, Mary Ensign, Margaret McLaury, Jane Henderson and Jeannette Henderson.

The first and only pastor thus far, the Rev. David McAIlister, was called August 6th, 1863 at which time the membership was 23; he was ordained and installed in December following. Services were held in the church just erected on East brook, about five miles from the village, and a parsonage was built across the road in 1863

In 1874, the membership having increased to 70, and being settled on all sides of the village and in it. a more central location for an edifice was a necessity. In that year a fine church was erected on the north side of East street, in Walton village. The membership is now 92, with a good congregation in regular attendance. The Sabbath-school has 120 scholars, 13 teachers and a library of 400 volumes.

During the settlement of its pastor-about fifteen years-the little society has raised $30,000. and its beautiful church is free from debt.

There are two older societies of this denomination in the county-in Kortright and Bovina. Their main difference from other religious bodies is that they do nothing that requires them, directly or through a representative, to swear to support the written Constitution of the United States, because it does not contain such an acknowledgment of God, Christ and the Bible, as will declare this a Christian nation.


At a meeting in September, 1865, at Andes, the presbytery resolved to grant the prayer of John W. Smith, William Tweedie, James and William Kilpatrick and others, to be called the U. P. church of Walton, and Rev. James B. Lee was appointed to organize the church, which was done October 19th, 1865. Forty persons were constituted its members. The elders elected were John W. Smith, William Kilpatrick, Thomas McLaury and P. M. Doig; for trustees to serve one year, John A. Miller and Alexander Tweedie; for two years, Hugh C. Munn and Andrew Doig; for three years, James Kilpatrick and William Tweedie.

The society has stated preaching in the second story of the public school building at Walton village, and at times the M. E. church was kindly given for its use. In the latter part of the summer of 1866 the society occupied its own edifice, and the pulpit was supplied until June, 1868, when Rev. N. R. Crone was installed pastor. He closed his pastorate in July, 1872, when forty-three more had been added to the church. In all, to this date, one hundred and fourteen have joined. In 1873 5. W. Meek took charge of the church, and was installed in September following. The international Sabbath-school lessons were adopted, and the Sunday-school and society prospered. In 1875 a parsonage was purchased for $1,600, and taken for possession in February, 1876. In November, 1876, Mr. Meek resigned, and the board of home missions supplied the pace until April, 1878, when the present pastor, W. M. Howie, was called. The interim was rather disastrous to the church, but the earnest efforts of Mr. Howie since his ordination, June 11th, 1878, have fully restored its prosperity.



The Centennial Club-so called from being organized during the Centennial year, 1876-is a social and literary society, meeting the first and third Tuesday of each month, thirteen members are a quorum. The club is in a flourishing condition and very popular. It includes most of the solid men of the village.

The following are its officers: H. C., Edward Hanford, P. D.; Sir, Samuel Reynolds, 5; S. S., T. Guild, J.; J. Lyon, A.; E., A. Randall EelIs, 8.


The Walton Guards, 33d separate company of infantry, national guard of the State of New York. was organized May 20th, 1879, at Walton. It is attached to the 9th brigade, 5th division.

The movement to organize a company for the national guard in Delaware county was contemplated during the riots of 1877, and the application made to the adjutant-general, who notified the applicants that a company would soon be allowed to this county; and Walton being the best location being in the central part of the county, and having facilities for quick transportation by railroad north, east and south-was decided upon as the point for the location of the company.

The 33d is armed with Remington breech-loading rifles, and fully equipped, the uniform adopted being the "7th regiment pattern," i.e., cadet gray dress coat and pants, hat trimmed with gold lace, cadet gray overcoats. It has an excellent band of twenty pieces, John F. Ames drum-major, most of the members being old army men and having seen service with the 144th regiment.

