The valley of the east branch of the Delaware river includes one township of Greene county, which is isolated from the other towns of that county by a branch from the main ridge of the Catskill mountains. This branch, which forms the watershed between the Delaware river and the Schoharie creek, rises to a height of ten hundred to eleven hundred feet and is crossed only by difficult and unfrequented roads. There are no gaps or passages in the hill range, and the isolation is so complete that the principal routes of communication are by the way of Middletown, in Delaware county.
Thus situated, it need not seem strange that in a history of Delaware county this little township receive a passing mention.
Especially is it important in giving a full history of Middletown, for the topographical features have united, although civil boundaries have not, the social, the religious, the educational and the commercial interests of these people.
The township was included in Ulster county at the time that county was erected, on the first of November, 1683. When Woodstock was formed, in 1787, it included this territory, and on the erection of Windham, March 23rd, 1798, it became a part of that town, and with it became a part of the new county of Greene on the 25th of March, two years later. In 1813, Windham was divided, and this part was called New Goshen; that was subsequently changed to Lexington, and from Lexington Halcott was taken on the 19th of November, 1851.
The town was named in honor of George W. Halcott, a politician, and son of Thomas Halcott, whose grave is in the field near the store at Halcott Centre.
The town includes great lots 20 and 21 of the Hardenbergh patent, and contains eleven thousand five hundred and ninety-seven acres of assessed land, and hundreds of acres of mountain side that is claimed by no one.
The assessment of 1878 shows $2,200 of personal property, and $52,198 real estate. In population, as well as area, it is the smallest town in the county, having a population of only 391.
The surface is divided by radiating hill ranges into four principal valleys, in which rise the sources of the east branch.
The soil is well fitted for grazing, and a large part of the low lands are easily tilled.
The deeds and characters of the Indians who frequented this valley were not essentially different from those of the adjoining towns down the river. There is no tradition of any trail leading from this town over the mountains to the east or northward, and the landmarks of the red men, so common in Middletown, are quite rare here.
The last Indian to leave the valley was Froman, who had a house near the spring where the Halcott Centre road crosses the county line. Here he lived the shiftless life of an Indian; fishing in the clear stream that flows dreamily along, sunning himself to sleep by the door of his wigwam or lying in wait for the timid deer. Time passed, and the trees that had shaded him yielded to the settler's ax, the fish he found so plenty were needed to feed a more active race, and the rattling of the white man's implements of agriculture so scared the timid deer that he came no more to his fountain. The wigwam was getting old, and one morning the discontented Indian followed his shadow until the man and his shadow and the race were gone from the hunting ground forever.
Some time before 1813 settlements or at least clearings had been made by emigrants from Connecticut, who took possession of the lands without leave or license, and in nearly every instance abandoned them soon after. Among those who were here about the time permanent settlers came were Helmus Chrysler, Nathan Stanton, and one Simons. Chrysler cleared a couple of acres and built a house on the Buel Maben farm, and his date (1809) is the earliest settlement we are able to verify. In 1813 John P. Van Volkenburgh, his brother Peter, and their mother moved into the house Chrysler had built, and that was the first permanent settlement in the town. This family cleared the farm that now belongs to Marchant Van Volkenburgh, and in 1824 moved to the place where John P. Van Volkenburgh now lives.
Here, in his advanced years, this gentleman, the only surviving witness of the white men's beginnings, lives, surrounded by a numerous and respected family. Here he is enjoying the sunset of his life, not only Reverend but revered, and to him our thanks are due for the most that we are writing of the generation that has passed away.
In 1813 Benjamin Crosby's farm was taken up by Timothy Tyler, and the same year Joseph B. Brooks settled where widow Crosby now lives. Robert Browning and Jehoyacum P. Van Volkenburgh came at about the same time, and in 1814 Tenant Peck came to the farm now owned by Rev. Daniel Van Volkenburgh.
The years 1816 and 1817 brought several other families to the town, most of whom began on the abandoned choppings already mentioned. Among those were Jacob Miller, Jesse Lockwood and Peter I. Vanderburgh, the latter settling the Jonathan Scudder farm. Cyrus Smallie, Aaron Garrison, John G. Van Volkenburgh, William Denton and Elijah Parker may be recorded as among the early settlers.
Several clearings had been made by this time, and the foot path by which the squatters had reached the turnpike at Griffin's Corners was now made passable for carts and sleds. John Banker drove the first wagon over the road, when moving the family of Otis Miller to the David Earl farm.
Joseph B. Brooks, who came in 1813, built the first frame house and frame barn. The first birth was in 1814, in Nehemiah Covel's family, and the same year Peter Van Volkenburgh died, and this was the first death.
The wolves were particularly troublesome, and even as late as 1829 they would come to the pastures in the daytime and make their own selections of lamb or mutton. When pursued by a dog the depredator would retreat over the log fence that separated the forest from the field, and beyond that the dogs had learned better than to follow, for the wolf exercised all the shrewdness of an Indian in drawing the foe into a disadvantage. Once into the brambles, a signal yelp brings a pack to the rescue, and the dog's only hope is in his hasty retreat.
Many of the animals and birds of the forest took more kindly the intrusion of these human occupants. Partridge eggs were not unfrequently found in the hen's nests, and a litter of young squirrels was once brought in and adopted by the family cat. They lived as the kittens did, and were lugged about by their neck in the same manner; but when their foster mother tried to change their milk diet for one of meat they seemed to see a curious similarity between themselves and the squirrels which were being eaten by the family they lived with; but the cat could see no kind of sense in eating corn and nuts, so a separation took place at last by a kind of mutual understanding.
After the petition for the erection of the town had been filed with the board of supervisors of Greene county, on the 19th of November 1851, the State Legislature passed the petition as Chapter 413 of the laws of 1852, and directed that the first town meeting be held in the house of James D. Varderburgh on the first Tuesday (6th) of April 1852.
At this meeting Conger Avery, Benjamin L. Crosby and George Lawrence presided, and the following board of officers were elected: supervisor, George Lawrence; clerk, James D. Vanderbergh; assessors, Abel Lawrence, Alfred Townsend, Reuben Lake; constables, John Griffin, Abel Griffin, Martin Brazee, Lawrence Brooks and William D. Ford; the latter was also elected collector; justices, John M. Todd, Nathaniel F. Ellis, James Peck, Benjamin L. Crosby; overseers of highways, Russell Peck, Emanuel Woolhiser, Benjamin Ballard; overseers of the poor, Martin Brooks, Buel Maben; superintendent of schools, Silas Lake.
The next town meeting was at the house of Buel Maben, and since that time the subjoined lists show the names of those who have represented this town in official capacity.
Supervisors.--Conger Avery, 1853; Martin Morrison, 1854; Buel Maben, John P. Van Volkenburgh, Silas Lake, Conger Avery, Russell Peck, Isaac T. Moseman, Isaac Avery, George Lawrence; Isaac T. Moseman, 1863-65; E. C. Kelly, 1866; Silas Lake, Daniel Van Volkenburgh, James Miller; Lorenzo Van Volkenburgh, 1870; Hiram Mead, 1871; L. Van Volkenburgh, 1872; David H. Griffin, 1873; Alexander Van Volkenburgh, 1874; Gilbert Moseman, 1875; Cyrus W. Mead, 1876; James M. Morison, 1877; Daniel R. Morse, 1878; Buel Maben, 1879.
Town Clerks.--Peter H. Miller, 1853; Russell Peck, 1854; Austin Chase, 1855, 1856; Birdsell Moseman, 1857; Isaac T. Moseman, 1858; Nathaniel F. Ellis and B. Garrison, 1859; each received forty-six votes; Ezekiel C. Kelly, 1860; Thomas Faulkner, 1861; Daniel U. Huggans, 1862; E. C. Kelly, 1863, 1864; John P. Van Volkenburgh, 1865; David H. Griffin, 1866; Alexander Van Volkenburgh, 1867; Philip Fellows, 1868; John S. Brown, 1869; Emerson Crosby; 1870; Henry C. Lawrence, 1871; Nathaniel C. Miller, 1872; Emerson Crosby, 1873-75; James M. Moseman, 1876; Orson Ballard, 1877, 1878; John P. Van Volkenburgh, jr., 1879.
Collectors.--Martin Brazee, 1853,1854; Truman Judd, 1855; Thomas Faulkner, 1856; George Streeter, 1857; Gilbert Griffin, 1858-60; Laban A. Hubbard, 1861; Gilbert Griffin, 1862; Henry G. Miller, 1863; George Streeter, 1864; Jehial Peck, 1865; Lorenzo Van Volkenburgh, 1866, 1867; Hiram Mead, 1868; Walter B. Whitney, 1869; Daniel R. Morse, 1870; Orson Ballard, 1871; James Griffin, 1872; Orson Ballard, 1873; William Johnson, 1874; Eli D. Jenkins, 1875; Dennis Earle, 1876; Jacob Blish, 1877; Horatio Sharp, 1878; Eli D. Jenkins, 1879.
Justices.--In an isolated town like this, in which there is no tavern kept, nor any important thoroughfare passing through it, the office of justice of the peace is one of the very least in importance. Very many of those elected have failed to take the official oath, and of those who have but few ever did any other business pertaining to the position.
The following men have been elected to that office: Elisha B. Winne. Thomas J. Streeter, John F. Mead, N. F. Ellis, Conger Avery, Russell Peck, George Lawrence, Hiram Mead, Silas Lake, Daniel Banker, Thomas Faulkner, B. Moseman, B. L. Crosby, John P. Van Volkenburgh, jr., George W. Garrison, Hiram Hubbard, George Griffin, William H. Moseman, Cyrus W. Mead, Jonathan Scudder, Reuben Gordon, Daniel R. Morse, Arthur S. Cross, John M. Todd, Charles M. Streeter.
The subject of public instruction received attention quite early in the history of the settlements here. The first school building was erected on the hill where Avery Boughton's house now stands, in the year 1816. Sally Kline and Jacob Miller's daughter were early teachers; the latter probably being the first person who taught a school in that old log school-house.
There are now four districts and two parts of districts in this town.
No.1.--The school-house in this district was erected in 1835, to succeed an old log one that stood on the farm now owned by Nathaniel C. Miller and occupied by John Longyear.
No.2.--This was district No. 13, of Lexington, at the time the town was erected. It then included No. 4, and the log school-house on Jonathan H. Scudder's farm had been the district building. Before that, however, a log school-house had stood near the large rock on the west side of Gilbert Moseman's farm. This also was for both districts. The first frame school-house in the town was built for this district in 1836, and burned in 1853. The present building was Then erected on the same site.
No.3.--The first school in this district was kept in a building near Halcott Centre, on the south side of the hill road, and later in a log dwelling house north of the Centre, on the farm where Mrs. Crosby now lives. The first school building was erected in 1834. This stood until 1871, when it was sold and its place better filled by the neat structure now standing, which was built by David Crosby at a cost of $590.
No.4.--This district was set off from No. 2 in 1851, and the school house was erected the same year. The first teacher in it was Adelia M. Pulling, who taught twenty-five pupils for fifteen weeks at two dollars per week. Eighteen years later the school-house was sold to Hiram Mead for $17.50, and it is now the residence of Mrs. Dolly Sherwood. The present school-house was erected by David Earl, in 1869.
Before the erection of this town a post-office was kept at Conger Avery's, and he was the postmaster. The office was then West Lexington, and was supplied by a weekly mail from Prattsville to Griffin's Corners.
Amasa Hill afterward kept the office where Robert Moseman lives, and about this time the name was changed to Halcott Centre. He was succeeded by Austin Chase, who distributed the mail in the house where Orson Ballard now lives. At this time William Osterhoudt carried the mail, but the office was discontinued, and the Griffin's Corners-Prattsville route was abandoned.
When the present office was established it was supplied by a semi- weekly mail from Griffin's Corners, which arrangement still continues, with Mrs. Isaac T. Moseman as postmistress.
The first attempt at "store keeping" was made by Ralph Coe at a point fifty or sixty rods south of the M. E. church, and in the same building either he or ---- Bradley kept the first inn
The next tavern was kept on the present farm of Hon. Buel Maben, by Nathan Applebee, but it has been years since any public house has been kept in the town.
The first saw-mill was erected by Frederick Banker in 1824, on the site of the one now owned by Philip Fellows. Another was subsequently built by Martin Brooks, where Alexander Van Volkenburgh's saw-mill and cabinet shop now stands.
At a period more remote than any of these enterprises there was an ashery operated by one Hamican, on the farm of Eli Mead, where it is probable he made a settlement about the year 1816.
Richard Norris was an early blacksmith in the eastern part of the town. The only shop now is carried on by Horace Peet. James M. Moseman, successor to Isaac T. Moseman, is the only merchant in the town.
When the Rondout & Oswego Railroad was proposed, the town of Halcott issued $10,000 of bonds to aid in its construction. These bonds were of the denomination of $500, and bear seven per cent. interest, payable on the first of February in each year. The first installment, of $500, of principal was paid in 1874. One bond becomes due each year thereafter, until the whole number, twenty, are paid.
The road was sold under a mortgage, and thus the stock which the town held was made worthless; but the road was built, and they have the advantage of a railway and telegraph station at Griffin's Corners, about four miles from Halcott Centre.
Many of the Halcott boys who swelled the ranks of the Union army were members of Company G, 144th regiment, and their names and their sacrifices are there recorded. A few, however, went out in other organizations. Jacob Fellows, Company B, 43d regiment, enlisted in 1861, and was discharged the same year for injuries received. Silas Morrison, Company G, 20th N. Y., enlisted in 1861, was discharged in 1863. Hiram Hubbard, 1st N. Y. volunteer engineers, enlisted in October, 1864; was discharged in June, 1865.
Methodism in Halcott dates from the year 1829, when Rev. John P. Van Volkenburgh experienced religion and became an exhorter among the people. The first class, organized by Rev. Mr. Calder in 1830, consisted of Thomas Halcott, Reuben Gordon, Archibald Morrison, Nehemiah Covel, Joseph Halstead, John Moseman, Gibbons Griffins and their wives; Timothy Tyler and Joseph Brooks, with Mr. Van Volkenburgh as leader.
This class and congregation met in private houses, school-houses and barns for twenty years when the present church building was erected. It was dedicated on the 29th of December 1849. The appointment has always been a part of the Clovesville circuit, and regular services have been held by their pastors, whose names appear in the history of that circuit. Mr. Van Volkenburgh has been their local preacher; generations have grown up under his ministry, and the sermons he has preached, as precept, and the life he has lived, as example, have left their impress for good upon the minds and the hearts of the most of them. He was licensed to preach in 1833 and ten years after was ordained, since which time, and even to his ripe old age, he is yet laboring in the field of his choice.
Letters of dismission from the First Baptist church of Roxbury were granted to some members March 30th, 1822, for the purpose of forming a church nearer Middletown. Steps were immediately taken for the organization of such a church, and a meeting called on the 1st of May following at the house of Noah Dimmick, where the feasibility of organizing this new church was discussed. The meeting adjourned to the 29th of the same month, when the church was organized by a council composed of delegates from Marbletown, Lexington and Roxbury churches. It is recorded that "the Middletown and Roxbury church was organized at the house of Noah Dimmick, of Middletown, on the 29th of May, 1822, with Elder James Mead as pastor. The members to be those who had taken letters from the First Baptist Church of Roxbury for this purpose."
Elder Mead continued as pastor until his death, which occurred May 17th, 1856. On the 18th of March, 1841, Daniel Morrison, of Halcott, was ordained. He occasionally supplied the pulpit for Elder Mead. In June, 1856, he became the pastor, and continued in that relation until his death, October 30th, 1859.
Elder Hewitt and Elder Alling supplied the society occasionally, and in 1861 arrangements were made for preaching once a month, Elder Hewitt and Elder Fuller alternating. In 1870 Elder Buel Maben was ordained to preach, and he is now the resident pastor. The first deacon was Shubal Dimmick. The present deacon is David Earl, who is also a licensed preacher.
At first meetings were held in private houses. Mr. Noah Dimmick and Mr. James Blish being the earliest who operated their houses for religious services. In 1823, Mr. Dimmick built a school-house known as the Dimmick school-house, where meetings were held, and some are living who speak of the school-house, with the cushioned seat by the rostrum for Deacon Dimmick, who was a cripple. In 1847 a church was built in the town of Halcott, but the "old church" was long since abandoned, and the society now hold their meetings in what is known as the Fly school- house.
Of the original members, of whom there were seventy-two, it is thought that none are living. The church was known as the Middletown and Roxbury church until 1860, when the name was changed to Middletown and Halcott and still later to Halcott.
E. Kelly, jr., was clerk of this church from 1831 to 1834; Ethiel Travis from 1834 to 1846; James T. Streeter from 1846 to 1861; the present clerk is James Miller, who is also a licensed preacher.
At first meetings were held in private houses; Mr. Noah Dimmick and Mr. James Blish being the earliest who opened their houses for religious services. In 1823 Mr. Dimmick built a school-house known as the Dimmick school-house, where meetings were held, and some are living who speak of the school-house, with the cushioned seat by the rostrum for Deacon Dimmick who was a cripple. In 1847 a church was built in the town of Halcott, but the "old church" was long since abandoned, and the society now hold their meetings in what is known as the Fly school- house.
Of the original members, of whom there were seventy-two, it is thought that none are living. The church was known as the Middletown and Roxbury church until 1860, when the name was changed to Middletown and Halcott, and still later to Halcott.
E. Kelly, jr., was clerk of this church from 1831 to 1834; Ethiel Travis from 1834 to 1846; James T. Streeter from 1846 to 1861; the present clerk is James Miller, who is also a licensed preacher.
BENJAMIN BALLARD, a prominent farmer, was born in Roxbury in 1806. He was married in 1833 to Eliza, daughter of Thomas Berry, of Roxbury, and came the same year to Halcott, where she died in 1853. His present wife, Clara, is a daughter of Thomas Kelley. His farm of three hundred and thirty acres was part settled by Tenant Peck in 1814, part by Gilbert Griffin and the remainder by himself. Mr. Ballard has served his town in important trusts.
ORSON BALLARD, son of Benjamin Ballard, was born in 1835. He was married in 1875 to Augusta, daughter of Solomon Osterhoudt, of Middletown, and granddaughter of Elias Osterhoudt. Mr. B. has filled various official positions, and has a dairy farm of ninety-six acres, besides a sheep farm in Halcott.
BENJAMIN L. CROSBY, the most extensive farmer and the oldest man now living in the town, was born at Kelley's Corners in 1797. In 1819 he was married to Huldah Hull, who died in 1843. Ten years before her death they removed to Halcott, where Mr. Crosby has now a farm of nine hundred and ninety-nine acres, and a dairy of eighty cows. His present wife is Elizabeth Dickson, to whom he was married in 1845. The family of ten children are all living accept Eli, who died in 1873. David is yet at the homestead; Thomas is a prosperous farmer in Missouri; Sally is Mrs. Vanderbergh, in Iowa; Edward is a merchant in Kingston; Lorina is a milliner at Margaretville, and the others are also well situated in life, as may be seen from other pages of this work. Mr. Crosby has been railroad commissioner and justice of peace, and has always been prominently identified with the leading enterprises of the town.
