Delaware County, NY Genealogy and History Site
Biographical Review - 1895
The Leading Citizens of Delaware County, NY
This volume contains Biographical Sketches of The Leading Citizens of Delaware County New York
Biography is the home aspect of history
Biographical Review Publishing Company 1895
Section 11 - pages 499 through 550
THOMAS ELLIOTT HASTINGS
, the oldest businessman in Bovina Centre, Delaware County, was born in the town of Bovina on the first day of April, 1829, and was a son of James. M. and Elizabeth (Elliott) Hastings.
Mr. Elliott's grandfather, John Hastings, who was born in England, came to America, and made his home for some years in Albany, where his son James M. was born about 1797. In 1798 the family removed to the town of Bovina. Here they acquired some wild land, mostly woods, in which bears, wolves, and deer abounded, agreeing to pay the rent for it in wheat. It was in school district No. 14, then known as the town of Delhi. The grandfather cleared a portion of this place, which is still owned by the Hastings family, built a log house, and became an innkeeper as well as a farmer. It was not till 1813, during the last war with Great Britain, that the town was laid out, the first town meeting being held on October 28 of that year. The school-house was furnished with fuel by the farmers, in proportion to the number of scholars sent by their families. Bovina was separated from Delhi in 1820. The pioneer and his wife were Presbyterian church members. He died at a good old age, leaving three sons-- James Madison, John, and Thomas. John Hastings was killed by the fall of a tree which he was hewing down. Their brother Thomas Hastings went to Texas before its annexation to the United States and fought in the Mexican War, but died in Cincinnati, Ohio, on his way home.
James M. Hastings was brought to Bovina by his parents when very young. Here he grew to manhood, and here he always lived on the same estate, much respected and revered with increasing length of days. In all he cleared two hundred and fifty acres of its timber, and gradually brought the place into order for general agriculture, though with special reference to dairy work. His wife, Elizabeth Elliott, a Scotchwoman bore him four daughters and three sons, of whom five are yet alive. One of the daughters, Magdalen Hastings, living in Kortright, is the widow of James Miller. Janet is the widow of Andrew Armstrong, of the town of Andes. Elizabeth resides in Bovina, the wife of William T. Miller. The two surviving sons are Thomas Elliott and his brother, James Edward Hastings, who resides on the old homestead. The father lived to a serene old age. He was a Republican in politics from the time the party started, and had held minor town offices; but the mother, who, like her husband, was a Presbyterian church member, died in 1865, having been born with the century. James M. Hastings died September 15, 1892, lacking three months of his ninety-seventh birthday.
Thomas E. Hastings was born on the homestead, went to the district school, and lived at home till 1852, when he was nearly twenty-three years of age. Then he took up his residence in Bovina Centre, where he opened a store for general merchandise, beginning with a stock worth only twelve hundred dollars. At this time he was in partnership with James Elliott. Two years later, in 1854, Mr. Elliott sold out to W. D. Telford, and the new alliance lasted six years. Then, in 1860, Mr. Hastings bought Mr. Telford's share, and for five years carried on the business alone. In 1866 Mr. J. K. Hood joined him, and they worked together two years, till 1868. Then came another change. This time it was the senior partner who sold out to the junior, Mr. Hood. Mr. Hastings retiring from trade for nearly two years. In 1870 he put up new buildings, where he opened a store which he carried on till 1893, when he sold out to A. T. Doig: who still owns it. There are not many older traders than Mr. Hastings in the county. Though no longer selling general merchandise. he deals in agricultural implements, cattle feed, and land fertilizers. In all his busy years he never kept a clerk, he and his partners preferring to do the work themselves; yet in his last year as a storekeeper the business amounted to forty thousand dollars.
In 1859, at the age of thirty, he was married to Jane S. Blair, a daughter of Peter Blair, one of the early settlers of Bovina. Mrs. Hastings died at forty-five years of age, in 1886, leaving five children, who all received an excellent education. James Blair Hastings. born in 1860, and a graduate of Hamilton College, is a professor in Franklin. Elmer Ellsworth Hastings, born in 1862, lives in Bovina. He is a graduate of Poughkeepsie Business College. William Elliott Hastings graduated from the Franklin Institute, and is now a clerk in Delhi. Milton Hastings is a pupil at the same school. Their sister, Jennie Mabel Hastings, is at home. Their father is a Republican, and was several years Town Clerk. He is a reliable Presbyterian, as was Mrs. Hastings. Mr. Hastings is never without some good story to tell of the early days of the town; for he is well informed about everything and everybody in town, and can narrate the history of four generations.
As may be seen from this account of him, Thomas E. Hastings is a very self-reliant man, who might adopt as his own the saying of the celebrated author of "Don Quixote," "He is best served who has no occasion to put the hands of others at the end of his arms." His portrait, with that of his daughter, Jennie Mabel, is a pleasing accompaniment of this outline sketch of his life.
GEORGE AUGUSTUS JUDD
, a much respected citizen, and widely known as one of the largest landowners of Middletown, Delaware County, N.Y., is a native of that place, his birth having occurred there August 11, 1825. He is the son of Truman and Lucy (Johnson) Judd, his paternal grandparents being Demas and Elizabeth Judd. The grandfather, Demas Judd, was born in Schoharie County, and was a prosperous farmer, a Whig in politics, and a soldier of the Revolutionary War. He lived to be over eighty years old, his wife being eighty-two at the time of her death. A family of seven children were born to this worthy couple; namely, Demas, Hamilton, Parmalee, Anthony, Marena, Marvin, and Truman. The last named, father of Augustus, was born April 30, 1800. He learned the art of dressing cloth, and found employment in Halcottsville, in Woodstock, Ulster County, Olive, Greene County, and various other places. At last he bought a farm for himself at Red Kill, now owned by George G. Kelly. This he greatly improved, and sold within five years, moving to another farm about a mile away. After residing here some years, he bought a farm in Lexington, Greene County, and lived there ten years. During this time he lost his wife, who died at the age of seventy. Since leaving Lexington, he has resided in Bushnellville, Ulster County, and has now attained the remarkable age of ninety-four. He is a Republican in politics, and is held in high esteem by his fellow-townsmen, who, during his active career, called upon him to fill several town offices. His wife was Lucy, daughter of Luther Johnson, a Revolutionary patriot and soldier. Their family of seven children inherited the sterling qualities of their ancestors, both in independence of mind and business ability, each rearing a family, whose respective members were in their turn prominent and valuable citizens in the localities where they settled. They were as follows: Emily, who married Eli Jenkins, and died, leaving five children; G. Augustus; Demas, who chose for his wife Caroline Garrison, and removed to Minnesota, and had a family of eight children; Elizabeth, who became the wife of Henry G. Cartright, removed with her husband to Illinois, and is the mother of four children; William, who settled in Athens, Greene County, N.Y., and married Hannah Winter, and has one child; Truman, who took to wife Margaret Mabee, and lives in Bushnellville, having two children; Lucy A., who married James Sharp, and went to Illinois, and has two children.
G. Augustus Judd grew to manhood in his native town. Of the first three hundred dollars he earned he lost two hundred by the failure of his employer; but, not discouraged, he kept on in the path which was to lead to success. He began business for himself at the age of nineteen, farming and dealing in cattle and horses, for which he found a market in Dutchess County, but finally buying a farm at Red Kill. This was the beginning of his investments in real estate and in the accumulation of property, in which he has since been so successful. After buying and selling various farms, his operations extending over a period of fifty years, he is now the owner of one thousand acres of land, most of which is highly cultivated and improved. This he has accomplished by enterprise, industry, and good management.
November 5, 1884, he married Nancy J. Osterhoudt, daughter of Solomon and Nancy Ann (Bookhoudt) Osterhoudt. Her father, Solomon Osterhoudt, was born in Woodstock, Ulster County, N.Y., and was engaged in the clothing business at Clovesville, Delaware County, N.Y. He married Nancy Ann, daughter of John Bookhoudt, one of the first settlers of Roxbury, and the father of nine children, by name James, Margaret, Sarah, Sidney, Anthony W., Augusta, Jackson, Albert, and Nancy Jane. The maternal grandmother of Mrs. Judd, Nancy Ann Bookhoudt, was born in Ireland.
Mr. and Mrs. Judd have two children: Harold O., born April 10, 1888; and A. Hillis, born November 2, 1891. Mr. Judd is a prominent man in Middletown, and highly esteemed for his personal qualities. He has lived an industrious life, making the best of his opportunities; and his example is worthy of emulation by the rising generation. His home is at Griffin's Corners, where he lives a retired life.. He takes an interest in politics, and is a warm supporter of the Republican party. In his religion he is liberal in his views, taking little interest in dogmatic theology, but striving so to live as to have a conscience "void of offence toward God and man."
, a much respected farmer of Hancock, Delaware County, N.Y., was born December 2, 1818, at Cannonsville, in the adjoining town of Tompkins. His father, Ebenezer Darrow, a descendant of an old family who were among the first settlers of New England, was born in New London, Conn., and followed the trade of carpenter and joiner in Cannonsville and vicinity, having here located his home early in the nineteenth century. He married Electa Lowrey, daughter of Memucan Lowrey. Her father was also a carpenter and joiner, who followed that occupation all his days, and whose family were pioneers of the town of Tompkins, coming there from Connecticut about the year 1800. Ebenezer Darrow died in early manhood. leaving his wife with four children, namely: Joseph, the subject of this sketch; Nancy, who married Nelson Chamberlin, of Cannonsville; Catherine, who is unmarried, and since their mother's death has kept house for her brother Joseph; and Caroline, who married William LaBarr, of Hancock, Delaware County, and moved to Belvidere, Boone County, Ill. Mr. and Mrs. LaBarr have two children: Bradley B., hardware and stove dealer in Belvidere, who married a Miss Jones, of the same town; and Ella, who married a Mr. Cleveland, also a resident of Belvidere, Ill.
Joseph Darrow was educated at Cannonsvillle, and first worked in saw-mills, spending a part of his time farming for Daniel Chamberlin, of that town, the brother of Nelson Chainberlin. Joseph's mother married for a second husband Solomon Jones, of Hancock, and removed to the Jones homestead, which Joseph afterward bought from the heirs of his step-father. After Mr. Jones's death, in the spring of 1845, Joseph went to Hancock to work the farm for his mother. When not farming, much of his time was spent on the river, working as raftsman and steersman for Marvin Wheeler, then the most extensive lumber dealer in this section. He has been through many perilous adventures on the river, the Delaware raftsmen being noted far and wide as a hardy and brave class of men. Often in the roughest weather he was obliged to make the return journey from Philadelphia on foot, sometimes walking fifty miles in a day, carrying his purchases on his back. But in spite of these hardships he is now hale and hearty, and is highly esteemed by all who know him. Unmarried, he lives with his sister on the farm which he has won by his untiring industry. The natural beauty of his estate, which is pleasantly situated on the river, has been greatly increased by tasteful cultivation.
GEORGE G. KELLY
is the enterprising and prosperous proprietor of a five-hundred-acre farm on Batavia Kill, in the town of Roxbury. His grandparents were Edmond and Lovina (Liscomb)Kelly, the former of whom during the early part of his life worked on a farm in Putnam County. When the Revolutionary War broke out, he took up arms and went forth to the defence of his home and his country. Edmond Kelly served through the struggle for American independence, and then, with what worldly effects they could bring, plunged into the wilderness with his little family, and at length, after a long and toilsome march through the thick, entangled forests, infested with wild beasts, they reached what is now known as Roxbury. Four or five other families only were settled, so that they had to cope with the rough, rude forces of nature almost alone. The rifle and the axe were equally necessary while Mr. Kelly was erecting his first log house for the protection of his family. Often at night the stealthy step of the prowling panther could be heard as he made the rounds of the little cabin. Game was so plentiful that they lived for weeks on the flesh of deer and bears, and the fine trout which swarmed in the brooks. Mr. Kelly was an indefatigable worker, a man of great energy, with an iron constitution. Politically he was a Whig. He and his wife were both deeply religious. They were members of an old -school Baptist church, and brought up their ten children in that faith. These children were: Charles, William, Abigail, Amy, Martin, Ezekiel, Susan, Edmond Jr., Thomas and Hannah. Edmond Kelly lived to the age of eighty-six, and his wife to about the same age.
Martin Kelly was the second son of Edmond and was the father of George G. Kelly. Martin was born in Putnam County, and came Wet with the father, sharing the hardships, and afterward the blessings of the pioneer home. He assisted his father on the farm and when the opportunity came, worked for others and saved his earnings. When he was old enough he bought his father's farm and a piece of an adjoining one in addition. Martin had had some educational advantages in a district school, and he supplemented what he had there learned with so judicious a course of reading that he became a well-informed man. He had good business ability, his agricultural methods were the best, and he obtained excellent crops from his fields.
Martin Kelly married Alvira Stewart, who lived in Pennsylvania. She bore him eight children--- Edmond, Julia Ann, Syrenus, Stewart, Anna, Ezekiel, George G., and Abigail. As he had become very well-to-do, Martin sold the farm to his son, Edmond L., and moved to Griffin's Corners, where he lived a quiet life. He was a Republican, and held the offices of Supervisor and Constable of the town of Roxbury. Both Mr. and Mrs. Martin Kelly followed their early training, and were loyal members of the old-school Baptist church.
George G. Kelly was born March 18,1836, at Red Kill, on the farm now owned by E.L. Kelly. He received a good education at the red kill district school, and worked at home till he was of age. Then he worked for various people for six years. When he was twenty-seven, he purchased two hundred and seventy acres of and in Middletown. When he had owned this place but a short time, he was offered a price much higher than what he had paid for it, and accordingly, he sold out and bought one hundred and ninety-six acres near Griffin's Corners, owned by John Bookhout. Here he lived twenty years and ten months, putting up substantial buildings and making wise improvements. Finally he sold that estate, and bought his present splendid farm of five hundred acres on Batavia Kill, near the post office of Denver. He has greatly improved this farm since it came into his possession, and it is an interesting place to visit. It is well stocked, well watered and well cultivated. Mr. Kelly keeps seventy-five milch cows, and has large and roomy barns and several other buildings. His house is beautifully located facing the valley, commanding a wide vista of the neighboring farmlands.
