This town was formed April 10th, 1792, and was then a part of Ulster county. Upon the formation of Delaware county, in 1797, it became a part of the latter. It lay wholly in the Hardenbergh patent, and included within its boundaries the town of Roxbury, and a part of the town of Bovina. That portion of the town lying north of the river, north of the village of Hobart, was annexed from Harpersfield and Kortright, April 22nd, 1834.
"At a legal meeting of the inhabitants of the town of Stamford, in Ulster county, and in the State of New York, held at Peter Kanpp's house, on Tuesday, 2nd day of April, A. D. 1793," of which "Mr. Peter Osborn was voted moderator," George Squire was elected town clerk, Samuel Ingersol constable and collector, and Andrew Beers supervisor. The next day Joshua Wright, Silas Knapp and Abijah Bennett were chosen assessors; Daniel Bennett, Samuel Merriam and Isreal Inman, commissioners of highways; Hugh Rose and James Grant, overseers of the poor.
The following are some of the ordinances enacted by the voters of the town at the annual town meetings named:
1795.--Voted, the commissioners last year shall have 75 cents per day for their services. Voted, that hogs shall be free commoners, and that they shall be yoked as follows, viz.: that the yoke be six inches above, four below and four at the cross sill below. Voted, that Andrew Beers, Abijah Bennett and Grant Toucey inspect into the business of the town clerk last year.
1798.--Voted, that the division shall be made in the town of Stamford, beginning near the eight- mile tree, between Mrs. Montgomery's and Mr. Desbrosses's land, and so running on the height of the land until it strikes the county line.
1799.--Voted, that the town clerk be allowed five dollars for his services the ensuing year.
1801.--Voted, that cattle and horses, "except unruly," shall be free commoners.
1803.--Voted, the note executed by Abel and Isaac Hubell to the overseers of the poor as a fine for killing "dear" is given off.
1806.--Voted, that the note John B. Hall gave the town of Stamford for retailing liquors in 1805 shall be extinguished.
1807.--Voted, that the supervisor shall use his endeavor for docking the wages of the clerk of the board of supervisors.
1808.--Voted, that hogs shall not be commoners, unless yoked and "rung" as the law directs, from the first day of March until the first day of December.
1814.--Voted, that five dollars be allowed for each and every wolf killed within the bounds of this town, to the person or persons who shall thereafter kill any wolf or wolves.
Licenses were granted by the commissioners of excise of Stamford to the following persons March 1st, 1797, each paying a fee of $5: Abram Gold, Henry Dewey, Peter Jennings, Stephen Beers, Jacob Smyth, John Lamb, and Joshua Webster.
The money received for the above licenses was paid to the overseers of the poor. So say John Lamb, Andrew Beers and Hugh Rose, commissioners of excise.
The population of this town is shown by census returns to have ranged as follows: 1835, 1,747; 1840, 1,681; 1845, 1,715; 1850, 1,708; 1855, 1,597; 1860, 1,661; 1865, 1,556; 1870, 1,658; 1875, 1,571.
CIVIL LIST OF STAMFORD.
The following is a complete list of supervisors and town clerks for the town of Stamford:
Supervisors.--1793-95, Andrew Beers; 1796, 1797, John Lamb; 1798, 1799, 1804, 1806, Patrick Lamb; 1800-3, 1805, Joshua Webster; 1807, 1808, Hugh Rose; 1809, James Grant; 1810, Abraham Thomas; 1811-14, 1820-22, Charles B. Perry; 1815, 1816, Daniel McGillivrae; 1817, 1818, Aaron Blish; 1819, John B. Spencer; 1823, 1824, Levinus Monson; 1825, 1826, John Griffin; 1827, 1828, James B. Redfield; 1829, 1830, Amos Griffin; 1831, Isaac Bennett; 1832, 1834, James Stewart; 1833, George Sturgess; 1835, 1836, Grove Webster; 1837, 1838, Orrin Griffin; 1839-43, Orrin Foote, 1844, 1845, Abraham Thomas, sen.; 1846, 1847, Daniel R. Bennett; 1848, 1850, Alexander McDonald; 1849, John R. Baldwin; 1851, Andrew Cowan; 1852, 1853, Baldwin Griffin, who resigned, and Frederick Griffin was elected October 11th, 1853, to fill the vacancy; 1854, James A. Grant, jr.; 1855, 1856, Harry Barlow; 1857-59, Daniel Andrews; 1860, Robert S. Brownell; 1861, 1862, 1864, John S. McNaught; 1863, George W. Martin; 1865-68, Frederick W. Foote; 1869, 1870, Isaac H. Maynard; 1871, 1872, William S. Foote; 1873, Stephen Rich; 1874, 1875, William B. Champlin; 1876, Isaac H. Silliman; 1877, 1878, John W. Griffin; 1879, John C. Van Dyke.
Town Clerks.--1793, George Squire; 1794, Stephen De La Van; 1795, Grant Toucey; 1796-98, Peter Bradley; 1799-1803, Ebenezer Sturgess, He resigned in September, 1803, and Abraham Thomas was elected to fill the vacancy. 1804-7, Abraham Thomas; 1808-14, 1816-19, Martin Leet; 1815, 1820, William Grant; 1821-28, Abraham D. Smyth; 1829, 1830, Orrin Griffin; 1831- 34, George Clum; 1835, 1836, Nathaniel Stevenson; 1837, 1838, Charles W. Booth; 1839-43, Horace Hanford; 1844, 1845, William Gleason, jr.; 1846, William B. Champlin, jr.; 1847, Henry McKenzie; 1848, Alexander D. McDonald; 1849, 1851, 1852, William S. Foote; 1850, James A. Grant, jr.; 1853-62, 1865-67, 1871, 1873-76, 1878, 1879, Henry Grant; 1863, 1864, 1868-70, John Laughran; 1872, A. C. Laughran; 1877, Henry B. Montgomery.
The old Indian trail used by the Mohawks in their hunting excursions to the Delaware river valley extended from the Schoharie creek near Blenheim, or Patchin Hollow, through the gorge in the hills, to the head of Lake Utsayantho, the extreme head of the Delaware; thence west down its outlet to near Cowley's Mills, where it divided. One trail went over Throop hill, westerly, to the head of the Charlotte, thence on to the Susquehanna. The other diverged eastwardly, passing through Stamford village near the residence of Charles A. Wood, and on over the notch in the mountain to the Township brook, near where the Mores first settled. That Township valley was famous with Brant, or Thayendanegea, as a hunting ground. Brant was on intimate terms with More, who had settled in Township valley before the war, and when the time came that Brant decided to take up the hatchet for his "white father across the big waters," he gave More timely notice to leave, and thus saved his life. These trails were so much worn by travel that they are yet visible in the woods and fields where the ground has not been cultivated.
OLD MILITIA TIMES IN STAMFORD
The trying scenes of the long struggle by which our independence as a nation was established served to inspire the hardy sons of America with a desire for some form of military life. After a few years of peace the military fire began to burn low; but the war of 1812 renewed it, and old "training days" were revived, and for many years kept up. We find the following roll of Captain J. D. Riddle's company of artillery, September 20th, 1834:
Captain, J. D. Riddle; Lieutenants, J. C. Stewart and John Hanford; Sergeants--Ephraim Fuller, William McCracken, H. Ellsworth, H.A. Hamilton; corporals--Adams Jaques, J. C. Montgomery, Dean Milwain, Jehoiakim Rowe; musicians--James Goodrich, George Brainard, David Turner, Samuel V. S. Root, Moxon Harlow, Peter H. Rowe; Color-bearer, William Lamb; gunners-- George Benton, Herman Rowe, William P. Riddle, Peter Dingee, John Woodbeck, Jacob Davis, John L. Seward, Jacob B. Drake, Ira B. Hanford.
Joshua Bassett, Orrin Hanford, Reuben Fuller, Curtis Coe, Thomas Douglass, Jesse B. Nichols, Henry C. Merwin, Ira Brainard, Calvin Gunn, William Palmer, Samuel Smith, Jacob Wager, Charles Johnston, William Shultz, Richard Stanley, Thomas J. Palmer, Phineas Doan, Truman Parish, John Harper(2d), William Hill, jr., Harvey Seward, Timothy L. Montgomery, John S. Hobbie, Thomas G. Dibble, Oliver Rathbone, David Smith, Calvin W. Wright, A. B. Andrews, Benjamin Parish, John Davis, James H. Brownell, James McGill, Orrin D. Rice, P. Garrisons, Bennet Wightman, James Youngs, Fred M. Wager, Peter Fisher, Nathan R. Merwin, Daniel W. Andrews, David Baird, Myron L. Owens, Joseph Scott, John Moffatt, Joseph Smith, James Parker, Benjamin Smith, Jeremiah Smith, Samuel Harper, Philip Vanalstine, Martin L. Shellman, David G. Youmans, Matthew S. Hanford, Amos Every, Luther Briggs, Silas Pierce, Jonathan B. Parish, Robert S. Brownell, John F. Cutting, Frederick Shafer, Maxson Spoor, William Rowe, William G. Harlow, Bedford Miller, John McDougal, Robert J. Orr, Robert Orr, Richard Banner, George Crofft, William Miller, David Taylor, Adam Van Valkenburgh, Samuel Davis, Ephriam Davis, Adam Rowe, Stephen Crofft, Stafford Davis, Henry Orr, Samuel H. Orr, Esley Westfall, Squire Moon, William Moon, James Harlow, jr., C. S. Miller, S. Houghtaling, Moses M. Benedict, Peter B. Simmons, John Grommon, Oscar Rockwell, Daniel Smith, Elijah Cook, Isaiah Burget, Samuel Cook, John Rowe, Alva L. Whitney, David Hatfield, Miles W. Stanley, Joseph P. Douglass, Lorenzo McCartee, William McCartee, Dean F. Reynolds, William McClaughry, Samuel Riddle, Joseph S. Wagor, Lewis Parris.
UNITED PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH OF STAMFORD.
This church is located in the southwest end of the town, near South Kortright. The society was organized in 1790 by Rev. William McAuley, who came from Ireland and located in Kortright, and not finding his time fully employed in that field, came down on the "Flats," organized a society, established a preaching place, and soon after built a church very nearly where the present church stands. The church was organized as an "Associate Reformed Presbyterian church,"and in 1858, after the union of the two principal bodies of the Presbyterians in the United States, the name of this church was changed to its present one.
In 1833 the society sold its old house of worship, when it was converted into a wagon house, and the present church edifice built, at a cost of about $3,000. It has since been repaired and a new spire put on, and it is in excellent condition. In 1846 the society purchased sixteen acres of land and built the present parsonage, at a cost of $1,000 for lot and building. This society has been the parent of others, including the one at Hobart, four miles distant. It has also always been the banner church in this section of the county for its liberality in the Bible cause, and has given largely to home and foreign missions.
The church has been very fortunate in its pastors. Rev. William McAuley was with it from 1790 to 1809, when he was succeeded by Rev. Robert Forrest, who remained till the installation of Rev. John D. Gibson, the present pastor, in 1844; only three pastors in ninety years!
The present membership is one hundred and fifty-five; value of church property $6,000. The church is liberal and harmonious in everything that pertains to religious affairs
The Sunday-school has been in successful operation for many years. The present superintendent is Rev. J. D. Gibson, pastor of the church, and the average attendance is seventy-five members.
STAMFORD FIRE INSURANCE COMPANY
At a meeting of inhabitants of Stamford and Harpersfield at Robert S. Brownell's hotel, in Stamford, on the 30th day of January, 1860, this company was organized, articles of association were adopted, and persons representing $50,000 proceeded to the election of the following directors: Rev. J. B. Van Housen, C. Griffin, Henry Pratt, Nelson L. Thorp, Cyrus Gibbs, Lyman Wilcox, F. R. Gilbert, William R. Beckley, and Robert Hume. At a meeting of the directors, held immediately after their election, Lyman Wilcox was elected president of the board and F. R. Gilbert secretary. Article 4 of the constitution reads as follows: "The object of the said company is to mutually insure the property of the members thereof, situated in the towns of Stamford and Harpersfield, in the county of Delaware, against loss by fire."
The business office of the company was to be located in the village of Stamford, and the annual meetings to be held on the first Tuesday in January in each year.