DAVID EARL, a deacon in the Baptist church, was born in Roxbury in 1828, and at the age of twenty-one was married to William Faconer's daughter, Amelia A. The following year they removed to Halcott, where they have been prosperously engaged in farming. Of their four children Dennis was married in 1873 to Emeline Streeter, Luther in 1877 to Ida Peck, Emma J. in January, 1878, to Eli Mead, and William in May, 1879, to Louisa J., daughter of Daniel Van Volkenburgh. Part of Mr. Earl's farm was settled in 1817 by Otis Miller, and part by Levi Ellis.
ELI JENKINS, a successful farmer, came to the town of Halcott in 1843, and two years after was married to Emily Judd. They have three sons and one daughter. Their daughter is Mrs. J. Mead. Wilson is a farmer at Halcott, and Eli D. Is at home.
His son ARTHUR B. JENKINS was born in 1852, and married in 1871 to Esther J. Earl, only child of William Earl, who died in 1872.
WILLIAM JOHNSON, son of Sylvester Johnson and Polly Brazee, was born in 1846. He is a prominent stock farmer, owning the farm which was settled by his ancestors. Mr. J. has been constable and collector of Halcott, and has made more of a specialty of raising stock than any other man in the town.
SILAS LAKE, one of the most prosperous farmers of Halcott, was born in 1829. He is a son of Curtis Lake, who came to this town in 1832 and died in 1866. Mr. L. has been prominent in local politics, having been twice elected supervisor and was justice of peace. His farm was settled by Peter H. Miller.
HON. BUEL MABEN, supervisor of the town, is a son of Benjamin Maben and grandson of John Maben, a pioneer of Lexington. He came to Lexington in 1832, and six years later was married to Abigail, sister of Dr. O. M. Allaben, of Margaretville. Their family consists of two young ladies, yet at home; another daughter, Mrs. Amasa J. Shaver, of Meredith; Sarah A., wife of Dr. Tefft, of Utica; Jonathan A. and Alanson J., jewelers at Utica, and W. B. Maben, attorney at law in Brooklyn. Mr. Maben has been once before supervisor of the town, and represented the first Assembly district of Greene county in the Legislature of 1856.
ROSWELL MILLER, a prominent farmer of Halcott, is a son of Henry G. and grandson of Jacob Miller. His first wife, Mary Huested, died in 1875, and he was married the following year to Julia, daughter of Jacob Shaver, of Meredith. Their family consists of two sons and three daughters. Mr. Miller has a dairy farm of two hundred acres, well located, which was settled by Reuben Baker.
JAMES MILLER, a son of Peter H. and grandson of Jacob Miller, an early settler in Halcott in 1816, was born in 1826, and married in 1848 to Polly M., daughter of John G. Van Volkenburgh. Their only child now living is Mrs. Jonathan Whitney, who was married in 1869. Mr. Miller has been for nine years assessor, and one term supervisor of Halcott.
HIRAM MEAD, one of the substantial farmers of Halcott, is a son of Eli Mead, who was a brother of Revs. James and David Mead. He was born in 1818 in Middletown, and removed to Halcott in 1852, where he has served the town as assessor seven or eight years and once as supervisor. For three years Mr. Mead was captain in a militia company in Colonel Jacob Mead's regiment. His grandmother was an American spy in the Revolution. Mr. Mead's wife, to whom he was married in 1876, was Alice E. Hall.
ISAAC THORNE MOSEMAN was born in Roxbury January 30th, 1823; married Emily Morse, of that town, in 1851, and came to Halcott in 1853. His earlier life was spent as a public teacher, but in Halcott he was a merchant until his death, which occurred September 26th, 1869. Mr. Moseman was a prominent officer in the M. E. church, and besides serving his town as supervisor for several years, he so served his fellow men as to be universally respected by them. His son, James M. Moseman, was born in 1853, and married in 1875 to Annie E. Dewey, of Catskill. He is the only merchant in the town, and has represented Halcott in the board of supervisors and as town clerk.
REV. JOHN P. VAN VOLKENBURGH, who was born in Rensselaer county November 9th, 1800, is the only survivor of the original settlers in this town. He is a son of Peter L., a captain in the Revolution, and grandson of John Van Volkenburgh, who came to Albany county from Holland before the American Revolution. The subject of this sketch came with his widowed mother to Halcott on the 26th of September, 1813, and eight years later was married to Jemima, daughter of Daniel Griffin, who, about 1805, settled in the northern part of Middletown. In 1842 he was ordained by the M. E. church, having previously preached nine years under a license. Mr. Van Volkenburgh has taken a prominent part in the politics of his town in his younger days, and has lived to see a prosperous family of six sons and three daughters grow up around him.
MIDLAND SALE AND REORGANIZATION -- NEW YORK, ONTARIO AND WESTERN.
Our history of the Midland Railroad on pages 75 and 76 was printed too early to contain a report of the recent sale, and we append for that purpose parts of an article which appeared in the Express, of Delhi, in November, 1879:
"MIDDLETOWN, N. Y., Nov. 14th.--The New York & Oswego Midland Railroad, with all Its property and franchises, was sold here to-day by Kenneth G. White under a decree of foreclosure and sale. The terms of the sale were read by Mr. White as follows: 'The road must be sold as a parcel, for not less than $100,000, subject to claims which were stated as not exceeding $2,200,000; 10 per cent. of the purchase money to be paid down -- $100,000 in cash and the remainder in receiver's certificates or first mortgage bonds.' The bidding was prompt, and the sale occupied not over fifteen minutes. C. N. Jordan bid $2,000,000; A. W. Mills. of the Rome, Watertown & Ogdensburg Railroad, bid $2,500,000; Mr. Jordan then bid $3,000,000; Ex-Mayor Opdyke, owner of the western extension of the Midland, bid $3,500,000; Mr. Jordan bid $4,000,000; Mr. Davenport, of Richmond, Va., representing the Tredegar Iron Company, made the last bid in opposition to the committee, $4,500,000. C. N. Jordan bid $4,600,000, at which price, after a few moments' delay, the property was struck down to him. Mr. Jordan handed a certified check for $100,000 on the Third National Bank of New York to Mr. White, who stated that he had previously been paid by Mr. Jordan $460,000 in certificates and bonds.
''The road consists of two hundred and fifty miles of main line between Middletown and Oswego, and ninety-five miles of branches. The right of way cost $1,500,000; bridges, $500,000; grading and masonry, $12,500,000; stations and buildings, $500,000; shops and machinery, over $300,000; and rollingstock, over $4,500,000. The total reported cost to date is $26,333,000. The towns and cities along its line were bonded for nearly $7,000,000 for the Midland, and took stock in exchange, which is now worthless, and in ten years they have paid $4,000,000 interest on their bonds. The bonded debt, not counting the accrued interest, is $16,000,000 -- first mortgage, $8,000.000; second mortgage, $4,000,000; and equipment bonds nearly $4,000,000. The floating debt is $6,500,000. The sale wipes out all the claims except the first mortgage bonds and the receivers' certificates. Junior securities have the privilege yet of coming in, by paying a cash assessment of twenty per cent. on their claims. The holders of first mortgage bonds and certificates who joined in the combination have paid a cash assessment-the former of one per cent., and the latter of eight per cent. -- taking a new first mortgage on the road for cash payment. With accrued interest the first mortgage bonds now amount to $11,760,000, and the certificates to about $1,700,000. In the reorganization of the new company the certificate-holders and bondholders will join together, the former to have a majority of the directors in the board. Of the certificates issued by receivers under the authority of Judge Blatchford, $556,000 were taken at par by employes, who have sold the most of them at an average of not more than twenty-five cents on the dollar. For the last few weeks the reorganization committee have been buying all they could get, paying from 100 to 116 for them. Judge Blatchford at first decreed that the road could not be sold for less than the amount of the certificates; but a few months ago he modified his order, lowering the upset price to $100,000. Employes who had held scrip up to that time sold at a great sacrifice after the order.
"Since the road has been in the hands of the receivers it has earned an average surplus of $50,000 a year, which has been expended in betterments of the road. The earnings of the road in 1878 were $560,000, and the expenses, exclusive of betterments $500,000." The latest information on this subject which we are able to give is contained in the following paragraphs from New York papers:
"Kenneth G. White, as master in chancery, has rendered a decision favorable to the plaintiffs in the suit of J.G. Stephens, receiver, and others, against the New York and Oswego Midland Railroad Company and others, which has been litigated for many months. Conad N. Jordan, cashier of Third National Bank, represents the bondholders of the old corporation and the holders of the receiver's certificates. To him the master in chancery has delivered all the property rights and franchises of the road. * * * The consideration expressed in the deed is $4,600,000-$4,500,000 of which is in bonds 'receivers' certificates and past-due coupons, and $100,000 in cash". --Tribune, January 9th, 1880.
"The reorganization of the New York and Oswego Midland Railroad was completed yesterday afternoon. The new corporation is to be known as the New York, Ontario and Western Railway Company. The names of the directors are as follows: C. N. Jordan, H. Amy. F. P. James, E. Parsons, W. C. Whitney, O. S. Williams, Theodore Houston, W. S. Bartlett, Coe F. Young, N. A. Cowdrey, W. H. Fenner, jr., Edward Livingston and L. H. Meyer. C. N. Jordan was elected president, and Theodore Houston secretary ".-- Tribune, January 3d, 1880.
"The control of the New York and Oswego Midland Railway was transferred at 12 o'clock last night by Receivers Abrahm S. Hewitt and John G. Stevens to the New York, Ontario and Western Railroad Company, the name under which the corporation has been organized. C. N. Jordan. president of the new company, issued yesterday his first official order, making the secretary of the new company, Theodore Houston, general manager of the road".-- Tribune, February 1st, 1880.
"A conference of persons interested in the reorganization of the Oswego Midland Railroad, now known as the New York, Ontario and Western, has just been held, and several of the old directors resigned, to make room for the new board. The following ticket, which was prepared in the interest of the old Atlantic and Great Western Railroad, was unanimously elected: Jose F. Navarro, Charles J. Canda, Samuel S. Strong, William R. Grace, J. Halgarten, Charles S. Hinchman, Charles E. Whitney, E. L. Frank, P. Farley, of Opdyke & Co., General Burnham, William M. Fliess, C. N. Jordan and Theodore Houston".-- World, February 8th, 1880.
The sale of the New Jersey Midland Railroad occurred on Saturday, February 21st, 1880. On this event the New York Herald of February 25th commented as follows:
"The reorganized New York and Oswego Midland Railroad Company-now known as the New York. Ontario and Western-has by the sale of the New Jersey Midland and its purchase by the holders of the first mortgage bonds for $2,500,000, been put in a position to carry out its scheme for a great through line to the West, which was part of their plan of reorganization. The details of the plan of reorganization of the New Jersey Midland are not publicly known, but the name of the road will be changed and directors friendly to the plans of the Ontario and Western will be elected."
The New York Times of the same date contained the following account of action under the State law, by which the holders of the original stock of a railroad that is sold at foreclosure have the right to redeem the road within six months after the sale by paying the purchase money:
"The Middletown Daily Press reports that a meeting of railroad commissioners and individuals, representing and owning the capital stock of the New York and Oswego Midland Railroad to the amount of $4,000,000, was held at Norwich the 18th inst. * * * The object of the meeting was to secure united action on tbe part of the towns to protect their mutual interests. M. P. Neal, mayor of the city of Oswego, was chairman; Arvin Rice, of Fulton, and G. O. Mead, Walton, secretaries. From Sullivan county the commissioners present were: C. G. Bennett. of Mamakating; J. H. Devine, of Fallsburg; Erastus Sprague, of Rockland. Two plans were submitted to the meeting by Mr. James R. Boyd, of this city. One is for the towns to pool their stock, and sell it in a body at a satisfactory figure. If a fair price cannot be secured, the second plan is to negotiate with capitalists for a redemption of the road. The meeting received telegrams from several New York brokers, tendering the money to redeem the road. Very little more than $4,600,000 would be necessary, and this could be secured by a first mortgage on the road. The old stock would then be a second lien on the road, all other claims being wiped out. After a full discussion the plans were adopted unanimously. A committee was appointed to take the matter in charge and procure the signatures of the commissioners of all other towns not represented to the agreement. The committee are A. H. Falling, of Oswego; George O. Mead, of Walton; Warren Newton. of Norwich : James R. Boyd, of New York. and John H. Devlne, of Fallsburg. * * * Under the terms of the reorganization the stockholders in the old company were given only three months in which to participate in the benefits of the sale. The time of grace ended on Saturday last. President Jordan says that the amount received in assessments from stockholders and holders of bonds of the junior mortgage aggregated $6,000,000."
The following, from the Times of Saturday, April 3d, 1880, is the latest which the date of publication permits us to obtain.
"A meeting of the commissioners appointed by the towns and villages lying along the Line of the old Oswego Midland Railroad, which are owners of stock In that road, was held in the Norwich National Bank, N. Y., on Thursday. There was a very full attendance, $6,000,000 out of the $6,700,000 of the old stock being represented. It was unanimously agreed to transfer this stock to the two New York parties with whom the committee recently negotiated, on the terms then published, and the necessary papers were immediately signed and the stock turned over. Within the next few days the new owners intend to make a formal tender to the officers of the Ontario and Western Company of the sum paid by them for the road in cash at the foreclosure sale, and to demand possession, under the law of 1852, heretofore quoted. If, as is expected, the demand is refused on the ground that the law was abrogated by the law of 1876, suit will immediately be begun to test that point."
The history of this society runs back to the early part of the present century. In the year 1814 the Rev. Eben R. Maxwell, of Delhi, Rev. Robert Forrest, of South Kortright, and others, recognizing the need of more effective work for the Bible cause, called a meeting at Delhi for the purpose of effecting a county organization, auxiliary to the American Bible Society. At this meeting the Delaware County Bible Society was formed, with Rev. Mr. Maxwell president, and Rev. Mr. Forrest secretary and treasurer. Since its formation to its present date the society has existed, in active operation, holding its annual meetings, canvassing the county at stated periods to supply destitute families with the Bible, and raising sums of money, varying from $100 to $1,200 per annum.
For over thirty years the anniversary meetings were held in the old court-house, at Delhi, at which a sermon was usually preached, resolutions presented and discussed, and at the close a collection taken for the benefit of the society.
Rev. Mr. Maxwell continued the president of the society and an active friend of it until his death, which was the occasion of an appropriate resolution passed at the next annual meeting, held July 8th, 1840. At this anniversary the following officers were chosen: Rev. Robert Forrest, president; Hon. Amos Douglas, first vice-president; H. D. Gould, Esq., second vice-president; A. C. Erkson, Esq., secretary; Hon. C. Hathaway, treasurer.
With the exception of two years -- 1843 and 1844 -- when Rev. James McEwen, of Delhi, occupied the presidency, Rev. Mr. Forrest was president from his first election to the close of his life, which occurred during his term of office, in 1845. An appropriate minute in reference to his valuable services in behalf of the society was placed in the book of records after his death.
In 1846 the following officers were elected: President, Rev. George Waters, of the Episcopal church, Delhi; first vice-president, Thomas Marvin; second vice-president, Giles M. Shaw; secretary, Alfred Redfield; treasurer, Charles Hathaway. Executive committee--Rev. J. Leonard, Rev. Peter B. Heroy and Rev. Mr. Taylor. The succeeding year Hon. Herman D. Gould was called to preside. In the year 1849 the Rev. J. D. Gibson, D. D., of Stamford, was chosen president of the society, and to this office he has been annually re-elected for thirty years and is the present incumbent. Much of the success of the society's work during the later years of its history is due to his co-operation and support.
Among the early supporters and efficient officers of the society was the Hon. Charles Hathaway, when in the active duties of his life. He was elected the society's treasurer in the year 1834 and attended faithfully to the duties of this office; receiving and disbursing its funds and giving his counsel in the direction of its financial matters for a period of thirty-five years. when failing health and infirmities of age compelled him to refuse a re-election. On the retirement of Judge Hathaway Seth H. White, who had been secretary many years, was chosen his successor, and he is now the treasurer of the society.
At different periods the society has made, through appointed agents, a canvass of the county for the sale and distribution of Bibles. In 1843 the agent for this work was Mr. Alfred Redfield, of Delhi, who visited 2,516 families, and found in all 414 destitute of the Scriptures. He sold 200 Bibles and 362 Testaments, and gave away 325 Bibles and 47 Testaments. In 1854 another canvass of the county was made, by Mr. Samuel Smith, of Delhi, as agent. He visited 3,103 families, found 126 destitute of the Scriptures, sold 384 Bibles and 686 Testaments, and gave away 104 Bibles and 29 Testaments. In 1864 and 1865 Mr. George Ainslie was agent in the work of general distribution, and Mr. John M. Jordan, of Delhi, is the present one. He has visited 4,000 families, and supplied by donation 259 destitute of the Bible.
The society has kept for many years a depository at the village of Delhi. Dr. Calvin Howard was the first depositary, with the books kept at his drug store. He was succeeded by Hon. Charles Hathaway. After him the books were kept successively by James R. Penfield, Dr. John Calhoun and John Russell. The present depositary is James R. Honeywell.
Town societies have at different times been established, auxiliary to the county society, the most active of which is now the Walton branch society.
The present officers of the Delaware County Bible Society are: President, Rev. John D. Gihson, of Stamford; vicepresidents--Revs. L. M. Purrington, of Delhi, J. B. Lee, D. D., of Bovina, and H. W. Wetmore, of Cannonsville; treasurer, Seth H. White, of Delhi; secretary, Rev. J. H. Robinson. Executive committee--Rev. Messrs. Ladd and Howie, of Walton, Rev. T. A. M. Brown, of Delhi, George Marvine, of Delhi.
The following named citizens of this county have drawn pensions as veterans of the war of 1812:
Andes. -- Edward and B. Sands.
Colchester.--Peter V. D. G. Bogert, G. and H. Elwood, Noah and T. W. Fuller, Thomes Gregory, Noah Husted, Lyman Hurlburt, Danlel Hunter, Lewis, Nathan and Morris Purdy, Jacob Reed, Joaeph M. Seymour, Garret S. Scisco, Peter V. G. White, Addi Wilson, Horace Wilson.
Davenport.--John Cooke, James Houghtaling, Andrew More, Daniel North, Stephen Olmstead, Peter Swart, John White.
Delhi.--Monis L. Farrington, Hiram Finch, John Fisher, Elias Johnson, John Lowden, Malcom McGregor, Elijah Peake, Samuel Robinson, William Slote, Benjamin P. Smith, John Stanton, Tobias Stoutenburgh, Grove Webster.
Franklin--Frederick Bartlett, Jesse Hudd, Joseph H. Merrick, Isaac Payne, William Shepherd, Orange Stilson, Jabish Tuttle, Ozias Waters, John Weed.
Hamden.--Hiram B. Goodrich.
Hancock.--Aaron Baxter, Charles Leonard, John Lewis, William Twaddell, Morris Williams, Nathan W. Williams.
Harpersfield.--Abel Dayton, Michael Dayton, E. D. M. Gaylord, John Goodenough, Ezra Smith, Nehemiah Smith.
Kortright.--Alexander Cummings, David McIllwain, John McIllwain.
Masonville.--John H. Balcom, Jesse Burch, John Church, Joseph A. Clarke, James A. Hill, Isaac Lerany, John Mix, Nathan Shaw, jr., Jefferson Sturgee, Zephaniah Teed.