At the age of twenty-seven, Mr. Kelly was united in marriage with Susan Carman, daughter of Richard and Sally (Covell) Carman, who cane from Fishkill on the Hudson. The Carmans were of English descent. Mrs. Carman was a daughter of Samuel and Eleanor Covell. Samuel Covell was born on Cape Cod, October 15, 1779. He died April 15, 1852. His wife Eleanor was born March 1, 1783, and died August 4, 1859. They had seven children--- Edwin, Electa, Caroline, Priscilla, Amanda, Mary, and Sally. Mr. and Mrs. Kelly have four sons, as follows: Derwood B.Kelly married Ida Johnson, lives at Griffin's Corners, and has one child. Delvern H., a farmer married Nettie Hinckley, and lives in Middletown. Ward Kelly lives at home, is a wide-awake, capable young man, and a great help to his father. Cornelius, named for his mother's brother, also lives at home, and is still in school.
Mr. George G. Kelly is a Republican. He is an Assessor of the town, and has always been active in politics and interested in the welfare of the community. He is hale and hearty, and has inherited a sound constitution, will no doubt live to a good old age, respected and beloved by his friends and fellow-citizens.
EPHRAIM DANIEL McKENNA, M.D.
, a successful medical practitioner of Walton, is a man of strong mental calibre, well endowed by nature, with the talents requisite to make him a leader among men. He was born and reared among the picturesque scenery of the Green Mountain State, his birth having occurred in the town of Goshen, Addison County, Vt., April 8, 1860. He is the scion of an ancient Scotch family, and the son of John McKenna, who was born in Canada in 1825.
John McKenna left his Canadian home when a small boy, and grew to manhood in Brandon, Vt., receiving his education in the public schools. In 1851 he was united in marriage with Miss Mary Hooker, a daughter of Samuel and Sarah (Joy) Hooker, the latter being a life long resident of Vermont. Mr. hooker was born in Massachusetts, and when a young man removed to Goshen, Vt., where he was one of the very earliest settlers, and built the first framed house erected within the town limits. Thirteen children were born to him and his wife, and eleven of these grew to maturity, the following being their record: Daniel, who settled in Goshen, married a distant relative, Fannie Hooker, of Cattaraugus County, New York Thomas, who remained single, died in Goshen. Joseph, now a resident of Goshen, married a Michigan lady. Heman, who enlisted as a soldier in the late Rebellion, is supposed to have been killed in battle. Rebecca, the wife of Nathan Capen, who has held the office of Town Clerk in Goshen for the past fifty years, died in that place. Sally is the wife of Noah Bisbee, of Brandon, Vt. Levina married Stillman Jones, for many years a hotel-keeper in West Rochester, Vt., but now a resident of LeRoy, Mo. Jane is the wife of Riley Blodgett, of Rochester, Vt. Susan, the wife of James Washburn, a farmer lives in Goshen. Laura died in early womanhood, unmarried. Mary is the wife of Mr. McKenna.
Mr. and Mrs. McKenna have spent the many years of their wedded life in the towns of Goshen and Sudbury, Vt., and are highly esteemed citizens. Five children besides the Doctor have been born to them, as follows: Mary J., the wife of Albert Sumner, a prosperous farmer, resides in Brandon, Vt. Annis R. is the wife of the reverend M.M. Mills, a Baptist minister in South Otselic, N.Y. Rev. Erwin J., pastor of the Union Square Baptist Church, Somerville, Mass., married Frankie Jordan, of Newburg, N.Y. Frank J., a railway postal clerk, running from Kansas City to Council Grove, Kan., married Alice Smith of Iola, Kansas. Thomas J., a graduate of the Boston School of Pharmacy, is at present in the drug business with C.E. Browne at Beverly, Mass.
Dr. McKenna received his collegiate education at Colgate University, in Hamilton, N.Y. having decided to adopt the profession of medicine, when twenty-two years of age, he became a student in the office of Dr. L. Haseltine, of Brandon, Vt. In 1885 and 1886 he attended two courses of lectures at the Albany Medical College, and subsequently continued his studies at the University of Vermont, receiving his diploma from that institution in 1887. Dr. McKenna then took an examination at Bellevue Hospital Medical College, in New York City, and there received a diploma. He very soon after began his professional career in the town of Hamden, in this county, where he remained until September 1893, when he came to Walton. He has here gained an extensive patronage, and has earned a reputation for professional skill of which a much older physician might well be proud. He is a man much esteemed in the medical fraternity, and is a valued member of the Delaware County Medical Society. He is a prominent member of the First Baptist Church of Walton, In politics, the doctor is a stanch supporter of Grover Cleveland, for whom he cast his first Presidential vote. He is a member of the Walton Lodge of A.F. & A.M. In 1891 he was a candidate for the office of County Coroner, running against a Republican majority of one thousand five hundred, and in the unequal contest went so far ahead of his ticket that he cut down the majority to one hundred and forty-three votes in a most emphatic manner his popularity in this section of the county. He is now Health Officer of Walton.
Dr. McKenna was married on February 23, 1887, to Miss Mary Traver. The daughter of Alvah Traver, a well-known attorney of Troy, N.Y. Their pleasant home has been brightened and cheered by the birth of two winsome children, namely: Florence, born September 29,1888, and Jessie, born August 12, 1890.
DAVID G. JENKINS
, a prosperous and well-known farmer of Union Grove in the town of Andes, was born in Roxbury, in the eastern part of Delaware County, March 26, 1845, son of James and Mary (Garrison) Jenkins. He was born on the old home farm, and removed when four years of age to Andes, where he grew to manhood, and was educated in the common schools of the town. When twenty years of age, he began lumbering, cutting timber for the manufacturers. He subsequently bought a farm, located one mile from the river on Barkerboom Creek, where he erected buildings, cleared his land and engaged in dairying. He now keeps thirteen fine Jersey cows, his dairy being one of the best in the vicinity.
In 1863 he married Julia M. Hanmer, by whom he has had nine children, namely Elmer R., who was born January 17, 1865; Egbert P., who was born May 29,1867, and died April 27, 1871; Ada I., who was born January 15, 1870, and married George P. Doolittle, of Fleischmanns, Middletown; Maggie M., who was born February 11, 1875; Mary E., who was born May 5, 1879; J. Garfield, whose was born August 14, 1881; Laura B., who was born December 15,1884; and Bertha V., who was born October 3, 1887. Mrs. Jenkins is a daughter of Robert M. Hamner, whose sketch is given elsewhere in this volume. She and her husband are members of the Baptist church. Mr. Jenkins is a Republican in politics, and was Collector of the town for one term, and has also held the office of Postmaster for four years. He is energetic and industrious, and enjoys well-deserved prosperity, being held in high regard by all who know him.
GEORGE S. ANDREWS
, and enterprising and highly intelligent farmer, has resided for fifty-four years on Hamden Hill, in the town of Hamden, Delaware County, N.Y. He comes of good old New England stock, being a grandson of Samuel Andrews, who was born in Fairfield, Conn., about 1766, and married Elizabeth Marion, also of Connecticut. Thirteen children, eleven sons and two daughters, were the fruit of their union. One daughter died at the age of twelve; but all the other members of this large family lived to marry and have children of their own. One son, in fact, still survives, Benjamin Andrews, aged seventy-two, a coal dealer in Brooklyn, New York. Samuel Andrews was a small boy at the time of the Revolution; and in his old age delighted the hearts of his children and grandchildren with exciting tales of those stirring days, the burning of his native town by the British, his escape from the redcoats, and many equally thrilling adventures which he and his parents could vividly remember. He died at his farm home in Stamford, N.Y. where he had been successfully engaged in clearing and cultivating the land; but his wife lived to reach the advanced age of ninety-six.
Andrew Andrews, a son of Samuel and Elizabeth, and the father of the subject of this biography. Was born in Stamford, April 9,1802, and in 1830 married Maria Peak of Hamden, who became the mother of six children, three sons and three daughters, all of whom, with the exception of George S., have passed away. One of the daughters, Docia Ann, lived until her thirty-sixth year. Joseph, a son, died unmarried in 1872, aged forty years. Daniel B., also unmarried, served one year as a soldier in the Civil War, and passed away when forty-five years of age, in 1884. Delia A., wife of William F. Close, died July 23, 1884, in her forty-first year. Hannah, the third daughter, lived to reach her sixty-second year, dying March 3, 1893. Mrs. Andrews died January 29,1859, when fifty-five years of age, her husband outliving her many years, and dying in Hamden, May 23, 1894, at the advanced age of ninety-two. Parents and children sleep side by side in the cemetery at Hamden Hill, resting in peace after lives of faithful toil.
George S. Andrews was born in Hamden in 1833 and here attended the district school, which he afterward taught for four terms. He enlisted in 1864 in the One Hundred and Forty-fourth New York Volunteers, Company C, and served until the close of the war, when he was discharged from the general hospital at Hilton Head, S.C., June 15, 1865. On April 25, 1865, Mr. Andrews married Miss Eunice Ellis of Hamden, daughter of Miles and Ann (Van Akin) Ellis, both of Middletown, Delaware County. Mrs. Andrews was one of nine children, of whom all have passed away, except herself and her brother, Elijah Ellis, of Harpursville, Broome County. Miles Ellis was a volunteer in the Civil War, during which he died of fever in 1864, aged forty-five years, his death being followed by that of his wife three months later. Mr. Andrews first farm consisted of one hundred and thirty acres, which he bought in 1866 of Ely Kent. Besides that he now owns the old home farm of two hundred and ten acres. He carries on a finely appointed dairy, keeping fifty cows, grade Jerseys, and manufacturing superior butter for the market.
Mr. Andrews is a Republican, of firm party principles, and has held the position of Assessor for nine years. He is an active member of Bryce Post, Grand Army of the Republic, of Hamden, of which organization he is now serving his second term as Commander. Judicious in the outlay of money for improvements, energetic and industrious, he deserves the success won by his unwearied labors and strictly honorable dealings.
HIRAM H. SILLIMAN
, who owns the Silliman homestead in West settlement, is the grandson of Eben Silliman, who came in 1810 from Fairfield Conn., to Delaware County, and settled in the town of Stamford, where he bought a tract of some hundred and fifty or two hundred acres, and laid it out for a farm. The neighbors, among whom Mr. Silliman cast his lot proved very pleasant, and the best of feeling and the most cordial relations were kept up. Mr. Silliman used to tell how he became acquainted with Seth Lyon. He lost his pocket book while surveying his new land; and Mr. Lyon, finding it immediately hunted him up, and in a pleasant cordial way, restored it to him. This little incident was the beginning of a firm friendship. Mr. Silliman lived prosperously and well on his Stamford farm all his life. His wife, whose name was Anna Gould, bore him ten children--- Eben, Jonathan, Abraham, Benjamin, Daniel, Alexander, Anna, Catherine, Caroline, and Ellen. Mr. Eben Silliman's death was a great shock to his people. It occurred in this manner. He was painting a building, when he lost his balance and fell, striking on a picket fence. He was so lacerated and bruised by the paling that the accident was fatal. Mr. Silliman was a Whig, and a member of the Presbyterian church.
Alexander Silliman, whose name is sixth in the above list of the children of Eben, was born in Fairfield, Conn., April 29, 1806, and came to Delaware County when he was but four years of age. He received a scanty education at school, though he afterward became a well-informed man by proper use of his opportunities. At maturity he came into possession of the Silliman estate; but after a short period he decided to sell this property and move away. This he accomplished February 5,1837. He worked farming for a little while, and then went to Michigan, prospecting. He soon returned and bought a farm of one hundred acres in the town of Jefferson, Schoharie County. Here he lived for ten years, working on the land and getting good crops. Then he came back to Roxbury, and bought the present homestead of two hundred acres, one hundred acres of which he purchased of J. Collins, and the other hundred of E.D. Hunter. This land under a system of skilful and thorough cultivation has yielded very gratifying results. The place has been improved by additional buildings and alterations in those already standing. A part of the present dwelling house was built in 1795, and is still in good condition. Here Mr. Silliman lived until shortly before his death, which occurred on August 11, 1882, at the age of seventy-six.
Mr. Alexander Silliman was in his early days a Whig, but later he became a Democrat. He married Lucy Montgomery, who died August 13, 1854, at the age of forty-five. Like his father, Alexander had ten children. His daughter Louise was born December 22, 1832, and died November 27, 1865, at the age of thirty-two. Mary, who is still living, was born December 24,1834; and Angeline (deceased) was born March 18, 1837. Roxanna was born May 18, 1839, and died February 26, 1872. Hiram, the subject of this history, was born October 27, 1841. William was born January 6, 1844. Betty was born July 25, 1846, and lived till November 7, 1874. Ella L. was born March 13, 1848, and died in her thirty-fifth year. Harriet was born on the 13th of April 1850. Emma J. was born July 24, 1854.
Hiram H. Silliman was born in Jefferson, Schoharie County, in the same year in which his father came to Roxbury. The family had been left behind until the new home should be in readiness, and it was while they were waiting that Hiram was born. He received a good education in the district school. At twenty-five he bought the old homestead from his father, and began the management of the farm, which has steadily grown in value and productiveness, year by year the abundant crops bearing testimony to intelligent and faithful work.. On January 5, 1869, Mr. Silliman was united in matrimony with Ruth Keator, a daughter of Daniel, and Mary Keator, who lived at Batavia Kill. Mr. Keator was born in 1800, and lived to the age of sixty-nine years. His father was one of the earliest settlers. Mrs. Silliman had twelve brothers and sisters. Mr. and Mrs. Silliman have two sons. The elder, Charles H., born June 25, 1871, married Carrie Conrow, daughter of Stephen Conrow, of Gilboa, Schoharie County, and is a Congregational minister in Friendship, Allegany County. The younger, Norman K., was born April 21, 1875.
Mr. and Mrs. Silliman have a very pleasant home, situated at the very head of the valley in the West settlement. He is a Democrat in politics, and has been Assessor of the town for two terms, and Trustee of Schools for about twenty years, besides holding other positions of trust and responsibility. Mr. Silliman is a member of Coeur de Lion Lodge, No. 571, A.F.& A.M., which he joined on January 6, 1866, being one of the first members. He is widely and favorably known as a practical and successful farmer.
JOHN S. WHITE
, a successful business and popular citizen of Downsville, was born in the town of Colchester, June 28, 1834, a son of PeterV.G. and Charlotte (Sutton) White. He is a grandson of Benjamin and Lovince Sutton, whose genealogy may be found in the biography of Benjamin Sutton, Jr., of Trout Creek. He grew to manhood on his father's farm, and was educated in the public schools of the town. When a young man, he visited his uncle, John White, in Ohio, and there engaged in agricultural pursuits, later taking charge of his uncle's farm of one hundred and thirty-two acres, on which new buildings were being erected. In 1860 he made a visit to his native town, and was there united in marriage to Mary E. Radeker. Returning with his wife to Ohio, Mr. White again assumed the management of the farm of his Uncle John, and cared for him and his aunt until they died, when he sold their farm and removed to Delaware County, settling in Downsville. Here he purchased property in the village, one hundred and seventy-seven acres of Farmland outside the town, and eighty acres of timberland.