The present directors, elected January 14th, 1879, are as follows: Stephen Van Dusen, N. K. Wilcox, J. C. Van Dyke, A. T. Wilcox, John Hager, H. S. Preston, R. McLaughran, E. W. Churchill and H. J. Burroughs. E. W. Churchill, M. D., was elected president of the board; N. K. Wilcox treasurer, and R. McLaughran secretary. The number of policies issued to the present time is 1,111.
The locality known as "Township" is located in the valley of Town Brook, and about five miles from its mouth. It was intended by the early settlers to make this place the center of business for a large section of country, as the valley at that point is one of the most beautiful spots in Delaware county. Accordingly, an act was passed by Legislature, surveys make and a town plot, one mile square, was laid out into lots forty rods square, with eight streets running at right angles. The reference to the map on file in the county clerk's office reads as follows: "Map of the township of New Stamford, in the county of Ulster, surveyed and laid our agreeable to law for that purpose, passed April 21st, 1787, per Will Cockburn, commissioner; John Cox, William Cockburn, surveyors."
The map thus entitled, and which is here reproduced, shows the Town Brook and tributaries in the town plot, and the "parade" lot, set apart for military purposes at general musters and other occasions when necessary to be used by the local militia. It also gives the owner and number of each lot.
"The square lots are run north 2' west, and north 88' east; the river lots north 58' west. The corner of each lot has four long blazes and three notches, and marked with the numbers of the corresponding lots." The river lots were mostly narrow, running back from the river into the town. These, however, were only the margin lots, left after surveying the large lots.
For a new country, this place was quite thickly settled previous to the Revolution, the most of the settlers coming from Stamford, Conn., whence the name New Stamford. When the war broke out these New Englanders were set upon by the Indians and Tories, allies of the king, and were compelled by the superior forces to leave their adopted home, and return to their native State. But no sooner had the war closed than they again sought the beautiful valley, then covered with the primeval forest, as their future home.
Among the early settlers in the "Township" were Seth Burr Gold, who came here in 1793 and engaged in black smithing; Hugh Rose, who built a grist-mill on the place now owned by Mr. Morse; Joseph Warn, who came here and built a saw-mill about 1795; Nathan North, Thomas Taylor, Robert Grant, James Stewart, Daniel Foote, Joseph Adams and Eliakim Taylor, who settled here previous to 1800. They naturally brought with them the customs and usages of their native New England. They built themselves mills and shops, and in a short time they were on the high road to prosperity, which is at present apparent to the passer by, as he views the broad fields, substantial and comfortable dwellings in this beautiful valley.
No sooner had the pioneers fairly located than they began to cast about for a place to worship. They had with them all the elements that go to make up a society of the highest moral and religious standing, including such men as the Bangses, Sillimans, Olmsteds, Skinners, Puffers and others. The pioneer preacher was gladly welcomed, hospitably cared for and earnestly heard, as he poured forth, in good, old fashioned Methodist rhetoric and truths he brought from the fountain of living waters. In 1800 a society or class was formed, with John Sturgess as leader, which resulted in the formation of the
METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH
Pursuant to public notice given, the inhabitants of Stamford or Township neighborhood met January 13th, 1823, at the house of John M. Olmsted, to take into consideration the propriety of building a church and choosing trustees for its management. It was unanimously agreed to build a church, to be known as the Methodist Episcopal Church of Stamford; and that John M. Olmsted, Joseph Bangs and David Dancomb be the trustees.
The society met at the house of Levi Olmsted February 6th, 1826, to take action in regard to furnishing the church. Two additional trustees were chosen to aid in carrying the object into effect, namely, Burr Skinner and Benjamin Puffer.
The society built their church in 1823, on lot 46, located by Fulsom, in the Township. The frame of the building was put up and enclosed, and the structure used in that condition, without furniture, other than rude benches, until 1829, when it was furnished up in the style of that day. It is located on one of the Cockburn lots in the "Township," and cost about $500. It has since been modernized, and is now one of the many neat little churches of this town. The society is connected with that at Hobart, and is supplied with preaching every Sabbath afternoon. Previous to building the church, the public meetings were held mostly at the house of Thomas Duncomb. Among the early class leaders were John Sturgess, Burr Silliman, Lemuel Bangs, David Duncomb and William Stevens. Among the early members were John M. Olmsted, Joseph Bangs, Charles Duncomb, David Duncomb, William Stewart, and John Bangs, who afterward preached on the circuit. Among the early preachers were Andrew McKean, father of Hon. James B. McKean, Henry Steed and Elijah Woolsey, who was the first presiding elder on this district. The same ministers have served this society and congregation that preached at Hobart and on the old Kortright Circuit.
Immediately after the Revolutionary war Colonel Harper obtained six hundred and forty acres of land on the east side of the Delaware river, upon which a portion of the village of Stamford is located. It was given for services rendered in obtaining of the Oquago Indians a title of lands lying between the east and west branches of the Delaware river. The same six hundred and forty acres he afterward sold to Daniel Clark, who sold a portion of it to Stephen Maynard, who came to this place about the same time with Clark. About 1790 Clark built a frame house on the north side of East Main street, near the railroad crossing, where Mrs. Leonard now lives. In 1792 there were only two dwellings in the present limits of the village of Stamford east of the Delaware river, the one built by Clark, and the other just south of where N. P. Judson now lives, on Delaware street.
Among the other early residences of the village may be mentioned the Newell house, now the "Churchill house," on Main street, and the Hamilton house, the oldest one on the west side of the river, owned and occupied by H. S. Preston.
This house has a history. Some of those born in it have a wide reputation. E.Z.C. Judson ("Ned Buntline"), the novelist and sketch writer, was one of those cradled within its walls. H.S. Wood, Esq., the lover of historic lore, first saw the light of day as it peeped upon him through the windows of this old mansion. The old house stands as majestic as ever, on Main street, west of the Delaware, and in the part of the village locally known as "Brooklyn." The first physician here is supposed to have been Dr. P. Smith. He lived on the "Devil's half-acre," just on top of the hill as one crosses over from "Brooklyn." His residence was a part of the house now occupied by Dr. Sellek. There were in an early day two or three more houses near the Delaware.
Among the early settlers in what is now the village of Stamford was St. Leger Cowley, who came at the close of the Revolution with his old war worn musket on his shoulder, which is now in the possession of E.Z.C. Judson. William A. Cowley has in his possession the will of St. Leger Cowley, dated September 30th, 1796. This is said to be the first will admitted to probate in Delaware county. We make the following extract: "Item. I give and bequeath unto my well beloved and trusty friend John Harper, and Joshua H. Brett, Esq., and my well beloved son William Cowley, the sum of seven pounds apiece, for extraordinary services; whom I also constitute, ordain and appoint to be the sole executors," etc. It is signed by Parmenus Baldwin, Giles Humiston and Samuel Faris as witnesses. Anthony Marvine appears as surrogate. The will was admitted to probate at Kortright August 7th, 1794, and to it is attached the seal of Delaware county. Mr. Cowley also has a quit-rent receipt from Archibald McIntyre, comptroller, for rent due on lot 217, a part of the twenty-two thousand acres granted to John Harper, sen., December 8th, 1796.
Soon after Cowley came the Newells, Squireses, Davises, Stewarts, McIntoshes, Grants an Churchills.
Samuel Judson, great-grandfather of Colonel Judson, came in 1789, and settled lands on which his two sons, Samuel and Noah, afterward settled. Samuel Judson, sen., went back to Amenia, N.Y., and died there while preparing to return to his new estate. His widow, Abigail Judson, came with her sons and settled with Samuel on his farm on the banks of the lake at the head of the river, where she died in 1812. The Cowleys and Judsons settled close together, and the McIntyres near them.
Old Tim Murphy, the great Indian killer, was a frequent visitor. It is said he killed his last Indian in the swamp near the lake. He found, on taking his back track while on a deer hunt, that an Indian moccasin track was fresh on his own trail. He dropped behind a bush, kept still, and soon saw the Indian creeping along on his trail, gun in hand, evidently bent on mischief. Old Tim always led trumps in that game, and the "red skin" went under before he could play his hand.
Of the Churchill family, among the earliest settlers, much might be said. We will only refer to Elijah Churchill, father of Dr. S.E. Churchill, who was born near the village February 3rd, 1797, and died March 24th, 1878, at the same place. One who knew him says he was a pattern of piety and benevolence. In the affairs of the town he was always earnest and active for improvement in whatever related to the welfare of society, the growth of education and the improvement of agriculture. As a home man few have been his equals, and none his superiors. As a citizen he was prompt in all the offices of humanity, a friend to the poor, and liberal up to and often beyond the ordinary standard. He sleeps among the grand old mountains of his native place, and his good deeds will be remembered and his memory honored.
PIONEER INSTITUTIONS OF STAMFORD VILLAGE
The first school house stood on the east side of Delaware street, near the railroad crossing, in the corner of what is now Judge Maynard's lot, and was removed but a few years ago. The next school-house stood in the southwest corner of Ralph Newell's door yard, and the school there was taught in 1814 by a Miss Wakeman, of Durham. The succeeding teachers were Davis, Gilbert, Judson and Mrs. Newell, the last of whom, who now lives on the lot, taught there in 1823.
The first tavern in the present limits of the village was dept by Philo Baldwin, on the site now occupied by the Delaware House, on Main Street. The next tavern was kept by one Stevens where Hon. S.B. Champion now lives, and in the same house. At that time there was a large, long wing on the west side, used for a bar room below the ball room and sleeping rooms overhead. The tavern barn connected with this ancient hostelry was a long old fashioned one, standing west of the tavern, where the new store now stands, and those who still remember the old establishment know of as many as one hundred horses being dept there over night.
This village was located on what was once the great thoroughfare from Catskill to Binghamton, and all other places then of note in the now southern tier of counties; and all the goods for those counties, and produce from them to New York, via Catskill, had to go over the turnpike that ran through this place. It was not an uncommon occurrence to see six or eight heavily laden four-horse stage coaches stopping here daily, and as many more wagons loaded with the baggage of passengers. That was the "heyday" of Stamford, and so unscrupulous did the tavern and store keepers of that day become that the place acquired the name and no doubt justly, too, of the "Devil's half-acre." But things have changed. Railroads have cut off the staging and teaming; the old "Bonifaces" and "truck" dealers have gone to their reward; a new class of men is upon the stage of action; the old hamlet has become an incorporated village with all the modern improvements, and no place in the State can boast of a purer moral atmosphere than the Stamford of to-day.
The early stores were dept by _____ Humiston. One was on the lot now occupied by the residence of George C. Gibbs. This old store stood a rod or two west of where Mr. Gibbs's house now stands. The old building was moved to Maynard's lot, and finally torn down. Humiston had, at a later period, a small store near where Tanner's grist and plaster mill now stands. He also had an ashery at that place. Another of the first stores was kept by John Lamb, where N.P. Judson now lives, on Delaware street. The old building was taken down, and a part of the same frame is now the frame of Adam Grant's wagon shop, on Main street, nearly opposite the Hamilton House. A. Baldwin had a store in 1812 or 1814, where Harvey Wood's store now stands.
Among the first blacksmiths was William Flowers. His shop was down near the place now occupied by G.C. Gibbs's machine shop. Mr. Maxwell worked at black smithing about a mile west, on the road to Harpersfield, and a Mr. Clark's shop was half way down to Hobart.
The pioneer grist-mill was down the river from where W.A. Cowley's mill and foundry is located. Nehemiah Davis's grist-mill was put up below the dam of Tanner's mills, and his second mill was on the site now occupied by Tanner's grist-mill
The pioneer clothier's mill stood where Cowley's mills now stand, below the village. It was built in 1811 by Newell & Co., and converted into a planing-mill in 1871. The carding mill of S.I. Brown, above Main street, on the river, was built in 1859.
The first saw-mill in the immediate vicinity of the village was on the site now occupied by Stanley's saw-mill, a little above the village. Martin's blacksmith shop, now standing opposite the "Mirror" office, was originally built about ten by twelve feet square, and was used for a watch maker's shop. Additions were make until it reached its present size. Previous to 1849 the upper part was used as a school-room for a select school, which continued about three months each year.