Meredith.--Abel Gallup, George Howland, William Tuttle.
Roxbury.--lsaac Goon, William Craft, William Duker, James B. Hull, Jesse Jenikns, John Keator, Edmend Kelley, Elli James and Daniel G. Robinson, Henry Stout, Walter Stratton.
Stamford.--Tyler Mead, Hezekiah Sarles, Samuel Squires, Jacob Schult.
Tomkkins.--Jobn and Jesse Bennett, Jonathan Cutting, Joshua Drake, Amos Finch, Henry Hess, George W. Pallett, Henry Reynolds, Nicholas Sliter.
Walton. -- Stephen Berray, Gershom H. Bradley, Tunis Brazee, James Burhus, Simon Cable, Benjamin B., Samuel, Nathanlel C. and Mead Eells, Levi Hanford, John Hess, Amasa Hoyt, Peter Launt, Samuel Morehouse, Alfred Nichols, Gabriel North, William Seymour.
Others.--James Bailey, Gardner Cagwin, Harvey Faulkner, Thomas Hayes, Sniffin Kelley, Bradley Lyon, William D. Miller, Horace Mullineaux, Lemuel Mosher, James Robinson, William Scudder, Jehial Stewart, Jeremiah Ward, Sluman Wattles.
For the following pensioners of 1812, or their widows, one hundred and sixty acres of land apiece were obtained through the agency of Levi Seley: Levi Seley, Smith Disbrow, Smith Dart, John Fink, Robert Henderson, Joseph Burrit, Roswell Hotchkis, Palmer Owen, Joseph B. Hull, John Luther, Ezra Smith, Robert Norton, Benoni Mills, Michael Dayton, John Brown, Isaac Hubbard, Lyman Hakes, James Nichols, Davis Hubbard, Dean Fuller.
The town of Colchester was organized April 10th, 1792, and William Horton was elected its first supervisor. For the succeeding twelve years the records of the town are missing and the earliest book in the clerk's office begins with 1805. Lewis Hait was then supervisor and from that time the list is continuous. He was succeeded by Adam I. Doll in 1806. In that year the town was divided, Hancock being formed from the southern part of it. The list follows:
Adam I. Doll, 1807; Lewis Hait, 1808-11; John Moore, 1812; Anthony Lloyd, 1813; Abel Downs, 1814-21; Benjamin Pine, 1822, 1823; Henry Shaver, 1824; George W. Page, 1825-27; Hezekiah Elwood, 1828, 1829, 1833, 1834; Charles Knapp, 1830, 1835, 1836; Alexander Cole, 1831, 1832; John H. Gregory, 1837, 1838; James W. Knapp, 1839, 1840, 1845; Rensselaer W. Elwood, 1841, 1844, 1852, 1855; Barna Radeker, 1842 1843, 1853, 1854, 1862, 1868; Robert H. Hanmer, 1846, 1847; William Holiday, 1848; Alfred Hunter, 1849; Enoch Horton, 1850, 1851; Rensselaer Shaver, 1856, 1857; George W. Downs, 1858, 1859; Alexander Elwood, 1860; Elbridge G. Radeker, 1861(resigned that summer and enlisted in the Union army, and B. Radeker was appointed supervisor); William B. Champlin, 1863, 1866, 1867; Edwin G. Wagner, 1864, 1865; Ephriam L. Holmes, 8619 (text says 8619, probably s/b 1869); Edwin H. Downs, 1870, 1871; Alson W. Holbert, 1872, 1873; William H. Hitt, 1874; George P. Bassett, 1875-77; David Anderson, 1878; Charles L. Elwood, 1879.
DOWNSVILLE M. E. CHURCH
The Methodist society of Downsville was originally included in what was known as the Delaware Mission of the New York Conference. In 1850 the mission was discontinued, and out of it Colchester circuit was organized, including within its bounds Harvard, Beaverkill, Shavertown and Downsville. In 1859 the circuit was divided, leaving Downsville and Shavertown together as the Colchester circuit. In 1871 Shavertown was made a separate charge and Colchester circuit took the name of the Downsville charge, New York Conference.
In 1849, under the pastorate of Rev. William Blake, the present church edifice at Downsville was erected, on a lot deeded to the society by George Downs. Henry Dibble, Ebenezer Dan, Harvey Dan, Elisha Tidd, Isaac Tidd and Matthew McCabe were constituted the first board of trustees. Their names are on the deed of the church lot, dated 1850.
Since the erection of the church the following preachers have served as pastor: Revs. B. L. Burr, G. C. Bancroft, John Davies, W. V. O. Braynard, E. Dennison, James French, John Davy, J. Y. Wolf, F. W. Andrews, W. H. Smith, Andrew Schriver, J. L. G. Ketcham, F. Abrams, Charles Reohr, and David Heroy, the present incumbent.
The society owns an excellent parsonage, purchased of the heirs of George Downs. The entire church property is valued at $5,000. The present membership of the church is put at 135.
DELHI MASONIC SOCIETIES
The first officers of Cassia Lodge, mentioned on page 164, were: Erastus Root, master; Ambrose Bryan, S. W.; Elnathan Heath, J. W. From 1818 Homer R. Phelps was master; William Millard was master for 1823; and in December, 1823 Homer R. Phelps was again elected; in 1824, Amasa Millard was elected; in December, 1825 and 1826, L. Farrington; in December, 1827, Lorenzo Henry. Mr. Farrington is the only member of Cassia Lodge known to be living.
A charter for a mark lodge was granted by the Grand Chapter of the State of New York on the 8th of February, 1815, to be known as Delhi Mark Lodge, No. 76. The charter was issued to Ambrose Bryan, R. W. M.; William Millard, W. S. W.; and John C. Denio, jr., W. J. W.. The records of the lodge are mostly missing.
February 7th, 1827, a charter was granted by the Grand Chapter of Royal Arch Masons of the State of New York to Delhi Chapter, No. 124, which had been working under dispensation. The charter was issued to Amasa Parker, high priest; Amasa Millard, king; Lorenzo Henry, scribe. These officers continued until December 5th, 1827, when Amasa Millard was elected H. P; Amasa Parker, king; and M. L. Farrington, scribe. Amasa Millard continued high priest until December 1829. These masonic organizations existed until the year 1831.
BIOGRAPHICAL AND PERSONAL
The following additional biographical notices, some of them more adequate sketches of persons already referred to, were received too late for insertion elsewhere. Other persons to whom application was made for biographical data failed to respond.
Duncan Ballantine was born in Bovina, Delaware county, N. Y., February 28th, 1821. He was educated at the common schools in Bovina. He commenced mercantile business in Bovina January 8th, 1840, and removed to Andes village May 17th, 1847. His father, David Ballantyne (as the name was anciently written), was born in Roxburyshire, Scotland, in 1769. He came to America in 1800, and settled in Bovina in 1804, as a farmer and merchant. He died in 1839. He was an active member of the Reformed Presbyterian church, and together with a few friends--the Russels, Thompsons and Millers--built the stone church in the upper part of Bovina about the year 1822. David Ballentyne married Miss Anna Grant, born in Albany, N. Y., in 1783. a daughter of Allan Grant, of Stamford, who came from Invernessshire, Scotland, in 1782. Duncan Ballentine married Miss Nancy E. Hunting, daughter of Ephraim B. Hunting, of Andes, September 5th, 1849. He continued his business as a merchant until his oldest son, David, came of age, in 1872, and succeeded him. In 1853 Mr. Ballantine opened a private banking house, and in 1864 organized the First National bank of Andes, of which he has ever since been president. He is also president of the Andes and Delhi Telegraph Company and of the Andes Water Company. He gave his first vote in 1848 for Zachary Taylor for President, and has since been a Whig and Republican. He has contributed liberally to the building and support of churches, and is interested in all laudable enterprises of the county. He is eminently a self-made man. A view of his residence appears on another page.
Mary A. Bramley was born in Bovina, December 8th, 1806. She was the first daughter of William McCune. She attended a district school until the age of sixteen; then became a student at the Delhi Academy. She taught school one term. She was married February 22nd, 1838, to Sylvanus W. Bramley. Mr. Bramley was born in Andes, September 16th, 1811. He resided with his father until 1838. He purchased of his father a farm in Bovina, where he resided until 1857, when he removed to Andes village. His death occurred July 27th, 1865. He joined the Methodist church at the age of eighteen years, and was always afterward identified with it. In politics he was a Republican. He was highly esteemed by his friends and family, a worthy and useful member of society. Jennie E., their only child, was born in Bovina, April 9th, 1843. Mrs. Bramley's grandfather, Alaxander Brushland, a native of Long Island, settled in Bovina when a wilderness, and after him the village of Brushland is named. A view of Mrs. Bramley's residence appears in this work.
A. Bryant was born in Andes October 10th, 1826. His parents were both natives of England. His father, Thomas, and mother, Elizabeth Lamb Bryant, emigrated to America and settled in New York city. Later they removed to Andes. Their family consisted of five sons and four daughters. The subject of this sketch was the youngest son. In April, 1859, Mr. Bryant was united in marriage to Miss B. Reynolds, who was born in Bovina, April 20th, 1833. Her parents were residents of Bovina. Their family consisted of four sons and six daughters. Mr. and Mrs. Bryant reside in one of the most pleasant homes in Andes. Their family consists of four children - Elizabeth, Charles, James and Daniel R. They are being liberally educated _____________useful members of society. Mrs. Bryant for eight years was a teacher. Mr. Bryant is a Democrat in politics. As a family they are highly esteemed, hospitable alike to friends and strangers, and in every respect model citizens. A view of their residence appears on another page.
Hon. Richard Morse was born in a part of Middletown now included in Andes, January 20th, 1809. His parents were natives of Dutchess county, and removed to Delaware county in 1803. They leased a farm of one hundred and sixty acres in Andes, erected their log cabin, and began the work of the pioneer. Here the subject of this sketch was born. He was trained to endure hardships, and at an early age commenced to carve out his own fortune. He attended district school about six terms. By application and observation he later acquired a liberal education, that well fitted him to fill the honorable positions to which his countrymen called him. After the death of his father he took charge of the farm and his father's family. In 1846 he engaged in mercantile business in Andes village, and pursued it twenty-five years, with few interruptions. For a time he was also engaged in farming. In politics, Mr. Morse was early a Whig, but of later years a strong Democrat. He has been Justice four years, supervisor five years, and in 1849 was elected member of the Assembly. For many years he practiced law in justices' courts, but was never admitted to the bar, never having made application for admission. In April, 1876, he retired from active business. He now resides in Andes, at an advanced age, esteemed by all who know him for his many generous qualities.
Elisha B. Maynard was born in Stamford, January 29th, 1826. His ancestors were among the early settlers of this State. His father, Isaac Maynard, Esq., came to Bovina when our subject was a mere lad. The boy attended the district school, and until 1852 worked on his father's farm. He married Miss Jane McDonald, third daughter of Mr. Henry McDonald, of Dundee, Scotland; the McDonalds being among the intelligent and prosperous Scotch people forming so large an element in the population of Bovina. Children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Maynard as follows: Isaac M., July 2nd, 1854; Maggie F., August 15th, 1856; Henry A., November 9th, 1858; Archibald, October 10th, 1860; Jane F., December 5th, 1862.
Alexander Storie, son of William and Mary Storie, was born March 10th, 1814, at the Storie homestead, where he has always lived. He has always followed farming, except teaching school in winter terms in districts in the town from 1836 to 1844. His father, William Storie, emigrated from Scotland to Delaware county, N. Y., about the beginning of the present century, and married in 1803 Mary, daughter of Samuel and Mary O. McCune, who emigrated from the north of Ireland in 1797 to Washington county, N. Y., and finally settled in Delaware county on a farm which is now in the town of Bovina. Alexander was the youngest of six children (four girls and two boys) of William and Mary Storie. He received his school education at the common school in the district in which he has always lived. He was married January 23d, 1851, to Esther Ann, daughter of the Hon. James Cowan, then of Cortlandville, Cortland county. Mr. Cowan emigrated with his father, Hector Cowan, from Scotland in 1801 to this county, and settled on a farm near Hobart. There he resided with his father most of the time until he married Miriam Maynard in 1821, when he commenced keeping a country store at Brushland. He lived at Brushland until 1846, when he moved to Pennsylvania, and in 1849 settled on a farm in Cortland county, N. Y. He was supervisor of Bovina sixteen years, and was associate judge of the county three years. His wife, Miriam, was the daughter of Elisha B. Maynard, who emigrated from Westchester county, N. Y., to Bovina in 1793, being the first settler in that section. Alexander Storie was supervisor six years, including three years of the Rebellion, when the responsibility was much greater than in ordinary times, as it included the procuring of recruits. All the obligations of the town incurred for bounties were settled and paid during his term of office. Mr. Storie was an Anti-mason, then a Whig and has been a Republican since the formation of the party. Mr. and Mrs. Storie are members and supporters of the U. P. church of Brushland. They reside on a farm of two hundred and fifty acres, one of the best in the town; are self-made people, and rank among the most substantial and esteemed citizens of Delaware county. A view of their home appears elsewhere in this work.
David Blakeley, Jr., was born in Meridith, Delaware county, N. Y., June 8th, 1851. His forefathers on his father's side early in this century settled in Delaware county. His mother was born in the north of Ireland. His father's name was George, and his mother's name Martha Mitchell. David was graduated from Union College in 1863, lived from 1865 to 1875 in the city of St. Louis, and is now a lawyer in Davenport.
John Davenport was born in the town of Harpersfield, October 20th, 1822. His father's name was John. He was an only son. His father came from Connecticut to this county very early in this century, and gave the name to the town of Davenport. September 9th, 1841, John Davenport married Catharine Flansburgh. Of their union ten children were born; five sons and two daughters are now living. Mr. Davenport received an academic education. He was left an orphan at an early age, and during a vigorous manhood has pursued the occupation of farming. He still follows that business on one of the most beautiful locations in the Charlotte valley.
William N. Elwell was born in Connecticut in 1804. His father, Samuel Elwell, and his mother, Jemima Smith, was born in Connecticut, of Scotch-Irish parentage. His grandfathers took part in the celebrated "Boston Tea Party." William Elwell's father served many years in the United States navy, and part of the time in the war of 1812. Samuel Elwell moved to Oneida county, N. Y., in 1810, and to Otsego in 1822, and died there. William Elwell had seven brothers and three sisters, of whom two sisters and five brothers are still living. One brother is a merchant in Rochester, and the rest of the family live in Otsego county, N. Y., all the men being millers. William studied in the common schools of Otsego county. After leaving the ocean his father became a miller, and William began that occupation at the age of fourteen years. He married in 1828 Percy Adams, by whom he had eleven children, ten of whom are still living and all married, the five boys following the occupation of milling. In 1852 he married Rebecca K?ine, and in 1877 Polly Kellogg; by these two wives he had no children. In 1853 he moved from Otsego to Chenango county, and in 1865 came to Davenport, where he now resides, having been a miller sixty-two years.
William McDonald was born January 15th, 1835, in Stamford. His father's name was Duncan McDonald, and his mother's maiden name was Edil Wickham. The children consisted of three sisters and seven brothers. There are four sons and two daughters sill living. William McDonald has a brother residing in California, and the rest of the family live in Delaware county. He received his scholastic education in the Fergusonville and Franklin academies, and the Bryant and Stratton Commercial College in Albany. He went to California in 1855, arriving at San Francisco with only seventy-five cents, and returned in 1865, having, during his experience in the Golden State, held the positions of supervisor and justice of the peace, and been a merchant four years. In 1867 he married Jemima Wickham. He was a merchant in Davenport ten years, and has been elected supervisor three times, now holding that position, as well as that of postmaster. He resides at Davenport as a man of leisure.
Calvin Howard Bell was born in the town of Harpersfield, Delaware county, New York, on the 7th of May, 1825, being the sixth son in a family of seven sons and four daughters, children of Joseph W. Bell and Candace Gaylord, who were married at Harpersfield in 1809. His father was born at Litchfield, Conn., and came to Delaware county at an early age and when it was comparatively a wilderness filled with wolves, deer and Indians. After his marriage he purchased a farm of one hundred and twenty acres, then covered with a heavy forest. This land, with the aid of his excellent wife, he cleared up after many years of the incessant toil and hardship incident to the early settlers of the county. Upon this farm they reared their large family and gave them a good school education, and by precept and example taught them principles of honesty, frugality and love to God. The parents were of English and Scotch extraction, by way of the Nutmeg State. In those early days rigid economy was enforced, to enable the family to maintain that spirit of independence and self-help which so strongly characterized the first settlers. It was from the parents that the son acquired habits of thrift and a spirit of self-reliance and independence which have been his steady supports. He was taught early to be careful in assuming obligations, but faithful in their performance when assumed. It was this principle, deeply embedded in his character, which gave him credit with those who knew him, and made his word equal in point of performance to his written agreement. As the sons grew up to working estate they were compelled to strike out for themselves, and became the willing artificers of their own fortunes; and Calvin, from the age of fifteen, almost entirely alone, supported himself, and acquired an academic education which last he finished under the Rev. Daniel Shepard, principal of Delaware Academy, to whom he was strongly attached, on account of the sympathy and gentlemanly aid which were bestowed in kind words and thoughtful acts. In the fall of 1843 he commenced the study of the law in the office of Hon. S. C. Johnson, of Delhi, who was that year elected State senator for the term of four years; during which period he lived in the family of his preceptor, and was admitted to practice in August 1847. Toward Mr. Johnson and his most excellent and amiable wife the young lawyer felt an almost filial affection. Soon after being admitted to practice he formed a partnership with Mr. Johnson which lasted only until August 7th, 1848, when it was dissolved by the young lawyer going west in search of fame and fortune. After visiting Chicago, Beloit, Janesville and other cities and villages of the west, he stopped four weeks at Hannibal, Mo., and in November, 1848, commenced teaching school at Warren, Marion county, Mo.; which he did with great satisfaction to all parties until April 1849, at $20 per month and board. It was during this time that the California gold fever broke out and raged with such active energy that hundreds of thousands were swept off from the United States through the golden gate. The young lawyer, in company with thirty others fitted out an expedition during the winter for the gold regions. The caravan consisted of ten wagons (with three men and five yoke of oxen and a milch cow to each wagon), which were loaded with supplies of provisions, arms and mining utensils considered most necessary for the journey. Thus equipped and armed, the party started from Warren, Mo., on the 11th of April, 1848, for California, overland, on the Oregon trail. For four months they painfully toiled on foot through rain and mud, over prairie and mountain, rafting deep rivers and fording those more shallow without cessation, and without a person in the company who had ever traveled the plains before; they being in the main only assisted by Fremont's and Brown's guide-books, which were great helps, although not written for the particular route which the Californians of 1849 traveled. This expedition of twenty-four hundred miles on foot through an unknown savage country. by men unaccustomed to doing cooking and housework (or rather wagon work, for their wagons were their houses), is memorable for its hardships and many hair breadth escapes from savages, wild beasts and floods encountered. It was estimated that no less than five thousand men started overland that spring, urged on by fear, anxiety and expectation to be the first at the journey's end: fearful always lest grass, provisions or health should fail in that unknown land; anxious lest by some accident they should be delayed until the early snows of the Sierra Nevadas should block up their way before that eternally snow capped range of mountains should be scaled; expecting they knew not what, save as the eye of fancy presented to each the precious metals, in dust or scales or nuggets. The company organized by the young lawyer were among the first to reach the Sacramento valley, where they arrived on the 10th of August. Such had been the strain on these strong and energetic men, that they, like such of their cattle as had survived, were almost skeletons of their former selves; and such had been the change in their appearance that their most intimate friends would not have known them. After lying by for a week the young lawyer, in company with six or eight others, went into the gold diggings on the middle and south Forks of the American river, then rich in gold deposits; where he remained about eighteen months with uniform good success, and, as he is wont to any, most grateful to God and mother earth for that success on account of which no man can say he has been defrauded. After having secluded himself from civilized life for nearly two years he returned to New York, by Panama, and arrived in Delhi in December, 1850, where he again commenced the practice of his profession. On the 2nd of October, 1851, he was married to Fanny S. Roberts, youngest daughter of Edmund Roberts, then deceased, at Portsmouth, N. H., in whom he won a jewel precious above rubies. To them have been born three sons - Edmund Roberts, Howard and Walter Langdon, all young men of good principles and promise. As big business and property increased Mr. Bell connected the banking business with his law practice, under the name of The Bank of Delhi, in which be was assisted by his son Edmund as cashier. In business he is energetic, and forecasts the future with a clearness of judgment rarely excelled. He always takes great interest in improvements, especially of his own property and the village in which he lives; and being one of the largest property holders in that handsome village, he is enabled to do much to make it attractive as a place of residence. His true friendship, and kindly disposition to aid those who help themselves, lead him to assist many with whom be has business relations. In politics be is a Democrat, and whenever be becomes interested in a canvass is an effective stump speaker. He is also a forcible writer, and often writes on the subjects of the day as they arise. He has but little confidence In those who make politics a business, and cares but little for political preferment, except for the purpose of effecting the general good. He was born at a time and place when for a candidate to solicit votes for himself was considered an unworthy act, and would ensure defeat. He respects and sympathizes with the laboring classes and those in distress. In the main be regards the people as willing puppets in the hands of unprincipled politicians, as likely to go wrong as right; with political conceptions of duty so overcast by party prejudices that they fail to see any difference between political privileges and party prejudices, and thus many times sacrifice principles on the altar of party. As a lawyer he is clear, able and untiring, as many important cases in the highest courts of the State testify. As a husband and father be is kind and considerate, and his genial inclination to mirth and wit makes him an agreeable acquisition to society. In controversy he is many times severe and sarcastic, but never "nurses his wrath to keep it warm." At this writing (1880) he is still living in Delhi, in the prime of life; and may be long live to do as much good and as little evil as his great success would seem to require, and so remain, as he now is, a worthy model of a self-made man.