The officers are: Captain, Matthew W. Marvin, formerly captain of Company B, 144th N.Y. infantry: 1st lieutenant, Harvey B. Morenus, formerly 3rd N.Y. cavalry; second lieutenant, George C. Robinson, formerly 72nd N.Y. volunteers; first sergeant, Daniel E. McLean, orderly sergeant 25th N.Y. cavalry and 72th N.Y. volunteers; quarter master sergeant, Walter F. Randall; sergeants--Thomas A. Pine,144th; George B. Gray, 89th; John S. Holley, Burton Hine, 89th; corporals-- Nelson S. Rosa, 144th; James A. Robinson; M.D. Cornish, George Middlemist, English volunteers; Orlando Butts, Whitney Hoyt, Charles W. Beers and Isaac D. Nutts. The company has a fine rifle range, provided with the regulation targets, butts, etc., for rifle practice. The company consists of ninety officers and men.

Delaware Lodge No. 229, A. O. U. was instituted on the 12th of April, 1879, by W.C. Hickox, D.D.G.M.W. It has over thirty members at present. It meets the first and third Friday of each month. The following is a list of the present officers: M.W. Miller, master workman; E.D. Mayhew, G.F.; H.H. Miller, O.; J.W. St. John, recorder; John J. Berray, F.: John S. Ells, R.; Rev. E. White, P.M.W.; George Parson, G.; Burton Hine L.W.; Harvey Morton, O.W.; George A. Colton, Lewis S. St. John and Charles Herring, trustees.


REV.A.J. ADAMS, the pastor of the First Baptist Church of Walton, was born in Sussex county, N.J., September 14th, 1841 and married Theresa M. Sutton, of the same place, July 16,1863. He came to Walton from Rosendale, Ulster county, in August, 1878, as pastor of the above named church, which he yet acceptably has in charge.

WILLIAM F.ARMSTRONG was born in 1819 in Ireland, and came to this country in 1822, landing at Quebec. He came to Greene county in 1832, and to Delaware in 1835, settling in Davenport. He learned the cabinet maker's trade in Walton, and worked in Delhi. In 1851 he married Mary A. Hughes, of Franklin--a descendant of early settlers there--and moved to his farm in Woodlawn for permanent residence.

JOHN Q. BARLOW, grandson of John Barlow, who settled in the Den in 1792 with his father, Jonathan, was born there February 23d, 1847, and occupied the farm that his father cleared up. He was married to Susan L. Armstrong October 31st, 1876, and his wife is also a representative of an early settler. He is a successful farmer and a prominent man of the town.

BENJAMIN J. BASSETT, son of Rev. A. Bassett, was born September 26th, 1812, at Walton, and was married ,September 18th, 1839, to Mary L. Benton, of Hudson, N.Y. He was in the Assembly in 1869 and 1874; is president of the Delaware County Bank, and fully enjoys the confidence of the people. He lives in the so-called White Griswold house on Delaware street, a spot made historic by the erection there of the first frame house of the town by Judge North.

JOHN BEAGLE, who is at present a farmer, was formerly a mason. He was born in Schenectady January 15th, 1815, and came to Walton in1858. He was married to Margaret Rightenberg, of Otsego county, in 1834. He has resided in the town for twenty-one years, and his post-office is Walton.

CHARLES N. BEERS was born in Walton in 1850, and is a representative of Ephraim Beers, a very early settler of the "Den." He carries on the farm upon which his ancestors lived, and is a worthy scion of those whose places he fills.

GABRIEL N. BENEDICT was born September 10th, 1807 in Walton, at the residence of Judge Gabriel North, on Delaware street. He is the grandson of both Mr. North and Caleeb North, of "New Road." He married Eliza A. White, daughter of Daniel White, who very early cleared up the farm where Mr. Benedict now lives, at North Walton. He is a life-long resident, and a worthy representative of those two distinguished families. Post-office North Walton.

JOHN J. BERRAY was born in Walton in 1851, and was married in December, 1877, to Alice St. John, a descendant of Cook St. John. Mr. Berray is a grandson of Seth Berray, whose name appears in the town history; he is at present in active business near the depot, as head of the firm of Berray & McGibbon, dealing in wood, coal, lime, plaster, groceries, meats, etc.

SAMUEL B. BRADLEY was born August 7th, 1841, in Walton, and has always resided here. He is a farmer and lumberman on Pine's brook, and his post-office address is Walton.