The pioneer wagon maker in this place was James Pudney. He came here from Catskill in 1812.
One of the early burying grounds was located on the site now occupied by Hon. F.R. Gilbert's residence on Main street, just east of the present Delaware House. As the village grew, other grounds were occupied, and the one in question was abandoned for burial purposes, the remains of the dead removed, and at present there is no trace, and but little remembrance, of its having been once the resting-place of the departed.
The other early cemetery is located just on the west side of the village, and was occupied as early as August 23rd, 1803, by the interment of the remains of Stephen Churchill, jr. Probably the grounds were occupied for burial purposes some time before, but his epitaph is the oldest inscription in the yard.
The new cemetery grounds were located in 1847, just on the east side of the village, at the foot of the mountain, and were occupied in the fall of that year by the interment of the remains of Dr. Dayton. The grounds are under the care of an association, organized under the laws of the State.
The monuments in these grounds that attract the most attention are the two that mark the resting places of two of Stamford's noble pioneers, viz.: Samuel Judson and Elijah Churchill. These men were honored, and are still remembered for their real worth. Their descendants, Colonel E.Z.C. Judson and the Churchill brothers, have erected stately monuments with fitting inscriptions for the honored dead.
In the Utsayantho grounds, near the lake of that name, rest the remains of William Cowley, who died September 8th, 1850, aged eighty-one years, and Samuel Cowley, who died July 15th, 1849, aged eighty-three years. In the old grounds west of the village are the remains of Captain Andrew Reckie, who died March, 2nd, 1817, aged sixty-eight; Captain Robert Newell, died March 23rd, 1831, aged sixty-nine; Nehemiah Davis, died January 23rd, 1834, aged seventy-four; Rev. John Bangs, died in February, 1848, aged sixty-nine, and Noah Judson, died August 6th, 1845, aged sixty-nine.
The first mail carrier was a Mr. Bradley. He carried the mail on horseback, and came through from the "Kauterskill" once a week, wind and weather permitting. His approach to the ancient post-office was heralded by the sound of his tin horn. This was a warning for the honorable postmaster to leave his field, his shop, his mill, or perhaps his patient, and attend to the demands of the responsible position which he held. After the mail was sorted, and every letter critically examined, as at the present day, the old saddlebags were again slung across the back of the trusty old horse; Bradley would mount, give a chirp, a slight jerk of the bridle rein, and off would go the old white-faced bob-tail nag on a jog trot pace for Norwich.
Newspapers in those days were an extravagance afforded only by a few, and not every week at that. The old mail carrier would buy half a dozen papers on the Hudson, and peddle them out between there and Norwich, if he could. There were no regular customers, and it was an unsafe investment to purchase more than six papers at a time, as they might not sell, and that, to him would be financial disaster.
The first post-office at this place of which we have knowledge was at the residence of Dr. Philander Smith, on the site of the present residence of Mrs. Mary Wyckoff. Afterward Noah Davenport kept the office at the east end of the village, where A. L. Churchill now lives. At a later period it was taken to the site of the Delaware House; then to the store opposite, where it remained until 1839. From that time till 1858 it was in the store now occupied by H.S. Wood. From 1858 to the present it has traveled around from place to place; having been a short time in "Brooklyn," and several years at the Mirror office, and finally in the store of S. W. Hubbard, opposite the Delaware House, who is the present postmaster.
MUNICIPAL HISTORY AND PRESENT CONDITION
The village of Stamford was incorporated by act of the Legislature May 19th, 1870, and February 19th, 1873, the act was amended, reducing the area of the corporation to its present limits.
The first election for village officers was held May 28th, 1870, when the following officers were chosen for the ensuing rear: President, Isaac H. Maynard; trustees --C. Griffin, Rev. J. B. Van Housen, J. W. Maynard and S. E. Churchill; corporation clerk, H.S. Wood; commissioner of streets, Lyman Goodenough; pound keeper, Benjamin P. Seeley; excise commissioners--E. W. Churchill, M. D., Isaac H. Maynard and C. Griffin. The present officers of the village are as follows: President, Rev. J. B. Van Housen; trustees-J. C. Van Dyke, S. W. Hubbard, C. S. Lewis and John Hagar; clerk of the village, Van Zant Wyckoff; commissioner of streets, W. R. Beckley; treasurer, A. A. Maynard; assessor, J. H. Harper. There have been but two presidents of the village from 1870 to 1878, inclusive, Hon. Isaac H. Maynard and the present one, Rev. J. B. Van Housen.
There are at present in the village of Stamford four churches--Methodist Episcopal, Baptist, Presbyterian and Roman Catholic; one district school-house, a seminary, two hotels--the Delaware House, kept by George Simson, and the Hamilton House, by Johnson Hamilton; and one newspaper, the Stamford Mirror, S. B. Champion editor and publisher. The jewelry business is in charge of A. M. Warner, and dentistry is the profession of H. S. Wood. There are four boot and shoe stores, kept by G. W. Ellsworth, E. L. Seeley, C. O Wood and T. Curtis; two machine shops, carried on by W. A. Cowley and G. C. Gibbs; one foundry, by W. A. Cowley; two drug stores, by B. H. Foote and S. W. Hubbard, and a book and stationery business, by S.B. Champion. The physicians are Drs. S. E. Churchill, E.W. Gallup and Sellek. There are two cabinet shops, kept by D. V. Chichester and Nathan Coe; one harness maker's by B. F. Herrick; two grist-mills, by M. N. Stanley and John W. Tanner; a woolen factory, carried on by Samuel I. Brown; a commission house, by W. R. Beckley; a creamery, by E. M. Young; a hardware store, by H. S. Preston; four dry goods stores, by H. S. Wood, S. W. Hubbard, W. J. McMurdy and M. L. Danzegar; two clothing stores, by R. McLaughlin and A. A. Maynard; five blacksmith shops, by McKillop & Wood, A. M. Martin, C. H. Peters, Robert Fletcher and George Willert; two flour and feed stores, by J. C. Van Dyke and H. M. Wood, and four grocery stores, by S. S. Cornell, C. C. Canfield, B. H. Foote and E. M. Hinman. Four lawyers have offices here--Hon. F. R. Gilbert, Hon. I. H. Maynard, C. S. Lewis and J. H. McKee. There are five carpenters, two meat markets, two barbers, two painters, three milliners, two dress makers and one cooper.
The grading of the Ulster and Delaware Railroad was completed to the street crossing near the depot November 20th, 1872, and the first regular train reached here December 9th, 1872.
The telegraph live was completed to this place in 1872, and the first messages over the wires, sent August 28th, were as follows:
"To the Press of the City of Kingston: Shake hands at a distance of seventy-four miles. May the electric current and that of friendship ever remain unbroken.
"S. B. CHAMPION,
"Editor of Mirror"
The reply was as follows:
"Editor of Mirror: Kingston is as tick-led to spark Stamford as a lad his sweetheart, and waits impatiently for Parson to pronounce the wedding blessing. May the Mirror be always bright, and her Champion no 'light weight.'
" Editor Daily Freeman."
Fort Stanwix Engine Company, No. 1, was organized September 15th, 1870, by the village trustees; for, by the terms of the charter of the village, the fire department is under their control entirely, and when the men were enrolled as firemen it was, by the terms of the charter, for seven years from March 19th, 1870.
The following appear upon the records as the original members of the fire department: J. C. Van Dyke, C. W. Gibbs, Charles Chadwick, Samuel Brown, J. H. McKee, E. W. McPherson, H. S. Preston, H. Howard, F. G. Rulison, I. H. Maynard, H. S. Wood, George C. Gibbs, Orson Stewart, S. E. Churchill, W. H. Parsons, E. M. Hinman, A. W. Martin, E. Cowles, O. Champlin, Nathan Cole, J. R. Loomis, J. B. Riley, H. C. Cook, E. W. Churchill, D. M. Peters, William B. Laughran, Byran Brewster, A. G. Brown. Officers--foreman, H. S. Preston; first assistant, W. B. Laughran; second assistant, S. I. Brown; treasurer, J. C. Van Dyke; secretary, J. Harvey McKee; engine keeper, O. Champlin.
An engine-house was built in 1877, at a cost of $500, on Main street, between the Baptist and Presbyterian churches. The upper part of the building is used for village purposes, and serves as a business room for the fire company. We find in the Stamford Mirror for April 30th, 1872, the following, relating to the fire department: "During the last year 'Fort Stanwix Fire Engine Company' has been disbanded, and a new engine company organized, called the 'Stamford Fire Engine Company, No. 1,' which has been duly officered, uniformed and equipped , and has an active membership of thirty members."
Stamford Seminary is so interwoven with the best interests of Stamford village that the history of one without the other would bring just censure upon the historian. For thirty years the seminary has been a central figure, around which have gathered the faithful workers and liberal hearts of almost a generation.
The worthy fathers who through great self sacrifice and many discouragements founded this school, that their children might have a liberal education, and at the same time afford a bright and shining light to the surrounding country, have nearly all passed away, and their burdens fallen upon other shoulders.
The name of Stamford Seminary is intimately associated with the lives of thousands of the young and middle aged scattered throughout the land. Its influence in developing and moulding the minds of those who have drunk from its fountain can never be estimated. Its power will be apparent until time shall be no more.
Stamford Seminary had its birth in a prosperous select school, organized and conducted for several years by John G. Murphy, in a building now occupied by A. M. Martin. At the suggestion of Prof. Murphy a number of public spirited citizens set about to organize a stock company for the purpose of erecting a permanent seminary building.
At a meeting of the subscribers of the Stamford Seminary, held at the school rooms of Professor Murphy, on the 10th day of March, 1849, pursuant to notice signed by Benjamin Gilbert, Elijah Churchill was chosen chairman, and Nelson L. Thorp clerk of the meeting. It was resolved that Elijah Churchill, Benjamin Gilbert, Nelson Thorp and Samuel Judson, Jr., be trustees, to serve one year from the first Monday in May, 1849; that John B. Baldwin, Jesse F. Cowles and Lewis Morton serve two years from the first Monday of May, 1849; and that Charles Griffin be clerk for one year from the first Monday in May, 1849.
Elijah Churchill, Benjamin Gilbert, Samuel Judson, Elisha Maynard and Nicholas M. Champlin made subscriptions of $100 each (the last two unpaid); C. Griffin and Nelson L. Thorp, $50 each; J. B. Baldwin and Ralph Newell, $37.50 each; Samuel Judson, Jr., and James Pudney, $30 each; Charles G. Churchill, John G. Murphy, Garret Wallis, William Beckley, David Squiers, Alanson P. Buck, Samuel B. Maynard, Noah Buck, David Odell, Marshall Cowley, Joshua Basset, J. T. Cowles, Lewis Morton, Thomas Beckley, Selah M. Stevens, Thomas Barnes, David Terry, Lyman Goodenough, Aaron Blish, Asahel Cowley, Aaron Parsons and Orrin Parsons, $25 each; Amborse Stevenson, John B. Clark, Lemont B. Howard and C. S. Covel, $12.50 each; R. Baldwin and Cooley Maynard, $10. Each; William Mahan, bell, $5; Lucy Champlin, $3.
About $1,200 was raised, shares of stock being $25. A desirable site was obtained, on the corner lot between the Catskill turnpike, now Main street, and the highway leading to Hobart, now called Academy street.
Upon this lot a building thirty-two by fifty feet, with large chapel room, two recitation rooms, cloak room and steeple for bell, was put up of the best material, and in the most thorough and workmanlike manner, by the architect and builder, James Pudney, for the sum of $1,000. John G. Murphy was elected the first principal in the autumn of 1849.
The school opened prosperously, but storms arose and a new pilot was called to the helm in the person of Albert G. Beebe, who was a successful teacher, but failed to make the seminary a financial success. He resigned, and E. W. Boies was elected in 1852, who remained only six months.
At this time Charles G. Churchill made overtures to purchase the stock at a nominal price and attach another building, to be used for boarding pupils. He soon obtained control of a majority of the stock, and in the autumn of 1852 became proprietor of the school, and in 1853 erected a building--now called the Hamilton House--attached to the seminary for boarding purposes. He secured as teachers Professors Thatcher, La Monte and others. In October, 1854, Mr. Churchill sold the property to Rev. O. F. Gilbert, A. M., who fitted up the boarding department, fenced and improved the grounds, and started the institution upon a new and broader base. The school was a success, but owing to the heavy outlay Mr. Gilbert became discouraged, and after five years of school work returned to the ministry.