DR. JOHN CALHOUN was born on the 28th day of November, 1819, on the farm of Glennen, parish of Bow, Dumbartonshire, Scotland. His parents were Peter and Helen Calhoun. The family consisted of six sons and four daughters. John was the eldest member of the family. His early years were spent at school in Helensburgh and laboring on his father's farm. In 1834 his parents and family emigrated to America, landing in New York on the 20th day of July, and proceeded directly to Delaware county; and on the 8th day of October, 1835, settled on a farm in the town of Bovina, where the subject of this sketch attended the district school during the winter season, and worked on the farm summers until 1840, when he attended the Delaware Academy at Delhi. On the 8th day of September, 1841 he entered the office of the late Marcus T. Peck, M. D., in the village of Andes, as a student of medicine and surgery; and continued there three years, with the exception of the time spent in attending two courses of lectures at the Albany Medical College. He graduated at the semi-annual commencement of the Albany Medical College in September, 1844. After graduating he entered into copartnership with big former preceptor, and practiced medicine and surgery in Andes until March, 1846. On the 2nd of January, 1845, he was united in marriage with Jane Davis, daughter of John S. and Elizabeth Davis, of Andes. In March, 1846, he removed to Brushland, and continued in the practice of his profession nineteen years, excepting the session of the Assembly of l848, of which he was a member. During this session the attorney general was authorized to commence actions against any holders of manorial estates whose titles might be detective. This action contributed very much to quiet the anti-rent excitement. In 1864 Dr. Calhoun was elected sheriff of the county, and on the 1st day of January, 1865, removed to Delhi and entered upon the duties of his office. In August, 1868, he engaged, in company with his son, in the drug business, which continued until March 1st, 1877, under the firm name of John Calhoun & Son. In March, 1866, he purchased from the assignee of Mr. S. H. White the marble works owned by said White, where, soon afterward, he introduced steam power. ****** carries on the largest business in that line in the County. After the death of his son, on the 25th of December, 1878, he resumed his interest in the drug business, and on the 1st of October, 1879, associated with him Charles H. Moak, under the firm name of Calhoun & Moak. Dr. Calhoun was a member of the board of supervisors in 1849; is a member of the Episcopal Church at Delhi and a Republican In politics. He is largely esteemed for his social and benevolent qualities and as a physician and surgeon ranks among the first.
EDWARD A. FRISBEE was born January 15th, 1829, on the farm where he now resides. His father, Daniel Frisbee, was born in New Canaan, Columbia county, January 24th, 1781, and settled where the subject of this memoir now resides, in 1803. Daniel Frisbee was the son of Judge Gideon Frisbee, one of the early judges and pioneers of Delaware County. Edward A. Frisbee was married to Miss Rosella T. D. Graham, April 11th, 1855. She was born in Meredith, September 9th. 18*6. Their family consists of one son, Willard H., born April 9th, 1858 and one daughter, Esther H., born March 19th, 1859. Both children have been liberally educated, Willard being a graduate of Colgate Academy, Hamilton. N. Y. They reside at home with their parents, and at intervals pursue the profession of teaching in their native county. Mr. Frisbee is a Republican, although not an active politician. Mr. and Mrs. Friabee reside in one of the most pleasant homes in Delaware county, esteemed by all who know them, worthy and useful members of society, and interested in all improvements of their native county. A view of their residence appears elsewhere in this work.
WILLIAM GLEASON was born in Roxbury, Delaware county, January 4th, 1819. He was educated in the common schools and the Prattsville and Delaware Academies, also reading Latin classics and the higher mathematics under the Rev. Mr. Bogardus, a then noted linguist and educator at Gilboa, Schoharie county, while himself teaching a private school at that place; but he substantially educated himself, alternately teaching and attending school, though at intervals working upon his father's farm, near Moresville. He continuously pursued his studies and the reading of ancient and modern history, of which he was passionately fond. He studied law under Judge Levinus Monson, of Hobart, who was a ripe scholar and able lawyer and jurist. While acquiring big profession he supported himself by practicing in justices' courts, in which he actively embarked within a few weeks after becoming a student at law; and also by land surveying. He served three years as town clerk of Stamford, and two years as superintendent of schools, in which be took an ardent interest. He was fond of debates and political discussions. In 1843 he was admitted to practice in the county courts, and took an interest in business with his preceptor, and at the general term of the Supreme Court at Albany in January, 1845, be was admitted to the bar of the State, and was at the same period examined and sworn in before the last chancellor, Reuben H. Walworth, as solicitor in chancery. He continued to practice at Hobart until the summer of 1850, when, a younger brother (who, with two partners, had engaged in tanning and mercantile business in the town of Middletown) suddenly dying, he assumed his interest, and actively carried on the business with them until about the first of January, 1851. Then having, at the preceding election, while a resident of Middletown, been elected a member of the Assembly for Delaware county, be disposed of his property in the tannery and served through the regular session of the Legislature in 1851, and also the special session in the summer of that year. Large portions of the State were at that period seeking to enfranchise themselves from the onerous, slavish and anti-republican exactions of the feudal system, perpetuated under manorial grants in colonial times-a system of which Chancellor Kent declares: "It has been the great effort of modern times to check and subdue its claims, and recover the free enjoyment and independence of allodial estates," and of which Governor Seward had said, " These tenures are opposed to the sound policy and genius of our institutions." In these views Mr. Gleason heartily concurred. His constituents were profoundly interested in the subject, and his county, impoverished by the drainage incident to absentee landlordism; and while firmly opposing all illegal measures to emancipate the tenants, he was zealous in his efforts to free them and the State from the thralldom that a barbarous age had transmitted to and riveted upon them. Upon his motion a committee composed of five lawyers was appointed by the Assembly, of which be was chairman, whose sessions were attended on behalf of the State by the attorney-general and his deputy, and on the part of the landlords by distinguished lawyers, among whom were John C. Spencer, John K. Porter, C. M. Jenkins and Mr. Lansing. The elaborate majority report was drawn up by Mr. Gleason, and appears in The journals of the session. It has been a source of high satisfaction to Mr. Gleason to witness the almost total abolition of durable leases; and the remaining vestiges of the feudal system in the Empire State are now mere fossil footprints of an extinct monster, which can never again be of much interest except to antiquarians. He also exerted himself in remodeling and perfecting the free school law, which the courts bad declared unconstitutionally enacted and thereby caused a flood of litigation. Having been elected county judge and surrogate in December, 1851, he removed to Delhi, where be has since resided. He served out the term of four years, meanwhile practicing his profession in the higher courts. In 1855 the Know-Nothing mania swept over the State, to which Judge Gleason was an unswerving opponent; but having been a Free Soil Whig, and innately opposed to every species of human slavery, he early sympathized with the movement to organize the Republican party, both by a large correspondence and by writing in the local newspapers the first articles for inaugurating the party in Delaware county. In 1859 be was again elected county judge and surrogate, and served out the term; acting also in 1862 as commissioner to superintend the draft then ordered, but which was ultimately averted by patriotic enlistments. He was one of the prime movers for raising the Delaware county regiment, the gallant 144th, and ardently promoted all measures to sustain the army and crush the Rebellion. He is now supervisor of the town of Deli, being elected by a Republican majority of 276. He was married in 1853 to Caroline B., daughter of the late John Blanchard, of Delhi. His father, the late William Gleason, sen., was born in Farrington, Conn., in which State the family have resided over two hundred years, and settled in Roxbury about the commencement of this century. His mother, Sila D. Seeley, was of Sheffield, Mass. Both of his grandfathers were patriot soldiers in the Revolution; on the paternal side James Gleason serving about three years, and on the maternal Seth Seeley, then of Litchfield county, Conn., over seven years. The latter participated in the capture of the British army at Yorktown. From his entry into the legal profession Judge Gleason has maintained an extensive legal practice in all the courts of the State, and in the United States District and Circuit Courts, as he now continues to do, in company with his oldest son, John Blanchard Gleason.
HON. SAMUEL GORDON was born at Wattles Ferry, on the Susquehanna, April 28th. 1862. Most of his early education was obtained at the common school, and it was said of him that whatever be learned was grasped as with "hooks of steel." He was a busy, inquisitive, persistent boy. The boy in this case seemed to be the father of the man. A stern determination to attain an object, when once decided on, was then, as in his after life, a prominent feature of his character. He seemed to seek out for his work those things which called for positive courage and endurance. His love of discussion and argument was ever a prominent trait with him. He was, in fact, "the lawyer of the school," as be was afterward "the lawyer of the bar." His quiet farmer life did not suit him. His active mind and restless body sought for a different field for work, and found It In the profession of the law. From the love of study, he usually had a book within easy reach. While a youth he made himself well acquainted with the Latin and the Greek. In 1827, he began the study of law in the office of General Root, in Delhi. In 1829 he was admitted an attorney of the Supreme Court of the State, and became a Partner of General Root in his business. He was made postmaster in 1831. In 1832 he was admitted as a counsellor of the Supreme Court, etc. From 1836 to 1839 he was district attorney of the county. He was elected to the Assembly of The State In 1833. He was elected member of Congress in 1840, his district embracing Delaware and Broome counties. His speeches in Congress gave him much distinction, especially the one on the Oregon question. He was re-elected to Congress in 1844. This last triumphant election was considered nothing more than a just tribute to his ability and worth. During his four years in Congress he was a stern, uncompromising advocate in the interest of working men. After his two terms in Congress had expired he was appointed provost marshal of the 19th Congressional district of New York, which position he held till 1865. Not long after the war of the Rebellion closed be was stricken down by paralysis, from which be was never fully restored. He died on the 28th of October, 1873. Mr. Gordon was a remarkable man, possessed of an indomitable will, undaunted courage, keen discernment, great knowledge of certain phases of human nature, yet courteous, especially to the younger members of his profession. His memory is revered by them. He was a kind and indulgent father, an accommodating neighbor and trusty friend.
HON. JAMES H. GRAHAM was born in the town of Bovina, on the l8th of September, 1812, of Scotch parentage. His parents were poor, but possessed in a marked degree those sterling qualities of industry and energy peculiar to their nationality, which were transmitted to him and constituted his principal heritage. In 1819 he, with his parents, removed to a portion of the town of Franklin which was then practically a wilderness, there being no cleared land on the farm taken up by big father. James H. being among the older sons, very much of the labor and hardships attending the clearing away of the forest and converting the land into a producing farm devolved upon him; and here it was that be obtained the severe discipline of labor and economy which proved so useful to him in after life. He received but a limited common school education, only attending school during the winter months, and being obliged to travel three miles to reach the district Schoolhouse. His education, aside from the rudiments thus obtained, is the result of close application and labor, and is of a practical type. At the age of twenty-one, having an eye to business, he engaged in traveling and selling goods, which he continued for three summers with fair success. Subsequently, down to the time of his marriage and for some time after, he worked as a common farm laborer for William Stilson and others, receiving about $12 per month. On the 4th of July, 1838, be married Sophronia M. Stilson, daughter of William Stilson, of Meredith. By this marriage be had two children, both of whom died in infancy. His wife is still living. About the time of his marriage be became a resident of the town of Meredith, and was soon after elected justice of the peace, to which office be was subsequently twice re-elected, serving twelve years. About the date of big marriage Mr. Graham commenced business in a moderate way as s butter dealer or speculator, and he continued it successfully until 1852, when he removed to the village of Delhi, became one of a firm (in which his brother, Samuel, was subsequently a partner, the firm name being Grahams & McMurray) and embarked in a general mercantile business, in which the butter trade was made a specialty. His native ability, strict integrity and thorough business habits caused him to grow rapidly, not only in means but in public estimation. Early in life he took an active part in political affairs, acting with the Whigs down to the time of the formation of the Republican party; and be was among the foremost in the organization of that party in this county. He was a member of the first national Republican convention, held in 1856; was for many years a member of the county central committee, and during all the political changes which have since taken place he has on no occasion failed to vote with and sustain that party, in the principles of which he firmly believes. In 1858 he was made its nominee for member of Congress in the 19th district, consisting of the counties of Delaware and Otsego, and was elected by a large majority over Colonel Robert Parker, the Democratic nominee; and honorably and creditably represented the district in the 36th Congress, which will be remembered as one of the most important and memorable in the history of the country, sitting at the time when secession and rebellion were inaugurated by the Southern States, and not only wise but prompt and resolute action was required on the part of our loyal northern representatives. After the expiration of his Congressional term Mr. Graham continued his mercantile pursuits which proved successful, and he took position among the most substantial business men of the county. In 1863 he was elected supervisor of the town of Delhi; and, although not seeking or desiring the position, yet so faithfully were the Interests of his constituency represented and protected by him, that be was annually re-elected and continued in that office for ten consecutive years, five of which he was chairman of the board. In 1870, against his personal wishes (he being then in impaired health), he was elected member of Assembly for the 2nd district of Delaware county against Hon. F. R. Gilbert, the district being represented the previous year by a Democrat. In the following year be was elected State senator for the 23d district by a majority of 1,804 over the Democratic nominee. The Democratic majority in the same district in 1869, the previous term, was 1,352. In 1876 he was again elected supervisor of the town of Delhi, and was re-elected and continued in office down to the present year; when, owing to advanced age and the condition of his health, he declined to permit his name to be again used as a candidate for that office. It is impossible In this brief sketch to especially mention all of the matters worthy of note in his history, extending, as it does, over so many years of active business and public life. In addition to the above it might be mentioned that Mr. Graham was one of the founders and the president of the First National Bank at Delhi. He was many years one of the loan commissioners of the county, and held other positions of responsibility. The secret of Mr. Graham's success consists largely in his natural quick perception, strong native common sense, thorough knowledge of human nature and practical knowledge of business and public affairs, acquired by his varied experience in business and public life. He never laid claim to distinction as an orator or public speaker, having no taste in that direction, and seldom attempts speech making, yet while a member of Congress and Legislature his merits were recognized by his being placed on important committees, where he seldom failed, in consequence of his superior tact and management, to accomplish good results and to cause his influence to be felt and recognized. Mr. Graham long since retired from active business and resides in the village of Delhi, living in that quiet unassuming style which has been one of his life-long peculiarities; devoting himself to the cultivation of his farm and the management of his private business affairs. In conclusion, it is not too much to say that very few men, if any, in the county of Delaware, either of the present day or of the past, have occupied more positions of public trust, responsibility and honor, or have filled those positions with more credit to themselves and satisfaction to their constituency and the public than James H.Graham.
FERRIS JACOBS, M. D., was born at the home of his grandfather (Jonathan Ferris), near Peekskill, Westchester county, N. Y., January 10th, 1802. He was the first born son of John Jacobs and Elizabeth Ferris. He come to Ferris Hill, near Hobart, Delaware county, in 1806. His father purchased a farm from the Ferris tract, in Kortright (Ferris Hill), and raised up a family of twelve children. Ferris, being the eldest, found plenty to do. Population sparse, books and schools few, though inclined to study, his improvement was slow. He picked up books here and there and devoured them. He led in his classes, as well as in other activities. He entered the office of A. D. Smyth, Esq., of Hobart, land surveyor, not long after. Though still a stripling, be was seen far beyond the hills and mountains, surveying, laying out lands and dividing up farms. He taught district schools when not engaged in work on his father's farm. He earned money and paid his way at the academy and the higher schools. Young Ferris commenced the study of the law-read Blackstone-and in time began the study of medicine. For a time be was a student in the office of Prof. Valentine Mott, of New York, and also under his charge in the medical college; next, in Washington, D. C., he was a student of Prof. Sewall, and a member of the Columbian University, where he graduated in medicine in 1830. Having received his diploma as M. D., and after riding along the Potomac and doing some irregular business in the city under Dr. Sewall, for a time, Dr. Jacobs came back to his father's home. Advised by his friend, Dr. Calvin Howard, of Hobart, be went to Delhi, the Delaware county seat, and began the practice of his profession, in September, 1830. On the 14th of January, l834, be married Miss Lasell, daughter of Chester Lasell, of Schoharie county. The doctor had an extensive practice for about forty-five years, when, feeling the weight of years and the infirmities due to much exposure and hard work, be retired from further toil, at the full age of seventy-five years. While in practice be was called to see most of the cases of difficulty in this district of country. He held a very reputable position in his own county society, and also in the State society, of which he is a permanent member. He received from Williams College, Mass., an honorary A. M., and from the regents of the University of the State of New York an honorary M. D. He was elected honorary member of the medical society of the State of New Jersey in l872. Dr. Jacobs had also a little recreation in a military way. He was surgeon of a regiment for a time, and also general of a brigade of cavalry for many years, embracing at times several counties. The doctor is fond of reading up to this time. He still likes to work up some of his old studies, wherein he failed in his youth to make himself proficient. At the age of seventy-eight years he is still in the midst of his work, in the enjoyment of comfortable and happy life.