Mrs. John S. White is the daughter of William and Jane (Campbell) Radeker, biographies of whom are given elsewhere in this volume. She and her husband have one son, Horton V.G. White, who was born March 28, 1868. He received his elementary education in the schools of Downsville, and later attended Walton Academy, and graduated at Eastman's Business College, Poughkeepsie. He married Alice Kater. In company with his son, Mr. White started a hardware store at East Branch, Delaware County, of which they are still the proprietors. They deal extensively in hardware and agricultural implements, and their store is one of the best in the town.
Mr. John S. White has been Town Clerk for three terms. He is liberal in religious views, and is highly esteemed throughout the community for his business ability, integrity, and sound judgement.
THEOPHILUS F. McINTOSH
, editor and proprietor of the Delaware Republican, one of the leading papers of the county, has exercised a marked influence on the affairs of this section of New York as a progressive, public-spirited citizen, having aided in guiding its political destiny as well as in promoting its interests materially, socially and morally. Mr. McIntosh is the representative of a well-known family and comes of sterling Scotch ancestry. He was born in the town of Kortright, near Bloomville, November 30, 1829. His father, George McIntosh, was born in the same town, and was a son of Simon McIntosh, whose father emigrated from Scotland, and was a pioneer of Dutchess County. After attaining manhood, Simon McIntosh served as a militiaman in the war of the Revolution, and, subsequently coming to this county as a pioneer leased land from the Kortright Patent and made this his permanent abiding place.
George McIntosh was a life-long resident of this county, and held a good position amongst successful agriculturists. He married Sarah Jaquish, daughter of John Jaquish, a native of New Jersey and the son of a French sailor who made visits to the United States but never settled in America. Mr. Jaquish spent the early years of his life in New York City, but afterward became an honored resident of Delaware County. In the Revolutionary War he served seven years nine months and a day being Orderly Sergeant in General Poor's Brigade, and an active participant on the battles of Monmouth, Saratoga, and Yorktown, besides being in many minor engagements. He also served with General Sullivan in his campaign against the Indians. Six children were born to George and Sarah (Jaquish) McIntosh, the following being a brief mention: Theophilus Fletcher, the subject of this sketch; Perry H., a resident of Chico Cal., unmarried; Delia, who married A.L.Hagar, of Hobart New York and died in 1889 leaving no children; Sophronia, the widow of Joel B. Carpenter, who resides in Walton, and has two children; Walter. who died at the age of twenty-five years, twin brother of Olive, who married Reuben H. Dart, and now lives in Albany, N.Y., with her daughter.
Theophilus F. McIntosh acquired his education in the district schools and the printing office, in the latter place gleaning a vast fund of general information. In February 1843, being then a sturdy lad of thirteen years, and thrown somewhat upon his own resources, he came to the village of Delhi, where he secured the position of "devil" in the Gazette printing office. He worked for his board, with an allowance of twenty-five years for clothes, for a period of seven years, becoming well versed in the various duties of a newspaper office, and an expert in the art of printing. With a view to establishing himself permanently in journalism, he next attended school awhile, and then entered the Express office as a compositor, remaining there four years, during that time also serving as assistant Postmaster of Delhi. The succeeding five years Mr. McIntosh spent in Bloomville, working with Mr. Champion of the Mirror. While there he met with gratifying success, and made many warm friends. Among other prominent men of the time with whom he was brought in contact was the late Jay Gould, who was there surveying for a railroad, and who spent most of his leisure time in the office of the Mirror.
In September, 1858, the Rev. C.B.Smyth established a paper at Delhi, called Star of Delaware, and this was published in the Mirror office, Mr. McIntosh being engaged to do the typesetting. In May following, he and Mr. Smyth purchased a press and material at Walton, and, moving it to Delhi, established a plant which was the nucleus of the present Republican office, Mr. Smyth being editor, and Mr. McIntosh the publisher of the Star of Delaware, which was a small five column, four page weekly paper. In the spring of 1860 Alvin Sturtevant and Mr. McIntosh forming a copartnership, purchased the plant and interest of that paper, and started the Delaware Republican, issuing the first number May 14, 1860. From the first the paper has been strongly Republican in its politics, and during the Lincoln campaign of that year was largely instrumental in arousing the people to a realizing sense of their duties, and spurring on its party to victory, its influence being felt throughout this section of the county. It was then a seven column, four page weekly, and the third Republican paper of the county. In 1864 the Franklin Visitor was purchased and merged into the Republican. The firm of Sturtevant and McIntosh continued until 1868,when the senior member of the firm disposed of his interest to Mr. Joseph Eveland, now proprietor of the Franklin Dairyman. In January, 1869, Mr. McIntosh became the sole proprietor of the Republican, which under his management has lost none of its former prestige, but has steadily gained in strength and popularity. Soon after taking possession of the paper, he enlarged it by one column; and in the spring of 1893 it was changed to a nine column, four page weekly, beginning with the first number of the present volume (xxxiv).
Mr. McIntosh has dewvoted his best energies to his work of making a newspaper that should educated its constituency, and keep its readers well informed on current topics and the affairs of this and other countries. This he has accomplished, and the paper is read far and wide, its circulation being fully equal to that of any other paper in the county. Mr. McIntosh, who is a man of undoubted integrity and sound convictions, has served on the Republican County Committee several times, and been delegate to as many as six state conventions, besides numerous county conventions. He was elected County Treasurer in 1869 for a term of three years, and served so satisfactorily that in 1872 he was re-elected for another term of three years. During the Warner Miller Senatorial contest Mr. McIntosh, who was a warm personal friend of Mr. Miller, took and active part in the campaign, which was conducted in a most able manner, although Mr. Miller was finally defeated by Mr. Hiscock.
Mr. McIntosh was married in 1858 to Miss Frances S. Keeler, of Bloomville, a daughter of the Hon. Stephen H. Keeler, of Bloomville, and a grand-daughter of the Hon. Martin Keeler, a former Sheriff and judge of Delaware County, and one of the most prominent and influential men of his day. Into their pleasant household circle six children have been born five sons and one daughter. Robert P., the eldest son, is clerk of the town of Delhi, and assists his father on the Republican. Charles K., a railway postal clerk. running between Syracuse and New York City, married Nellie Rogers of Syracuse, and they have one child, Walter. Henry M., who resides in Dexter, Mo., is one of the firm of Frisbie and McIntosh, lumber dealers. George W., formerly an assistant in the Republican office, is now with his brother in Missouri. Frances S., who was graduated from the Delhi Academy, married, and resides at Cazenovia, N.Y. And Frank E. is a student at the Delhi Academy. Mr. and Mrs. McIntosh are held in high regard throughout the large circle of their friends and acquaintances. Religiously, they are both members of the Methodist Episcopal church, of which he is a Trustee.
ALBERT P. MINOR
, a senior member of the firm of A.P. Minor & Son, of Deposit, N.Y., if the veteran hardware dealer and one of the principal businessmen of the village. The firm has a large trade in stoves, ranges, furnaces, paints and oils, agricultural implements, barbed wire, builders' and blacksmiths' supplies and other goods. Mr. Minor takes a lively interest in all things beneficial to the village, and has aided by his influence and material support the various public enterprises which have made Deposit a prosperous and thriving place.
George Minor, father of Albert P., was born in the town of Coventry, Chenango County, and was very well known in Broome County, having been in business there while a young man. He was twice married. By his first wife, Maria L. Wattles, a native of Walton, Delaware County, N.Y., the mother of our subject, he had two children--- Albert P. and Lydia M. His second marriage was to Ann Eliza Smith, also of Delaware County, by whom he had three children: James S., a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this work; Henrietta; and the sister with whom she Makes her home, Julia E., wife of William L. Laman, of Coventryville, N.Y. The daughter, Lydia M. is the widow of Sherman Piersol, who was a farmer in Bainbridge, N.Y. Mr. George Minor was a very enterprising man, and engaged extensively in the lumber business in this county. He bought up large quantities to be rafted down the river and to the Philadelphia market. Having made considerable money in various speculations, he put it nearly all into rafts of lumber, which were unfortunately overtaken by an immense flood, and lost. The prospective profits as figured by him had been very large, and the disappointment occasioned by the loss of all was great. This disaster interfered materially with his subsequent business career, for being a strictly honest man, he could not take any of the advantages resorted to by many men under similar circumstances, but as quick as a dollar was secured, it went to pay his debts. The money earned by the boys not of age was used for the same purpose, and to fully meet his obligations was to him the work of life. He was able in this respect to be satisfied, for when he died, all debts had been fully met, everyone of his creditors having received one hundred cents on the dollar. He died in his seventy-seventh year, and no man has ever left a better record for straightforwardness and scrupulous integrity.
Albert P. Minor was born in Coventryville, Chenango County, N.Y., January 11, 1830. His mother died when he was but nine years old, and he was only fifteen when his father was overtaken with misfortune. So that early in life he was thrown upon his own resources, not having the paternal hand and purse to assist or the advice and love of a mother to encourage and sustain. Having spent the first twelve years of his life in Coventryville, he came with his father to Deposit, returning to his birthplace when fifteen, and when nineteen, coming again to Deposit, to enter in good earnest upon the tasks of real life. He engaged in a hardware store as clerk for Elias Childs, who was doing business on the identical spot where his own store is now situated. He had received a common-school education, supplemented by a brief course of study at Oxford Academy in Chenango County. He had no practical knowledge of business methods; but by diligent application to his work he soon mastered the details, and became an efficient and valuable help in the store.
He had but five dollars in his pocket to begin with, and his wages were not large, but he managed to save in a few years the sum of five hundred dollars. He had by this time become so thoroughly conversant with the trade that he felt competent to go into business on his own account. Accordingly, in 1853 he formed a partnership with John M. Smith, the style of the firm being Minor and Smith. They put in a new stock of goods at the old stand, and were successful from the first, having a liberal patronage, and realizing handsome profits year by year. They continued in business together for twenty years, and among other additions to it, had built up a carriage manufacturing enterprise, to which upon the dissolution of the partnership, John M. Smith succeeded; and Mr. Minor retained the hardware and other trade in the store. After continuing the business for some years under his own name, in the spring of 1888 he associate with him his son, Clinton S., the style of the firm being then established as it now remains. The firm of Minor and Smith were burned out in 1869, and did business on the other side of the street until the completion of the Minor Masonic Block, into which they moved in the following year. This building, which has since been occupied by the store, is of three stories, forty-five feet by sixty-five, and was erected in 1870 on the spot of the old hardware store.
Mr. Minor was married in 1856 to Emily L. Ogden, a daughter of John Ogden of Deposit, and they have one son, Clinton S., who is a graduate of Eastman's Business College at Poughkeepsie, and as above mentioned, the junior member of the firm of A.P.Minor & Son. He was married to Ida S. Dean of Deposit. Albert P. Minor owns, besides the building where he does business, a good residence property on Front Street and the building now occupied by the Courier printing office. He and his brother, James S. are owners of the Deposit Marble Works. He is a member of Deposit Lodge, No. 396, A.F. & A.M. He has held the office of Supervisor, and has long been an active member of the Board of Education, having served continuously since the grading of the schools in 1875. In politics he has been a Republican since the time John C. Fremont was a candidate for the Presidency.
Mr. Minor has reached his present comfortable position I life by personal effort, and is held in universal regard as a man of integrity, honor, and ability. He believes the Golden Rule to be the sufficient law for the conduct of social life, and is disposed to judge people rather by their acts than by any profession they may make. He is genial and generous, not given to criticism, but liberal in his views, and willing that others should enjoy that same freedom. A kind neighbor, a judicious counselor and faithful friend, his advice is much sought after, especially in money matters by widows and orphans. It may well be said of him that he has served those truly who have put him in trust.
The publishers of this "Review" are happy in being able to present to their readers a life-like portrait of this enterprising business man and public-spirited citizen, who has done so much toward making Deposit what it is--- one of the most lively and prosperous villages in the Empire State, an important trade center, the seat of pleasant homes and flourishing schools.
, a well-known manufacturer of Grand Gorge, N.Y. was born in this place, May 4, 1855. The great-grandfather of Mr. Cronk was Lawrence Cronk, who with his wife, Nancy Crary, came to New York from Connecticut, and settling near Grand Gorge, carried on one of the earliest taverns in this part of the country. He lived to be eighty years of age, and was the father of nine children--- John, Hannah, Betsey, Sally, Nathaniel, Edward, Nathan, Phebe, and Rosetta. John, the grandfather of Willis, was born on Clay Hill in the town of Roxbury. When ready to start out in the world for himself, he bought one hundred and twenty-four acres of the D.Lee farm, owned by the Dent family. Selling this later, he bought one hundred and forty acres nearby, put up new buildings, improved the farm, and here lived until his death at forty-four years of age. His wife lived to be sixty years of age, and was the mother of eight children--- Hiram, David, Almanran, Harrison, Lawrence J., Eliza J., John and Isaac. John Crank was a member of the Methodist Episcopal church, and in politics a Whig.
David Cronk was born on the Dent farm in the log cabin, which was the family homestead. He attended the village school until thirteen years of age, when he commenced working in the tannery of D. Lafrom, his duty being to grind the bark for the tanning. He afterward was employed by A. Moore in the tannery business and later went west to Oxford, and for three years drove a stage. Returning then to Grand Gorge he worked in the tannery business for some months, after which he bought a farm of sixty-four acres near the village, and for a while employed his time in so improving it that he was enabled to sell it to good advantage. After engaging in several farming investments, he removed to Schoharie County, and thence went to Greene County, where he dwelt for six years, having a farm of three hundred acres, and carrying on a large dairy. Again he came back to Delaware County, and after a short residence here bought the house in which he now lives. His wife was Frances, daughter of Philip and Priscilla (Bangs) Sines, by whom he had eight children---Nettie, John, Willis, Addison, David, Ella, Roma and Frank. Mrs. Cronk died at the age of sixty-three, but her husband is still living. He is a Democrat, and has held the office of Constable several times.
Willis Cronk was educated in Grand Gorge, and worked at home on the farm until twenty-three years of age, when he began working at the carpenter's trade. After two years thus employed, he went into the factory of W.P. Moore, a manufacturer of sashes and blinds. Here he rose to be foreman, and in 1887 bought out the business. He has enlarged and remodeled the factory, and continues here engaged, making sashes, blinds, doors, mouldings, and other accessories of buildings. He has an excellent trade, and all his work is done in the best style and with the greatest thoroughness.