In the summer of 1861 Rev. John Wilde, principal of Deposit Seminary, a gentleman of rare intellectual attainments, purchased the building and reopened the school, which has been closed for a year or more. Surrounding himself with a strong corps of teachers, he struggled hard to build up and maintain a first-class institution. In this he was fairly successful, maintaining a good school for five years, when he sold the property to S. E. Churchill, who had recently become a teacher in the Seminary.
Mr. Churchill, a native of Stamford, a young man of good executive ability, brought to the institution new vigor. The number of students steadily increased, so that more accommodations became necessary. In the summer of 1869 he separated the buildings, removing the seminary building one hundred feet to the west, facing it to Main street, and putting a story beneath it. He also enlarged the old boarding hall, and in a line one hundred feet west of the seminary he erected a fine building for a ladies' boarding hall.
These increased accommodations were soon filled, and the seminary entered upon an era of prosperity never before attained, numbering two hundred students, of whom sixty were boarding in the hall. Strong literary societies were formed, large teachers' classes organized and a fine classical department, under the charge of Rev. Clark Irving, sent yearly young men to the best colleges of the land.
At this time Samuel Judson make a liberal bequest to Stamford Seminary for the purchase of a library. The institute, having no legal charter, could not hold the bequest as a seminary. Mr. Churchill, in order to prevent loss of other bequests, made efforts to have the institution incorporated and placed under the board of regents. This was accomplished in January, 1872, with the following board of trustees: S. E. Churchill, Elijah Churchill, T. R. Gilbert, L. E. Richards, Ezekiel Gallup, E. W. Churchill, I. H. Maynard, John C. Van Dyke, E. Z. C. Judson, C.B. Churchill, William Foote, J. H. McKee.
The advent of the railroad to the town gave an increased value to the seminary buildings, and Mr. Churchill, believing it to be to his financial interest, sold the gentlemen's hall and chapel, retaining the ladies' hall as residence, and in the summer of 1873, at the close of seven years of prosperous school life, severed his connection with Stamford Seminary as principal.
The citizens of Stamford, fearing they were to lose their school, began active measures. Meetings were called, at which great enthusiasm was shown. Efforts were immediately make toward the erection of a large building by subscription. In a few weeks $10,000 was subscribed, and in the summer of 1874 a large commodious building was erected on Prospect street, on a site donated by Hon F. R. Gilbert. The building is of brick, four stories in height, presenting a fine architectural appearance. From the commanding location, overlooking for many miles the beautiful valley, it forms a conspicuous land mark. It is designed for school 'teachers' and library rooms, and dormitories for students, having accommodations for fifty boarding students. The whole building with furniture for the school-rooms, costs $12,500. Charles A. Newell, of Cooperstown, was the architect and contractor. The building is controlled by a board of trustees, and is furnished free to the principal upon his guarantee to maintain the several departments of an academic course of study.
The corner stone was placed in position May 30th, 1874, by a committee from the board of trustees of Stamford Seminary, consisting of J. Harvey McKee, D. C. Case, M. D., and B. S. Mayham. The stone being in position, the chairman of the committee, J. Harvey McKee, delivered a brief address, as did also Colonel E. Z. C. Judson, who wrote for the occasion the following corner-stone hymn, which was sung by the Stamford Choir:
The corner stone we now have laid
We ask that GOD to bless,
To whom our ancient fathers prayed
When this was wilderness.
Here may their children's children come,
And learn to praise thy name;
Of mind be this the chosen home,
The portal bright to fame.
List, list, Oh hills of Delaware,
Sweet echoes linger long
Upon the pure and loving Air,
That bears aloft our song!
THE JUDSON CIRCULATING LIBRARY.
It is a mark of no ordinary mind to devise and carry out a scheme by which large numbers of our fellow beings are elevated in their intellectual and moral standing, and he who founds a public library is entitled to the grateful remembrance of future generations, to whom the influence of such an institution will extend.
In this way the late Samuel Judson endeared himself to the hearts of the people of Stamford, and the library which was founded by his munificent gift is a more fitting monument to his memory than the marble column that marks his resting place. The terms of Mr. Judson's will assigned $1,500 of his estate to the securing of a library for Stamford Seminary, then under the successful management of Dr. S. E. Churchill as principal. This gift of $1,500 was on condition that the citizens of Stamford would raise a like sum and that the whole amount of $3,000 be applied within one year after his death, as specified in his will.
In the summer of 1871 a few persons make an attempt to raise by subscription the amount specified in the will, but failed; when Prof. S. E. Churchill, Hon. F. R. Gilbert, Colonel E. Z. C. Judson, Hon. I. H. Maynard, J. C. Van Dyke, Prof. J. H. McKee and Rev. L. E. Richards formed themselves into "The Judson Circulation Library Company," and subscribed the $1,500 as stock, thus infusing new life into the enterprise, and securing the gift. In the latter part of the winter of 1871 and 1872 Prof. S. E. Churchill and Rev. L. E. Richards were appointed a committee on behalf of the company to purchase books for the library. The purchase was made at such reduced rates that they obtained books valued at retail prices at $4,000. In making the selections the committee procured books representing every branch of learning that would be of general interest. The books are catalogued on two plans, alphabetical and topical. The first section contains each author's name, alphabetically arranged, and the latter the title of each volume, arranged with reference to the department of literature to which it belongs. The library was at first placed in one of the seminary buildings (the room now used as the parlor of the Hamilton House), where it remained until 1873, when Prof. Churchill, the owner of the property, sold that part of it, and closed the seminary as an institution of learning. The library was then removed to the room now occupied by J. H. McKee as an office, where it remained till the new seminary buildings were completed, in 1874, when it was removed into rooms suitably prepared for it. The library contains two thousand volumes, and is probably the best of its size in the state.
The following are the trustees named in the articles of association filed in the county clerk's office August 17th, 1871: I. H. Maynard, S. E. Churchill, F. R. Gilbert, J. C. Van Dyke, E. Z. C. Judson, L. E. Richards and J. Harvey McKee.
New and rare books are added to the library each year, great care being taken in the selection of books, with reference to the needs of the students, as well as the wants of the general reader. The annual election for trustees is on the third Tuesday in August in each year, but the board remains as at first organized, with F. R. Gilbert as president.
THE PRESS OF STAMFORD.
In the spring of 1849 Mr. S. B. Champion and his parents moved from East Worcester, Otsego county, to Bloomville, a small village eight miles east of Delhi, and purchased a grist-mill. Mr. Champion had served six years' apprenticeship at the printing business in the Freeman's Journal office at Cooperstown. His first appearance as a publisher was at Prattsville, Greene county, where he was associated a couple of years with J. L. Hackstaff, in publishing the Prattsville Advocate. Failing health induced him to change location and business. For several years he occasionally assisted neighboring printers, and after doing so in the Republican office at Schoharie he bought about ten pounds of old newspaper type, made some cases, and commenced amusing himself while tending mill at doing little jobs of printing, such as labels, town-meeting tickets, &c. In May, 1851, he printed a little slip containing some local happenings, and captioned it Bloomville Morror. He had no press, but used a block covered with cloth, making use of a mallet to give the impression. About once a week, for a couple of months, the Mirror was thus printed, and distributed gratuitously, as Mr. Champion was only printing it for diversion. Its novelty make a favorable impression, and after he had about one hundred names on the list, he began to look at the matter in a business point of view, and fixed the price at twenty-five cents a year. Almost every mail brought in the quarter, and seeing the eagerness of the people to patronize the Mirror, he obtained part of an old Franklin press in Prattsville, reconstructed it, added a small amount of type, and soon enlarged it to the size of a commercial note sheet of paper, with four two column pages. When its circulation reached eight hundred he bought an iron press, more type, a little building, doubled the size of the paper, and abandoned the mill as a printing office, and soon found that instead of doing the work while large grists were grinding, his whole time was required to do the work of the smallest printing office in Union. At this time the Delaware Gazette, Delaware Express and Deposit Courier were the only papers published in the county. Now (1879) there are thirteen.
Taking advantage of its motto, "The greatest good to the greatest number," the Anti-Rent and American parties make use of the Mirror through which to be heard, as also did any person who desired to use its columns. Being almost exclusively devoted to local matters, with spicy clippings, and an independent and liberal course, the subscription list rapidly increased, as well as the advertising patronage, so that a more rapid way of printing than hand power became necessary. Consequently a cylinder press was purchased in 1856 (the first one in the county), and put in motion by a rope three hundred feet long, attached to gearing in the grist-mill. As business increased the paper was enlarged, and the price increased from twenty-five to fifty cents, then to seventy-five cents, and lastly to one dollar, at which figure it has remained since September, 1864. At the time the price was changed from fifty cents to one dollar, the circulation was three thousand six hundred--war times. The mirror now claims a larger circulation that any other paper in the county.
In 1870 the mail service at Bloomville was reduced to three trips per week. This being detrimental to his business, in this age of telegraphs and railroads, the publisher deemed a more favorable location desirable. He sold his office, building, grist-mill, saw-mill and residence in Bloomville, purchased a lot and house at Stamford, built a fine office, rigged up a water-power with which to run the presses, and on the 7th of September, 1870, moved the establishment and his family to the thriving village, where the paper is now published as the Stamford Mirror. Thus, for nearly twenty-nine years, has Mr. Champion regularly and continuously edited and published the little paper--a longer period than is generally the case with country printers. The tenor of the paper has been Democratic, but it is taken irrespective of party, because of its excellence as a public journal for news. The only public office Mr. Champion has held was that of postmaster for several years in Bloomville, and he acted as an elector of President and Vice-President in 1868.
The success of the little Mirror set printers all over the county thinking it was not necessary to print a large paper and have it located in a large place, and small papers began to make their appearance. Many of them did not succeed. Charles H. Cleveland, about 1866, started one at Hobart, called the Hobart Free Press. It was soon stopped, and the Delaware Chief, and afterward the Village Record, were published by George T. Foote. The office materials were sold and moved away.
CHURCHES OF STAMFORD VILLAGE.
The building now occupied by the Methodist society and congregation was the first of the kind in this place, and was built in 1831-2. It was not at first a denominational institution, but a union meeting-house. The original subscription paper named Thomas Reckie, Douglas McIntyre, James Pudney, Nehemiah Whitney, Ralph Newell and Thomas Montgomery as trustees, and specified that the house should be "forty-six feet long and thirty-six feet wide, one floor, and arched overhead; two aisles, four rows or slips with doors, and a desk; a small gallery or elevated seats for singers, and a cupola or bellena." No denomination was to have a right to occupy this church more than one-fourth part of the time, unless vacant: and if at any time there should be more than four different denominations composing the society, the time for using said house was to be equally proportioned to all.
There are seventy-three names attached to the list, and the subscriptions run from fifty cents to thirty dollars, amounting in all to $550. We find in a memorandum kept at the time by N. Whitney the following entries: "The following sums have been received by Mr. McKenzie, which has not signed the subscription paper: From Horton Maynard, in deal, and is to be discounted to cash value, $15." Then other subscriptions, amounting to $67.48. "Sept. 10, 1834.--N. W. paid to John W. Gibbs, for surveying church lot, $2." " June 8, 1835.--N. W. paid A. Campbell, at the Comptroller's office in Albany, $1. for the patent for church lot." Two supplementary subscription papers were drawn up, dated September 9th, 1832, for the purpose of "finishing the union meeting-house at the hear of the Delaware river." To these papers were subscribed $276. December 25th of the same year, according to Mr. Whitney's memorandum book, a stove was procured from Catskill for the use of the house; from which it appears that the house was used for worship during the winter of 1832 and 1833. There is no record extant as to who used it, or what ministers occupied its desk; neither is there any account of its dedication. The completion, however, of the "union meeting-house" must have been one of the chief causes which led to the organization of the Presbyterian church, as that was organized in 1834. It is recorded October 22nd, 1835: "The trustees met this day with D. McKenzie, and settled all matters between them in regard to the meeting-house." Signed by Nehemiah Whitney, Thomas Reckie, Elijah Churchill, Thomas Montgomery, James Pudney and Daniel McKenzie.