FERRIS JACOBS, JR., was born in Delhi, Delaware County, N.Y., March 20th, 1836. His father, Dr. Ferris Jacobs, has been for many years one of the leading physicians of that village. His mother belonged to the well known Lasell family, and he might indulge a very pardonable pride in tracing his ancestry back to some of the most honored names in early American history. He received his early education at the Delaware Academy, under the tuition of Professors Harper and McKoon. He then went to Franklin, and was prepared for college by Prof. George Kerr, LL.D., principal of Delaware Literary Institute. In 1854 he entered the junior class of Williams College. This class, in which he took an honorable position, included James A. Garfield, United States senator from Ohio; James Gilfillan, treasurer of the United States; and Clement Hugh Hill, assistant attorney-general of the United States. At the completion of his collegiate course Mr. Jacobs entered the office of George Northrup, of Philadelphia, but in the fall of 1857 he returned to Delhi and continued the study of the law in the office of Parker & Gleason, in company with O. W. Chapman. He was admitted to the bar in 1859, and began the practice of law, acting as surrogate's clerk for Hon. William Gleason, who was then county judge and surrogate, until the breaking out of the Rebellion. After the disastrous battle of Bull Run, when the nation began to awake to the fact that a terrible struggle was upon us, he hastily gathered around him one hundred young men of the county, and started for the theatre of war. At Elmira he was elected captain, and with his company was mustered in on the 22nd of August, for "three years, or during the war." On the day following the company reached Washington, D. C., where it formed Company E. of the "1st U. S. volunteer cavalry," afterward the "3d regiment N. Y. cavalry volunteers." The fall of 1861 and the ensuing winter were passed in incessant drill, inspection and review. Captain Jacobs was present with his company at the battle of Bull's Bluff (sic*), but was unable to cross the Potomac for want of transportation. In the spring of 1862 the battalion to which he was attached , under the command of Major Mix, led the advance of Bank's column up the Shenandoah valley, and drove Ashby's famous cavalry through and beyond Winchester. The regiment was then recalled, ordered to join Burnside in North Carolina, and , arriving at Newbern in May, was immediately assigned to outpost duty of the department. Captain Jacobs with his company participated in the battles of Kinston, Whitehall, Goldsboro and the siege of Newbern, under General Foster; besides numerous raids and almost weekly minor combats and skirmishes with guerillas, home guards and regular confederates in that State, many of which encounters were replete with thrilling interest and incidents of individual daring. In March, 1863, in command of a squadron of cavalry and three small companies of infantry, Captain Jacobs made a midnight attack upon the 42nd N. C. infantry in their intrenched camp near Kinston, drove them out and into the woods, burned their barracks, tents and equipage, and retired with only a loss of two men, wounded. In May, 1863, he led a battalion of the regiment in an attack upon "Gum Swamp Fort," under Colonel Richter Jones, commanding the "outposts," in which the fort and one hundred and eighty prisoners were captured. In June, 1863, he was promoted to the rank of major, and in July commanded the battalion of his regiment which penetrated more than one hundred miles into the heart of the enemy's country and captured and burned the vast magazines and store-houses of supplies, an armory and arsenal, woolen-mill and railroad train at Rocky Mount, N. C.; burned the Weldon Railroad bridge over the Tar river, and returned to Newbern, having marched four days and four nights, at an average speed of eighty-two miles for every twenty-four hours - in this respect a raid perhaps unprecedented in the war. In the fall of 1863 Major Jacobs was ordered north with three hundred of the re-enlisted men of his regiment, and on his return was sent to the Canada frontier to buy horses for the Army of the James. He rejoined his regiment at Getty's Station, Va., May 1st, 1864; it was then in the 2nd brigade of Kautz's cavalry division, and prepared for the grand combined movement of the Army of the Potomac and the Army of the James against the enemy's lines. Rapidly passing the Blackwater and having the advance with his regiment (then under his command), the column reached the enemy's communications on the Weldon Railroad at Stony Creek Station simultaneously with Grant's passage of the Rapidan, and captured the "Holcomb Legion," S. C., at that place. On the same day General Kautz, with the 3d and a battalion of the 1st D. C., only 250 strong but armed with Henry repeating rifles, marched upon the enemy's position in their intrenchments at the railroad bridge over the Nottoway river. While forming his line of battle a Georgia and a Virginia regiment sallied from their works, crossed the bridge and advanced rapidly to attack his left. Major Jacobs was then ordered to take command of the D. C. rifles, and attacked the enemy, who had already engaged and were driving in the skirmishers of the 3d. After a short, sharp struggle the enemy were driven in utter panic into their works. Our forces then retired, burning the bridge behind them. Returning to City Point, Major Jacobs was assigned to the command of the 2nd brigade, and again had the advance when the division broke through the enemy's lines during the battle of Proctor's Creek; and by direction of General Kautz attacked the enemy in the attempt to destroy the Mattoax Bridge, near Chula Station, on the Danville Railroad. Major Jacobs was commissioned as lieutenant colonel after the death of Colonel Simon H. Mix at Petersburg, June 15th, and participated in the endless fighting in the trenches and on the flanks of Grant's army during the memorable battle summer of 1864. On the 7th of October a large body of the enemy's infantry, under the command of General Lee in person, made an attack upon Kautze's division at "Johnson's Farm," on the Darbytown road north of the James, and some six or seven miles from Richmond. The engagement was the fiercest and most sanguinary and destructive of all in which the cavalry had taken a prominent part during the year. The division - a weak , isolated command, with neither flank protected and no intrenchments, except a low breastwork on some portions of the left and two small redoubts for the artillery - was finally driven from its position at the point of the bayonet, the 3d, under Colonel Jacobs, being the last regiment to leave the field; and only succeeded in cutting its way through the surrounding enemy by abandoning its artillery to capture. The victorious enemy then poured upon Terry's intrenchments, but were repulsed with great slaughter. This was Lee's last attempt to drive Butler into the James, and the campaign of 1864 was virtually closed. To show the desperate nature of the contest, it may be stated that of the 3d more than half, and of the staff of the 2nd brigade, to which the 3d was attached, all of the officers (five in number) , except Colonel West, commanding, were either killed or wounded. In cutting out, General Kautz's chief of staff was captured, and the general himself, together with Colonel Jacobs, who was with him, narrowly escaped the same fate. Of the Delaware company Lieutenant H. E. Smith was killed, and Lieutenant (afterward Captain) George C. Gibbs was severely wounded. Colonel Jacobs, finding himself after the battle in command of but a handful of men (subsequently consolidated with other fragments of regiments), and with but little prospect that they would be able to again take the field during the remainder of the fall campaign, resigned his commission, was mustered out on the 12th of October, 1864, and returned home. On the 20th of March, 1865, he re-entered the service, and was placed in command of the 26th regiment of N. Y. veteran cavalry, stationed along our northern frontier, in garrison at St. Albans, Vt., Champlain, Malone, Ogdensburg, Fort Niagara and Fort Porter, where it remained during the spring and early summer, perfecting its discipline and organization. In July the regiment was mustered out of service, and Colonel Jacobs was brevetted brigadier-general of volunteers, for "gallant and meritorious service in the late war" - a fitting testimonial to his worth and bravery as an officer, and to his fidelity to the flag of his imperiled country. Returning from the war he was elected district attorney, and was subsequently re-elected to the same office. In 1877 he was nominated by the Republican party, of which he has always been a staunch adherent, to the office of county judge, but was defeated. In 1880 he was elected as a delegate from the 21st Congressional district to the National Republican Convention in Chicago. In 1869 he was married to Miss Mary E. Hyde, of Yellow Springs, Ohio, and has a family of four boys. Socially, General Jacobs is very popular in the village, which has always been his place of residence. His genial manners receive additional value from superior conversational abilities, and contribute much to the attractions of his delightful and hospitable home. As a citizen he is among the workers in the various enterprises which are undertaken for the moral elevation of the community. He has had marked success as a lawyer, having a quick and keen insight into the intricacies of his profession and a ready mastery of its details. As a speaker he takes a forward rank, holding jury and audience by the beauty and fervor of his eloquence, and the close reasoning which convinces while it charms. As a soldier and citizen, and in the duties of an extensive practice of his profession, General Jacobs has already achieved a work which is in itself a prediction of future usefulness and renown.
WILLIAM T. LUDINGTON is a son of Samuel, grandson of Harry, and great-grandson of Samuel Ludington.. The last two came from Ludingtonville, Putman county, N. Y., about 1800, and settled in Bovina. The great-grand-father had served in the Revolutionary war with several brothers, one of whom, Tertullus Ludington, was a colonel, and at one time on Washington's staff. William T. Ludington, farmer and author, was born July 3d, 1844, in Andes. He served over three years in the Union army; as a private in the 8th independent battery, on detached service in 1863, and as provost marshal's chief clerk in 1864. He was keeper of the Clinton State prison in 1873, and elected justice of the peace in 1875.
HARVEY R. MILLARD. - About the year 1660 three brothers, Joseph, Robert and Nehemiah Millard, came from England to the British colonies of America. Nehemiah had five children - Robert, John, Stephen, Benajah and Abigail. All the sons but Robert settled in the New England states. Robert was born in the town of Rehoboth, R.I., on the first of April, 1700. He married Hannah Edy, of Bristol, R.I. Shortly after their marriage they moved to Paulings, Dutchess county, N.Y. They raised nine sons and four daughters. Jonathan, the eighth son, was born in Paulings in 1748. When twenty years of age he went to Middletown, Conn., where he was engaged as a teacher. He then married Mary Akin. Later they removed to Paulings, where he engaged in the tanning and currying business. Ten children were born to them - Nehemiah, Mary, Charles, Betsey, Levina, Amasa, William, Timothy, Abiatha and Margaret. Amasa the third son, was born February 21st, 1776, in Paulings. He married Miss Jane Hoose, and to them were born six children, namely: Harry, Aikens, Mary, Jane, Harvey and Horace. Harvey R. Millard, the subject of this sketch, the fifth child of Amasa and Jane Millard, was born in the town of Root, Montgomery county. As will be seen by this genealogy, his father was of English descent; his mother was of German ancestry. His father, who was a manufacturer, removed to Delaware county at an early day, and settled near the site of the Sherwood homestead. After erecting a factory he engaged in the manufacture of edge tools. Here Harvey R. spent a majority of his early years. His opportunities to acquire an education were limited to the common schools of the time, but in later years, by observation and reading, he acquired a practical education. He first engaged in the business of tanning. At the age of twenty, May 1st, 1836, he engaged in the mercantile business in Delhi with limited means. A few years later he took as a partner his brother-in-law, S. M. Frisbee, and under the firm name Millard & Frisbee the concern continued until March 4th, 1868, when Mr. Frisbee, desiring to retire, sold his interest to G. H. Millard, son of Harvey R. As the firm of G. H. Millard & Co. they continued in trade until 1874, when H. R. Millard engaged in private banking. This business he carried on till his death, which occurred at Delhi, December 20th, 1878. He was a Democrat in politics, but never took an active part in electioneering. He was eminently a self-made man, and by application and industry acquired a fortune. In December, 1839, he was married to Clarissa Frisbee, granddaughter of Judge Frisbee, first judge of Delaware county. Four children were born to them - Sarah, Elizabeth, George and William, of whom only George and William survive. They are private bankers.
EDMUND ROSE was born December 8th, 1817. His grandfather came from Inverness, Scotland, about 1774, and settled in the town of Stamford. He built a flowering mill on Rose's brook in 1793, one of the first mills in Delaware county. Edmund Rose, the youngest of a family of ten children, was sent to the common schools until he was fifteen, attended the Franklin Academy part of a year, and later taught school winters, working on the farm summers until he was twenty. He then spent a year in the western States. In 1840 he settled on the farm where he now resides. He has followed no other business than farming. In politics he is a Republican. He takes a great interest in agriculture, and was chosen the first president of the Farmers and Mechanics' Association of Delhi; also first president of the Delaware County Dairyman's Association. He married Miss Effie McFadden in 1867. He and his wife are attendants of the Second Presbyterian church of Delhi. As a family they are highly esteemed, and rank among the best citizens of Delaware county.
SETH HOBART WHITE is one of the leading business men of the village of Delhi, and is also closely identified with the history of the county; and although not a native, has yet, by his long residence, marked abilities and sterling character taken a position of wide trust and commanding influence. Mr. White brings into his business the energy and enterprise that distinguish Puritan blood, and shows in his modes and methods of work and life those choice qualities which, while they promise success, command respect and confidence. His best days have been given to the village of his adoption, and from the first year of his residence to the present time his plan of life shows the shaping and progress of a wise and firm purpose, an abounding hopefulness and healthy sympathies with social and public interests. Mr. White was born in Abington, Plymouth county, Mass., December 27th, 1820; on his father's side tracing his ancestry back to the pure blood of the "Mayflower," and on his mother's side having an honored descent through the Hobarts, one of the oldest and most respected families of Plymouth county. In 1833 his father, Micah White, excited by the glowing accounts of the west, moved from the east to Hancock in this county. Mr. White, then a boy of thirteen, and an only child, took an active interest in the rough work of the farm and lumbering. But his father did not meet with the hoped-for success, either with his lands or lumbering, and the ambitious nature of the son led him to strike out an independent course for himself. He had, however, the advantage of correct habits and good principles, both by descent from Puritan ancestry and the direct education of his parents; and he attributes his success largely to the rigid rules of temperance and industry, which he learned at home. It is one of his boasts that he never submitted to the weakness of either strong drink or tobacco, and that his self-reliance and tenacity of will were disciplined by temptations resisted in these early days. With this legacy of rigid moral principles and $50 in money, he left his home in a log house and walked to Plainfield, Mass., a distance of one hundred and fifty miles; worked at haying for $8 a month; taught school winters and finally entered the seminary at Amenia, N. Y., and prepared for college, partially paying his way by teaching one year in the seminary, and afterward teaching a public school. He entered Brown University, and graduated with his class in 1846. The same energy and strictness of principle that gave him success as a boy distinguished him in the class-room among his companions as an industrious scholar, and made him the junior honor man in mechanical philosophy. For two years subsequent to his graduation he acted as principal of one of the public schools of Brookline, Mass., now a portion of Boston. In 1848 he entered the law office of Judge Murray, of Delhi, N. Y.; but his time was taken up for the first year by his favorite work of school teaching, and not till the fall of 1849 did he settle down to steady work in preparing for his profession, and even then he combined the work of study with the labor of the office of deputy in the county clerk's office. About this time the business enterprises of his father began to improve, but the assistance which his father was now able to render was not asked, for the same reason for which he had refused proffered help when a boy. He wished to make his own way in life without adding any burden to his parents. In the spring of 1851 he was admitted to the bar, and settled permanently in Delhi. After practicing law a few years alone he entered into partnership with Peter P. Wright, afterward with Judge Maynard, and lastly with General Jacobs, which continued about six years. At about this date he became engaged as agent for large tracts of land in this and adjoining counties, and for seven years or more collected rents and sold lands, receiving large amounts of money, in some instances nearly forty thousand dollars per year. During all this time he was accumulating a handsome property, and obtaining means to enlarge his business speculations. Becoming intimately acquainted and largely interested in the business of the First National Bank of Delhi, holding the positions of director, discount committee and attorney, and being also a large stockholder, he felt that the success of the bank (which was about to be closed) promised favorably for a new banking enterprise. Therefore, in the winter of 1871-72 he established the Railway Bank of Delhi, whose progressive success had proved the correctness of Mr. White's judgement. He uses in his bank about $100,00; $50,000 in real estate and $50,000 in personal property. He also has insurance upon his life to the amount of $25,000 in the Equitable Life Assurance Society of the United States. One evidence of the public confidence in his business integrity is the large amount of money deposits received at his bank, reaching often to $20,000, and averaging between $20,000 and $30,000. Although Mr. White's aim in life seems to have been more for substantial success than for display, yet he has fitted up his banking rooms and law offices with something of city elegance, more for the comfort and convenience of his customers and clients than with the thought of showy appearance. Mr. White's financial operations and professional business have become so extended and varied that he has committed the routine work of the bank largely to his competent cashier, Mr. William P. Lynch, who is also a lawyer; while his own time is devoted almost wholly to the oversight of his large and extended interests in real estate throughout the country, the management as executor of several large estates, and the transaction of important business operations for others who seek the assistance of his sound judgement and safe business habits. In 1853 Mr. White married Miss Ophelia S. MacDonald, only daughter of Sheriff MacDonald, of this county, who bears the honor of Scotch descent, and to whose sympathy and hearty co-operation Mr. White attributes a large share of his success in the world. Having tested the value of a good education in his own personal history, Mr. White shows his appreciation of it in the care with which he endeavors to educate his family. His five daughters have received the most excellent mental training. Believing heartily in schools, and while encouraging them in many ways, he yet prefers for his own children a private teacher until they are prepared for the higher collegiate schools. Although he has been so heartily a business man, yet his life has been marked by a warm interest in the moral and religious welfare of the community. While in college he united with the Congregational church. Afterward, while teaching school in Brookline, he became a member of the church of which Dr. R. S. Storrs, now of Brooklyn, was pastor. During his long residence in Delhi he has been a prominent and working member of the Presbyterian church of the village, having filled the offices of Sabbath-school superintendent (about ten years) and trustee (much of the time of his residence); and during the time of the recent church improvements was chairman of the board and an efficient member of the committee for raising funds and shaping finances for church repairs, and was the largest contributor in the movement. He has also been treasurer in the Delaware County Bible Society over fifteen years. An easy and earnest speaker, his voice is often heard on the side of reform and in the interest of those principles which he loves and respects. Political office never came within his aspirations. His mind and efforts have been given to business, but his interest in all matters of village improvements led him once to accept of the presidency of the village and act as trustee a few terms, and also to fill the office of president of the Woodland Cemetery Association. His public enterprise is manifest in his ready response to the numerous demands made upon his time and means. Believing that Delhi would be greatly benefited by the Delhi & Middletown Railroad, he earnestly advocated its completion and became a corporate director, secretary, treasurer and attorney of the company, and is still hopeful that the road will be built, to the immense business advantage of Delhi. Mr. White, although a hard worker all his life, is yet a man of unbroken health, and would be taken for one ten years younger than his actual age; and as years advance his unabated vigor encourages him to push his chosen work with the same enterprise and strength as in youth.