JAMES E. BRAZEE was born in Colchester in 1855, and in1878 married Marcia E. Chase, of Walton. He came to Walton in 1873 with his people, and has been the conductor on the Delhi branch of the Midland Railroad for the past five years. He removed to Delhi in the spring of the present year, where he now lives.

JAMES W. BUCKLEY was born June 7th, 1857, in Kortright, this county. He is connected with early and prominent settlers of Harpersfield. He came to Walton in 1858 with his parents, and has lived here since. In 1877 he became connected with the Walton Chronicle, where he now employed.

WILLIAM E. BUTLER was born December 6th, 1850, at Hamden; came to Walton in 1872 and settled on the first farm above the "Ox Bow"--settled by Benajah McCall. He married Mary J. Kelly September 29th, 1870, at Hamden; his post-office is Walton, and is a representative farmer of the town.

HENRY CLARK was born in Kortright November 1st, 1820, and is a descendant of Henry Clark, an early settler of Harpersfield, and son of John M. Clark of Kortright. He is, by his mother, a descendant of Alexander Leal, of Delhi. In 1847 he married Eliza McClaughry, also a relative of old residents of Kortright. He came to Walton in 1867, and is a farmer by occupation, occupying the farm just above the corporation, across the river. He fills places of trust in the town and church.

LEVI S. CHACE was born in Hamden in 1837, and is a descendant of Philip Chace, an early settler there. In 1859 he married Mary Tiflany, one of Samuel Tiflany's descendants, and in 1863 made Walton his home. Mr. Chace is engaged in the livery business on Townsend street, and fills offices of trust among his townsmen.

THEODORE D. CHILDS was born February 19th, 1820, at Philadelphia. In 1843 he married Abigail Baker, of Butternuts, Otsego county. He became a resident of Deposit in 1830, and of Walton in 1847, where he has since been engaged in active business. In 1863 he opened a drug store, which under the management of Guild & Childs, is in successful operation. Mr. Childs has filled important offices in the town.

G.A.COLTON, the present efficient mail agent on the Midland Railroad, was born November 3d, 1839, at Mansfield, Cattaraugus county, N.Y., and in 1864 married Charlotte M., daughter of John Mead {son of Alan Mead}. He came to Walton in 1860, and in 1862 went into the Union army as second lieutenant Company B. 144th N.Y. volunteer infantry, and was promoted captain. He was married to his second wife June 14th, 1876. She was Abbie M. Leonard, of Hancock.

STRONG COMSTOCK was born in Wilton, Conn., March 27th, 1844, and in 1867 removed thence to Walton, where he is principle of the union school. Mrs. Comstock was Martha J. Atwood, of Moravia, N.Y.

GEORGE W. CROSBY, M.D., is a native of Middletown, where he was born September 1st, 1851. In April, 1878 he made Walton his residence, as the first and only homo-opathic physician in the place. He graduated from the N.Y. Homo-opathic Medical College March 1st, 1878, and chose Walton for his field of labor, where he has a successful and growing practice.

REV. WALTER W. CURTIS, pastor of the North Walton Congregational Church, was born October 1st, 1845, in South Carolina. He graduated at the Union Theological Seminary of New York City in 1870, and was married in September, 1871, to Fanny Brown, of Columbia county. He came to Walton in June, 1874, to take the pastorate of the church there and the Ply -Church of West Brook, which position he acceptably fills at this date. Post-office, North Walton.

WALTER DAG was born in 1834 in Scotland. He came first to Delhi and Hamden for a residence, and settled in Walton, on his farm in district No. 5, in 1878. He married Margaret Thompson, a descendant of the first settlers of Bovina, on the 5th of January, 1865. Dairying and farming is his vocation, and his post-office address is Walton.

JOHN DELAMATER was born in Middletown, Delaware county, in 1840, and is a relative of early settlers of the town. In 1866 he was married to Catharine Scheeder, of South Worcester, Otsego County. In1866 Mr. Delamater came to Walton, and settled on the farm settled by William Andrews. He did faithful military service during the suppression of the Rebellion, and now is an energetic farmer. Post-office, Walton.

WILLIAM EATON was born in 1843 in Scotland, and came to this continent with his parents, who settled in Bovina in 1845, and then in Hamden a few years after. He married Jane Robinson, of Walton, and settled in district No. 4 about twelve years age as a farmer and lumberman.