When thirty-eight years old, Mr. Cronk was married to Jennie West, daughter of Theodore West, a carpenter of New Haven. Mr. Cronk is a Democrat, and has held several minor offices. Notwithstanding his many business responsibilities, he has shown himself to be a public-spirited man, who his at heart the welfare of his native town
HERMAN F. INDERLIED
, of the Inderlied Chemical Company at Rock Rift, Delaware County, N.Y. with his residence at Walton, was born at Lienen, Germany, April 12, 1827, a son of Henry Casper Inderlied, born in Newkirchen, Germany, and Elizabeth Tigges, a native of Lienen. Of their family, the following named cane to this country: Frederick J., who came in 1842, married Elizabeth Bruisik, and is residing at Orange, New York. They had five children, namely: William H., who enlisted in the army during the Civil War, and died of disease contracted in service; Herman F., Andrew, and Frederick Jr., who are still living; George, who is deceased. Henry Inderlied married Miss Ekizabeth Lagemann, and settled in Youngsville N.Y., where he died in 1883. William who was the first to come to the United States, married Miss Mary Chittenden, a native of Greene County, New York, and is now a resident of North Branch, N.Y.
Herman F. Inderlied, the subject of this sketch, immigrated to America in 1843. He was married July 16, 1848, to Miss Rachel Kratzer, a native of Germany, who was brought by her parents to this country when she was but eighteen months old. Mrs. Inderlied was a daughter of John Kratzer, who fist settled in New York City, and later in Sullivan County, where he engaged in farming. To Mr. and Mrs. Inderlied were born the following named children: William K., born September 24, 1849, is a tanner residing in Allegany, N.Y. Henry H., born January 6, 1852, is a prominent merchant of Walton. George F., born May 11, 1854, is now a resident of New Milford, Pa. Edward C., born December 14, 1856, is in business with his father in Rock Rift. Julius B., born July 12,1859, is a tanner and resides in Allegany, N.Y. Rachel S., born May 10, 1861, married Morton Wimple of Thompson, Pa. Theodore M., born June 22, 1863,is a shoe dealer at Warren, Pa., Charles F. born July 20,1865, is a resident of Walton. Oscar K., born May 3, 1867, is engaged with the Erie Railroad Company. Alfred, born June5, 1868, died September 30 of the same year. Minnie was born September 25, 1869. Lillie, born January 28, 1872, died September 2, 1872. Mrs. Inderlied died November 3, 1873, in Susquehanna, Pennsylvania. Mr. Inderlied married for his second wife Mrs. Ida Schneppendahl Bueddemann, a native of Germany, who was born April 12, 1844.
After his first marriage Mr. Inderlied settled in Sullivan County, N.Y., and embarked in the tanning business. He remained there, however, but a short time, when he took up farming, continuing at this new venture for seven years, after which he again went back to his original trade as a tanner and was superintendent of a tannery at Salladasburg, Pa., After four years he moved to North Branch, purchasing his brother's interest in a tannery. In 1868 he went to Suquehanna County, Pa., where he conducted a tannery for twenty-one years, during this time doing a large and increasing business. He came to Walton in 1889, and has conducted his business here ever since.
When Mr. Inderlied came to this country, he had nothing but courage, honesty, and a pair of willing hands to start out in the battle of life. He has now by hard work and economy amassed a comfortable property, and to-day ranks as one of the most prosperous business men in the county. In politics he is a stanch supporter of the Republican party. He has never sought any office, but is well posted in all county and State matters. Mr. Inderlied is an attendant of the Congregational church. Fraternally, he is a member of Walton Lodge, No. 559, A.F. & A.M. In 1890 he erected a residence which is a great acquisition to the many fine dwellings in Walton.
Mr. Inderlied has been the architect of his own fortune; and, when once he has put his hand to the plough, he has never turned back. His success in life is an object lesson to the younger generation.
ISAAC S. BOOKHOUT
, one of Delaware County's prosperous and progressive dairy farmers, finely located at Batavia Kill, was born in this same town of Roxbury, January 31, 1838, and inherits the blood of two races, the Irish and the Dutch, combining characteristics of the Gaelic and Teutonic peoples. His paternal grandfather was John T. Bookhout, a Hollander, whose wife was a native of Ireland. Both came to America in the latter part of the eighteenth century, after the Revolutionary War, and met for the first time aboard ship, the voyage occupying thirty-six days.
Soon after their arrival on these shores John T. Bookhout and Nancy Smock were married, and at once began farming in Westchester County, New York, where they remained a number of years. In 1808 they came to Delaware County, and bought a hundred acres of wooded land, which lay about two miles above the village of Roxbury. This land they cleared and made arable, putting up new buildings, and making many improvements, Mr. Bookhout having the reputation of an industrious and successful farmer. He lived to the ripe old age of eighty-seven years, and his wife to about the same age. Politically he was a Whig, and supported that party from its organization. Enlisting as a private, he served through the War of 1812, an to the day of his death was a respected and honored citizen of Roxbury. He and his wife had a family of ten children of whom eight grew up; namely, William, James, John, Peter, Anna, Jane, Margaret, and Mary Bookhout.
William Bookhout, the eldest son, was born in Westchester County in 1790, and was therefore eighteen years of age when his father moved to Delaware County. Although young, his labor was equal to any man's in clearing and working the farm, There were no roads by which the farmer could drive to town and exchange his produce for wares that he needed. Every farm had to supply its occupants with nearly all their necessities. To get meal to make the daily bread for the family, William had to carry a sack of grain on his back to a mill some distance away to be ground, his path leading through the woods, and marked by blazed trees.
When William was twenty years old, he married Caroline Hull, and bought a farm of one hundred and thirty-six acres in the same section of the county. This farm, which is now owned by Michael O'Hair, was then nearly all new land. Mr. Bookhout cleared it and erected substantial buildings, proving himself a sagacious farmer, and was well known throughout the neighborhood. Like his father, he supported the Whig party in politics; and both he and his wife were members of the Methodist church. He died at the age of sixty, and his wife at sixty-five. They had eleven children, all of whom have married.
Isaac S. Bookhout received only a common-school education; but by home study he prepared himself for a business career, and, being very ambitious, was always on the lookout for a chance to improve himself. When he was fourteen years old, his father died; and he at once took charge of the farm, and looked after the interests of the children. When he was twenty-five years old, he married and bought an adjoining tract of two hundred acres, which is now owned by Caleb Reynolds, in North Roxbury. After clearing and improving the land he sold it, and bought a farm of one hundred and thirty-six acres on Hubble Hill, where he stayed ten years. He then sold that farm and bought his present place at Batavia Kill. The farm is about two hundred and forty-four acres in extent; and it was the first farm settled in this beautiful valley, the former owner having come here in 1794. It is finely located; and Mr. Bookhout has improved it very much, so that it is now reckoned as one of the best dairy farms in the valley. Mr. Bookhout has an excellent dairy, owning many fine cows of different breeds, the farm being well adapted for grazing.
Mr. Isaac S. Bookhout married Eusebia Craft; and they have four children, namely: Charles, who was born July 8, 1866; W. Ward, born January 1, 1869, and died October 29, 1889; Lillie F., born May 2, 1871, and died April 13, 1880; and Raymond, the youngest, who was born July 22, 1884, and now lives on the farm. Mr. Bookhout is a Republican, and he and his wife are both members of the Methodist Episcopal church. He is a respected citizen, and a popular man throughout the neighborhood.
JAMES W. PIERCE
, a well-known and respected farmer residing in the town of Hamden, about six miles from Walton, was born in Dutchess County August 8, 1822. His father Daniel, and his grandfather, Timothy, were natives of the same county. Daniel Pierce was brought up as a farmer, residing with his grandfather until he came of age, his mother having died when he was quite small. He then started out in the world for himself, first working by the month. Being of a frugal and saving turn of mind, he was soon enabled to purchase a farm in Andes, upon which he resided for some years, then moved to Meredith, where he rented a farm. He spent his last years with his son, James W., dying at the advanced age of seventy-eight. He married Miss Mary Reynolds, a daughter of James and Sarah (Campbell) Reynolds, and a native of Dutchess County. Of this union there were eight children; namely, James W., Elizabeth, Timothy, William, Robert, Daniel, Lavinia, and Marcus. Three of them are still living, namely: James W.; Lavinia, who is the wife of George Foster, and lives in Nebraska; and Robert, a prominent farmer of Walton. Mrs. Pierce died in Meredith, at the age of forty-four years; and Mr. Pierce married for his second wife, Betsey Lockwood, a native of this county. She died at the home of James W. Pierce, aged sixty-two.
James W. Pierce spent his early years in the town of Andes, where he acquired a common-school education. He assisted his father for a time, afterward working on a farm by the month. He then turned his attention to the blacksmith trade, working at that business for sixteen years. In 1859 he purchased the farm of two hundred acres which he now occupies, upon which he has built a fine residence and commodious barns. He is specially interested in butter-making, shipping it by wholesale to New York City and Newburg.
Mr. Pierce was married in 1849 to Miss Frances C. Clark, a daughter of Charles and Catherine (Gay) Clark. The Clark family originally came from Connecticut, the parents of Charles Clark coming to Franklin when he was but eight years old. The mother of Mrs. Pierce was the daughter of Edward Gay, a school-teacher, and the first to teach school in the village of Franklin. Mr. Clark reared a family of seven girls, namely: Clarissa, the wife of Jacob Warner, of Walton; Amanda, who is married to Sylvester Brown; Amelia, married to P. Young; Mary, the wife of Aaron Houghtaling; Aurelia, the wife of William Fisher of Croton; Frances, Mrs. Pierce; Kate, married to Stephen Benedict, of North Walton. Mr. and Mrs. Pierce became the parents of twelve children, namely: Mary R., who died in infancy; Edward T., who married Belle Wooden, and had one child - Ethel; Robert W., who married Ellen Hastings, of New York; Herbert A., who married Mary Moat, of Roxbury, and has four children - James W., Mno, Nellie, and Lillie Belle; Charles A., who is a Baptist minister, and married Mary Fitch; William, who married Mary H. Newton, a daughter of Dr. Newton, and has two children - Sterling and Gertrude F.; Marcus, who married Lulu Frick; Frederick, who is a veterinary surgeon at Oakland, Cal., who married Alice Palmeter, and has one child - Lena; Kate, the wife of the Rev. F. I. Wheat, a pastor of the Congregational church at Woodhaven, and the mother of one son - Charles Irving; Frank, who married Lillie Cook, and assists his father on the farm; Clarence W., who is a clerk; and James R., who is residing with his brother at Oakland, Cal., and is studying for the ministry.
In 1864 Mr. Pierce enlisted in Company D, One Hundred and Forty-fourth New York Volunteer Infantry, and served for about eleven months, fortunately escaping being either wounded or taken prisoner. He was honorably discharged from the service at Elmira in 1865. He is a member of Benjamin Marvin Post, No. 209, Grand Army of the Republic, of Walton. He is a strong supporter of the Republican party, but has never aspired to any official position. The family are active members of the Baptist church, Mr. Pierce having been a Deacon for a number of years. He is one of the strong representative men of his district, and all his life has been a respected and honored citizen, ever forward and active in those matters pertaining to the good of the community.
CHARLES G. MEEKER
, one of the prosperous farmers of the town of Roxbury, was born at the old Meeker homestead, June 27, 1855 being the son of Hiram and Sarah (Montgomery) Meeker, and the grandson of Lyman Meeker. The grandfather came from Fairfield, where he was giving his attention to farming, to Delaware County, and settled on Ross's Brook. The whole place was then a wilderness; and, in looking back, one can but wonder at the courage which so bravely faced the hardships and privations incident to such an undertaking. Nevertheless, he prospered, and cleared the way to a home for himself and a heritage for his children. Lyman Meeker had ten children - Hiram, Abraham, Edwin, Gorham, Philo, Ahaz, Adad, Pauline, Olive, and Deborah. These all lived to grow up.
Hiram Meeker, son of Lyman, received his education at the district school in his native town of Roxbury, and commenced farming as an occupation by working for his brother-in-law, Jeremiah G. Benton. At the age of twenty-one he bought one hundred and eighty acres of partially cleared land, and, taking hold of the laborious task, finished clearing the whole tract, laying it out in fields, gardens, and hay-producing meadows. Later in life he took down the old farm-house which had served him and his wife in their first laborious days, and erected a large and attractive new one, with modern conveniences. He also built two barns and a wagon-house, partly of stone. Thus, commencing slowly at first, and steadily progressing, he developed a very fine estate. This energetic and enterprising man lived to be eighty years old.
His widow, Mrs. Sarah M. Meeker, is still living, at seventy-six years of age. She resides with her son, Charles G. Meeker. Her other children were: Mary, who married C. O. Kilpatrick, lives in town, and has one child; and Emma, deceased at the age of nineteen. Mr. Hiram Meeker was a Democrat. He was Supervisor and Justice of the Peace a long time, and also served as an Assessor. Both parents were members of the Methodist Episcopal church.
Charles G. Meeker was educated in the district school and at the Roxbury Academy. After leaving school, he employed himself about he farm until he was of age. Then he took entire charge of it, and has since been steadily going on with improvements and developing its various resources. Mr. Meeker's farm is a specimen of a fine type of American agriculture. It supports an attractive dairy, and a carefully selected herd of thirty cows, twenty-six of which are pure Guernseys. The farm, being partly in the corporation of Roxbury, is distinguished by the convenient walks which lead all about it. Mr. Meeker deserves commendation for his earnest endeavor to beautify and improve his place, and is an example to those who, having estates, are indifferent to their appearance, or to the improvement of that which they must pass on, as they finally leave them, to their descendants.
Charles G. Meeker married Miss Isabella Cartwright, who was born November 24, 1860, daughter of Almarion and Hannah (Cowen) Cartwright. Mrs. and Mrs. Cartwright had two children - Eber and Isabella. The father lived to be sixty-four years old. The mother makes her home with the son and daughter. Mr. Cartwright was a Republican, but at the time when Horace Greely was so active in politics he changed to the Democratic side. He was a man of use in town affairs. At one time he held the office of Provost Marshal. He was also Justice of the Peace three years, and Supervisor the same length of time.
Mr. and Mrs. Meeker have one child, a daughter named Jennie, born September 16, 1878. Mr. Meeker is a Democrat in politics, and he has been a Trustee of the village. He is a member of the Roxbury Lodge, No. 608. He and his wife are both attendants of the Methodist Episcopal church.