JOHN B.YENDES was born in the town of Delhi, March 3d, 1803. His father, George Yendes, was born in Germany, November 1st, 1769, and emigrated to America at the age of sixteen. He was one of the pioneers of Delaware county, having settled on the farm near where John B. now resides about 1786. In company with his father and mother he entered the county, descending the Delaware river by canoe from Schoharie. They erected their log cabin on the flats of the Delaware river, and commenced the work of the pioneer. The nearest neighbors were then at Walton and Bloomville. Schoharie was the nearest point where flour could be obtained, and Columbia county the nearest point where stores were located. John Bartholomew Yendes, grandfather to the subject of this sketch, was also a native of Germany, and came to America with his son, George Yendes. Mr. Yendes's parents and grandparents died on the homestead near where J.B. now resides. They were industrious and thrifty, and lived to ripe old age. Mr. Yendes's father's family consisted of five sons and five daughters, of whom J.B. is the oldest son. Mr. Yendes acquired his education by attending the district schools, and was required to assist in supporting the family the major part of the time. He was married January 24th, 1839, to Miss Julia A. Fisher, of Delhi, daughter of Matthias and Annis Fisher, who were farmers, and whose house, near where W. Youmans now resides, was the first residence built in Delhi village. Shortly after his marriage Mr. Yendes purchased his farm of the airs of Stephen Miller, and commenced improving it. Two children were born to him. Peter, who lived to the age of twentyfive, was a young man of promise and the hope of his parents. He attended Delhi Academy and graduated at Eastman's Commercial College. His death was a great affliction to his aged parents. Annis, the only daughter, resides at home. She is married to Ammon Bostwick, son of Milton Bostwick, of Meredith. Mr. Yendes is a Republican in politics. He was captain in the early militia, and has held the office of supervisor of his native town three terms. Mr. and Mrs. Yendes are both attendants of the Second Presbyterian Church of Delhi, which they liberally support. A view of their residence appears in this work. Living at an advanced age, they can reflect with pleasure upon a life well spent, having by industry and economy acquired a competence, and by uprightness the respect and esteem of their fellow citizens.
WILLIAM YOUMANS was born on a farm in the town of Otego, Otsego county, NY, April 18th, 1820, and worked on the farm with his father, William Youmans, until 1845, when the anti-rent war broke out. He was drafted on the call of Governor Silas Wright for the troops to quiet the uprising in Delaware county. After the posse was discharged he entered the office of Hon. Samuel Gordon as a law student. He was admitted as an attorney and counselor in March, 1849, and located at Delhi, where he has since been in the practice of the law. He attended the academy at Franklin for several years prior to 1845, during the autumn and winter terms, working on the farm summers. He also attended the academy at Delhi for several years after he came to Delhi, in connection with his law studies. July 7th, 1853, he married Miss Dickinson of Amherst, Mass. His grandfather was one of the first who settled in the Susquehanna valley prior to the Revolutionary war. The Kortright patent in this county, consisting of some twenty-five thousand acres of land, was held by the occupants under perpetual leases executed prior to the year 1800. For some years prior to 1867 the tenants refused to pay the rent, and were holding in hostility to the landlord. About this time Mr. Youmans purchased the patent of the original heirs, and several hundred suits were instituted by him and were carried and contested through all the courts, resulting in judgments for the recovery of the possession of the lands. Mr. Youmans is now the owner of the patent, subject to the leases, and receives the rents thereupon annually. In 1872 he was elected supervisor of the town of Delhi, overcoming an adverse majority of about 250, and was re-elected in 1853. In 1878 he was the Democratic candidate for senator in the 23rd district, consisting of the counties of Delaware, Chenango and Schoharie, which in the previous senatorial election gave over three thousand Republican majority; and was defeated by James G. Thompson, of Chenango county by one majority. Mr. Youmans has an extensive practice in his profession. He is now the owner of over one hundred thousand acres of land in Delaware and other counties in this state, and pays a heavier tax than any other person in Delaware county. He has accumulated his entire property by his own exertions. He was one of the originators of the Delhi Water Company, and is the principal stockholder. He built the house in which he lives and several others adjacent, and is now the owner of the farm of the late General Erastus Root. Mr. Youmans is an able and successful attorney, of pleasing address, tall in stature and of commanding appearance. He has one of the finest residences in Delaware county.
CHARLES A. BENNETT was born in Franklin, N.Y. on the 9th of March, 1844, being the oldest son of George W. Bennett. In 1862 he enlisted in Company D of the 144th regiment, as a private. He became orderly sergeant, served until the close of the war and was in several engagements, but escaped without injury. He was married September 28th, 1868, to Mary H. Goodrich, and had two children, Carrie and Frank A. He is a harness maker by trade and is engaged extensively in the business at Franklin village. He is the chief engineer of the fire department, and himself and wife are members of the M.E. church at Franklin. Mr. Bennett is now one of the trustees of the village.
HENRY BOYD was born in West Springfield, Mass., April 2nd, 1816. His father, Amos Boyd, who was born in Massachusetts in 1783, of Scotch descent, and was a farmer, removed in February, 1817, to the farm where Henry Boyd now resides, buying one hundred and twenty-five acres, which he at once commenced clearing and improving. His family consisted of two sons and three daughters. Mrs. Amos Boyd was born in Massachusetts in 1789. She died in 1867, having survived her husband six years. Henry Boyd was early trained in habits of industry and economy, and assisted in the work of the farm. His opportunities to secure an education were confined to the district school of his neighborhood, yet so well did he improve his time that at the age of eighteen he was licensed to teach, which he did five winter terms, working on the farm the remainder of each year. September 4th, 1838, he married Eliza J. Brownson, a lady of many virtues. She died in July, 1850, and March 4th, 1851, Mr. Boyd married Lydia H. Baldwin of Otsego county. From 1844 to 1849 he was engaged in mercantile business at Croton, having for partners first David Hubbell, and later Edward Abell. He was a member of Captain Cook's company during the anti-rent war, and was in service for four months. August 29th, 1862, he enlisted in Company D of the 144th regiment, and served until the close of the was, receiving his discharge at Hilton Head, S.C., June 8th, 1863. Amos A., his son, was a soldier in the same company; was elected a corporal, and died at Upton Hill, near Washington, January 9th, 1863, aged twenty-one years. Orsemus B., another son and a graduate of West Point, was in the 89th N.Y. volunteer infantry, under General Burnside, where he distinguished himself for bravery in many engagements, and was promoted to the rank of lieutenant. He is at present in the United States service. Mr. and Mrs. Boyd have raised six children, and have lived to see them become ornaments to the society in which they reside. Their names are Amos A., Orsemus B., Lavelle H., Alverda M., Ellen J. and Gracie L. Mr. Boyd is a Republican, and has been overseer of the poor for the past twelve years. Himself and wife are earnest members of the M.E. church of Croton, and take an active interest in promoting its interests, Mr. Boyd having been a member forty-two years. By an upright life he has won the admiration of his acquaintances.
ELIJAH B. CHAMBERLIN was born in the town of Otego, Otsego county, N.Y. on the 24th of April, 1822, being the fourth of a family of five boys- Daniel, Rufus, William, Elijah and Lucellus, all still living. His parents were William and Sally Chamberlin, natives of Connecticut. His father, a carpenter, was born on the 23rd of June, 1875; moved into the town of Franklin in 1802, and on the 2nd day of October, 1813, was married to Sally Bemiss, a native of the town. Their children, above named were early trained to depend on themselves for a livelihood, and were employed in working out by the month or teaching school, as the opportunity afforded. Although educational privileges were not then so common as now, and were mostly confined to the common district schools, yet so well did these sons apply themselves that each secured a good education, and all have made intelligent, prosperous men. Elijah B. was married to Amelia Buell, January 20th, 1850, and they have raised six children- Alice, William, Clarence, Mary, Minnie and Charles; all of whom have received an education at the Delaware Literary Institute, and are children of much promise. Mrs. Chamberlin is a daughter of Charles and Charlotte Buell, formerly residents of the town. Mr. Chamberlin has followed the business of a farmer, and is the owner of four hundred acres of land, very pleasantly situated in the southwestern part of the town and about two miles from Franklin village; all of which he has purchased and paid for since he commenced for himself, besides owning much other property. Mr. and Mrs. Chamberlin and four of their children are members of the Congregational church at Franklin. Daniel Chamberlin, an uncle of the subject of this sketch and a soldier of the war of 1812, is living in the town, having come here from Connecticut when but eleven years of age.
COLONEL BENJAMIN TRUMBULL Cook was born in Harrington, Litchfield county, Conn., on the 12th of August, 1813. His father, Jacob Cook, was also a native of the same county, of English descent, and a farmer by occupation. His mother, whose maiden name was Hannah Ames, was a native of Connecticut and also of English parentage. In 1818 Jacob Cook and family moved into Delaware county and settled in the town of Kortright, where they resided six years. In 1825 Mr. Cook bought the farm in the town of Franklin on which the subject of this memoir now resides. His father lived to the advanced age of seventy-nine years, and his mother ninety-four years, both having lived nearly half a century on the "old homestead." Colonel Cook's educational privileges were limited, as he had the opportunity only of attending a district school in the winter months while quite young; but by observation and study in later years he has acquired a practical education, that has assisted in making him one of the best informed and most successful farmers in the county. He began his business career at the age of sixteen, being sent at that early age to New York city by his father to dispose of the products of the farm, thus early in life training himself in the school of active business experience. At the age of twenty-two he bought the farm of his parents, and he has since successfully carried on the business. He obtained his military title by connecting himself with the early militia organizations of the county, serving successfully as a private, a corporal, lieutenant and captain of the Franklin company of the cavalry (which formed a part of the eleventh regiment of Otsego county cavalry), lieutenant-colonel (commissioned in 1843), and colonel, being commissioned in the latter office in 1845, by Governor Silas Wright. During the anti-rent war Colonel Cook took a prominent part, having command of the mounted volunteers, and was stationed at Delhi, being again commissioned by Governor Wright. In June, 1855, he was married to Miss Frances A. Wright, a native of Salem, Wayne county, Pa., whose parents were natives of Massachusetts. Mrs. Cook is a lady of pleasing address, and of much intelligence, having received a liberal education at Wyoming Seminary, Kingston, Pa., and was for some time engaged in teaching, with much success. Mr. and Mrs. Cook's family consists of three children- Hannah L., Fannie Ames and Jay Wright. Appreciating the value of intellectual training, Mr. Cook has given his children a liberal education at the Delaware Literary Institute. In politics he is a Democrat, and he commenced his political career by voting for Martin Van Buren. Mr. and Mrs. Cook are members of St. Paul's Episcopal Church of Franklin, and give liberally towards it's support. Mr. Cook is a man of commanding stature, being six foot and two inches in height, of pleasing address, and his ample property bears evidence of industry and careful and successful management. The "old homestead," a view of which appears elsewhere, is one of the pleasantest and most hospitable homes in Franklin.
AMOS DOUGLAS, eldest son of Amos Douglas, sen., was born in Franklin, August 11th, 1813. His father was a son of William Douglas, of Stephentown, Rensselaer county, N.Y., and a descendant of the New London (Conn.) branch of the family, who came from Scotland. His mother was Miriam Wright, of Northampton, Mass. Our subject was given the usual academic opportunities of his native place. He became a member of the First Congregational church in February, 1831, and has since been connected with it. From April, 1831, he was a clerk in a store at Franklin, until April, 1836. He then began business in the firm of Douglas and Stillson, which continued thirteen years. In 1849 he bought out the interest of his partner, A.F. Stillson, and conducted a business which employed three clerks, being usually from $20,000 to $25,000 a year in merchandise proper. In April, 1858, he formed a partnership with Stephen Hine and James C. Bush; the firm being A. Douglas & Co. until April, 1861, when it became A. Douglas & Hine. His health being impaired by typhoid fever in the summer of 1857, he sold his interest to Beriah L. Bowers in April, 1862, having been in active business twenty-six years. At the time of making the change in his business in April, 1858, he disposed of the residence he had occupied since his marriage, bought the homestead from his father's heirs, and erected the residence he has since occupied. Having conducted a banking and exchange office several years when in active business, and understanding the need of bank facilities in the place, he associated with others in the formation of the First National Bank of Franklin in December, 1863, with which he has since been identified. At the Presidential election of 1836 he voted for Martin Van Buren, and for the Democratic nominees, including Pierce, in 1852. Being among the large number of the party disgusted with the subserviency of its politicians to the slave power, he early connected himself with the "Free Soil" movement, resulting in the canvass of November, 1836 when "Fremont, Free Soil and Free Men" received about 500 of the 750 votes polled in Franklin, although the town had formerly given overwhelming Democratic majorities. When the Republican party progressed to a national power, he had learned sufficient of political matters and politicians to convince him it was incompatible with full success in business to pursue political promotion, and peremptorily declined all solicitations to become a candidate for any town office or that of postmaster. Circumstances were such that he was required to administer upon the estates of a number of his friends, having four estates on his hands at one time, and he declined to act in some other similar cases. He held various special trusts, and was thankful when he was relieved of them. The moral, religious and educational interests of the place have each shared in his efforts to promote them. He was married in September, 1842, to Mariette Hine, daughter of Deacon William, and Abigail Hine, who were early settlers in the town, coming from New Milford, Conn. His children were four boys- Charles A., who has been of the hardware firm of Douglas and Stillson since 1862, and is now vice-president of the First National Bank of Franklin; A. Stanley, of the firm Slade & Douglas, insurance agents; William E., a successful physician of Lisle, Broome county, N.Y., and George F., the youngest, who died at six years of age , in March, 1865.
ERASTUS EDGERTON.--But few of the early settlers of this town (Franklin) are remembered with more pleasure than the subject of this sketch. His father, Nathan Edgerton, located here in 1786, when Erastus, who was born at the native place of his parents, Franklin, Conn., was three years old. Soon after arriving at his majority, Erastus Edgerton married Sophronia Willis, a daughter of Azariah Willis, an early settler and noted physician of the town and a man of great ability and intelligence. They had six children, viz.: George W., Hannah D., Erastus S., Thomas H., Elizabeth E., and Mary J. Erastus S. Edgerton held the dangerous office of deputy sheriff during the anti-rent war, and had his horse shot under him when deputy sheriff Steele was killed. He is now engaged in the banking business at St. Paul, Minn. He was married to Eliza Cannon of Cannonsville, and Mary J. became the wife of Delos A. Monfort, who also lives at St. Paul.. Erastus Edgerton was largely interested for many years in milling, lumbering, speculating and distilling, having built the first distillery in the town in 1810. Hon. John Edgerton, his brother, still lives on the land first settled on by his father. He was town clerk from 1823 to 1826, supervisor eight years, member of the Legislature in 1833, sheriff in 1840, and has held many other civil and military positions by both election and appointment.
HENRY S. EDWARDS is a son of Josiah Edwards, who was born in Suffolk county, N.Y., in 1787; moved into the town of Franklin in 1805, and lived near where Henry S. now resides, until his death, which occurred in 1859. Mrs. Josiah Edwards was a native of Vermont, but a resident of Otsego county at the time of their marriage, which occurred in 1812. The family consisted of Henry S., a brother who died in infancy, and three daughters- Temperance, Mary and Lucretia. Mary died in 1870; the other sisters are still living. Temperance became the wife of Sherman Barnes, and Lucretia married David Beardsley, and resides at Bainbridge, N.Y. Henry S. Edwards was born in 1815, and resided at home until he became of age, assisting in the duties of the farm and attending school. In 1839 he married Laura Beardsley, of Otego, N.Y., a daughter of Benjamin and Diodama Beardsley, natives of Connecticut, who settled atOtego in1829. Her father died in 1851, and her mother in 1873. Mr. and Mrs. Edwards, although having no children of their own, have adopted three- a son, Morgan B., and two daughters, one of which is now dead- besides lending assistance to many others. The old homestead, of which we give an illustration, is pleasantly situated in the center of a farm of three hundred acres, a mile north of the village of Franklin, in the pleasant Ouleout valley. Here, blessed with wealth and surrounded by a pleasing circle of acquaintances, Mr. Edwards and wife are enjoying the fruits of their labors. They are members of St. Paul's Episcopal church, and give liberally towards its support and in behalf of charitable objects. Politically Mr. Edwards is a Democrat. By careful attention to his business of dairying, which he carries on extensively, keeping one of the largest dairies in this town, he has acquired a competency sufficient for all his wants. All his business transactions are characterized by probity and honor.
DAVID FOOTE was born March 24th,1812. His parents, Elias and Sally Foote, then lived in Otego, on the Susquehanna. David was the second son, Russell being the oldest. He worked on the farm until he became of age, attending the district school winters, and going to a select school three months. Afterward he taught winters, and worked as a farm hand several summers, getting the highest wages. He then worked his brother Russell's farm on shares three years. In 1843, in company with his youngest brother, Ezekiel (whom he afterward bought out), he bought his present farm of one hundred and thirty acres, taking possession the 1st of April, 1844. His father lived with him from that time until his death, in July, 1855. In October,1857, David Foote married Mary Parsons, second daughter of Thomas and Anna Parsons, who came to Franklin in 1802 from Connecticut. She was born at Franklin, February 12th,1815. Her mother died in 1848, and her father in 1851. Mr. and Mrs. Foote are members of the Congregational church at Franklin, and give liberally to every charitable cause. They are very much esteemed and respected by a large circle of friends and acquaintances.
JACOB GILLETT was born in the town of Franklin, in 1820, on the farm on which he now resides. His parents, who were natives of Hebron, Conn., moved to this town in 1801, cleared a plot of land, and erected a small house on the site where Mr. Gillett's large and commodious house stands. Ezekiel Gillett, the grandfather of Jacob Gillett, was a soldier of the Revolutionary war, and the musket which he carried while in service is still intact, and the property of the subject of this sketch, who highly prizes it as a relic of "ye olden times". In 1847 Jacob Gillett was married to Laura Cleveland, of Kortright, N.Y. They had two sons and three daughters. Mr. and Mrs. Gillett are members of the Congregational church, and are model citizens, respected for their good qualities by a numerous circle of friends.
WILLIAM B. HANFORD, son of Levi and Mary Hanford, was born in New Canaan, Conn., May 19th, 1804, and is a lineal descendant of Rev. Thomas Hanford, a Congregational clergyman, who came from England to New Haven in 1612 and preached forty years at Norwalk, where he died. Levi Hanford served through the Revolution, and was a prisoner of war at New York fourteen months. His wife's father, General John Mead, was a Revolutionary officer, a probate judge, and twenty-nine years a member of the Connecticut Legislature. In 1808 Levi Hanford sold his farm in Connecticut and removed to Walton, where he died October 19th, 1854, aged ninety-five years and one month; and his wife June 15th,1847, in her eighty-eighth year. March 5th, 1828, William B. Hanford married Miss Eliza Heath, of Walton, daughter of Isaac and Polly Heath, who were pioneers. He was a dairy farmer til 1861, selling in New York, for himself and others, from three hundred to six hundred firkins of butter annually. In 1844 with his wife, he joined the Baptist church. He was formerly a Democrat, but always an anti-slavery man, and was the chairman of the convention which organized the Republican party in Delaware County. He has also been a laborer for temperance reform. He was once nominated for the Assembly, but withdrew his name. His first wife died July 16th, 1851, aged forty-four years; and on the 2nd of October,1860, he married Mrs. L.F.Stilson, of Franklin. They had two children- Erwin C. and Mary E. In 1861 Mr. Hanford sold his farm, and he has since lived in Franklin village, engaged principally in collecting soldiers' pensions and bounties, and writing for the press. He once acted as justice of the peace, and was for sixteen years a notary public, and for a time Postmaster at Franklin. He has been a trustee of Delaware Literary Institute since 1860; he was one of the original stockholders of the First National Bank, and has been one of its directors since 1865.