JOHN S. EELLS was born December 7th, 1850, at Walton, and married Hettie A. Wilson, of Michigan, December 10th, 1873. He is a worthy descendent of the enterprising John Eells, and prominent among the business men of today. The firm Eells & Wood are extensively engaged in hardware business, at the corner of North and Delaware street, Walton.

J. B. EELLS was born in Walton in 1821; is a son of B.B. Ells, and grandson of John Eells; he married Sarah Olmstead in 1844. Mr. Eells has filled many places of trust among his townsmen, and has been engaged successfully for many years in carriage manufacturing. At present J. B. Eells & Son occupy the large three -story building on North street, and do the most extensive business of its kind in Walton.

ORSON J. EELLS was born July 25th, 1818, in Walton. He is the son of Jacob Eells who settled in 1808, where Butler Howland lives. The family has furnished a continuous line of mechanics from its first settlement. Mr. Eells married Martha Strong, of Franklin, a descendant of an old settler. Mr. Eells is a cabinet maker, having learned his trade from his father, and has a large shop and wareroom on North street. He has built many important buildings of the village, including the academy and several fine residences. He has also filled several important offices.

S.H. FANCHER was born January 1st, 1849, at Walton, and married July 10th, 1878, to Flora S. Harris, of the same place, who is a descendant of the Seymours--very early settlers. Mr. Fancher is attorney and counsellor at law, with an office in Fitch's block. Residence with Mrs. Harris, North street.

GEORGE W. and AUGUSTUS FIRCH are prominent merchants on North street, Walton, and worthy representatives of industrious ancestors. They are sons of Nathaniel Fitch, who was the son of the original settlers of that name. The family have from first to last been active business men, and have done much for the development and growth of Walton. During the present year they have erected the finest store of the town, on the site of the former one on North street.

S.B.FITCH was born in Sidney in 1837, and is a descendent of Asa Fitch. In 1859 he was married to Mary E. C. Gregory, of Colchester, and removed to Walton, where he engaged in the hardware business with Henry Eells. At the present writing the firm of S. B. Fitch & Co. is doing and extensive business at the corner of Delaware and North streets.

EDWIN GUILD, a prominent merchant of Walton, with Mr. Alexander, was born in Walton in September, 1882. He married Hannah Moore, of this place, in 1849. For eighteen years he has been a successful, enterprising merchant of the village, and prominent in its affairs.

TRUMAN GUILD was born in Walton in 1825, and has been identified with the growth of the town ever since. In 1847 he married Elizabeth M. Keen, and for twenty years has been in business. He is now in the drug trade; firm name, Guild & Childs.

ALFRED GOULD was born in 1823 in Walton, and is a grandson of Eli Gould. In 1850 he married Demaris Alverson, a grandchild of the oldest settler of that name. He is a natural mechanic, and the result of his industry can be seen at his extensive works on Bob's brook, Walton. His sons Hermon J. and Eli T. Gould are engaged with him, and are "chips of the old block" in mechanism.

LEVI HANFORD was born February 15th, 1892, at Canaan, Conn., and came to the town with his parents in 1808, settling "on the mountain," as that productive portion of the is called. His father first settled near where Mr. Hanford now resides, with his son-in-law, Hiram Olmsted. At the age of twenty-five , in March, 1817, he married Cynthia Hanford, of Walton, and commenced life in earnest. He cleared with his own hands over one hundred and forty acres of the farm on which he resides, and truly has caused the wilderness to "blossom like the rose." Mr. Hanford is now in his eighty-eight year, hale and hearty, and regular in his duties to his farm and church. His many services to the agricultural interests of his county, and his many places of trust in the town, filled with fidelity, will be long remembered. In 1812 he served in the defense of New York, and has ever been loyal to his country's needs. His father was one of the "sugar-house" prisoners of Revolutionary fame, and received a present of a cane made from the timbers of the prison, which has been preserved by the subject of this sketch. Mr. Hanford has three surviving brothers, younger than himself, who are also active in their old age. The father, mother and six children lived to the average age of eighty.