THOMAS H. SCOTT
, who owns and occupies a fine farm about four miles from the village of Walton, is by trade a carpenter and builder, and has erected many fine buildings in this vicinity, among others being the United Presbyterian church and parsonage at Walton. He was born in Bovina, June 23, 1852, son of James R. Scott, who was a native of the same town, born there in 1824. His paternal grandfather, Adam Scott, who was born in Deenburnhaugh, Roxburgh County, Scotland, in 1795, emigrated to this country in 1818, and was among the original settlers of Bovina. His marriage with Nancy Russell, which was performed by Squire Maynard, the grandfather of Judge Maynard, was the first marriage in Bovina. He took up a tract of wild land, and began to clear a farm; but, while yet in the vigor of manhood, he was accidentally killed, the pair of horses which he was driving taking fright and running away, and he, being thrown from the sleigh, struck on his head and went through the ice. He left a widow and eight children, the eldest of whom was a boy of twelve years old. A year afterward the mother of these children was likewise taken away by death, leaving the family orphans indeed.
James R. Scott resided with an uncle after the death of his parents, and, on leaving school, learned the trade of a carpenter and joiner, which he carried on in Middletown and Bovina. For seven years he also engaged in general farming, but never really relinquished his trade. He lived until sixty-five years of age, departing from the scenes of his earthly labors in 1889. His wife was Mary Winter, a native of New Kingston, and one of ten children born to Thomas and Isabelle Winter, who emigrate to New York from England, and, settling in New Kingston, there engaged in agricultural pursuits. They reared eight children, four sons and four daughters, namely: James A.; Thomas H.; Gilbert T.; Andrew; Annabelle, deceased; Mary E., the wife of Jacob N. Thompson, of New Kingston; Fanny, deceased; and Elizabeth. The mother spent her last years in the place of her birth, passing on to the higher life at the age of threescore years. Both parents were conscientious members of the United Presbyterian church.
Thomas H., the second son of James R. and Mary Scott, lived on a farm in New Kingston until sixteen years old, acquiring a good common-school education, and, after completing his studies, taught school in the winter for several seasons. He learned the carpenter's trade of his father, as did each of his brothers, and subsequently entered into partnership with him, continuing thus to work until 1884. He then established himself in the village of Walton, where his reputation as a skilled mechanic had preceded him. Many of the finest residences and other buildings of this locality have been built under his supervision, and are standing monuments of his skill and industry. For ten years he conducted the business, being the leading carpenter of the town; but early in the present year, 1894, he removed to his farm, which contains one hundred acres of choice land. He carries on mixed farming and dairying, his specialty being butter-making; and in this business, as in every other in which he has engaged, he is meeting with unqualified success.
The marriage of Mr. Scott to Jennie Ormiston took place in 1880, when he was about twenty-eight years of age. Miss Ormiston was one of seven children born to her parents, James and Rebecca (McFarland) Ormiston, who were natives of Broome County, and were pioneer settlers of Bovina. Mr. and Mrs. Scott have had their family circle enlarged by the birth of six children, of whom the following are living: Mary; Ralph and Rebecca, twins; and Helen. Mr. Scott is a straight-forward business man, highly esteemed among his friends and fellow-citizens, and in politics is an influential member of the Prohibition party. He and his estimable wife are both members of the United Presbyterian church, in which he has been an Elder for many years, having been elected previous to his removal to Walton. He was superintendent of the Sunday-school for seven years, and Mrs. Scott was one of its most efficient teachers.
GEORGE G. DECKER
, one of the shrewd, energetic business men of Middletown, and President of the People's Bank at Margarettville, is a native of Delaware County, having been born in the town of Roxbury, February 15, 1824. His parents were William and Jane (More) Decker, at one time residents of Taghkanick, Columbia County, New York., the former of whom was born January 1, 1795, and was the son of Lawrence Decker, whose wife was by maiden name Caroline Hollenbeck. The latter died before her husband; and Lawrence Decker married again, his second wife being Lucretia Fowler. He was of Dutch ancestry, and came from Columbia to Greene County, buying a small farm near Prattsville, which he cultivated with that untiring industry characteristic of the race from which he sprang. He and his wife Caroline were the parents of five children, one son and four daughters, whose names, reversing the order of sex, were Caroline, Ann, Christina, Phebe, and William.
The last named, the date of whose birth is given above, was on the death of his parents adopted into the Hardenburgh family, and acquired a practical education in the common schools of Prattsville. His strong commercial instincts prompted him to seek the avenues of trade as the road to fortune; and with but a slender capital he started in the mercantile business, opening the first general store in Roxbury. For some time all went well with the youthful merchant; but his good fortune did not last long, his store being destroyed by fire, with all its contents. Not relishing this experience, he turned aside from the paths of commerce to those of agriculture, and purchased a farm in the town of Andes, the property being known at the time as the Chapman farm, and now forming a part of the site of the village of Andes. Here he resided, engaged in agricultural pursuits, from 1832 to 1843. About the latter year he sold his farm, and, feeling inclined for a change, became the proprietor of the Andes Hotel, which he conducted for some three years. In 1846 he removed to Hancock, and conducted a hotel there for one year, but at the end of that time returned to farming, and died on his son's farm, February 27, 1852. He was an old-time Democrat, and had served in the War of 1812. He held the office of Deputy Sheriff of his county. His wife, formerly Jane More, was born June 8, 1805, and attained the ripe age of eighty years, dying May 28, 1885.
George G. Decker acquired a fair amount of elementary knowledge in the common schools of his native town of Roxbury and Andes, and added to his mental equipment by a course in the Delaware Academy at Delhi. He then took a position as clerk in the general store of the Hon. E. J. Burhaus, remaining so employed for eight years, at the end of which time he became a partner in the business, the firm being known as E. J. Burhaus & Co. Not long after, obtaining an interest in the business, he came to Margarettville, in 1849, and opened a branch store, of which he took personal charge for six years, it being one of the first stores in the village. He then built a store for himself, and continued in the mercantile business until 1876, when he sold out the stock to Mr. Swart, about this time being made Postmaster of the village, an office which he resigned in 1884. The Western loan business occupied his attention from 1889 to 1891, in which latter year he organized and became President of the People's Bank of Margarettville. He was elected President, April 10, 1891; and the bank building was erected in the following year. The bank is a prosperous institution, much patronized by the business men and citizens of Middletown; and Mr. Decker ably fills the office of President. That he has the good will and confidence of his fellow-townsmen is attested by the fact that he has served a term as member of Assembly, and has held the town offices of Supervisor and Commissioner of Schools.
Mr. Decker was married in 1849 to Catherine H. More, daughter of Alexander and Sarah (Church) More. The father of Mrs. Decker was a thriving and well-known farmer of Roxbury, and was later a dealer in farm produce. He was the son of Robert and Susannah (Fellows) More, and was born in Roxbury in 1799. His paternal grandparents were John and Bessie (Tyler) More. Robert More, father of Alexander, was a Revolutionary soldier serving in the patriot army, and later becoming one of Delaware County's first settlers. He took up wild land, which he cleared, and became a thriving and substantial farmer, surviving to a good old age. He and his wife reared the following children: William C., who married Susan Newkirk; Susan A., who became the wife of O. A. Preston; Catherine, now Mrs. Decker; Abigail C., who married A. A. Crosby of Rondout; and David F., who married Sarah Hubble, and now resides in Newark, N.J.
Mr. and Mrs. George G. Decker are the parents of three children: Susie M., who became the wife of S. W. Marvin, a publisher of New York City, and has four children, whose names are George Q., Alexander B., Eleanor, and Samuel W.; Augusta A., who married O. A. Ewart, and died October 22, 1893, leaving three children - Howard D., Fred M., and Katherine; William M., who married Bessie Smith, is now a prominent physician in Kingston, and has two children - Dorothy and William.
Mr. Decker, although engaged in active business, is not unmindful of the things pertaining to the higher life, and exemplifies a practical Christianity in is dealings with his fellow-men. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church, and is a power for good in the community in which he dwells.
NATHANIEL CURTIS MARVIN
, attorney-at-law of the town of Walton, is a lineal descendant of Reginald Marvin, who sailed from England for America early in the seventeenth century. The emigrant chose New Haven as the place best adapted for his new enterprise; and hither he was soon followed by his brother Matthew, whose permit to cross the Atlantic was dated April 15, 1635. Here Reginald Marvin reared his family; and his son Reginald, who lived at Lyme, and was known in the Indian wars as Lyme's Captain, became the father of Samuel Marvin, who was born in 1671. Thomas, son of Samuel Marvin, and the great-grandfather of the subject of this sketch, was born March 4, 1703, resided at Simsbury, Conn., and died in 1754, having amassed a comfortable fortune.
His son, Matthew was born at Simsbury, June 7, 1754. When the Revolutionary War broke out, and so many were ready and anxious to fight for their freedom, Matthew was too young to be accepted as an active soldier; but, with praiseworthy longing to take a part in the struggle, he persuaded his uncle to take him as Orderly. And thus he participated in several battles, among which were Long Island, Trenton, Red Bank, Princeton, and Germantown. He was also one of those brave, daring fellows who followed Lafayette in the memorable storming of the fort at Yorktown. He was married at New Canaan, Conn., in 1784, to Mary Weed, of that town. In 1799 they removed with a yoke of oxen and a horse to Walton, N.Y., where he took a grant of one thousand acres of timber land in company with his brother-in-law. This they cleared and improved, transforming it into fine, fertile farms, which continued in the possession of the family until 1865. Mr. and Mrs. Matthew Marvin buried an infant daughter, but reared five sons - Joseph, Jared, Thomas, the father of the subject of this sketch, William and Lewis.
Their son Thomas was born at Cambridge, Washington County, N.Y., April 20, 1791, and died March 25, 1891. In 1813 he married Dency Tiffany, who was born September 5, 1795, in he town now known as Hamden. She passed away in 1846, leaving eight children: William, born November 28, 1814, who died March 30, 1889; Thomas Edwin, born in 1816, who resides in Walton; Andrew J., who was born in 1819, and died in Brooklyn, N.Y., in 1877; Joseph Tiffany, who was born in 1822 and now lives in Kansas; Nathaniel Curtis, the subject of this sketch; Frederick Foote, born in 1828, at present also in Kansas; Elizabeth Crane, born in 1830, who is the widow of the Rev. J. P. Root, of Boston, and has two daughters, both of whom are missionaries in India; and Matthew W., of Walton.
Nathaniel Curtis Marvin was born March 3, 1826, in Walton, and grew up on his father's farm, receiving his education in the district school and in the academy of Franklin. When but twelve years of age, he began to read law with Judge Isaac Ogden, and at sixteen entered the law office of N. K. and T. H. Wheeler. He lived at home, and his time was fully occupied with farming and reading law. He was deeply interested in the State militia, and in 1849 was elected Captain of Company A, Sixty-ninth Regiment, being made Colonel in 1851. November 7, 1850, he married Miss Julia A. Fitch, who was born in Walton on Christmas Day, 1831, daughter of Nathaniel and Sally (Benedict) Fitch, both of whom were natives of Connecticut, but removed to New York when very young.
Nathaniel Fitch was born in 1797, and brought to Walton when but five years of age. The Benedicts had moved here in 1797, and Sally was born in 1799; and here both Mr. and Mrs. Fitch died - she, February 16, 1879; and he, August 12, 1872. They were the parents of five children, namely: Sarah, wife of Dr. E. Southard of Franklin; Julia, Mrs. Marvin; Lyman M. Fitch, of Kansas City, Mo.; George and Augustus, both of Walton. The ancestors of the Fitch family were silk manufacturers in France, who at the time of the Huguenot persecution fled to Germany, and thence to Holland and England.
Mr. and Mrs. Marvin buried their only son, Nathaniel Curtis, Jr., aged two and one-half years, on October 20, 1869. They have living four daughters: Alice Augusta, widow of T. Porter Lanfield, who has one daughter, Ella: Eliza Flora, wife of Charles B. Bassett; Julia Fitch, wife of Benjamin G. North; and Cora Belle, who married Mr. J. Terknile, [Jacob TER KUILE] and resides in New Jersey, being the mother of two sons and one daughter.
Mr. Marvin was a radical Democrat of the old Jackson and Jefferson school, voting for Martin Van Buren and Fremont; but on the organization of the Republican party he espoused its cause as that of true Democracy, and has ever since been its stanch defender. Although he never aspired to be an office-holder, he reluctantly consented to serve as a candidate for State legislature, taking the field only nine days before the election, and was elected in a Democratic district. He served in this position during 1878 and 1879, his influence for good being felt throughout that body. Mr. Marvin is an honor to the worthy name he bears - generous, manly, judicious, and conscientious; a devoted husband and father, and a faithful friend; a citizen whose life is an example of integrity and uprightness which young men might be commended in following.
was born at West settlement, Roxbury, Delaware County, N. Y., May 27, 1836, son of John Burr and Mary (More) Gould. The Gould family is of English extraction, its founder in this country, Major Nathan Gold, having left St. Edmundsbury, County Suffolk, England, in 1646, to settle in Fairfield, Conn., where he soon made his influence felt as a foremost citizen. He was one of the signers of the petition for the charter of the Connecticut Colony, 1654, which petition "was signed by no gentleman unless he had sustained a high reputation in England before he came to New England." From 1651 until his death in 1694 he was a member of the Connecticut Colonial Council, which corresponded to the State Senate of to-day.
A grandson of Major Gold, Colonel Abraham Gold, married Elizabeth Burr, thus connecting the Gold family with another of equal prominence. Abraham Gold was Colonel of the Fifth Regiment in the Revolutionary army, receiving his commission from Governor Trumbull. Early in the war he was killed while leading an attack against the English under General Tryon. His sword is still preserved, now being in the possession of his namesake, Abraham Gould Jennings. The Colonel's fourth son, Abraham, was commissioned as Captain. At the close of the war, when New York was the "West," and sturdy men from Connecticut were pushing their way across the border, this Captain Gold led a party from Fairfield into Delaware County, where he took upland in what is now known as West settlement, Roxbury. Here was born his eldest son, John Burr Gould, the father of the subject of this sketch. The wife of John Burr Gould was a grand-daughter of John More, a Scotchman of Ayrshire, who emigrated in 1772, and of whom a sketch is to be found elsewhere in this volume.
Almost all of Jay Gould's school education was received before he was fifteen at the schools of the district, the private school supported by his father, and a few other progressive men of the settlement, and at the Hobart Academy, where he partially paid his own expense by keeping books outside of school hours. As John Burr Gould had succeeded Captain Gould in the ownership and care of the farm, so it was expected that Jay would, in turn, succeed his father; but he showed such a distaste for farm life that his father exchanged the farm for a store in the village of Roxbury. At the age of fifteen Jay not only kept the books, but did all the buying; and he was soon taken into partnership. His extra time was spent in the study of surveying; and before he was sixteen he was doing practical work, at first as an assistant, then as a projector and leader of expeditions. He made several maps, the most important being that of Delaware County, which is still a standard.