ANSON S. MILLER was born at North Franklin, N.Y., on the 18th of July,1818. His parents were natives of Lyme, Conn., and settled in Franklin in 1803. Mr. Miller has been thrice married - first to Lucinda Chamberlin, a daughter of Benjamin Chamberlin, in 1838. She dying in 1858, he married in 1859 Lucy Abell, daughter of Otis Abell. Two years later she died, and in 1867 he was married to Louise M. Waters, the youngest daughter of Joseph Waters, who came from Hebron, Conn. in 1798 and settled on a hill since known as Waters hill, in the southwestern part of the town; there he resided until 1852, when he moved to Franklin village, where he died in 1859, aged eighty-seven years.Mr. and Mrs. Miller are members of the Episcopal church at Franklin. Mr. Miller is a Democrat, and has held several offices in the town. He is now president of the board of trustees of the village of Franklin.
AVERY T. NORTHUP is of English descent, and was born April 28th,1813, on a farm across the river from Otego. This farm was taken up about 1802 or1803 by his father, Joseph Northup. The latter, who died here November 10th,1855, was born in Lanesboro, Mass., July 20th,1782. Joseph Northup's father, of the same name, who was a Revolutionary soldier, married Sarah Hatch. A.T. Northup's mother, Hannah, was the daughter of another soldier of the Revolution, Ezekiel Tracy. She was born in Lenox, Mass., Feb. 11th, 1784, and died in Franklin April 16th, 1878. Our subject was the fourth of her eight children. In the spring of 1864 he and his sister Almina sold their interest in the homestead, and bought their present home to which they removed on the 6th of April in that year. In his youth, A.T. Northup learned the printer's trade in the office of the Otsego Republican at Cooperstown, and worked there until March, 1836, and then six months at Little Falls, when an accident disabled him for labor. Having partially recovered, he subsequently learned the business of dressing skins and making them into gloves and whip lashes; and still later the bookbinder's trade, which he still follows in connection with farming. He set the first type for the first paper in Franklin. He has been a Whig and Republican. In April, 1831, he joined the Congregational church in Otego. In May,1859, he transferred his membership to the Baptist church, on doctrinal grounds. He was chosen deacon in December,1859, and church clerk in March, 1860, and held both offices til his removal from Otego to Franklin. He has learned, used and taught Pitman's system of phonography.
CHAUNCEY OGDEN - But few residents of the town of Franklin are entitled to more credit as self-made men than the subject of this sketch and his brothers, Ira and Linus. Chauncey Ogden is the second son of David Ogden,jr., and Sally McCall. His mother was a daughter of Deacon Ira McCall, an early settler of the town. The family consisted of ten children, eight of whom lived to become men and women, namely: Mirum, Linus, Susan, Chauncey, Mary, Sarah, Ira and Adelia. Chauncey was born on the first of June, 1824, and lived at home until he was twelve years of age, when, his father being a poor man and having a large family to support, he left home and worked among the farmers, first for his board and schooling and afterward for wages, until he became twenty-four years of age: then, having saved a few hundred dollars, he commenced farming for himself. September 19th, 1848, he was married to Hannah D. Munn, a daughter of Reuben and Lydia Munn. residents of the town, who was born on the 5th of October, 1830. They are the happy parents of three children--Emma L., born December 12th, 1849 Alfred L.. December 22nd. 1851, and William D.., March 9th, 1861. On the 19th of September, 1872, Emma L., was married to Charles O. Potter and she resides about three miles east of Franklin village.. Mr Ogden moved on to his present farm in February, 1868. It contains one hundred and sixty-three acres of land, pleasantly situated one and one-half miles northeast of Franklin village, in the Ouleout valley. Here he has a delightful home, an engraving of which may be seen elsewhere in this work. He has educated all of his children at the Delaware Literary Institute. He is, as well as his sons, a member of the Republican party, and in 1869 was commissioner of highways for the town of Franklin. The family are wide-awake people, and take a lively interest in all matters relating to the welfare of the community in which they reside, Mrs. Ogden and her children are members of the Congregational church at Franklin village.
SIMON P. SMITH is a son of the late Silas and Lydia Smith, of Franklin M.Y. Silas Smith was born at West Springfield, Mass., September 3d, 1794, and was a son of Darius Smith and Elizabeth Colgrove, natives of Massachusetts. Mrs. Lydia Smith w was a daughter of Major Joel Gillett, of Franklin, N. Y., but her parents were formerly residents of Hebron, Conn.. Lydia was married to Mr Smith in 1820, and they immediately removed to the farm where Silas G. Smith now resides, which place was thereafter their home through life. Mr Smith died on the 10th of April, 1878, aged eighty-three years, and Mrs. Smith in August 1877, aged seventy-six years. The old homestead was cleared and improved by Silas Smith and his father, Darius Smith, who settled in the town in 1801. Silas and Lydia Smith reared a family of twelve children, eleven of whom are alive at the present time. Their names were Flavius, Joel, Silas G., John A., George, Susan, Simon, Amos, Edmund, Caroline, William H. and Herbert C. All the children are married excepting one, and are industrious, well-to-do citizens. All were educated at the Delaware Literary Institute at Franklin, N..Y. Simon P., the subject of this sketch, was born September 4th, 1833, and is at present largely engaged in farming two and one-half miles east of Franklin village. His farm and surroundings are among the best in the town. an engraving of his home appears elsewhere in this work. He was married in December, 1861, to Louisa Judd, daughter of Jesse Judd, of Franklin. Mr and Mrs. Smith have no children; both are members of the Congregational church at Franklin. They take an active interest in all religious and social enterprises, and give liberally toward the support of all worthy causes.
JAMES S. STODDART, son of William Stoddart, a native of Scotland, was born in the town of Delhi, February 18th, 1818. His mother was Phebe Churchill. James was the eldest of the family, which consisted of two sons and two daughters. He remained at home with his parents until he was twenty-four years of age, attending the schools in his native town; was also a student at the academies at Geneva and Brookland, N.Y., and taught in the common schools of the county. April 3d, 1839, he was married to Sarah J. Goodrich, a native of Middletown, Delaware county, and soon after bought a farm in the town of Hamden, where he became one of the most successful farmers of the county, owning over five hundred acres and keeping a large herd of valuable dairy cows. Mr. and Mrs. Stoddart are the parents of five children--three daughters and two sons, viz.: Jane E., Sarah B., Anna Elk Charles A. and William. Feeling the weight of years and suffering from disease, Mr. Stoddart a few years ago bought a fine residence in Croton village, where he lives surrounded by everything needful to comfortable and refined life. His financial success is due to his industry, perseverance and careful management. Mrs. Stoddart is a model wife and mother, and has proved herself truly a helpmate and companion in their forty years of wedded happiness. They united with the U. P. Church at Hamden in 1844, and have ever since been members of the church, and given liberally toward the support of the gospel. Mr. Stoddart is a Democrat and formerly held the offices of overseer of the poor and justice of the peace in the town of Hamden.
COLONEL SYLVESTER WHEAT was born in Marlborough, Conn., November 6th, 1806. His parents, William Wheat and Polly Bolles, natives of the same place, removed to Franklin in 1811 and settled on Handsome brook. William Wheat was a sailor about twenty-six years, and a captain most of the time, His father, Solomon Wheat, was a physician, afterward a Baptist minister, and lived a few years in Franklin. William Wheat had six sons and two daughters--Silas, William, jr., Maria, Solomon, Sylvester, Eliza, Cyrus, and Edward M. Sylvester worked on the farm summers and attended the district school winters. When twenty years old he commenced teaching and taught successfully seven winters at Franklin, Masonville, Croton, Oneonta and West Meredith. November 7th, 1834, he married Martha Johnson, a native of the town. she died in 1851 and he married Amy Drake on 22nd of June, 1854. Three of his seven children are dead, viz.; Hardin, a son of his first wife, and a Baptist minister of much ability, who died at Palmyra, N. Y., in the spring of 1876; Thompson, a soldier, who died in hospital near Washington, D. C., at the beginning of the civil war, and Emily, who died at the age of ten. His living children are: Floyd b., a merchant at Millville, N. J.; Morris L., a lawyer in Iowa; Ellen, the wife of Dr. G. C. Smith, of Franklin, and Emerson, who resides on a part of the homestead. Mr. Wheat is a excellent farmer, owning one hundred and twenty-one acres. He was a member of a light infantry company in the old militia, serving successively as private, sergeant, ensign, and captain, and became lieutenant-colonel and colonel of the 151st regiment, which last office he held four years. He has always been a Democrat and has been assessor and commissioner of highways six years each. Mr. Wheat and wife are members of the episcopal church, and have always given liberally toward its support. His private and public life has always been irreproachable.
GILBOA, Schoharie County
B. S. Mayham, farmer, sawyer and miller of Gilboa, Schoharie county (post-office Stamford), was born in Blenheim, N. Y., October 13th, 1824, and married Miss S. W. Wilson, of St. Paul, Minn. He has lived here fifty-three years. He was one of the building committee and is now a trustee of the Stamford Seminary, and he was one of the earliest promoters of the construction of the Ulster and Delaware Railroad
Hon. William Lewis is a native of Scotland, born October 31st, 1827. When six years of age he came to this country with his parents, who settled in Delaware county and engaged in farming. Young Lewis was brought up on a farm, receiving meanwhile a common school education, and remained with his parents until about the year 1850, when he entered mercantile life in Hamden, which he has followed successfully until quite recently. Soon after he started in business he married Miss Janette Nish. Besides his mercantile business Mr. Lewis has some experience in railroad building, and during the years 1870 and 1871 he constructed, under contract, about twenty miles of the New York and Oswego Midland Railroad. From 1862 until 1870 he held the office of assistant assessor of internal revenue. In politics Mr. Lewis was formerly a Whig, but he joined the Republican party at its organization and has ever since acted and voted with it. In the fall of 1871 he was chosen to represent his district in the Assembly, defeating James Knox Polk Jackson, whose name it would seem deserved better fortune, by a majority of 1,135, the Republican majority of the previous year being but 682. Mr. Lewis was again elected to the Assembly, by a majority of 457. He has served as justice of the peace of the town of Hamden twelve years, and as supervisor six years, two years of which he was chairman of the board. He is known as a careful, sound and able legislator, always favoring economy when it can be accomplished with die regard for the public interest,. He is keenly alive to the material and moral advancement of his own locality, as well as the entire State. While he perhaps yields to no man in his attachment to party, his votes and speeches are evidently dictated by honest conviction and regard for that which is due to his constituents. He makes no pretensions to oratory, but he is, nevertheless, a clear and cogent speaker, and has the faculty of presenting his views sensibly and gracefully, and frequently takes part in debates on general questions. He has been very successful in business and ranks with the wealthy and prosperous men of Delaware county, while he is highly esteemed for his social qualities.
E. Walker Griffis, proprietor of the Hancock House, with livery stable attached, and dealer in coal, is a native of the township of Forest Lake, Pa., and was born on the 19th of October, 1844. He came in 1853 from his native place to Hancock. He married Mary J. Doyle, of this town. He was a justice of the peace from 1872 to 1877, and was supervisor of the town in 1878
Malsa Johnson, clerk of the Hancock House, was born august 10th, 1854, in Sweden, and in 1873 came from that county to Hancock.
Allen S. Gibbs was born July 15th, 1830, in Worcester, Otsego county. In 1832 his parents, Richard B. and Phebe Wickham Gibbs, removed to Harpersfield and purchased a portion of the old homestead (lots 33 and 34), where they resided till 1841, when they rented the farm, removed to the Center and engaged in trade, but disliking the business returned to the farm in 1843. The son, however, liked the business better than his father did, and in 1846 entered a store at Kortright Center as clerk for his uncle, Cyrenus Gibbs, jr. In 1847 the uncle started another store at Harpersfield, and Allen S., then seventeen years old, was sent to manage it; which he did for one year, when his uncle closed the business at Kortright and came to Harpersfield. In the winter of 1848-49 Cyrenus went to California, and Allen purchased the stock of goods and continued the business till 1856, when he sold his store and goods., He married Jennette, eldest daughter of Mr. Abram Van Dusen, October 13th, 1851. In 1857 he purchased a farm near his father (parts of lots 35 and 36), where he lived till the death of his father, in 1867, when he removed to the homestead, where he now resides. He is considered a man of fair ability, and has creditably held the offices of supervisor, town clerk, justice of the peace, collector of internal revenue, etc.; and the knowledge acquired in his various avocations has given him the reputation of being a very capable business man. He mainly furnished the history of Harpersfield for the present volume.
Martin Keeler, son of Jabez Keeler, was born at Ridgefield, Conn., July 3d, 1781. He came to Kortright with his parents in the year 1800, being then nineteen years of age. While a mere boy he gave evidence that he possessed those rare business qualities for which he became so famous in after life. In his early boyhood he was employed as a sailor, sailing between the United States and the West Indies. the knowledge gained by traveling in foreign countries, together with his far-seeing sagacity, enabled him to derive large profits from trade whenever an opportunity made it possible. He was noted for making former experience bear on present undertakings. At the commencement of the war of 1812 he purchased large quantities of salt. He foresaw that the war would cause an advance on the necessaries of life. The salt did not lose its savor, for it saved its possessor a large sum of money. On arriving in Kortright Center he was first employed in a mill; later he was engaged as a teacher. He was among the first teachers in the town. He was married to Patience Mace in 1802. He engaged in mercantile business at Kortright Center in 1805. He remained there until 1817, when he purchased the farm known as the Keeler homestead, on the Delaware, where he resided until he died, April 1st, 1860. When St. Lawrence Lodge, No. 90, of F. & A. M. was formed at Kortright Center, in 1802 young Keeler was among its charter members. He was several times master of that lodge, and was present at the last meeting it ever held, in 1829, when the Morgan excitement was at its height. Sagacity, independence and firmness were leading traits in his character. With a strong desire to acquire property and public position, he naturally came to the front in business and politics. As a politician he belonged to the Jeffersonian school of Democrats. He was an ardent supporter of Jackson in his early manhood, and cherished those principles through his declining years,. He represented his town several years as supervisor, was elected member of assembly in 1817, and was three times sheriff of the county. The unfortunate man Nathan Foster was hung in 1819, when our subject was sheriff. Mr. Keeler was judge of the county several years. He resigned his judgeship in 1837, thus ending a long and eventful public life,. Judge Keeler was thoroughly a self-made man. His education, beyond the elements, consisted in what he gained from experience with the world.
PHILO F. BENEDICT was born in Meredith, March 11th, 1834. His father Martin G., was a native of Connecticut, born April 15th 1800. He was a farmer, and came to Delaware county in May, 1807. He settled near the center of Meredith. He was married March 12th, 1820, to Mira Ann Flint, who was born in 1807. Four children were born to them--three sons and a daughter. Philo was the third child. He was educated at the common schools. At the age of twenty-one he commenced business for himself near where he now resides., and he has pursued farming as his principal occupation. He was married June 11th, 1856, to Isabel Gibson, daughter of a farmer in Kortright. Two children were born to them--Martin and Ashman, of whom only Ashman survives. Later Mr. Benedict was called to mourn the loss of the wife of his youth. In 1861 he married Susan A. Reid, of Croton. Mrs. Benedict was educated in the common schools, and for a time attended Franklin academy. Her parents were natives of Perthshire, Scotland, and were farmers. Her father lived to the age of seventy-eight, and her mother to the age of eighty-five. They were early settlers in Delaware county, and highly esteemed. By his second wife Mr. Benedict has two children--Augustus Reid and Susan B. His grandfather was a farmer and an early settler in Delaware county. He was born in 1776, and was a soldier in the war of 1812. He came from Connecticut, and married Betsey Green in 1798. He came to Meredith with his son, Martin G. Mr. P. F. Benedict is a Republican in politics. Himself and wife are attendants of the United Presbyterian church in West Kortright, of which he is a trustee. Mr. Benedict was trained to habits of industry and economy. He now owns four hundred and sixty acres of land, and is one of the most extensive farmers in the county, in connection with which he is largely engaged in buying and selling stock. His farm is finely tilled and productive. The buildings are unusually handsome and extensive, and much admired for their style and arrangement; and, in connection with the condition of the farm, prove the owner a model farmer. His home, of which we print an illustration, bears evidence of prosperity, and is furnished with the appliances of comfortable and refined life. In all his undertakings he is ably assisted by an estimable and prudent wife. He is a careful business man, honest and upright, and hospitable alike to friend and stranger. although actively engaged in business, he finds time for improvement in reading from a well selected library of books and periodicals.
MILTON BOSTWICK was born at Meredith, N. Y., on the 4th of march, 1808,. His father, Ammon Bostwick, was a native of Newtown, Conn., and by occupation a farmer, and his wife was also a native of Connecticut; her maiden name was Lucinda Stilson, and she was a daughter of Nathan Stilson, who moved into this county at an early date and was one of the pioneer settlers of the town of Meredith. The Bostwick family is of English and Scotch descent. Ammon Bostwick settled in the town of Meredith in 1794, buying a large tract in the central part of the town, which he improved, then sold it and located in the town of Franklin, where he resided until his death. Jabez Bostwick, a brother of Ammon, was sheriff of the county two terms and county judge a long term of years. Milton Bostwick was born on the farm on which he now resides. He was one of a family of three children and received his education at the common schools and Delaware Academy. At the age of thirty-three he married Jane E. Smith, a resident of the town and a woman of much intelligence, who was for a time a teacher in Steuben county, N. Y. They had three children. Ammon , the eldest, married Anise Yendes, of Hamden; Jennie A. became the wife of Daniel Munn, of Croton, and Robert G. married Della Hine and resides at Lowell, Mich. Mr. Bostwick is a staunch Democrat, and represented the county in the Legislature in 1843, being elected by 1,200 majority; He is a member of the Episcopal church at Franklin, and of Delhi Lodge F. and A. M. His wife is a member of the Baptist church at Croton. They reside in one of the most pleasant homes in the county, surrounded by friends who esteem them very highly for their Christian worth and liberality toward all charitable objects. Mr. Bostwick is known as a man of liberal and progressive ideas, scrupulously honest and foremost in all efforts for the advancement of the welfare of the community.
JOHN B. MCNAUGHTON was born in Pike, Wyoming county, N. Y., Septemger 29th, 1830. His father, John McNaughton, was born in Argyle, Washington county, N. Y., December 12th, 1792, of Scottish parentage, and in June, 1827, married Sarah Blakely, of Kortright, to which town he had come the year before. He removed to Pike in 1827, to Michigan four years later, and the next year returned to Delaware county. He died July 18th, 1870, and his wife March 23d, 1856. Our subject has lived in Meredith since 1837. December 15th, 1852, he married Tarisa C. Shaver, and they have had four boys and two girls; Johnnie, the third son, died May 9th, 1877, in his seventh year. Mr. McNaughton has been a republican since the formation of that party.