In 1834 the Presbyterian society swarmed from the old "union" hive, and in 1864 the Baptist society built its church edifice, thus leaving the Methodists in possession of the "union meeting-house at the head of the Delaware river."
When or by whom this society was formed, there is no means within our reach to show. But as Rev. John Bangs was a member of the New York Conference for forty-two years, and in his early Christian experience was a local preacher in Harpersfield, and as his remains were buried in the old cemetery at this place in February, 1848, it is but natural to suppose that a society was organized here as early as at Harpersfield, which was about 1800. The preachers who have served this society have been as follows, as near as can be ascertained:
John Bangs; 1857, 1858, J. E. Gorse; 1859, 1860, N. O. Lent; 1861, 1862, J. M. Burger; 1863, J. F. Richmond; 1864, G. B. Crippen; 1865, 1866, W. H. Mickel; 1867, 1868, E. Clement; 1869, J. J. Dean; 1870, 1871, E. F. Barlow; 1872, 1873, R. Decker; 1874-76, L. S. Brown; 1877-79, O. R. Bouton. All these are still living, except Mr. Clement.
June 24th, 1843, a committee appointed by the Presbytery of Delaware met at the meeting-house at the head of the Delaware to organize a church there. There were present of the committee Rev. William Fisher and Deacon A. Sanders, of Meredith, and Deacon J. Stevens, of Jefferson. Rev. Mr. Fisher was chosen moderator. Rev. F. Harrington, a member of the Delaware Presbytery, being present, was invited to sit as a corresponding member and also to act as clerk of the committee.
The following persons, members of the Harpersfield Presbyterian church, were organized into a Presbyterian church to be connected with the Presbytery of Delaware, vis.: Thomas W. Dennis, Eliphas Bassett, Cosby Hunt, John Boggs, Elijah Churchill, Jesse F. Cowles, David McMinn, Zeruiah Dennis, Hannah Dennis, Polly Dennis, Lucy Champlain, Elizabeth McIntire, Mehitable Bassett, Elizabeth Mallerson, Mary Newell, Eliza Newell, Jenett Newell, Catharine Hunt, Sarah Ann Churchill, Ruth Davis, Joannah Grummon, Lovina Slingerland, Lydia Newell, Harriet Newell, William Woodhouse and Belinda Woodhouse.
William Woodhouse was received by letter from the church in Meredith, and his wife, Belinda, was received by letter from the church in Lexington.
Jesse F. Cowles was elected clerk of the church, and Elijah Churchill treasurer. William Woodhouse, Elijah Churchill, Cosby Hunt and John Boggs were elected and ordained as elders, and Mr. Churchill also to officiate as deacon.
Rev. F. Harrington was engaged as stated supply, and the minutes of the church for the first year are signed by him as moderator. During his ministry there were one hundred and fourteen members added. The next minister was Rev. Isaac D. Cornwall. He began his labors in 1843 and closed them in 1852. There were forty-seven added to the membership of the church during his connection with it. He was succeeded by Rev. A. Phillips, who occupied the pulpit one year, in 1852 and 1853. From the autumn of 1853 Rev. Warren Mayo occupied the desk until 1858, during which time twenty-eight members were added to the church.
A few months after Mr. Mayo commenced his work here, a project was entered into of erecting a new church edifice, the union church having been used thus far. A society was formed and called "The Presbyterian Church of the Head of the Delaware." The first trustees were Elijah Churchill, Henry Simons and William Woodhouse. The organization was made on the 19th of December, 1853. January 9th, 1854, it was voted "that a subscription be started to build a church." The enterprise resulted within a short time in the erection and completion of the present church edifice of the society, located on Main street in the village of Stamford.
After Mr. Mayo, Rev. Harper Boies, of Harperfield, supplied the pulpit, followed by Rev. H. S. Redfield. Their combined ministry covered only three years, in which nine persons united with the church. Mr. Redfield was succeeded in 1861 by Rev. John Wilder, who ministered to the church for three years, and there were two additions to the membership under his ministry. He was succeeded in 1864 by Rev. L. E. Richards, who is the present pastor (1879). In 1864 there were only thirty-five members in active membership. The church edifice was sadly in need of repairs, and the society was without a parsonage. During the administration of Rev. Mr. Richards the church has been repaired twice, at a cost of several hundred dollars; a new parsonage built and paid for, and his salary has been increased from $300 at first to $900 at present. The membership is one hundred and thirty. The present value of the church property is $5,000.
In 1872 the church and society changed its name to "The First Presbyterian Society of the Village of Stamford." The present trustees are E. W. Gallup, M.D., James H. Harper and A. L. Churchill. The Sunday-school connected with this church and society was organized with the society. The present superintendent is Rev. L. E. Richards,. R. J. Stinson is secretary, and there are one hundred and sixty-five scholars.
The following persons compose the present session of the church: Moderator, Rev. L. E. Richards; elders, Henry Pratt, Joshua Bassett, E. W. Gallup, M. D., Nathan Coe, Daniel J. Rexford, Russell M. Dayton and J. Harvey McKee. Mr. McKee is clerk of the session.
This church and society was originally organized in the town of Jefferson, Schoharie county, but the church building stood in Harpersfield, about two miles northwest of the village of Stamford. The church was what is known as "Hardshell," or close communion. The society continued to worship there until 1863, when it was reorganized and reincorporated, and the present church edifice built, on Main street, in the village of Stamford, between the Methodist and Presbyterian churches. From the fact of the three churches standing in line, and near together, the place is locally known as " Gospel row." A meeting held at the house of Eber Van Amburgh, on the 4th of March, 1863, was the occasion of incorporating the "First Baptist Church and Society of Harpersfield." The trustees elected were: Russel D. Baird, for three years; Lawson McClaughry, for two years; and James S. Peters, for one year. Noah J. Buck was elected clerk. October 17th, 1863, the church sold the old house of worship to Calvin H. Peters for $100, after which the society resolved to build a new one.
February 20th, 1864, $1,400 was reported as available, and the trustees, with Elder J. B. Van Housen and D. S. Howard, were appointed a building committee. They built the present church edifice, which was dedicated November 8th, 1866, at which time $1,300 was raised toward paying the balance of the indebtedness. The frame of the old church was used in building the new one.
The following were among the early members of this church: Elisha Sheldon, Catharine Brant, Patience and Jeremiah Butts, Delia Nash, Cynthia Doolittle, Sally A. McLaury, Rebecca Grinnell, Betsy Carrington, Margary Shaw, Mary Howard, Olive Goodenough, Temperance Stewart, Hannah Patchin, Thankful Lamb, Catharine Bouton, Apollos B. Wilcox, Caroline Evans, Catharine Stevens, Hannah H. Hamilton, Rhoda Osborn, Ruby Birdsall, Selinda Mack, Sally Betts, David S. Patchin, Walter Grinnell, Elizabeth Osborn, Cornelia McLean, Temperance Nash, Olive Goodrich, Anna Butts, Maria McLaury, Phebe Grinnell, Sally Grinnell, Calvin Howard, Polly Taylor, Betsy Judson, Hannah English, Hannah Edwards, Polly Stanley, Anice Osborn, Catharine Wilcox, Gilbert Stevens, Mary Birdsall, Jerusha Hamilton, Abigail Grinnell, Cynthia Mack, Elizabeth Reynolds, Sally Buck, John W. Babcock, Alexander Shaw, Isaac Brown, Archibald McLean, Philo Burroughs, and Aaron Brown.
Not being in possession of the church records previous to 1842, we can only give the pastors since that time: 1842, Elder G. Stevens; 1844, Elders Lyon, Fuller and Taggart; 1845, Elder E. Richmond; 1854 Elder Groff; March 23rd, 1854, Elder J. B. Van Housen, who remained pastor of the church until he was succeeded by Elder C. V. Patterson, who was followed by Elder H. Cornell, the present pastor. The present trustees of the church property are R. C. Hart, S. I. Brown and Liberty More. The present church clerk is W. W. Simons. The value of the church property is $2,500.
This church was built in 1870, and is located on Harper street, in the southwest part of the village, overlooking that portion of it known as "Brooklyn." The building is of wood, thirty-four by seventy feet, and cost when completed about $4,000.
The ground for the foundation was broken in May, and the superstructure inclosed June 28th, and on Tuesday, October 25th, 1870, the church edifice was dedicated by the Rt. Rev. J. J. Conroy, bishop of Albany, assisted in the ceremonies by Rev. T. W. Riley. The dedicatory sermon was preached by Vicar-General Quinn, from the text, "God is love." This is a mission church, and is attended by Rev. Father S. J. Cannane, from Prattsville.
SAINT ANDREW'S CHAPTER, NO. 14, R. A. M.
This chapter, for conferring the capitular degrees in masonry, was instituted at Stamford about the close of the last century. The charter is signed by Ezra Ames, G. H. P.; Zebulon R. Shepherd, D. G. H. P.; Samuel Edmunds, grand king; John Butler, grand scribe; John Scoville, grand secretary. The ancient document is dated at Albany, and registered in the book of the grand royal arch chapter at page 60, volume I. The principal charter officers were: Andrew Beers, high priest; John Lamb, king; Erastus Root, scribe. When the companions of this chapter were called from the quarries and paid their wages we do not know.
The following are the signatures to the by-laws adopted at their rooms in Stamford May 1st, 1789:
Andrew Beers,* Robert McFarland,* James Laughran,* John Lanb, Robert G. Wetmore, Robert Harris, Daniel W. Sackrider,* Erastus Root, James Goodrigh, Philip Gebhard, John S. Bradford, James Morris, Joshua H. Brett, David Heath, John McCreay, Joseph Perry,* David Burr,* Bailey Foot, Abner Peck, * Joseph D. Beers, Henry Case, Alexander Humphry, Henry Lamb,* Joseph Davis Beers, Abel Watkins, Charles Morgan, jr., Reuben S. Brown, Ebenezer Herrick, Thomas Montgomery, Charles Perry, Michael Hunn, John H. Cotton, Samuel Gunn and Benson Hunt.
* Not made in this chapter.
The first minutes in the secretary's book are recorded under date of Stamford May 1st, 1789. Members present--Andrew Beers, M. E. H. P.; Robert McFarland, E. K.; James Laughran, E. S.; Daniel W. Sackrider, E. Zerubb, George Morgan, Vis. Br..
ST. ANDREW'S MARK MASTERS' LODGE, NO. 48.
According to the by-laws the regular meetings were to held on the third Wednesday in January, April, July and October, at 3 o'clock P. M. Admission fee--thirty-two shillings to the lodge and one shilling and sixpence to the tyler.
The first minutes are those of a meeting held on the 6th of March, 1798. Present--Andrew Beers, W. M.; David C. Wainright, S. W.; Robert G. Wetmore, J. W.; John S. Bradford, tyler.
The initiations in 1789-1801 were those of Ira Camfield, Robert McFarland, John McCreay, David Heath, Alexander Mills, Robert Harris, Chauncy Lawrence, David Bostwick, Isaac Marsellus, John Spoor, Joshua H. Brett, Asa Emmons, Selah Francis, Russell Watkins, Giles Homiston, John Lamb, Ephraim Barrett, Augustus Bates, James Laughran, Asahel E. Paine, Bailey Foot, Aaron Wheeler, John H. Harper, Philip Gebhard, James Harris, James Goodrich, Enos Bell, David Wilcox, John Bennett, John Wilcox, John Avery, Noah Smith, Philander Smith and Eliab Wilcox.
DELTA CHAPTER, 185, R. A. M.
This chapter was chartered February 8th, 1865, by Darius A. Ogden, G. H. P.; Horace S. Taylor, D. G. H. P.; Seymour H. Stone, G. K.; Rees G. Williams, G. S.; and J. O. Cole, grand secretary. The officers named in the charter were: Michael Karen, high priest; Robert S. Brownell, king; Oliver D. Young, scribe. The officers for 1879 were as follows; O. R. Bouton, high priest; A. M. Martin, king; William Gilmore, scribe; J. H. Harper, treasurer; S. W. Hubbard, secretary; D. G. Heacock, C. H.; G. C. Gibbs, P. S.; E. H. Powell, R. A. C.; M. Litton, M. 1st V.; William W. Whitney, M. 2d V.; Ira G. Bealor, M. 3d V.; and J. Hamilton, Tyler. At present the chapter numbers 83 members.