While travelling over the country as a surveyor, he became interested in the reminiscences of the old settlers. He took notes, followed up lines of investigation, and in an incredibly short time he had ready the first History of Delaware County. To state that the manuscript was burned at the printers, and that nearly all of it had to be rewritten from memory, is to give but one instance of these remarkable Traits of energy and perseverance and power of concentration and memory which were key-notes to Mr. Gould's character. Before this book had been returned from the printers, Mr. Gould had met Colonel Zadock Pratt, of Prattsville, who, recognizing at once the young man's ability, did not hesitate to enter with him into a large tannery enterprise in Pennsylvania. With almost the quickness of thought, a village sprang up in the forest, with its tannery, church, school-house, and post-office, with a plank-road leading to the nearest town, and a stage route connecting with the outside world.
The prosperity of the business world soon enabled Mr. Gould to purchase Colonel Pratt's interest, and enter into partnership with a New York firm. The partnership and the necessary dealing with the wholesale houses led Mr. Gould frequently to New York. Here he met men of larger interests, one of whom, who had watched Mr. Gould's astuteness and quickness in dealing with difficult situations, asked his assistance in extricating from financial embarrassment a small railroad in Vermont. The accomplishment of this undertaking gave evidence of Mr. Gould's peculiar ability to build up a flagging enterprise, and it launched him on his life work. Henceforth his interests were centered in railroads and kindred enterprises, as steamship and telegraph lines. To enumerate in order the railroads that gradually came under his management would be to trace the development of those parts of our country through which those railroads run, especially of the great West and South-west.
The Vermont railroad on a firm footing, Mr. Gould became interested in the Cleveland & Pittsburg road, which he built up in the same way. The Erie next engaged his attention, then the Union Pacific. At the time of his death Mr. Gould was a director in numerous railroad and other companies. But his greatest enterprises, familiar to all, were the Union Pacific, the Missouri Pacific, the Texas & Pacific, the Western Union Telegraph Company, and the Manhattan Railway. He amalgamated rival telegraph companies, and became the head of the Western Union Telegraph system. He obtained control of the Union Pacific and the Manhattan when they were on the verge of bankruptcy, and soon made of them paying companies. And he laid the foundation of the great Missouri Pacific system.
Mr. Gould amassed a colossal fortune, and died at an age when many men are but beginning to reap the fruit of their labors. But into his first twenty-one years had been crowded the work and experience of many an average man's lifetime. Denied the longed-for educational advantages, and busy all day, he grasped every opportunity to learn, spending the early hours of the night in reading and study. He had a remarkable knowledge of human nature, gained by his business contact with men of all classes. And, aside from the practical use of his knowledge of surveying, his work in that line had quickened his natural capacity for detail.
January 22, 1863, Mr. Gould was married to Helen Day Miller, of New York, daughter of Daniel S. Miller, a descendant of an English family which settled at Easthampton, L. I., in early Colonial days. The children of this union are: George Jay Gould, born in 1864; Edwin Gould born in 1866; Helen Miller Gould, born 1868; Howard Gould, born in 1871; Anna Gould, born in 1875; and Frank Jay Gould, born in 1877. Mrs. Gould died January 13, 1889; and Mr. Gould survived her but a few years, his death occurring December 2, 1892.
Mr. Gould had promised to assist the congregation of the Reformed church of Roxbury in rebuilding their church, which had been burned to the ground with all its furnishing. This society is the oldest of the Reformed Church in Delaware County. Jay Gould's mother had been a member of it; and, as a boy, he had attended its services. But his death occurred before any plans for rebuilding had been matured. To fulfil his promise and to erect a desirable memorial, his children built at the expense of about $100,000, and deeded to the church, a house of worship which is the pride of the village. The corner-stone was laid September 20, 1893; and the services of dedication were held on October 13 of the following year. The infinite care and loving thought bestowed upon ever detail has resulted in making this church not only an object of great beauty, but one most perfectly adapted to all its uses. It stands on a slight eminence, surrounded by a well-turfed lawn, in the most attractive part of the village, and is built of St. Lawrence marble, the interior being finished in Indiana limestone and quartered oak. The tiled aisles, the mosaic floor of the pulpit, the six large windows of stained glass, add to its beauty. The minister's study and the church parlor and kitchen are also supplied to the minutest detail. The church throughout is lighted with gas, to which convenience are added a good water supply and perfect drainage. In one transept is the pipe organ. The other is arranged for a Sunday-school room, with all appropriate furnishings.
REV. JULIUS PATTENGILL
, of Walton, Delaware County, N.Y., was born in the town of Canterbury, Conn., February 20, 1810. His father Horatio, who was born in Lisbon, Conn., in October, 1777, was a son of Lemuel Pattengill, a native of the same town. Three of his sons - John, Benjamin, and William - were soldiers in the Continental army, serving all through the war. John settled in Lawrence County, New York, and was nearly one hundred years old when he died. He was one of the last eleven pensioners of the Revolutionary War, all of whom passed away within one year of his death. Benjamin went South, where all trace of him was lost. William settled on the Green Mountains, dying there at an advanced age. Lemuel was Captain in the War of 1812, and was wounded and taken prisoner at the battle of Queenstown, Canada, and was soon afterward paroled.
Horatio Pattengill was married to Miss Thankful Cady, who was born February 24, 1783, at Stephentown, Washington County, N. Y. She was the mother of six children, namely: Evan, died, aged eight months; Horatio, died at Corning, N. Y., in his eighty-seventh year; William, died at New Lisbon, in his eighty-sixth; Pauline, wife of Parker Scott, died in Milford, Otsego County, 1842, aged twenty-eight years; Eliza, wife of D. de Forest, died at Oberlin, Ohio, in 1873, aged fifty-six years.
Julius Seneca Pattengill, the fourth member of the family, was engaged on the home farm until he arrived at his twentieth year, when he taught school for some ten or more terms. In 1838 he graduated from the Oneida Institute and commenced the study of theology with the Rev. A. E. Campbell, of Cooperstown, N. Y. He was ordained in 1840 at New Berlin, where he was engaged in pastoral work for nine years. Coming to Walton in 1848, he remained as pastor of the Congregational church for twenty years. He next went to Homer, N.Y., where he was employed by the State Temperance Society for one year, and from there went to Bainbridge, and was afterward two years at Holland, Oneida County. Returning to Walton in 1883, he was for seven years pastor of the Cannonsville Presbyterian church, and from that time has not been in continuous active work, but has preached as an occasional supply, having been a servant in the vineyard of the Lord for fifty-six years. He was instrumental in establishing the academy at New Berlin, and obtained every one of the pledges for the erection of the Walton Academy, which school is one of the best of its kind in the State.
Rev. Mr. Pattengill was married on October 8, 1839, to Miss Phoebe H. Mosher, of Laurens, Otsego County, N. Y. Four children were the fruit of the union, namely: Frances A., wife of George O. Mead; Catherine E., who died, aged eighteen years; Mary M., wife of Charles Norton, died in 1881, aged thirty, leaving two children; William H., a resident of Walton.
Mr. Pattengill is possessed of a physical and mental vigor which years have not seriously impaired. He has been indefatigable in his labors as a sower of precious seed, having on occasion preached the word four times in a long summer day, and three times in winter days. Full of years and meekly wise, he is justly venerated as one who has led many in the way of righteousness.
, the competent Postmaster of Franklin, N. Y., is one of the best known and most highly esteemed citizens of this place. His father, Dedrick Brinkman, was a native of Prussia, where he was born in 1806, and learned the trade of cabinet-maker, at which he worked for seven years near the family home. In 1830, with no fortune except his own willing hands, he sailed for America, the voyage being an unusually quick and pleasant one. He married in this country Elizabeth Vareschorst, of Germany; and until 1844 they resided in Catskill, after which they removed with their three children to Roxbury, Delaware County.
Here for eight years Mr. Brinkman followed his trade, and then purchased a small farm in that town, which he sold at the expiration of two years to buy a larger one of three hundred acres near by. This the family occupied until the fall of 1865, disposing of it then, to remove to their new home of one hundred and sixty acres, about two miles above Franklin village. This, also, was sold two and a half years later, when Mr. Brinkman bought the farm on which he resided until his death, resulting from an accident with a runaway horse in 1880. His widow now lives with her daughter in Roxbury. Mr. and Mrs. Brinkman buried and infant, and reared ten children to maturity, seven sons and three daughters, of whom six sons and two daughters still survive. They are: Lewis, Otis, George H., and William in Franklin; Edward and Charles in the West; Mary, wife of George Silvernail, in Florida; and Eliza, wife of Joseph Dart, at Roxbury. One of the sons, Henry C. Brinkman, was a volunteer in the Civil War, enlisting in the Eighth Independent New York Battery, and dying of malarial fever at Whitehouse Landing, June, 1862, when but twenty-one years of age. A daughter, Clara, for many years a successful teacher, died in the prime of life.
William Brinkman was born in Catskill, Greene County, July 8, 1840, and received his early education at the district school and the Roxbury Academy. In October, 1861, he enlisted in the same company with his brother Henry as a private, re-enlisting November 21, 1863, and serving to the close of the war, when he was discharged, in June, 1865. Although he was in active service throughout the terrible struggle, with the exception of three months during which he was a patient at the Chesapeake Hospital, a victim to malarial fever, he escaped shot, shell, and prison, and, after peace again reigned in the land, returned to Roxbury, later removing to Franklin, where he was engaged on his father's farm. Mr. Brinkman then spent six months sight-seeing in Nebraska and the West; but, as this was at the time of the great grasshopper scrourge, his impressions of that extensive region were not as favorable as they would have been under different circumstances.
October 5, 1869, he married Miss Marion E. Kingsley, of Franklin, who received her education at the Delaware Institute, and taught seven terms previous to her marriage. Mrs. Brinkman was the daughter of Bradford Kingsley, of Franklin, who died in 1877, aged seventy-three years, his father, Bradford Kingsley, Sr., having moved from Connecticut and settled on a farm in Franklin over ninety years ago. Her mother Mary A. Greene, of Saratoga, passed away when seventy-eight years of age at the old homestead in Franklin, which passed out of the possession of the family only a few years ago. Mrs. Brinkman has two sisters and one brother, George B. Kingsley, of Coventry, now living. Her maternal grandfather was Roger Able, the first white person to be buried in the town of Franklin. He died at twenty-eight years of age, soon after settling here; and his remains were drawn on an ox sled to Bartlett Hollow, where it was then supposed the town would be built. The wife of Roger Able experienced an exciting adventure in the early pioneer days. She was riding her horse along the bridle-path just over the hill from Franklin, when a panther sprang before her with flashing eyes and open jaws. The screams of the frightened woman drove the ferocious creature from the path, and brought to her rescue a workman from the neighboring forest. In the excitement Mrs. Able had lost her saddle, but had clung to her horse. After her husband's death she removed to Saratoga County, where she died at an advanced age.
In 1873 Mr. Brinkman sold his farm and, with his family, removed to Franklin, of which town he was appointed Postmaster in 1885, serving four years, being reappointed in October, 1893, and still serving in that capacity. He is a charter member and First Adjutant of the Grand Army of the Republic, Post 132, of Franklin, of which he has been Commander for six years. He is an enthusiastic Mason, having belonged to that organization for the last twenty-nine years, and having served as Master of the Lodge at Franklin for five years. He is a Royal Arch Mason, being a member of Unadilla Chapter, No. 178, and also is a member of the Susquehanna Lodge, of the Scottish Rites degree. About thirteen years ago Mr. Brinkman purchased his present home in the village, where all are sure of a cordial welcome from him and his estimable wife, who is a valued member of the Congregational church. Mr. Brinkman is a modest, retiring man, who performs his duties in a strictly honorable, conscientious manner; and his bravery in the long service for his country, although never referred to by himself, will long live in the memory of his comrades and friends.
SHERMAN S. GREGORY
, of Cannonsville in the town of Tompkins, bears a name well known throughout this section of the State; and the history of his family, which has long been prominent in all town and county affairs, is peculiarly interesting.
Timothy Gregory, great-grandfather of Sherman, was born in Dutchess County, and, when very young, came westward to the east branch of the Delaware, and was one of the pioneers of these parts The country bordering on the river was at that time a complete wilderness; and for one year this sturdy goodman worked at his land and lived alone, with his own hands erecting the log cabin that was his first shelter, and in all that time seeing no human creature except an occasional Indian. At length he brought his family, and for some years lived peacefully; but at the breaking-out of the Revolutionary War, having received news that the Indians and Tories were going to plunder the valley and massacre the inhabitants, he started off his family on horseback down the valley, and taking with him all the valuables possible, set fire to his stacks and buildings, and went back to Dutchess County. After the war he returned to the valley and settled a few miles farther down than formerly, on the site of the village which was afterward named in his honor Gregorytown. He raised a large family, and lived to an advanced age. His ancestors came from Eastern Massachusetts; and one branch of the family have resided for generations in the quaint old town of Marblehead, where they have engaged extensively in the shoe manufacture. A famous seedsman is also of their number.
Josiah, son of Timothy, and grandfather of Sherman S. Gregory, was brought up on the farm of his father, and followed the pursuit of farmer and lumberman. He married Sally Fuller, of Colchester, and had two children - Josiah, Jr., and Thomas. He was in early manhood fatally injured, and died while yet very young. His son, Josiah Jr., was born at the old homestead, and received an education from the district school, after which he followed the river as lumberman, and assisted in the farm work. Later Josiah Gregory bought a farm in Colchester, and married Lottie Sutton, daughter of Caleb Sutton, of Hancock, by whom he had nine children - Sally A., Jeremiah, Sherman S., Charlotte, John, Edwin R., Peter, Jane, and James. In May, 1840, Josiah removed from Colchester to Tompkins, and bought his father's farm, where his son James J. still lives; and there he spent the last days of his life.
Sherman S., second son of Josiah Gregory, Jr., attended the district school and assisted about the farm until he was twenty-one, when he bought from his father, the farm where he still lives. On November 11, 1848, he married Emily Jane Alverson, daughter of John and Jennie (Frazier) Alverson, of Tompkins. The father of John was Jeremiah Alverson, one of the pioneer settlers of Delaware County, and a noted pilot on the Delaware. He was of English descent, and came from Dutchess County to the town of Walton while it was yet a wilderness. Mr. and Mrs. Gregory have two children, Adalinda and Dewitt C. The latter has been twice married, his first wife having been Rosy Squires, daughter of Henry and Nancy (Soules) Squires, by whom he had one child, Robert C. The second wife of Dewitt C. Gregory was Nellie Jockett, daughter of William Jockett, of Cannonsville. She died, leaving one child, Nellie.