CHARLES HERRING was born January 10th, 1849, at Delhi, Delaware county, N.Y.; he came to Walton in 1864 from Franklin. In 1871 he married Sarah Farrell, of Hobart, and for several years has filled satisfactorily the position of general station agent for the Midland at Walton; he is the ticket agent for all western roads, and also express agent for the station.

BURTON HINE was born in Meredith October 9th, 1842, and married H. Adelia Strong, of the same town, September 14th, 1869. They made Walton their place of residence in 1871, moving from Franklin. Mr. Hine enlisted in Company I,89th N.Y. volunteers, September 16th, 1861, at Delhi, and was actively engaged at the battles of South Mountain, Antietam, Fredericksburg, Suffolk, siege of Charleston and Cold Harbor. He holds the position of deputy sheriff of the county, and has filled other places of trust among the citizens. He lives in Walton village.

REV. W. H. HOWIE was born September 1st, 1845, at Waukesha, Wis., and was married August 27th, 1873 to Mary Lackey, of Crawford county, Pa. In April 1878, at Newburg, he accepted the call of the U. P. church of Walton, was settled as its pastor at that time, and yet fills the pulpit is a satisfactory manner.

E. R. HOWLAND, residing on East Brook, was born at Hamden January 28th, 1830, and is descended from the original pioneers of that town. In 1850 he came to Walton. September 22nd, 1852, he was married to Margaret A. McDonald, of Walton, and is now an extensive farmer and dairyman of the town, and occupies places of trust among his fellow townsmen. Post-office, Walton.

ELLAS P. HOWLAND was born in Hamden February 11th, 1847, and is relation of early settlers there. IN 1858 he came to Walton, and on May 7th, 1879, married Emma Milks, a resident of Walton. He is the owner of the celebrated Howland mill, on East Brook, which is historic, because on the spot where Walton's first grist-mill was built. Post-office, Walton.

AMASA L. HOYT and EDWARD HOYT were born at the Hoyt homestead "on the mountain," the former in 1819, and latter in 1827. They are direct descendants of Thaddeus Hoyt, one of the first men that build a cabin on that hill. Amasa married Delia E. Fitch, a descendant of Seymour Fitch, in 1844, and Edward married Helen Benedict, daughter of Ira Benedict, in 1856. These gentlemen are farmers upon adjoining farms, near the spot of their birth. A. L. Hoyt is a justice of the peace, and has filled , with satisfaction to his constituents, other places of trust. Edward was in Company B. 144th N.Y. volunteers, and was wounded in action at "Deveaux Neck." Post-office, Walton.

E. P. HOYT, son of G.A. Hoyt, descendents of Thaddeus Hoyt, was born in 1842, and in 1864 married Jennie Wright, of Walton. Father and son are life-long residents of the town, and have a large family connection here, which has an important history in its growth. G. A. Hoyt is a farmer on Third Brook, and E.P. Hoyt is a harness maker on Delaware street, Walton.

REV. H. M. LADD, the pastor of the First Congregational church of Walton, was born November 10th, 1849, at Brusa, Turkey. June 16th, 1875 he married Sarah E. Harvey, of Danbury, Conn., and August of that year was called to the pastorate of this church from New Haven, Conn. He enjoys the confidence of the people in the church and out, and fills offices in the fire department and Walton Water Works Association.

JAMES LAUNT was born January 30th, 1830, at Hamden; lived there until 1855, then moved to Walton, settling the farm now owned by McLean, on Pine Brook. In 1863 he came to Walton village and went into the livery business, and in 1864 became proprietor of the Walton House, the only hotel there. He is a descendant of Frederick Launt, who settled on Platner brook in 1807. He married Sarah C. Launt February 27th, 1851. He is at present proprietor of the hotel, and a public spirited man of the town.

E. W. LOCKWOOD was born in 1837 in New York city, and married, March 21th, 1869, to Mrs. Harriet Lewis, a descendant of Benajab McCall, and widow of Captain Thomas Lewis of the 144th. Mr. Lockwood came to Walton early in the year 1861, and at present is pleasantly situated on North street.