Hobart is situated on the Delaware river, four miles below Stamford Village. That part of it lying east of the river was in Ulster County, and that on the west side in Otsego county, previous to the formation of Delaware county. Settlers came here prior to the Revolution, and commenced a small settlement; but during that unhappy period they were obliged to return to their former homes, or enter the bloody contest, either for or against the crown. Soon after the declaration of peace, the falls at this place, which afford the best water power on the river, attracted the attention of the settlers, and soon the hum of machinery was heard. The place was early known as "Waterville," which name it retained for many years. It was afterward called Tinkertown, from the fact that a man living here appropriated to his use a full set of tinker's tools belonging to another man, with which he set up business at this place. When a post-office was to be established, a name was wanted, and Rev. Philander Chase, rector of the Episcopal church at the time, proposed the name of Hobart, which was at once accepted
The first tavern at this place was kept by George Foote, where the Mansion House now stands. Other taverns were opened soon after, and previous to 1795 there were enough for the accommodation of all who might call.
The first store in this place was kept by Cyrus Beers, where J. W. Griffin's store now stands, on Main street.
Andrew Beers built the first grist-mill in Hobart, afterward owned by George Foote, on the site now occupied by Frank Mayham's grist mill.
The first carding mill was built by George Foote, where the furnace now stands, or a little below. He also built a woolen factory at the same place, and the water to run the two mills was taken from the same dam. The dam is the same as when first built. The lower dam, at the grist-mill has been built anew, but occupies the same place as the one built by Beers in 1783.
The first distillery was also built by George Foote, between the upper bridge and the blacksmith shop, near the dam. He also built the first saw-mill and furnace in Hobart. The furnace then stood where Rich's store now stands, and the saw-mill stood between that and the woolen factory.
Foote More also had a trip hammer shop on Town brook, the place now owned by T. L. Montgomery, where he manufactured cut nails, the first made in the United States. This was previous to 1800. Foote also had a cabinet shop in connection with his other manufacturing.
The first tannery at this place was where Dr. Reynolds's residence now stands.
John Foote was the first blacksmith. He worked in the trip hammer shop, and also make grass scythes.
The pioneer tailor was one Gregory. He lived where John Robinson now lives, on Main street.
The first lawyers here were J. B. Spencer, who lived where E. Barlow now lives, and Andrew Beers, who was also known far and wide as the almanac maker. Some of his almanacs are still in existence. He lived on the corner of River and South streets, where John Hanford now lives.
Charles B. Perry, afterward a clergyman, had a storehouse in 1810. It stood on the corner of Pine and River streets, where is now the corner of Mrs. Foote's front yard.
The first physician of Hobart was Dr. Joshua H. Brett, who was also the first judge of Delaware county. He lived in what is now the wing of the old two-story house opposite the M. E. church. Dr. Gregory was the next. He lived where John Robinson now lives, on Main street. Then came Dr. Hanford, Dr. Howard, and Dr. J. S. McNaught, the last of whom has also been a supervisor of the town and a member of Assembly from this district. His son is connected with him in the practice of medicine.
William Totter was the first postmaster at this place, and William S. Foote is the present one.
At present there is in the village a population of about 400, with three churches--Methodist Episcopal, Protestant Episcopal and Presbyterian; a school-house, a grist-mill, a saw-mill, and a hotel; two banks--the First National, established in 1863, and Frederick W. Foote's Bank, established October 1st, 1872; a marble shop, a foundry and machine shop, a carriage and sleigh factory; four dry goods stores--M. Lowenstein's, Kilpatrick & Griffin's, R. S. Rich's and M. Lawrence's; two hardware stores--W. S. Foote's and A. G. Silliman's; two grocery stores, kept by A. Mull and A. Y. Thompson; two saloons, two cooper shops, one tailor, one jeweler, one harness maker, two shoe shops and two blacksmith shops.
CHURCHES OF HOBART
ST. PETER'S EPISCOPAL.
Members of the Episcopal church of Stamford, Kortright and Harpersfield met December 8th, 1794, and elected the following trustees: Truman Beers, Augustus Bates, Ebenezer Sturgis, Gershom Hanford, Andrew Beers, Heman Bradford, Stephen Bartow, Elijah Baldwin and Moses Sackrider. It was unanimously agreed that the trustees and their successors should be thereafter known as "The Corporation of the Episcopal Church of St. Peter's in the Township of Stamford." Augustus Bates was elected clerk, and Gershom Hanford treasurer.
The trustees met July 13th, 1795, at the house of Augustus Bates; unanimously agreed on building a church fifty feet by forty feet, and contracted with Andrew Beers for the lumber.
At a meeting of the trustees February 28th, 1796, it was voted "that this church be immediately united with the churches of New York, and acknowledge the authority of Samuel Prevoost, of New York, as bishop."
At a meeting of the church, at the house of Andrew Beers, January 23rd, 1797, the following were elected wardens and vestrymen: Wardens--Ebenezer Sturgess and Andrew Beers; vestrymen--Jason Nash, Truman Beers, James Wetmore, Abijah Seeley, Joseph Hurd, Perry Sturgess, Stephen Bartow and Augustus Bates. April 17th, 1797, being the anniversary meeting, Abel Adams was added to the vestry. July 6th, 1798, the wardens and vestry took into consideration the building of a parsonage on grounds purchased with the money proffered by the corporation of Trinity Church of New York for that purpose. Andrew Beers, Truman Beers and Augustus Bates were appointed a committee to build the parsonage, and it was erected the next year. Following is the bill of expenses rendered October 29th, 1800, for the church and parsonage lots and for building the parsonage:
"For 46 acres of land of Seeley, $250; for 10 1/2 acres of land of Beers, $106; for glebe house, L55 2s. 4d., $137.78; expenses first and last for journey to New York, timber cost, &c., $25.88; [total] $529.66. Money received in New York, $500--leaving $29.66, which the vestry has given their obligation to be paid out of the money which is coming from Poughkeepsie to Andrew Beers."
June 6th, 1801, a meeting of the church members was held, and it was voted, 46 to 14, to locate the church on Pine Hill, where it now stands, in the village of Hobart. During the year 1801 the church was built, and occupied by the society. The church property is valued at $4,000. The membership is 150.
The following is a list of rectors who have served this people: Rev. Philander Chase, who was subsequently bishop of Ohio, was rector of this parish in 1794, and was succeeded by Rev. Robert G. Whitmore in 1797. The others are as follows, as near as can be ascertained: 1810, Joseph Perry; 1815-20, J. P. F. Clark; 1829, H. R. Peters; 1830-32, I. M. Tappan; 1833, ____ Allison; 1834, D. Huntington; 1839, Sturgess Gilbert; 1841, A. H. Cornish; 1845, Sheldon Davis; 1849, William A. Curtis; 1863, J. P. Simson; 1866, A. S. Dealy; 1873, A. Whitaker; 1876, F. D. Jaudon; 1878 Rev. Benjamin T. Hall, the present rector.
The following are the wardens and vestrymen for 1879: Wardens--Hector Stewart and Samuel H. Taylor; vestrymen--John Hanford, Peter Kilpatrick, E. B. Taylor, Charles S. Stewart. A. Rollins, A. H. Grant, George Barlow and Alexander McDonald.
The organization of the Methodist society in Hobart was the result of a protracted meeting held in January, 1834, by Rev. Bezaleel Howe, preacher in charge. We find the following in the minutes of Kortright circuit: "The first quarterly meeting was held at the camp meeting in Jefferson, on Thursday, June 12th, 1834. Present, Rev. William Jewett, P. E.; Rev. B. Howe was appointed secretary." "At a meeting of the stewards of Kortright circuit, held on Thursday, July 17th, 1834, at the house of Brother D. Denison, the sum of $245.50 was apportioned to the several societies, as follows: Kortright Hollow, $92.25; Isaac Silliman's class, $19.25; Hobart, $11; Rose Brook, $19.25; Bovina, north, $21.87 1/2; Bovina, south, $12.25; Blenheim, $12.25; Township meeting-house, $16.62 1/2; Head of the Delaware, $22.75; Butler's stone school-house, $17.50.
Rev. Bezaleel Howe was the preacher in charge in 1834, and the first board of stewards for this circuit consisted of Daniel Denison, Isaac Silliman, Martin Bathric and Elisha Wetmore, the last of whom was also recording steward. Henry King and Robert Brownell were licensed as exhorters. The first class leaders for this circuit were: Kortright, Martin Bathric, Forman Denison, Matthew Keator and Curtis Coe; Bovina Hill, John Laughran; Bovina Centre, Nehemiah Bailey; Rose Brook, Joseph W. Barlow; Hobart, Henry King; Stamford, Isaac Silliman; Township, Burr Silliman; Head of the Delaware, Reuben Fuller; Blenheim, John Brewster; Harpersfield, Daniel Butler. Thus we see that Hobart was among the societies in 1834. Among the early members were Agrippa Butts, Elisha Bush and William Champlin.
The society built the present church edifice in 1835, and in 1854 it was repaired, at a cost of $1,000, and rededicated by Rev. Dr. Phineas Rice, assisted by Revs. M. D. C. Crawford and Lucius King, son of the Henry King who was the first class leader of Hobart.
Several years ago the society purchased the lot adjoining the church lot, upon which they have built a parsonage, at a cost of about $1,500. In the division and alteration of the old circuits, this society and the one at Township are left together as one charge.
The preachers since Rev. Bezaleel Howe have been as follows, as near as can be ascertained: In 1837 Revs. D. Stark and Isaac Carver left the circuit; they probably followed the Rev. Mr. Howe. August 5th, 1837, at the first quarterly meeting, R. H. Bloomer and O. W. Munger appear as preachers in charge. At the quarterly meeting June 8th, 1839, Revs. James Hoy and James D. Bouton appear; November 9th of the same year we have J. D. Bouton and William H. Smith; August 22nd, 1840 J. D. Bouton and William Lull; July 17th, 1841, William Lull and John Davis; 1842, D. B. Turner and C. T. Malloy; July 20th, 1843, D. B. Turner and Benjamin Genung, and in October of the same year John Bangs appears; July 8th, 1844, we have V. Buck presiding elder, and A. Lee and C. T. Malloy as preachers; April 5th, 1845, John Bangs, and July 17th of the same year Russell S. Scott and A. H. Mead; June 6th, 1846, Russell S. Scott and Rev. ____ Perry; July 3rd, 1847, Hiram Lamont; August 19th, 1848, H. Lamont and David C. Dutcher; July 24th, 1849, J. Wells and E. A. Hill; July 13th, 1850, Jason Wells and Noble Lovett; July 20th, 1851, W. H. Smith and David Gibson; August 7th, 1852, the same; July 15, 1853, S. D. Ferguson and W. B. Mitchell; July 29th, 1854, W. B. Mitchell and Harvey Brown; July 20th, 1855, Ira Ferris and J. M. Burger; September 7th, 1856, Ira Ferris and George S. Flower. The following pastors' term of service expired in the spring of the year given: Paul R. Brown, 1863; William E. Harris, 1866; William V. O. Brainard, 1868; Ezra Tinker, 1870; T. W. Chadwick, 1872; J. R. Vanderwater, 1873; C. B. Landon, 1876; C. C. Miller, 1870. Rev. R. H. Walsworth is the present pastor.
The following are the stewards for 1879: Levi Olmsted, John M. Olmsted, John E. Scudder, Horace Hanford, George W. Simmons, Lewis S. Reed, Isaac H. Silliman, Robert Hoose and Charles A Hanford. District steward, Levi Olmsted. Leaders, Lewis S. Reed and George W. Simmons. Trustees, A. G. Silliman, J. E. Scudder and Lewis S. Reed.
The Sunday-school connected with this church was organized in 1835, and has been sustained ever since. There is at present an average attendance of sixty-five. The present value of the church property is $4,000.