JOHN S. MUNSON was born in Schoharie county, N. Y., April 27th, 1808. He was the first son of Peter Munson, and remained with his father until twenty-one years of age,. He attended district school four years. In 1820 he came to the town of Harpersfield with his father, who brought a farm there; which, after cultivating it two years, owing to a defective title he was compelled to vacate, losing his time and labor. The family then removed to Davenport. In 1829 John S. commenced business for himself by seeking employment by the month as a laborer. In 1833 he married Miss Eliza Brown, the first daughter of Luke Brown, a resident of Meredith. Five children were born to them--Emily H., September 28th,1834; George F., October 14th, 1835; Stephen B., July 3d, 1830; Milton D., July 24th, 1841; Eliza M., January 11th 1845. In 1836 Mr. Munson bought one hundred and twenty-nine acres of the farm where he now resides. The improvements consisted of a small frame house and two small log barns, and but a few acres of cleared land. He borrowed $400 to make the first payment, having no means of his own. In ten years he had paid for his farm and added thirty-five acres more. His first wife died July 2nd, 1859. She was a member of the Presbyterian church, a kind mother and a loving wife. Mr. Munson was married December 23d. 1862. to Miss Jane Mcfarlin. She was born in Scotland, May 17th, 1830, and came to America with her parents in 1851 and settled in Meredith. They have had two children--Cora B., born November 12th, 1863, and Frederick J., January 9th, 1871. Mr. Munson has always been a strong Democrat, and takes a deep interest in polities. He owns a fine farm of two hundred and eighty acres. a view of his premises will be seen in one of our plates.
A. W. THOMPSON. -- The farm of A. W. Thompson was first owned by Ezekiel Whitlock, Esq., who was born in Ridgefield, Conn., in 1786; was married to Eliza Andrews in 1811, and moved to this farm about that time. He cleared and improved the farm, followed the lumbering business, and became quite an extensive shipper. He established one of the first machine shops in the county, for making axes and scythes by means of a trip hammer. N. R. Thompson was born in Connecticut, January 5th, 2809, and took possession of the farm in 1833. He also carried on farming and lumbering. He was married to Caroline C. Whitlock, in 1835. He died in February, 1865. A. W. Thompson was born February 22nd, 1839, and married in 1873 S. Emma Munn, of Michigan. He was educated in the common schools, and for a time attended Laurel Bank Seminary, at Deposit. He was a farmer until 1864, when he made a trip to California, where he remained one year, then returned home on account of his father's death. In 1872 he engaged in the grain business at Manchester, Iowa. In 1873 he returned to the old homestead, where he has since resided. He is a Democrat. Himself and wife are members of the M. E. church at Delhi. The family of which Mr. Thompson is a member were pioneers of Delaware county, and assisted in its development, always ranking among the successful, esteemed and useful members of society.
Dr. Samuel Decker came to Griffin's Corners in November, 1863, from his native town, Broome, Schoharie county, N. Y. He was born July 21st, 1839, and married Mary E. Lasher, of Middletown, this county.
JACOB VAN BENSCHOTEN, father of William and grandfather of Jacob, the last of whom owns a large farm a mile south of New Kingston, was of Dutch descent, but born in America. When eighteen he enlisted in the Revolutionary army, and served until the surrender of Cornwallis. Sometime after this he removed to a farm in the vicinity of Margaretville, where he lived for a time. He next turned his attention to the broad wooded valley of New Kingston, and was the first man to grapple with the monster maples and waving pines that grew there. As he penetrated the dense wilderness westward from the settlement on the east branch he took the precaution to blaze the trees, that he might know his way back; and years afterward this lonely path was called by other settlers Uncle Jacob's road. He suffered all the hardships of a new country. For several years the nearest flouring-mill was Kingston or Woodstock, forty to fifty miles distant. There being no roads, grists had to be carried on horses, and sometimes on the backs of men. The denizens of the forest, too, wolves, bears, and panthers, were a great annoyance, and they preyed frequently upon domestic animals especially sheep. But in spite of all these difficulties Mr. Van Benschoten toiled on, and at his death left a good farm to be occupied by his son. William, who died at the age of thirty-eight leaving four sons and three daughters, only four of whom are now living. Jacob Van Benschoten was born in 1824; was married to Barbary Johnston, of Bovina, in 1846 and has three children - William, born in 1847, Alexander, in 1849, and Almira, in 1854.
THE KEATOR FAMILY.
By John F. Keator.
Early in the 18th century history finds the Keator family in Marbletown, Ulster county, N.Y. Tradition traces their ancestry to Holland. John, born 1737, died in his eighty-ninth year. His father was shot by the Indians. Galled at this murderous deed, the son, Hannibul-like, swore eternal vengeance against the natives, the faithful execution of which went far toward forcing westward the still treacherous race.
Cornelius, John's eldest son, was born in 1761. He married Elizabeth Krom, removed to Roxbury with his family and settled on the beautiful farm, then a dense forest, now occupied by his son. Jacob C. Cornelius died in his ninety-fourth year, at his son's home, which had for many years been his own. That son, Abram J. Keator, was the youngest of a family of seven, and it is his family which is the subject of this sketch. A beautiful monument erected to his memory in that town says: "Born in Roxbury, June 13th, 1814. Died April 21st, 1877." He was what is commonly known as a self-made man. At twenty-three he was without worldly means save the brawn and brain which he had assiduously cultivated. Fired with the zeal, enterprise and thrift so prominently developed later in life, he now decided, as he forcibly expressed it, "to strike out for himself." Deprived of the tender offices of a mother in his infancy, he naturally sought companionship among the sterner sex. The boys, and afterward young men of the township, were his associates, and early learned to respect his high moral worth. His decision of character and dignified bearing soon pointed him out as a leader. He was accordingly chosen captain of the State militia which title followed him through life. His company was famous for its skill in tactics, promptness and general good appearance. His stentorian voice was always heeded as it resounded through the ranks of his men. At the age of twenty-seven he concluded arrangements to enter the mercantile business with the late Thomas Keator, of Cortland. By dint of circumstances he was dissuaded from this, and being of more vigorous temperament, he turned his attention to agriculture. He bought the farm described in the center of the accompanying cut, in the year 1843. With the working capital of a strong arm and determined heart, he undertook the then onerous task of paying for that farm of three hundred acres. He afterward added to it three adjoining ones, and by industry and perseverance made them all his own, with a handsome competency beside. In 1844 he married Ruth Frisbee, second daughter of John Frisbee, a prominent, highly respected and intelligent citizen of Roxbury. A sweeter and more amiably disposed wife never adorned a household. The happy pair were blessed with three sons - Charles Gorse, born April 28th, 1846; John Frisbee, April 16th, 1850 and Bruce Smith, June 26th, 1854. Heaven smiled upon this family. After thirty - three years of domestic felicity, suddenly the two younger sons are summoned home from college, and a devoted family are forced to mourn the loss of a beloved and indulgent husband and father. Abram J. Keator was a man of extraordinary intelligence, keen perception, accurate judgement and wonderful force of character; slow to form an opinion but when formed was generally reliable and unbiased. This was evinced in his being often chosen umpire or arbitrator in matters of legal controversy, though he always avoided altercations. A man of extensive business, as he was, he never had a lawsuit. He dealt fairly with all men, and expected reciprocity. When this was not shown he manifested the veriest displeasure, and he ever held in the supremest contempt an act of duplicity and chicane. He was known throughout the county as one of its best financiers and men of business. Conservative in his views, yet ready to give way to measures of reform and progress, he opposed bonding the town of Roxbury for a projected railroad, arguing that the capitalists who reaped the ultimate benefit of the enterprise should bear the burden of its construction. The wisdom of his advice has since been realized. He yielded gracefully to the majority, however, and when bonds were placed upon the town by the suffrages of the people he was by them chosen commissioner to represent the interests of the town in relation to the road. In religion he was a Methodist - a devoted member and a liberal supporter of that church. He was a temperance man: had a strong taste for liquor yet never indulged. Among his last words to the writer he said the saddest and most-to-be-regretted act of his life was performed when, as excise commissioner, he was obliged to sign licenses to dispense poison to his fellows. He lived in a town far from liberal in its views; nevertheless, he was a friend to liberal education. His was not the stereotyped answer of the bigoted parent to his ambitious child's appeal for advancement in mental culture:- "Your present advantages are better than mine were, and I have always gotten along". On the contrary, he said: "My son, the more education you acquire the better I am pleased, if you apply it to good uses."
Ruth Keator, his wife, still survives. Modesty causes the writer to hesitate in sketching an outline of this life: not only because its subject is still living, but the most brilliant picture of a life of quiet, earnest devotion to the family she loves so dearly would but faintly portray the real beauty of this model of lives. The theme is worthy an abler pen. The pattern of a true mother. And how full of meaning is that word! The sharer of our childish burdens, the comforter of our sorrows. Never a harsh word for any one, much less for those she loved and so fondly cherished. Though never commanding she always governed. Like the pure, blessed air of heaven she permeates the whole household, refreshing, sweetening, invigorating. The same gentle hand that smoothed the pathway of helpless infancy comforted the last sad hours of a departing husband and father. To this family the name "mother" is a sacred one, honored, sweet and powerful - a fee simple to the heart and brain.
Charles G. Keator was educated at Roxbury Academy. He assisted his father in conducting his business, and largely by his earnest and determined effort the extensive tract of land of which at his father's death he became sole proprietor has become one of the most productive farms in that region. He is a man of more than ordinary business capacity, and of eminent honesty and integrity. Under his skillful direction results the most satisfactory have been realized, both at home and in his business relations. His unassuming manner, generosity, fair commercial dealings and general good fellowship make him a favorite in the town. May 2nd, 1870, he married Rose Mayham, one of a family of fourteen children of Cornelius and Julia Mayham. She is a lady of intelligence, with active industrious habits, and is highly esteemed in the community. Their home is cheered by the presence of two children, Harry M. and Anna.
John F. Keator saw the light as above stated, and from that day longed to see more of the world than was afforded in the limited confines of his native town. His first trip "away to school" was made in his eighteenth year. He taught school the winters of '68, '69 and 70, at the same time getting ready for more advanced study. After a few terms spent at Stamford Seminary he repaired to East Hampton, Mass. (Williston Seminary), where he graduated in two years. He then entered as freshman at Yale, and received the degree of B. A. in 1877. He studied law with James H. Heverin, of Philadelphia, at the same time attending lectures at the University of Pennsylvania, where he received his diploma as LL. B., and was admitted to the Philadelphia bar in June, 1879. He soon after formed copartnership with E. S. Reed, an eminent lawyer from Dover, Del. At this writing they are practicing their profession in Philadelphia.
Bruce S. Keator, the younger of this family, was ever a precocious youth, and early conceived the idea of a liberal education. He joined his brother at "Williston" in the fall of '72. While there he was distinguished for his forensic powers, taking many prizes, several of which his brother before him had taken. He again joined his brother at Yale in '75, and completed his course in '79. Here also he excelled in oratory, and athletic sports as well, capturing various medals and prizes. He carried off the first premium in oratory in his sophomore year, was captain and stroke of his class crew, and rowed in the Yale-Harvard boat race. He is a member of the Scroll and Key Society, one of the highest honors that can be conferred upon a Yale student by his fellows. He is now in the homoeopathic college, New York city, attending allopathic lectures at the same time, and expects to graduate from both schools; when, it is to be presumed, he will be thoroughly competent to enter upon the duties of his profession.
CHARLES HARLEY is a native and life-long resident of Roxbury. He was born September 11th, 1820, and married Miss Gertrude Burhans, also of Roxbury. For the past twenty-five years he has been engaged in the mercantile business. He was elected supervisor of the town of Roxbury in 1860.
WILLIAM D. HOUSE, proprietor of the Delaware Valley House, Roxbury, was born January 5th, 1846, in Sparta, Sussex county, N.J. He married Miss Frances E. Drew, of Vernon, in that county. He came to Roxbury from Middletown, Orange county, N. Y., June 14th, 1872.
PATRICK F. HUBBELL is a farmer and general mechanic and machinist, and keeps a summer boarding house Roxbury. He was born March 4th, 1830, in Middletown, N.Y., and married Frances M. Kilpatrick, of Roxbury. He was drafted in September, 1863, during the civil war, but exempted for physical disability. Being again drafted in June, 1864, he paid $300 commutation.
ECHO FARM AND ITS OCCUPANTS, - Echo Farm was occupied about the year 1794 by Samuel Andrews, who came from Fairfield county, Conn. He married M. Elizabeth Mariam, who also came from Connecticut. He built the first frame house in the county, from timber cut on the ground where the house was placed, the country then being a wilderness. Mr. Andrews died October 10th, 1838, aged seventy-two years. His wife, a woman of great energy and courage, survived him many years. She died October 12th, 1865 aged ninety years and one month. To them were born twelve sons and two daughters. One of the sons, Daniel Andrews, succeeded his father on the farm. He married in 1843 Isabel Ann McDonald, who died April 27th, 1859, aged thirty-nine years. Two children were born to them - Mary H. and John T. Andrews. Mr. Andrews was married the second time to Mrs. Clarissa B. Sharpe, of Stamford, Conn. He died September 21st, 1871. He was upright and honest in all his dealings, and respected by all who knew him. Daniel Andrews was succeeded by De Witt C. Sharpe, who was born in New York city, July 19th, 1844. In 1865 he was married to Mary H. Andrews, of Stamford, N.Y. Soon after he engaged in the mercantile business at Hobart, N. Y., which he carried on successfully until the death of his father-in-law, Daniel Andrews, when he moved to Echo Farm, having been appointed executor of the estate. Mr. Sharpe is a man of firmness and decision of character, and a zealous and enterprising farmer, never failing in what he undertakes.
Mrs. A. A. FOOTE, whose charming residence at Hobart, "Maple Bank," is the subject of one of our plates, is the widow of Mr. Charles Foote. He was born September 30th, 1802, in Newtown, Conn., and came from that town to this State in 1805. He married Miss Augusta A. Marvin, of Waterville, now Hobart. He was a farmer and a dealer in butter and cattle. He died May 12th, 1875.
COLONEL EDWARD Z. C. JUDSON, familiar to innumerable readers of romantic literature as "Ned Buntline," was born near the source of the Delaware river in 1823. The first marked tastes which he developed were those of the sportsman, and they were encouraged by the wilderness surroundings of his birthplace and of his early home in Wayne county, Pa. While still a boy he acquired a good measure of the skill with the rifle which has always distinguished him. His adventurous spirit led him at the age of thirteen to join the United States navy as a midshipman, and only two years later we find him participating in the Seminole war in Florida. One of his adventures there was the killing of a jaguar or southern panther. Soon after this Indian war Mr. Judson entered the employ of the Northwest Fur Company, and in the famous Yellowstone region found abundant scope for sporting adventure and extended his familiarity with Indian character, which enabled him to draw on memory as well as imagination in his future literary work. He served gallantly through the Mexican war under Scott and Taylor, and in 1856 located in the Adirondack region of New York, where his remarkable skill and boldness as a sportsman made him universally famous, such characteristics being those best appreciated there. Colonel Judson's Adirondack home bore the name Eagle's Nest, which he has transferred to his elegant residence at Stamford, of which we give a view elsewhere. He was from an early period in the history of the Knickerbocker one of its leading contributors, and his tales and sketches have in more recent times been the most attractive feature of the weekly story papers of New York. After the close of the Rebellion, in which Colonel Judson served with honor to himself and the Union cause, he retired again to private life at his charming home, Eagle's Nest, and devoted his attention more zealously to literary pursuits.
MRS. PHEBE J. HUGUINER, formerly Miss Phebe J. Vail, was born in Middletown, Orange county, N.Y., April 15th, 1811. On the 17th of January, 1827, at Port Jervis, N. Y., she was married to Vincent Huguiner, of Amsterdam, Montgomery county, N.Y. He served in the war of 1812, and died March 7th, 1872, at Deposit, where Mrs. Huguiner is now keeping a hotel.
JAMES A. KENYON, the third son of Simeon P. Kenyon, a farmer, was born in Clermont, Columbia county, N.Y., September 2nd, 1819. He attended the common school winters, until about twenty years of age. In 1839 he attended the academy at Gallupville, Schoharie County. In 1841 he commenced teaching district school in Columbia County. This he continued two years and a half; then entered a dry goods store in Albany county as clerk, where he remained about eighteen months; then purchased an interest in a tannery in the same county. This business he continued till 1863, when he moved to Cannonsville and purchased the Trout Creek Tannery of Devereux & Tanner, where he still continues the business. He was married in 1847 to Miss Olivia Devereux, who was a native of Albany county, born September 8th, 1822. She was the only daughter of Alvin Devereux, a member of the Presbyterian church. Her death occurred June 9th, 1839 (sic) (probably should be 1859). In 1865 Mr. Kenyon married Miss Addie Tanner, also a native of Albany County. She was born in 1834, and was the third daughter of Job and Harriet Tanner. Two children were born to them - Addie O., 9 June, 1866, and James H., in July, 1872. Mr. and Mrs. Kenyon are both members of the Presbyterian church of Tompkins. Mr. Kenyon was supervisor of Tompkins in 1871-73, 1876 and 1877. He is a Democrat, and takes an interest in advocating the principles he professes. In the management of his extensive business he has been cautious and successful. Unassuming in manner, he has won the respect and esteem of his fellow citizens.
EDGAR B. OWENS was the first son of William K. Owens, whose father, John Owens, settled in Tompkins in 1791 and died in 1857, aged eighty-five. He was born in Tompkins, March 17th, 1840. He attended district school until sixteen years old; then the Delaware Literary Institute at Franklin eighteen months. He then formed a partnership with A. G. Owens, and entered the dry goods business at Cannonsville, which he continued until 1878. August 2nd, 1866, he married Miss Katharine (sic) McGibbon, a native of Delhi, born October 16th, 1839. Her mother was a native of Scotland, and Mrs. Owens came to America with her parents. Four children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Owens - Isabella E., July 4th, 1867; Hattie K., May 25th, 1870; Ernest B., June 23rd, 1873; and Robert C., March 21st, 1875. The parents are members and liberal supporters of the Presbyterian Church at Cannonsville. Mr. Owens was chosen supervisor of Tompkins in 1865, when twenty-four years of age, which office he held for four successive years. He was appointed postmaster of Cannonsville in 1863, and again in 1869, and still holds the office. In politics he is a Republican, and takes an active part. As a business man, by habits of industry and honorable dealing he has acquired a handsome property. A few years ago he purchased the homestead residence of the Hon. Benjamin Cannon, deceased, whose father, of the same name, owned the land and gave the name of Cannonsville to the place, which had previously been called, first Milton and afterward Dickinson's City, from the first settler, Jesse Dickinson, who settled the place in 1786, and who sold to B. Cannon about 1795.
EDWIN R. HOWLAND was born in the town of Hamden, January 28th, 1830. His father Elias B. Howland, a farmer, was also a native of Hamden. His mother, whose maiden name was Fannie Mallory, was a native of Connecticut. Both parents were of English descent. Mr. Howland acquired his education in the district schools. He remained on his father's farm until the age of twenty-one; then removed to the town of Walton, where he has ever since resided. In 1852 he was married to Margaret A. McDonald, of Walton. Her parents were natives of Scotland, and settled in Cumberland county, N.C. Here Mrs. Howland was born, in 1831. In 1835 her parents removed to Delaware county. Six children were born to them (five of whom are living) - Elias B., Fannie J., Thompson Pollock, Ella, Edgar R., and Owen L. Fannie J. is a teacher by profession and a graduate of Walton Academy. Mr. and Mrs. Howland are attendants and supporters of the Reformed Presbyterian church of Walton. They reside on one of the finest farms in the town, a view of which appears on another page. Their home and surroundings bear evidence that they conduct the business of farming pleasantly and profitably.