Mr. Sherman S. Gregory and his wife are members of the Baptist church of Cannonsville, and prominent in church affairs. He is now serving his fifth term as Commissioner of Highways, and is largely engaged in farming and in dairying on an enormous scale, all his work being carried on by means of the most improved machinery. Mr. Gregory is a man of the times, interested in what is going on in the world to-day, progressive and enthusiastic, always ready to adopt new measures which shall improve the condition of nature or of man. On a neighboring page may be seen a very good likeness of this worthy citizen.
WASHINGTON M. IVES
, a prosperous farmer in Johnson Hollow, was born March 2, 1819, in that part of the town of Windham, Greene County, N. Y., now known as Prattsville. His grandfather, Samuel Ives, was born in Wallingsford, Conn., and was descended from two of the "Mayflower's" passengers. He was engaged in farming in Connecticut, whence he removed to Greene County, settling at Lexington, which was formed from Windham in 1813. He was a minute-man in the Revolution, a Whig in politics, and a member of the Reformed church. He lived to a good old age, as did his wife, Julia. Their children were: Samuel; Romie R.; Daniel: Caleb; Julia, who became Mrs. Baldwin; Catherine, who married Mr. Ringe; Lola, who married John Ives; Betsey, who married Mr. Steele; Ann, who became Mrs. Page; Keziah, who married C. Mattoon; and Ahna, who married a Mr. Crooker.
The eldest son, Samuel, was born in Connecticut. He bought the farm in Prattsville now owned by D. W. Hyatt; and in 1826 he moved to Johnson Hollow, Delaware County. Here he engaged extensively in farming and lumbering, and lived to his death, at the age of eighty-four years. He was a Whig in politics, and was drafted in the War of 1812. His wife was Betsey Fairchild, daughter of one of the early settlers; and she died when forty-six years of age, a member of the Reformed church. Their children were: Jonathan R., Samuel P., Washington M., Calista M., Nancy M., Alma C., Betsey A., Helen M.
Washington M. Ives attended the district school, and worked on the farm until twenty-five years of age. After the death of his father he purchased the interests of the other heirs in the old homestead, which comprised one hundred and fifty-six acres. In 1843 he married Harriet N. Meeker, who was born May 28, 1822, daughter of Philo and Gertrude (Scott) Meeker, residents of Roxbury. Mr. and Mrs. Ives had six children, namely: William, who was born July 18, 1845, and died February 33, 1851; Philo, who was born February 18, 1847, and whose first wife, Alida Stevens, died, leaving one child, after which he married Alida Laverick, by whom he had three children; Mary S., born September 6, 1849, now the widow of William F. Fenn, of Prattsville, who died, leaving five children; Homer M., who was born December 7, 1851, married Lucy Morgan, resides at Ohio, and has lost his wife and one child; John W., born November 5, 1853, who married Adella Chalfield, and is a machinist in Ohio; S. Parker, born November 3, 1858, who married Alma Tuttle, now lives at the old homestead with his wife and three children. Mrs. Ives died October 1, 1890, a member of the Reformed church.
Mr. Ives continued in the industry of farming, and erected the buildings now on his farm, which is situated in Johnson Hollow, and was the first to be settled in this section of the country. He has two hundred acres of land and twenty-five grade cows. He was Captain of the State militia, and is a Republican in politics. Mr. Ives is an energetic and industrious man, and his flourishing and well-managed farm shows the thrift and prosperity of its owner.
SCHUYLER E. WOOD
, a native of Sidney, is one of the young men of his town who has already, before he has reached the prime of life, shown much promise as a successful man in his chosen vocation, and a useful and influential citizen. He is of the fifth generation in descent from Joseph Wood, who was born January 25, 1755, and married March16, 1780, Mary St. John. They lived to a good old age, and had nine children, namely: Joseph, Jr., born February 22. 1781, who died 1836; Caleb, born February 25, 1781, who died April 12 of the same year; Caleb, born July 29, 1784; Mary W., born January 14, 1787;
Elizabeth, born July 8, 1791; Lavinia, born March 17, 1795; Benjamin, born August 13, 1798; Sarah, born December 8, 1799; Seely, born January 12, 1801.
Caleb married Abigail Bookhout, born July 8, 1782. They raised a family of seven children, namely: Jessie L., born July 9, 1807, died at an advanced age. Paulina A., born February 28, 1804, was the wife of A. Patton; and both she and her husband have passed away. Mary St. John, born August 27, 1811, was the wife of the late Solomon Robbins, and is no longer living. Belinda A., born February 25, 1816, died May 18, 1863, wife of Seba Beach. Sarah K., born July 2, 1818, died October 1, 1880, wife of Collins Brown. Seely K., born July 2, 1882, resides in Galesburg Ill. Joseph R., born September 22, 1813 died November 23, 1892.
Caleb Wood came to Delaware County from Connecticut early in the century, and bought land near Walton, the county then being new and unsettled, and so primitive that the road was marked by notches cut in the trees, the wagons which passed being so few in number that they did not make sufficient track to direct the traveller. After clearing the greater part of his land, he sold it, and bought one hundred acres of timbered land near Sidney Centre; and here he spent the rest of his life with his wife and numerous family. He was a member of the ancient Whig party, and a man of liberal religious views, far beyond his time.
Joseph R. Wood, the second son of Caleb, spent his early manhood on the home farm until he had saved a sufficient amount of wealth to enable him to buy a farm of his own. On October 1, 1840 he married Laura Lawrence, daughter of John B. and Anna (Cook) Lawrence. Mr. and Mrs. Lawrence were married November 15, 1815, and came to this county about that time from the Eastern States. Mr. Lawrence was a great reader and somewhat of a scholar, being what is called a self-made man, and accumulating during his life considerable wealth. He was born May 18, 1794 , and died February 22, 1869. Mrs. Lawrence
was born September 9, 1795 and died in 1875. Joseph R. Wood and his wife were the parents of eight children: Spencer L., born June 26, 1841, who died September 2, 1844; Clark A., born October 5, 1842, dying December 23, 1877; Victor D., born April 21, 1844, who died September 24, 1863; John M., born March 4, 1846, who died August 6, 1847; Bloomer C., born April 12, 1848, dying January 6, 1863; Francesca S., born January 25, 1850, who died November 7, 1865; Theron, born January 5, 1852, who died October 20, 1865; Emery E., born January 27, 1857, who died January 4, 1863. Mr. Wood was a Republican, and was a Christian citizen much respected by all. His wife was a member of the Baptist church.
Clark A. Wood, the second son of Joseph R., was born in the town of Sidney, and grew to manhood on the farm. Never having enjoyed good health, he was unable to leave the ways of his father and start in a new line of life, but was obliged to
content himself with a district-school education. He was married at the age of twenty-one, on July 3, 1864, to Sarah A. Beach, daughter of Seba and Belinda (Wood) Beach. Seba Beach was born in 1804, and all his life was spent in faithful and satisfactory manual labor in the factories of his native State, Connecticut, where he died in 1874.
The three children of Clark A. and Sarah A. Wood were: Schuyler E., born April 10, 1868; Flora, born November 26, 1870, still at home; and John Merchant, who was born May 26, 1874 and died August 24, 1887. Clark Wood resided on his father's farm until in 1876 he inherited the John B. Lawrence farm, which was originally a part of the family farm. After removing to this new home, he lived but two years; and on January 23, 1877, his wife passed away at the old homestead. He was a Republican and an attendant at the Baptist church, of which his wife was a member.
Schuyler E. Wood was born at his grandfather's house, where so many members of this well-known family have been sheltered and nurtured, At the death of his parents he came into possession, together with his sister, of the one hundred and sixty acres of excellent farm land, furnished with barns of recent build and a most comfortable house, which he now occupies. All this is known as the Joseph Wood and John Lawrence farm, and on it are kept twenty-two cows, besides much stock, dairying being the principal industry. Mr. Wood is a man of marked intelligence, and well read in all matters of daily interest. He is a staunch Republican, and one who it is hoped will do much in the interest of the principles he upholds.
He is a member of the Baptist church, and is an active participant in all the good works of his town.
was born January 24, 1836, and has spent the greater part of his life in Delaware County, in the towns of Colchester and Andes, in the vicinity of Campbell Mountain. The grandfather of Mr. Hanmer was Isaac Hanmer, whose parents were natives of Wales. He was a ship-builder; and, while engaged in the working at his trade on Lake Champlain, he met with his death when about thirty years old, leaving but one child, Robert M., the father of the subject of this sketch.
After the death of her husband, Mrs. Isaac Hanmer married Henry Johnson, a native of Ireland, and with him came to the town of Colchester, Delaware County, in 1822. They bought a farm on Campbell Mountain, near the Campbell homestead, and lived to a good old age, at their death leaving eight children - John, Edward, Jane, Kate, Barna, Abbie, Mary, and Henry B.
Robert M., when but ten years old, removed with his mother to Delaware County from Dutchess County, where he was born, near Red Hook. He received a common-school education, and then started for himself on a farm on Campbell Mountain. After clearing the land, he put up substantial buildings, and continued throughout his residence on the mountain one of the most prosperous farmers in the vicinity. In 1856 he sold his first farm, and went to Pepacton, where he engaged in mercantile business on the present site of the Tiffany Hotel. Five years later he moved to Union Grove, where he engaged in lumbering, running the lumber down the river to Philadelphia. He built a mill where Jenkin's mill is now situated, and another one three miles up the creek on the location of Mr. Reed's residence. When failing health would no longer allow him to engage in active business, he left his son in charge of his extensive trade, and now lives a retired life in Union Grove, enjoying the fruits of his early toil. He and his wife are Presbyterians, and in politics has been an active worker for the Republican party. He has held many town offices, among them being Justice of the Peace and Supervisor. He is a charter member of the Downsville Lodge, No. 464, A. F. & A. M. The wife of Robert M. Hanmer was Margaret Lown, and they were married December 17, 1833. She was the daughter of Herman D. and Harriet (Hart) Lown. Her father was a farmer, and
had a family of five children - Sandy, David, Margaret, Julia, and Maria. Mr. Lown lived to be seventy years old, and his wife seventy-five. Mr. and Mrs. Robert M. Hanmer were the parents of six children: Isaac, the subject of this sketch; Herman D., born June 24, 1838, who married Electa Hoffman, deceased, and is a farmer and lumberman in Virginia, having a family of nine children; also Robert R., Ann Maria, Julia M., and Adah M., all of whom now reside near Union Grove, Delaware County, N. Y.
Isaac Hanmer was born on Campbell Mountain; and, after receiving his education in the common schools, he taught school for eighteen years, and then settled at Union Grove, where in connection with his father he engaged in the lumber business, carrying on the saw-mills, and piloting the rafts down the river. He was for four years in Virginia, engaged in lumber business, and, after returning home, started a cooperage on the Barkerboom Creek in Union Grove, and since that time has manufactured about two thousand firkins a year.
In 1862 Mr. Hanmer married Jane Gregory, who died in the following year. She left one child, Jennie, born April 12, 1863. who is now the wife of E. Laidlaw, of Middletown, and the mother of three children. In February, 1864, Mr. Hanmer married Josephine Burhans, daughter of Philip and Helen (Wallace) Burhans, of Flatbush, Ulster County. Mr. Burhans carried on the fish business and farming, and was the father of six children - George, Margaret, Cornelia, Serena, Josephine, and Francis. The present Mrs. Hanmer is the mother of the following children: Maggie, born May 29, 1866. who died May 26, 1867; White G., born November 29, 1867, a cooper and carpenter at Union Grove; Bertha, born July 19, 1870, who died October 17, 1876; Dora born August 27, 1873, and Hamilton B., born April 12, 1880, both living at home.
Isaac Hanmer responded to the call of his country in 1861, enlisting in the One Hundred and First Regiment, and was enrolled First Sergeant of Company E, being in service a year, when he was overtaken by a contagious disease, and was sent home to recover. His brother, Herman D., enlisted in the Third New York Cavalry in July 1861, and was enrolled August 10, as First Lieutenant of Company E. Four years he served faithfully for the Union, during which time he went through some thrilling experiences, and engaged in some of the bloodiest battles of the war. He is a member of the Phil Kearney Post, No. 10, Richmond, Va.
Isaac Hanmer has been for many years a member of Downsville Lodge, No. 464, A. F. & A. M., and is also a member of Arena Lodge, No. 589, Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He has been Justice of Sessions, and has held the office of Justice of the Peace for more than twenty years, being still acting in that capacity. Through his vigorous efforts for the welfare of his town many improvements, have been brought about, and he has the respect of his fellow-citizens.
ELDER JOHN CLARK
, a regularly ordained minister of the old-school Baptist churches of the Lexington Association of
Delaware, Schoharie, Greene, and Ulster Counties, New York, is a highly respected resident of the village of Halcottsville.
He was born in Gilboa, Schoharie County, March 9, 1838. His grandfather was John B. Clark, of English descent, who came to
Schoharie from the town of Coeymans, Albany County, and settled in Gilboa on the place now owned by Willis Baker. He
finished clearing the land, and erected buildings thereon, but subsequently sold this farm, and moved to North-western
Pennsylvania, near the present city of Meadville, where he resided until his death, at the advanced age of fourscore, his
wife Eve, dying at about the same age, leaving three sons - Reuben, Alva, and Ira.
The eldest son, Reuben, the father of the special subject of this sketch, was born in Gilboa, October 24, 1804. His wife,
Eliza, the daughter of Simeon and Esther Wright, was born November 19, 1807. Reuben Clark resembled his father in his
early life, and began farming on the farm which the grandfather first settled. After a few years, however, he disposed of
this place, and purchased a small farm near by. He was not confined to farming, but was also a mechanic. He died November
29, 1870, his wife surviving him only a short time, dying May 1, 1873. They had four children, - Lucy, Mary, Cyrus, and
John. Lucy married M. D. L. Fox, and lives near Gilboa; issue, two children. Cyrus married Mary Tygett, living in
Columbia County; issue, five children.