This society was organized in 1853, by persons belonging to the U. P. church located four miles down the river. The persons of this faith and order living in and near the village of Hobart, deeming it advisable to have stated preaching in the village, met together and formed themselves into a society, to be known as the "Reformed Presbyterian Church of Hobart." William Trotter, Esq., who was then one of the enterprising men of the place, and somewhat noted as a gentleman of legal attainments, was instrumental in organizing this society, and, for his scholarly ability, was selected to draft the necessary papers, constitution and bylaws, for the government of the new society. He died before the church building was completed. John W. Taylor, Hugh Gillespie, William R. Grant and wife, Andrew Thompson and wife, James C. McWilliams and wife, George McCall and wife, John Wilson, Hugh Boyd, John Smith, Mrs. Frederick Griffin, Miss Agnes Marshall, Josiah Meigs and others were the first members. The first trustees for the society were John W. Taylor, George McCall, Robert McLaughlin, James C. McWilliams and four others, whose names we were unable to obtain. The first elders of this church were William Trotter, James C. McWilliams, John Smith and Hugh Boyd
In 1853 the trustees purchased a lot on Pine street, in the village of Hobart, of Charles Foote, for $240, upon which, in 1854, they built their present church edifice, which is of wood, at a cost of $3,200.
The church was dedicated in January, 1855, by Rev. Andrew Johnston, their newly installed pastor. He was succeeded by Rev. Joseph McNulty in 1856, and he by Rev. William C. Somers in 1858, who remained until November, 1865. He was followed by Rev. Mr. Bruce in 1866, who left in 1867. Since then the church has been without an ordained preacher. The present supply is Rev. I. E. White. Subsequent to the organization of the society, the name was changed from "Associate Reformed Presbyterian Church of Hobart" to "First Presbyterian Church of Hobart," by which title it is now recognized by the presbytery.
The present officers of the church and society are as follows: Elders--R. Stott, S. Mawhinney and H. Boyd; trustees--R. S. Rich, R. McClellan and A. Y. Thompson; clerk of the session, R. Stott. Present membership, 52. Present value of church property, $3,500.
The Sunday-school connected with the church was organized in 1853 by Rev. Andrew Johnston as superintendent, with 30 scholars and no library. The present superintendent is R. Stott. Whole number of scholars, 60; average attendance, 40; volumes in library, 136.
St. Andrew's Lodge, No 289, F. & A. M. was constituted and chartered as No. 48, December 26th, 1796, at Hobart. The charter members and officers were: Andrew Beers, W. M.; James Laughran, S. W.; John Brewster, J. W. By reference to the ancient records of the lodge it was found that the regular and special communications were held at the residences of the members, and in other places, upon the highest hills and in the lowest valleys, where circumstances and the convenience of the craft would dictate. The original membership was composed of the early settlers in and around the region of country, as follows:
Alexander McPherson, Clark Lawrence, John McClelland, Robert McFarland, Daniel C. Wainright, David Heath, John McCrary, Isaac Marsellus, Alexander Mills, Daniel Hadfield, M. Sackrider, Henry Montgomery, Chauncy Lawrence, Bailey Foote, James Harris, William McClaughry, Erastus Root, Peter Hunt, Levi Bartlett, Caleb Sprong, sen., Charles Owens, jr., Charles Morgan, jr., Charles Tucker, Amos Bell, Roswell Peak, John Bennett, jr., Thomas B. Whitman, Putnam Farrington, Asa Emmons, Daniel Prentice, Russell Mann, Hugh Mill, John Rall, Philip Burritt, Gilbert Parmenter, William Lamb, John A. Harper, James A. Harper, Robert G. Wetmore, Philip Gebhard, James Wetmore, David Wilcox, John Wilcox, James Goodrich, Jesse Gilbert, George Foote, Stephen Judd, Joseph Spinner, Ephraim Barrett, Asahel E. Paine, Aaron Wheeler, David Bostwick, John J. Bradford, Joshua H. Brett, John Camfield, Joseph Harper, Stephen Fenn, Canfield Coe. R. Skinner, Jonathan Hubbard, Giles Hamilton, Ezra Beard, John Lamb, Robert Harris and Thomas Brooks.
The lodge continued to work until 1830, when its charter was surrendered, and from that time until 1853 the members continued work as a lodge of instruction. June 8th, 1853, the lodge was rechartered and numbered 289.
The lodge was instituted by R. H. Walworth, grand master; Joseph B. Evans, D. G. M.; Jarvis M. Hatch, G. S. W.; Finlay M. King, G. J. W., and James M. Austin, grand secretary. The first officers named in the new charter were: Harry Anderson, W. M.; Elisha Whitman, S. W.; William McCawn, J. W. The regular communications are held on the first and third Saturday evenings of each month, in Masonic Hall, corner of Main and Pine Streets. The present membership numbers 75.
The following are the officers for 1879: George C. Gibbs, W. M.; James Reynolds, S. W.; D. McCaghn, J. W.; J. K. Odell, treasurer; A. L. Hager, secretary; John Telford, S. D.; A. E. Odell, J. D.; A. H. Grant, tyler; F. Lambert and A. S. Thompson, M. of C.; A. H. Grant, W. S. Foote and A. L. Churchill, trustees
St. Mary's Chapter, No. 50, Order of the Eastern Star.--This is an adoptive rite of free masonry, and was created by master masons. One of the indispensable requisites for membership is, that the candidate be a mason in good standing, or a female relative of a mason. This chapter was constituted at Hobart November 14th, 1877, under a charter dated June 6th, 1877, by Jacob M. Hopper, grand patron; Jennie E. Barns, grand matron; and Calvin D. Haywood, grand secretary. The original officers of the chapter were as follows, vis.: A. H. Grant, worthy patron; Mrs. Mary A. Reynolds, worthy matron; Julia A. Grant, associate matron; Miss Mary N. Reed, secretary; Mrs. J. K. Odell, treasurer. The regular convocations of this chapter are held on Wednesday evening of each week, in Masonic Hall. Present membership is 20.
The officers for 1879 are as follows: Peter Heron, worthy patron; Miss Mary N. Reed, worthy matron; Mrs Mary Odell, associate matron; A. L. Hagar, secretary; Mrs. John K. Odell, treasurer; Mrs. Julia A. Grant, conductress; Mrs. Peter Heron, associate conductress; Mrs. Frederick Griffin, warden; James Reynolds, sentinel.
Hobart Lodge, No. 339, I. O. of O. F.--This lodge was instituted at Hobart March 7th, 1848, by D. P. Barnard, G. M.; W. H. H. Prall, G. W.; John G. Treadway, G. S.; Theodore A. Ward, G. T.; W. W. Wallace, G. C.; P. L. Taylor, G. M.; W. W. Vail, G. C.; and A. M. Smith, D. D. G. M., when the following officers were installed: C. C. Cole, N. G.; B. Griffin, V. G.; John McDonald, R. S.; William S. Foote, P. S.; John R. Baldwin, treasurer; G. H. Griffin, R. S. N. G.; W. B. Champlin, L. S. N. G.; James Noble, R. S. V. G.; C. W. Griffin, L. S. V. G.; Benjamin Bates, I. G.; Henry Bates, warden; H. S. Griffin, O. G.; W. R. Beckley, C.; R. Wilson, R. S. S.; W. H. Childs, L. S. S. The lodge meets for work and instruction on Tuesday evening of each week, in Odd Fellows' Hall, corner of Main and Pine streets. The present number of members is 30. The present officers are: J. K. Odell, N. G.; John Telford, V. G.; L. Hagar, R. S.; James Reynolds, P. S.; Henry Grant, treasurer; Calvin Keeler, warden; A. E. Odell, S. G.; Randall Lewis, R. S. N. G.; W. R. Beckley, L. S. N. G.; G. H. Davis, R. S. V. G.; R. S. Boyd, L. S. V. G.; J. P. McKIllop, C.; J. D. Church, O.G.; trustees; S. H. Taylor, J. K. Odell and L. Hagar. The following have been the past grands of Hobart Lodge: Henry Grant, W, E. Bates, J. K. Odell, L. Hagar, A. E. Odell, Calvin Keeler, James Reynolds, S. H. Taylor, J. Telford, R. Lewis, W. S. Foote, J. Robinson and F. Griffin. HOBART AGRICULTURAL SOCIETY.
This society was formed at Hobart June 17th, 1876. At the meeting of the farmers of this vicinity, held for the purpose of forming an agricultural society, under the laws of the State authorizing the forming of such societies, Robert Kerr was appointed chairman and secretary. The following officers were elected for 1876: President, D. C. Sharp; vice presidents, Samuel H. Stevens, E. A. Gallup, Charles S. Stevens and H. Meeker; directors: N. M. Blish, I. H. Silliman, R. Kilpatrick, R. D. Baird and A. S. Gibbs; secretary, R. S. McNaught; treasurer, James S. Kerr. The first fair of the society was held October 10-12th, 1876. The annual meeting for the election of officers is held on the second Saturday of January in each year. The grounds and buildings of the society are on the south side of the village of Hobart. The present officers are: President, D. C. Sharp; vice-presidents, R. D. Baird, O. I. Bennett, James Sackrider and Alexander Storey; directors. N. M. Blish, George Simson, R. Kilpatrick, S. H. Stevens, J. G. Olmstead, J. K. Odell, R. T. Hume and C. H. Keator; treasurer, A. H. Grant; secretary, John W. Griffin.
JOHN S. ANDREWS, father of J. J. Andrews, was born in Stamford in 1796, and was the son of Samuel Andrews, a Revolutionary soldier, who settled in Stamford, on the farm now occupied by Dewitt C. Sharp. The Andrews family is an old one, and has been prominent in the growth of the town from its first settlement to the present time.
W. H. BARLOW was born May 7th, 1834, at Stamford, and November 28th, 1859, he married Sarah E. Carroll, of Roxbury. Samuel Barlow, his father, an old resident of Stamford, was born August 31st, 1798, and married Maria Squire. She died, and May 29, 1828, he married Betsey Rollins.
O. R. BOUTON graduated at Union College in 1857, and has been the school commissioner of the second Assembly district of Delaware county. He was born in 1829 in Roxbury, and was married to R. V. L. Peck, of Catskill, N. Y. He is a minister at Stamford.
W. R. BROCK, farmer, was born in Meredith January 21st, 1850. He married Nancy E. Cowan, of Stamford, January 1st, 1878.
W. B. CHAMPION was born at Blenheim, Schoharie county, N. Y., June 15th, 1814, and married Frances E. Clarke, of Stamford. He is a lawyer; he has been postmaster eight years, and filled the office of supervisor twice, besides other important places of trust.
SIMON B. CHAMPION, editor and publisher of the Stamford Mirror (commenced by him as the Bloomville Mirror, May 28th, 1851), was born in East Worcester, Otsego county, N. Y., September 7th, 1825. He removed to Bloomville April 1st, 1849, and to Stamford September 7th, 1870. He was postmaster at Bloomville in 1855 and 1856, and was an elector of President and Vice-President in 1868. On the 8th of April, 1857, he was married to Miss Mary L. McCollum, of Bloomville
STEPHEN E. CHURCHILL, M. D., son of Deacon Elijah Churchill, was born in the town of Harpersfield, upon the old family homestead one mile west of Stamford village, September 4th, 1841. He early learned the valuable lesson that success could only be obtained through unremitting labor His school education commenced with the founding of Stamford Seminary, finishing his course of study under Dr. Kerr, of Cooperstown Seminary. He entered Stamford Seminary as a teacher in 1865, and in the autumn of 1866 purchased the buildings and became principal and proprietor of that institution. The school steadily increased under his administration, and more accommodations becoming necessary, Mr. Churchill remodeled the buildings and erected a new hall in 1869. This was rapidly filled by boarding students, and the school entered upon an era of usefulness and prosperity never before attained. The school continued full until 1873, when Mr. Churchill, having a favorable opportunity, sold two of his school buildings and severed his connections with school life. In the fall of the same year he removed to New Haven, Conn., and entered the Sheffield scientific department of Yale College, preparatory to his medical studies. In 1876 he graduated from the College of Physicians and Surgeons, New York city, as a doctor of medicine, and commenced practice in Scranton, Pa. But the attractions of his native hills were too strong, and in 1877 he returned to his old home in Stamford village, where he is now a successful practitioner upon the field of his early labors.