JOHN M. LYONS spent his boyhood in Andes, where he was born in 1826. In 1838 he came to Walton. He was a builder and contractor, then engaged in the hardware business. In 1856 he married Julia Eells, a descendent of John Eells. He has filled the office of justice of the peace eighteen years past.

REV. DAVID McCALLISTER is the pastor of the Reformed Presbyterian church. He graduated from the Allegeny Theological Seminary, at Pittsburg, in 1863, and is secretary of the National Reformed Association, and editor of the Christian Stateman. He was born August 25th, 1835, in the city of New York, and married Margaret . King, of that city. He has been the pastor of his church at Walton for sixteen years.

JAMES S. McLAUREY was formerly a resident of Kortright, and was born there in 1815. He came to Walton in 1842 and married Elizabeth H. Mead, daughter of Alan Mead,, in 1843. He has been a successful physician of Walton for many years. Albert D. Peake, a descendant of Rosewell Peake, married Martha, the daughter of Mr. McLaurey, in 1874, and is now attorney and counsellor at Walton, and filling places of trust.

GEORGE O. MEAD was born February 3rd, 1842, in Walton, and married Frances A. Pattengill, daughter of Rev. J. S. Pattengill, in November, 1863. Mr. Mead is a son of G.S. Mead, the son of Alan Mead, and he is the managing officer of the Delaware County Bank of Walton. He is the present supervisor of the town, and was a member of the 144th regiment of volunteers in the Rebellion.

T. D. MICHAEL was born in 1836 at Davenport, and married Mary Mills, of Franklin, September 4th, 1865. In1876 they removed to Walton, where Mrs. Michael, who is a graduate of the New York Medical College, enjoys a successful practice as a physician.

HON. N. C. MARVIN and M.W. MARVIN are brothers, sons of Thomas Marvin, well known in the history of the county, and are attorneys and counsellors at law. N.C. Marvin represented the district in the State Senate for the past two years, and both gentleman have deserved mention in the history of the town.

WILLIAM and L. MARVIN are descendants of Matthew Marvin, an early settler, and were born in Walton. Mr. L. Marvin is at present a justice of the peace of the town, a station he has filled for several years, and is postmaster of the principal office of the town. Mr. William Marvin is a farmer, residing on North street.

GEORGE W. MARVIN was born November 20th, 1817, in Walton, and is a son of Jared Marvin, an old settler of the town. In 1864, he was married to Hannah Eells, also a relative of a pioneer. This worthy couple are really pioneers themselves, living where they cleared the land in "Marvin Hollow." Mr. Marvin is a lumberman and farmer of proverbial integrity and industry.

John A. Miller was born September 25th, 1820, in Bovina. His father, who was an early settler of that town, removed to Middletown, this county, when John A. was quite young, and the pioneers privation, and cares are well remembered by the latter, for he was once lost in the woods around his father's humble home, and was not found until the afternoon on the next day. January 15th, 1855, he married Margaret Jackson, who was a resident of Andes. Mr. Miller is a prominent farmer of West Brook, and his post-office is Walton.

ALEXANDER NEISH, lawyer at Walton, and formerly justice of peace in Andes, was born in the latter town December 11th, 1846. He was married to Mary A. Hitchcock, of Franklin, in 1867, and in June, 1869, remove to Andes from Walton.

ROBERT NORTH, JR, was born April 7th, 1792, at Walton, and died August 15th, 1873. He married Mary Pine, of Walton, who survives him, and with the daughters, occupies the old farm and homestead first settled upon and built by Captain Robert North, one of the pioneers of Walton in June, 1785.

H. E. NORTH, son of W.W. North, is a descendant of the north pioneers in Walton, where he was born December 21th, 1853, and this has always been his home. He is freight agent of the Midland Railroad. His residence is with his father , on Stockton avenue.

WILLAIM NORTH was born March 4th, 1820, in Walton, and is a grandson of Judge Gabriel North. He married Frances Mabie, of Walton, on the 6th of September, 1848. He is a farmer within the corporation, on Stockton avenue.

MRS. MARGARET OGDEN, relict of Edward Ogden, deceased, was married in 1856. Her maiden name was Wright, and she is a descendant of John Shaw, and early settler of Delhi. Her late husband was the son of Abraham Ogden, and she resides with her children upon the farm on West Brook that was long ago settled by Daniel Ogden.