ROBERT CLARK, father of Miss Frances Clark, was born June 12th, 1798, at Harpersfield, and was married in March, 1827, to Julia A. Beardsley, of Kortright.
NATHAN COE was born March 13th, 1845, at Hartland, Conn, and married Esther M. Churchill, of Stamford. He enlisted in Company G of the 27th Connecticut volunteers October 22nd, 1862; was taken prisoner at Chancelorsville, placed in Libby and paroled. He enlisted again in 1864, in a Massachusetts regiment, and served to the close of the war. He was formerly a carpenter, but is now engaged in the furniture business.
W. H. COWAN is a life-long resident of Stamford. He was born April 5th, 1851, and follows farming for his occupation.
HECTOR COWAN was born October 2nd, 1824, at Stamford, and died July 4th, 1878. He was married November 5th, 1851, to Miss H. J. Rich. Mrs. Cowan resides on the home farm.
J. A. COWAN, farmer, was born in Stamford November 8th, 1854, and married Martha Hanford, of Hobart.
CHARLES FOOT married Augusta A. Marvin January 18th, 1832. He is a prominent dealer in stock and a farmer. He was born September 30th, 1801, at Fairfield, Conn.
B. H. FOOT, a merchant of Stamford, was born May 5th, 1847, at Hobart. He was married December 4th, 1878, to Emma Grant.
WILLIAM S. FOOTE was born February 6th, 1824, at Hobart, and was married to Mary A. Blish September 11th, 1849. John Foote was one of the early settlers of Hobart, and had a trip hammer and made scythes. W. S. Foote is now engaged in a general hardware business, and has been postmaster for sixteen years.
E. W. GALLUP was born in 1840 in Jefferson, Schoharie county, N. Y., and was united in marriage with M. Jennie Rowley in 1865. He is a successful physician, and acting coroner for the county of Delaware.
J. D. GIBSON was born August 20th, 1815, at Cambridge, Washington county, N. Y., and married Catharine C. Wood September 12th, 1838, at Newburg, N. Y. He was pastor of the Associate Reformed church near Geneva. N. Y., for five years, and has been the pastor of the U. P. church four miles down the river from Hobart for thirty-five years.
ALEXANDER GILLESPIE was born March 31st, 1834, at Stamford, and is a live-long resident of the town. He was married November 8th, 1860 to Polly M. Brockway, of Jefferson, Schoharie county, N. Y.
WILLIAM GILMORE married Alice Butler, of Harpersfield, May 3rd, 1877. He came to Hobart in 1866, and has been an active citizen since. He built the Town Hall in 1874. He was born in Onondaga county, N. Y., April 20th, 1844. He is now doing a thriving business in blacksmithing and manufacturing wagons, sleighs & c., at Hobart.
J. K. GRANT was born in Stamford June 17, 1853. November 17th, 1875, he married Susan L. Wood, of the same place.
J. G. GRANT is a dairyman and farmer, owning one hundred and ninety-one acres of land and twenty-three cows. He was born January 14th, 1856, and October 3rd, 1878, was married to Sarah I. Rose of Stamford.
H. S. GRIFFIN is a native of Stamford and was born in 1825. His father was born in Connecticut in 1782 and early settled in Stamford, on the farm now occupied by F. R. Gilbert, where he erected the first cabin. He married Esther A. Glover. He died in 1870, and his wife died in 1863. H.S. Griffin, the son, is a farmer.
CHARLES GRIFFIN was born in the town of Stamford February 24th, 1811. He was married to Adaline Baldwin November 19th, 1834; and to Angelina Baldwin on the 29th of December 1868;-- both residents of Stamford. He was the son of a farmer, but taught school twelve years of his minority. At the age of twenty-one he engaged in the mercantile business, in which he continued twenty-six years, and then became a farmer. In 1829 he was elected a sergeant, in 1832 ensign, in 1834 lieutenant, and the same year captain, in the militia. He was an inspector of common schools, was appointed assistant postmaster at Stamford in 1839, a postmaster in Mary, 1844; he resigned the office April 1st, 1858. He was a railroad commissioner in the town for ten years from June, 1866; was one of the principal actors in establishing the Stamford Seminary in 1849, and a director of the Rondout & Oswego Railroad Company. He lives in Stamford village.
KETH GRIFFIN is a prominent farmer of Stamford. He was born September 29th, 1833.
BALDWIN GRIFFIN, now a farmer, has filled many important places in life, including the offices of supervisor, collector, under sheriff, sheriff and member of Assembly. He was born July 13th, 1822, in Stamford, and was married to Amelia M. Montgomery, of Greene county, N.Y., October 13th, 1850.
JOHN W. GRIFFIN was formerly a merchant on the Pacific coast, but is now a farmer. He was supervisor of Stamford in 1877 and 1878. He was born July 4th, 1823, and married Miss N. W. Griffin, of Hobart.
J. HAMILTON was born January 23rd, 1837, in Harpersfield. April 3rd, 1860, he was married to Ruth Gregory, of Stamford, and is engaged in hotel keeping at that place.
J. H. HARPER is a descendant of the first pioneer Harpers, and was born in Harpersfield Mary 17th, 1838. He has filled responsible places in the town, having been inspector of elections and assessor, and now acting as justice of the peace. His business is sign and carriage painting, and dealing in paints, oils, paper hangings, &c., at Stamford. He married Maria Howard, of Harpersfield.
PETER HERRON, JR. Son of Peter Herron of Schoharie county, was born in 1836. In 1864 he began business on Main street, in the village of Hobart, where he is now engaged in working American and foreign marble--the only marble works in the town of Stamford.
JOSEPH HILLIS has been an assessor of the town of Stamford, and filled other places of trust. He was born in Kortright January 12th, 1853, and married Margaret D. Burnett, of Stamford.
R. J. HOOSE was born January 7th, 1830, and January 7th, 1858, he was united in marriage with Mary Youngman, of Kortright; they have three boys and one girl. He is a farmer.
CHARLES A. HOYT, a native of Walton, was born November 17th, 1854. He is at present engaged as a carriage ironer at Hobart village.
SETH W. HUBBARD was born July 21st, 1839. He is a native of Harpersfield, and married Louise Van Dusen, of that town, from which he removed to Stamford village February 29th, 1871. He has been postmaster at Stamford for the last four years, and carries on a trade in general merchandise.
JOHN HULL was born May 28th, 1821, at Roxbury, N. Y., and married December 16th, 1863, to Sarah C. Silliman, of Stamford; he is a farmer.
HARVEY LEWIS was born September 13th, 1856, at Bloomville, N. Y.; was married May 13, 1873, to Miss A. Decker, of Prattsville, Greene county, N. Y. He has a son, born February 1st, 1877, and a daughter, born September 7th, 1879.
W. LOEWENSTEIN was born in 1832, and came to America in 1871. He married Charlotte Grice, of Oneonta, N. Y. He is a dealer in dry goods, boots, shoes and clothing at Hobart.
G. B. LYON was born May 21st. 1822, in Stamford, and has lived upon the farm where he was born. He is a produce dealer. He was married in 1849 to Sarah P. Peck. He has filled important places in his town.
JOHN S. McNAUGHT was elected to the Assembly in 1878, and for several years has filled the office of supervisor of Stamford. He was born September 25th, 1819, in Middletown, Delaware county, N. Y., and married Helen B. Hoy, of Bovina. He was formerly a farmer, but now is an active physician of the town.
CHARLES S. LEWIS is a native of West Township, Albany county, N. Y., and was born June 21st, 1846. He married Miss O. A. Smith(?), of Summit, Schoharie county. He was formerly a teacher, but is now an attorney and counsellor at Stamford. He has been notary public, justice of the peace, trustee and clerk of Stamford village, and member and secretary of the board of trustees of Stamford Seminary.
JAMES D. McGILLIVRAE was born August 3rd, 1812, in Stamford, and married Mary E. McClaughry, of Kortright. He is a farmer; post-office Bloomville. Donald McGillivrae was one of the first settlers of the town. He was obliged by the Indians to leave during the Revolution, but returned about ten years after the war to Stamford. His son, D. McGillivrae, and the latter's twin sister, born in 1775, are said to have been the first white children born in the town.
E. W. McPHERSON, carpenter and joiner at Stamford, was born in the town May 8th, 1835. In 1869 he married Isabelle McDonald, also of this town.
ALEXANDER McDONALD was born March 11th, 1827, at Stamford, and has passed eleven years of his life in California. He married Martha Goodrich, of Greene county, N. Y. He filled important positions in the old State militia.
F. B. MAYHAM was born in Gilboa, N. Y., in 1851, and married Miss M. Melvin, of Brooklyn, N. Y., in 1876. He came from Brooklyn, in 1877, and has established himself at Hobart as a miller and dealer in flour, feed, etc.
J. D. MINOR is a native of Schoharie county, N. Y., having been born at Jefferson March 22nd, 1845. He holds important commissions in the State militia. He married Imogene Montgomery, of Stamford, in 1869.
J. K. ODELL is a farmer and dealer in neat cattle. He served four years as justice, and during the time married twenty-two couples. He was born at Harpersfield August 3rd, 1821, and was married to Isabel Grant, of Stamford. He lived eight years in Ulster county, N. Y.
ROBERT S. RICH has been in business for thirty-five years past. He was born March 7th, 1823, in Stamford, and was married to Caroline D. Blish in 1850. He is a dealer in general merchandise, dry goods, groceries, &c.
A. T. RYER was born July 3rd, 1850, at Stamford, and is a life-long resident. He married Mary A. Bush December 26th, 1877. She was a resident of Hobart, N. Y.
D. C. SHARP was born in New York city and came to Stamford in 1861. In 1865 he married a lady of Stamford. He is president of the Hobart Agricultural Society, and a prominent farmer. He is owner of the celebrated Dodge Hambletonian.
I. H. SILLIMAN was supervisor of Stamford in 1876, and is a prominent farmer of the town. He was born September 23rd, 1814, and married to Abigail Smith November 13th, 1844. She was born in Stamford.
GEORGE SIMPSON is a hotel keeper in Stamford, where he was born December 1st, 1844. On the 6th of March, 1866, he was married to Rose church, of Greene county, N. Y. He came to Delaware county in the winter of 1875.
G. A. STEPHENS keeps the hotel at Hobart. He has been postmaster and a farmer. He was born July 12th, 1879, in Schoharie county, N. Y., and in 1854 married Juliette Simmons, who died January 9th, 1863. On the 11th of October, 1854(?), he married Louisa Brownell, of Stamford.
CHARLES S. STEWART was born in Stamford June 8th, 1814, and is an old resident. January 12th, 1841 he married Mary N. Cowley, of Harpersfield, N. Y. Hector, his son, was born in 1844 in the same town; served as justice of the peace two terms. One of the first settlers of this town was James Stewart, a native of Scotland, who in 1776 took up the farm now owned and occupied by his Grandson, Charles S. Stewart. The farm has been in uninterrupted possession of the Stewart family for one hundred and three years.
JOHN TELFORD was born January 8th, 1842, at Stamford, and has filled the offices of constable, inspector of elections, &c. for several years. He married Rhoda Russell, of the same town.
J. C. VAN DYKE is a merchant of Stanford. He is the present supervisor of the town. He was born January 6th, 1838, and was married January 28th, 1862, to Nancy J. Olden, of Roxbury.
ABRAM J. VAN DYKE was formerly a teacher, but is at present a farmer. He married Mary M. Crosby, of Roxbury. He was born August 5th, 1843, in Roxbury, and has filled important places of trust in his town.
C. W. WETMORE, farmer, was born January 28th, 1826, in Stamford. He married Frances A. Thomas, of Stamford, on the 26th of September, 1860.
C. E. WHITLOCK is an extensive farmer, owning three hundred and fifty acres of land. He was born January 12th, 1835, at Stamford, and was married December 28th, 1864, to Mary A. Foot, of the same town.
E. M. YOUNG has been engaged in the creamery at Stamford since April, 1878. He was born October 31st, 1851, and was married to Mary Mapes, August 13th, 1872. She was a resident of Florida, N. Y.