THOMAS J. OGDEN is a son of Daniel Ogden, and was born March 27th, 1807, at Walton. He married Eliza B. Eagle, of New York city, in 1836. In 1831 he began the study of medicine, and commenced practice in his native town in 1834. In 1865 Henry E. Ogden, his son, commenced practice, and the firm of T.G. Ogden & Son is today a prominent one.

JACOB H. OSTERHOUT, junior partner in the firm if S.B. Fitch & Company, was born April 10th, 1857, in Lackawack, Ulster county. In April, 1874, he came to Walton, and resides with his parents in the village.

WALTER F. RANDALL, was born in Chicago, and in 1870 came to Walton as assistant engineer on the Midland Railroad. He read law in the office of N.C.& M.W. Marvin , and was admitted last year to practice in the state courts. He was elected justice of the peace for Walton at the last spring town meeting.

E. R. ROGERS, a descendant of Asa Rogers, who settled the farm now occupied by him, was born in Walton in 1827, and in 1850 married Mary St. John, descendant of Peter St.John. He is a farmer. M. Romina Rogers, his daughter, is a successful teacher at the present time.

JAMES D. ROGERS, son of Asa Rogers, was born March 3rd, 1830, on the farm he occupies and in part owns. On the 30th of December, 1860, he married Maria A. Watrous, daughter of Morgan Watrous, and early settler near Weed's bridge. Mr. Rogers is a prominent citizen of the town, a farmer, and has filled several important offices of his town. Post-office, Walton.

PIERSON & TEED are an enterprising firm of the village, carrying on a foundry and machine shop in the basement of Gould & Co.'s carriage factory, where plows and castings of all kinds are made, and all kinds of work done in that line. This branch of business is of much importance in the town, and these young men are well adapted to it. Mr. Ralph Teed is recently from Massachusetts, and Mr. Charles Pierson is the son of Joseph Pierson, on Mount Pleasant.

NELSON S. ROSA was born in 1843 at Walton, and married Martha A. Miller, of Hamden. He was in the 40th N.Y. volunteers in the civil war; was wounded and taken prisoner at Chantilla; was paroled, joined his regiment, and engaged in the battle of the Wilderness and Gettysburg and the last battle of the war; he served four years.

HON. ALBERT H. SEWELL was born in Hamden October 30th, 1847, but has resided at Walton, except six years in Sidney prior to September 1st, 1879, when he commenced business at Walton as a lawyer. He graduated at Cornell University in 1871, and at the Albany Law School in 1873, and represented the first district of Delaware county in the Assembly of 1878.

J. W. ST. JOHN was born March 29th, 1855, at Walton, and is a descendant of Cook St. John. In 1876 he married Hattie J. Crisman, of Walton. He is one of the firm of S.B. Fitch & Co., hardware dealers.

GEORGE ST. JOHN was born July 15th, 1809, at Walton. He married Miss R.E. Wenman of New York city. Between 1823 and 1860 he was engaged in mercantile business in New York and in Mobile, Ala. Since his retirement he has occupied the farm formerly owned by his father, upon which he has erected stately buildings. He has filled the office of president of the village of Walton two years, and is notably a public spirited gentleman.

WILLIAM ST. JOHN was born April 2nd, 1819, at Walton, and is a grandson of Peter St. John, an early settler. He was married in 1840 to Sarah Benedict, who was a descendant of James Benedict, a very early settler at North Walton. He is a farmer on Mount Pleasant.

REV. RICHARD C. SEARING was born April 13th, 1851, at Saratoga Springs. In 1869 he entered St. Stephen's College at Annandale, Dutchess county, and graduated in 1873. He took up the study of theology in 1874 in the General Theological Seminary, New York city, and graduated in 1877; was ordained deacon June 11th, 1877, and came to Walton July 20th, 1877, to take charge of the parish of Christ Church.

SEYMOUR SEELY was born in 1811 in Walton, and is directly connected with Sylvanus Seely, who came to North Walton in 1795. In 1835 he married Parmelia Sampson, of Broome county. His nephew, Harvey B. Goodrich, was born in 1842, and married Mary Grey in 1864. They are farmers.

CLARENCE STEELE is a descendant of Asahel Steele, and son of George C. Steele. He was born July 24th, 1856, in Walton, and is engaged with his father in the shoe trade. William D. Wade, grandson of Andrew Seymour, was born April 9th, 1858. He is a direct descendant of Samuel Seymour, mentioned among our early settlers. He resides with his mother on Delaware street, Walton.

JOHN TOWNSEND occupies. the homestead of his grandfather, William Townsend on Delaware street, with his mother, relict of Colonel John Townsend; she is a daughter of Simeon Howell, who, with her husband and his father , was very prominent in the history of Walton. The present John Townsend is a farmer and stock broker.

JOHN TWEEDIE was born in Scotland July 4th, 1824. He came to Delhi in 1849 and to Walton in 1875. In 1853 he married Mary A. Middlemist, daughter of Robert Middlemist, an old settler of Franklin. Farming is his present business, and Walton his post-office.

ARCHIBALD TWEEDIE was born in Scotland in 1825, on the 25th of August; came to America while a young man and settled in Walton "on the mountain." In February, 1863, he married Nancy Strangeway, also from Scotland, and in 1863 purchased the farm where he lives-settled by Silas Benedict in 1789. He is a successful and prominent farmer, and fills important offices in the church of his choice; post-office, Walton.

CHARLES WATROUS, son of Morgan Watrous, was born in Walton in 1828, and has been a life long resident. He is also a descendant of Adna Mallory, who early came to Hamden. Mr. W. is a prominent farmer in district No. 8, on Third brook; post-office, Walton.

CHARLES C. WEBB was born February 7th, 1842, on the farm settled by Joseph Webb, in Woodland, and is a descendant of Sylvanus Seely. He married Rebecca B. Wood, a descendant of Joseph Wood, in 1864. Mr. Webb is a successful farmer, and fills important official stations in the town and church.

REV. EDWARD WHITE was born October 18th, 1843, in England, and married Elizabeth Bowen, of England, June 2nd, 1861. In 1877 he came to Walton from Franklin, to take the pastorate of the M.E. church, which position he fills at present with the approbation of his people.

SAMUEL E. WHITE, of North Walton, was born in 1842 at Walton, and married Elizabeth C. Knapp, of Stamford, Conn., in November, 1852. He is a long-life resident of the town and an extensive farmer; he is a son of Daniel White, who was the first settler of a portion of the farm he occupies. Mr. White has a son, Arthur L. White, a recent graduate of Franklin Academy, who resides with his parents at North Walton.

WILLIAM A. WHITE, editor and publisher of the Walton Chronicle, was born September 21th, 1820, in Stamford, Conn. He married Mary Metcalf, of Cherry Valley, N.Y. He came to North Walton from Stamford in July, 1822, and to Walton village in April, 1865. He is agent for several varieties of sewing machines.

EBENEZER WOOD was born July 17th, 1828, in Walton. He is a son of Benjamin Wood, who was a son of Joseph Wood, one of the first settlers in North Walton. Mr. Wood married Hannah Benedict, a grandchild of Caleb Benedict, in 1866. He resides on his farm in district No. 8, and not only is a successful business man, but fills places of trust among his townsmen; post-office, Walton.

NATHAN C. WOOD was born in 1840 at Walton, and is a son of Jesse L. Wood, one of the first settlers of Woodlawn, in North Walton. In 1871 he married Laura J. White, daughter of editor of the Walton Chronicle, and he has been engaged for the past years in the hardware business at Walton with Mr. Eells, the firm name being Eells & Wood. Mr. Wood is also connected with the child's carriage works, and is an active business man of the place.

Back to Table of Contents for The History of Delaware County by W.W. Munsell- 1797-1880

Back to Table of Contents for The History of Delaware County by W.W. Munsell- 1797-1880

Delaware County NY Genealogy and History Site
a service of the Delaware County Historical Association located at 46549 State Highway 10, Delhi, NY 13753

Online since 1996 - created and managed by Joyce Riedinger