John, the youngest, attended the common school, and on his twenty-fourth birthday, 1863, was married to Jennie E. Hannah,
daughter of Thomas and Sally Hannah, of Grand Gorge. He began farming on his father-in-law's farm, where he remained three
years, and next bought a farm in Gilboa, which, however, he directly sold, and, buying one of M. A. Losa, near Broome
Centre, Schoharie County, lived there three years. He then sold out, and purchased a farm of William Hagadorn, near by,
where he lived five years, selling in 1875 on account of the sad death of his wife, Jennie, which occurred August 10, 1875.
the issue of this marriage was one child, Ella, who was born July 24, 1869, and died December 15, 1871. On October 22,
1876, Mr. Clark married Julia M. Webb, widow of Linus Web, and daughter of Joshua and Hulduh Roberts, of Halcottsville.
She had one son, Victor Webb, who is a teacher, and is now attending the Oneonta Normal School. From this marriage there
have been three children: Foster Roberts Clark, born April 11, 1883, died in babyhood; Isaac La Verne Clark, born March
22, 1885; and Scott Hay Clark, born July 13, 1889.
After his second marriage Mr. Clark rented for two years the farm belonging to the Orrin Hewitt estate, near Halcottsville,
and then moved to Halcottsville, where he lived one year. He next bought and occupied for fourteen years and one day a
farm of two hundred and twenty acres on Sunny Side, which he still owns and rents. In the spring of 1894 he moved to
Halcottsville, and has built a neat cottage, intending to make it his permanent residence, and devote his entire time to
his ministerial duties. Both he and his wife are members of the primitive, or old-school Baptist, church.
Mr. Clark was licensed in September, 1880, to preach in the church at Gilboa, was ordained in June 1884, and is now pastor
of Gilboa, second Roxbury, Schoharie, Middleburg, Oliver, and Hurley churches. Elder Clark became a church member when
twenty-six years old, but did not become a minister until over forty, his labors being, however, none the less effective,
for, as Thomas Fuller has pithily remarked, "Surely that preaching which comes from the soul most works on the soul."
is skilfully carrying on mixed husbandry on his fine farm in the town of Walton. On this homestead where he
was born December 22, 1842, he has spent his entire life, and, since he assumed its care, has added greatly to its
improvement. He has placed the buildings in good repair, and in 1893 erected a new barn at the cost of eighteen hundred
dollars, which for convenience and comeliness is not excelled in this vicinity. It is very capacious, being forty feet by
sixty feet, with an L twenty feet by thirty-eight feet, and having twenty-two-feet posts above the large stone basement,
wherein his horses and cattle are kept, the driveway for the hay and grain being fourteen feet above. Mr. Beers excels in
making fine dairy butter and maple sugar, also in raising nice vegetables.
Mr. Beers is of New England parentage, his father, Aaron Beers, having been born in Newtown, Conn., August 7, 1808, being a
son of Zalmon Beers, also a native of that State. Zalmon, was born in 1778, and was the only child of a patriot soldier
who served in the Revolutionary War under General Washington, and died from sickness at Valley Forge. Zalmon Beers came to
Delaware County in 1815, bringing with him his wife and all of his children excepting Lyman, who remained with his uncle.
He took up one hundred acres of timbered land in the town of Walton, near East Brook. He was a stone-mason by trade,
therefore did not give all his attention to farming. He died in old age at the house of his son, Albert G., at Rock Rift;
and Hannah, his wife, died on East Brooke at the house of her daughter, Sarah A., a few years later.
Zalmon Beers married Hannah M. Banks, and seven children were born to them; namely, Lyman, Albert G., Hiram, Adelia,
Drusilla, Sarah A., and Aaron. Lyman, the eldest, was a hatter in Danbury, Conn., and had quite a family of children,
nearly all now deceased. Albert G. was a farmer and lumberman at Rock Rift. He reared seven children, of whom one
daughter and two sons are now living. Hiram was engaged in farming near Walton in his younger days, but afterward removed
to Pennsylvania. He reared two daughters and one son, and one of his grand-daughters has served with acceptance as School
Commissioner. Adelia, who married James Goldsmith, a farmer, in South Franklin, died at the age of thirty-six years,
leaving two children. Drusilla, who died in 1850, married Milton Sawyer, and they reared eight children. Sarah A., the
only child now living, is eighty-three years of age, and draws a pension, her husband, Alfred Bradley, a brother of Mrs.
Aaron Beers, having been a faithful soldier in the War of 1812.
In regard to his uncle, Milton Sawyer, the following incident was told to Mr. Beers by an early settler a short time since:
Fifty years ago dairymen in the neighborhood of East Brook used to take their butter in the fall to Catskill to market,
always carrying provision for the journey. Thomas Jamieson on one occasion was about to start for Catskill with his
butter, but had no meat to carry with him. Milton Sawyer, a great hunter, told him that if his son Robert would take his
oxen and sled and go back into the woods, near where William Tweedie now lives, he could have al the meat he would need.
Robert accordingly went as directed, and in less than six hours returned with three fine deer.
Aaron Beers chose the independent life of a farmer after his marriage, settling on a tract of wild land, containing one
hundred and eight acres of timber, which, after many years of incessant toil, strict economy, and judicious management, he
placed in a good state of cultivation. He was also enabled to purchase more land, so that his homestead, which is now in
the possession of his son Chester, contains one hundred and eighty-three acres of as fine and productive land as can be
found in this region. Before marriage he returned to Connecticut to learn practical comb-making, which business was
profitable only for a short time, when he came again to Walton. The maiden name of his wife was Paulina Bradley. She was
the daughter of Nehemiah and Esther (Cable) Bradley, natives of Connecticut and pioneer settlers of this county. Their
union was solemnized December 4, 1841, at the residence of her brother on Hamden Hill. A slip from a contemporary
newspaper, recently found on the ceiling of an old building, contains a notice of the event, giving the name of the
officiating clergyman, "Elder Wm. Cumings." Paulina Bradley Beers was one of six children born to her parents, the
remaining children being Alfred, who died at East Brook; Gershom H., who died in the prime of life, near Pinesville;
William, who died in 1881, aged seventy-five years, leaving a widow, now an octogenarian, living in Walton; Charlotte, Mrs.
Charles N. Hart, who died a widow in Minneapolis, Minn., June 4, 1893, at the venerable age of ninety years; and Sally, who
died when nearing the age of threescore and ten years, the widow of Hezekiah Cable. Of the marriage of Aaron Beers and his
wife two children only were born - Charles and Chester. Charles Beers was born February 22, 1845, married Mariett Soper in
early manhood, followed the occupation of farming on Dunk Hill in the town of Walton for a few years, then went to Ida
Grove, Ia., then to Romie, Ia., where he now lives. The father departed this life on September 29, 1887; and his widow, an
unusually bright and active woman of eighty-seven years, resides on the homestead with her son Chester.
Chester Beers, who was always fond of his books, received a liberal amount of schooling, and, having completed his
education at the Delaware Literary Institute, of Franklin, obtained a first-grade certificate, taught school in the winter,
and worked on the farm in the summer season for twelve years, teaching one summer in Deposit. He is a farmer by choice,
and on the parental homestead is conducting his agricultural interests with a wise and skilful hand and brain, being
unusually prosperous in all of his enterprises, and has acquired a high rank among the thrifty farmers and representative
citizens of the town. He was first married November 10, 1873, to Janet R. Nichols, who lived less than two short years,
dying August 13, 1875, without issue. On January 8, 1884, Mr. Beers was again married, his bride being Ida M. Taggart, of
Beerston, being the daughter of the late Joseph Taggart, and his wife Elizabeth (Orr) Taggart. Mr. and Mrs. Taggart were
the parents of ten children, briefly named below: Nancy Jane, the wife of Herman Oles, mother of six children; Ida (Mrs.
Beers); Joseph; Cora B.; Charles; Emma, the wife of William Costello, mother of two children; John; and James. The four
sons are unmarried, and make their home with their mother in Beerston. Two daughters, who grew to womanhood, are deceased,
namely: Ella, who died at he age of twenty-two years; and Anna, the wife of Clement Northrup, who died in Littleton, Col.,
when but twenty-four years old, leaving two children. Mr. Taggart gave up the cares and burdens of this life and was
gathered to his eternal rest in 1884, being then seventy-three years of age. One child only has come to bless the home of
Mr. and Mrs. Beers - Clara Janet, who was born September 11, 1887.
Mr. Beers is a man of integrity and strong convictions, and is held in high consideration in the neighborhood where he has
spent his life. He is a man of large physique and fine presence, being six feet four and one-half inches tall, and
weighing two hundred and forty pounds, exceeding his father, who was a stalwart man, in height by one and one-half inches.
He is a prominent member of the Grange, and, having been rocked in a Democratic cradle, still clings to the principles of
the party to which he was born and bred.
JOHN P. BLAKELY
, a prominent farmer of Kortright, was born in this town, June 18, 1845, son of James G. and Susan (McAuley)
Blakely, both of whom were natives of the town. The father was born January 12, 1810, and the mother July 23, 1813. James
G. Blakely was a son of William, who was born in Washington County, and moved to the town of Kortright in 1808, when quite
a young man, purchasing a farm of about nine hundred acres. At the time of his advent in the town it was in a very
primitive state, most of the land being covered with timber, requiring the expenditure of much energy and time to bring it
under cultivation. This Mr. Blakely successfully accomplished. In addition to his farm he also kept a tavern, which was
the first one in the town. He raised a family of nine children, all of whom grew to maturity, one Mrs. Sarah Mitchell,
being alive at this time. William Blakely died on the homestead, aged seventy-four. In politics he was a Democrat. James
G. Blakely was educated in the district schools of Kortright. He was a successful farmer and dairyman, owning a farm of
three hundred acres, part of the old homestead. He and his wife Susan, had eight children, five of whom are now living,
namely: Mrs. Agnes Thomas, widow of John Thomas, residing in the town of Stamford; William, Jennie M., and John P., all of
Kortright; and Rebecca S., who resides at home. Mr. James G. Blakely died April 15, 1882.
John P. Blakely was educated in the district schools of Kortright and at the Stamford Academy, and then engaged in teaching
for two terms. He afterward devoted his attention to general farming, also making a specialty of dairying, owning fifty head of cattle. Mr. Blakely is a man of progressive ideas, and has remodelled and improved the farm buildings until the estate is second to none in the county. He is a member of the West Kortright Presbyterian Church, and in politics is a Democrat. He has never been prominent in politics, neither has he ever sought any public office. He is a man of great popularity with his fellows, and the type of an honest, intelligent, industrious, and well-to-do farmer.
, who is engaged in general farming and dairying near
DeLancey station, is one of the substantial and trustworthy
citizens of the town of Hamden. He is the offspring of an ancient
Scotch family, and was born in the town of Delhi on Scotch
Mountain, where his parents settled on their arrival in this
John Wight, the grandfather of the subject of this sketch, was a
native of Roxburghshire, Scotland, where he spent many years of his
long life in herding sheep. He married Eleanor Middlemist, who bore
him five sons and several daughters. Of the five sons, three-ªMatthew, Thomas, and George-- emigrated to America, and became
useful and respected citizens. The mother of these children,
outliving her husband several years, died in the town of Delhi, at
the ripe old age of ninety-eight years, and was buried in the
church-yard cemetery of the first Presbyterian church.
George Wight, Sr., was born in Roxburghshire, Scotland, in March,
1790. His wife was a native of Northumberland County, England,
where their marriage was solemnized in 1817. The following year
they with their first-born sailed from Liverpool for America, via
Halifax, at which port the vessel was to load, thence to Boston,
arriving at New York City, their point of destination, after a
voyage of six weeks. They came to Delaware County, where they
bought one hundred and sixty acres of scantily improved land on
Scotch Mountain from Widow Cameron, whose husband was one of
Graham's victims. By perservering and toil and brave endurance they
cleared their farm, and subsequently bought two hundred and forty
acres more, making in all four hundred acres. The father was a man
of more than ordinary intelligence and ability, and exercised great
influence in the community where he lived. He was also an honored
Elder in the Presbyterian church for many years. He and his good
wife spent a most happy wedded life, and in their death were not
separated, both being buried on the same day, in the year 1876, the
mother being in her eightieth year, and the day of their burial
being the eighty-sixth anniversary of the birth of the father.
Eleven children were born to them.
The eldest, John L., a retired farmer living in Andes, has been
twice married, and of his nine children only three are living; the
second, Betsy, who for many years took care of her parents, is
still in the parental homestead; the third, a daughter, died in
infancy; the fourth, Robert died March 7, 1876, aged fifty-one
years, leaving two sons and two daughters; the fifth, Eleanor, married John Holmes, of Colchester, and has had six sons and three
daughters, six of whom are living; the sixth, William, a graduate
of Jefferson College, Pa., and for many years thereafter a
successful teacher, is living in Bernardston, Mass., on a farm, and
has one son and one daughter, another daughter having died in
infancy; the seventh, Margaret Ann, wife of William Hymers, of
Hamden, has five sons and two daughters living, an infant having
died; the eighth, Isabella, died at eighteen; the ninth, Jane,
widow of John W. Smith, of Walton, has two sons and one daughter
living, having lost four children; the tenth is George, the subject
of this sketch; the eleventh, Thomas, a practising physician of
Andes, has one son and three daughters living, and has lost two
In 1869 were solomized the marriage vows of Mr. George Wight and
Miss Emma A. Knowles, daughter of W. H. and Jane (McFarlane)
Knowles, both natives of Hamden. Her father is a farmer; her mother
is of Scotch parentage.
HENRY G. CARTWRIGHT
, editor and proprietor of the Roxbury Times,
and a popular and influential citizen of this town, is descended
from a well-known family of the name. His father was Dr.
Cartwright, for many years a successful and prominent physician of
Roxbury, who married Mary Mead.
Mr. Cartwright was born in Roxbury, November 13, 1869. He was
educated in the schools of this town and at Fort Edward Institute,
later attending the Cortland Normal School, from which he graduated
in 1887. In 1889 he was page in the Assembly, and began
corresponding for the Albany papers. He was later assistant in the
post-office at Hunter, Greene County, N. Y., but having a taste for
journalism, he purchased the Hunter Phenix, a weekly paper of that
town. This he edited for some time, and then sold it, being then
employed by the Prudential Insurance Company. In April, 1891, he
accepted a position as clerk with A. Cartwright, a leading merchant
of Roxbury. Not being content with mercantile life, and wishing to
return to his literary work, in April, 1892, he purchased of R. R.
Hazard the Roxbury Times, whose circulation of six hundred has
increased, under his able managemnet, to over eleven hundred. Mr.
Cartwright is a stanch Republican, and was a delegate to the State
Convention at Syracuse, being the youngest member. He is very
active in all enterprises pertaining to the improvement and welfare
of the village of Roxbury, and takes especial interest in
JOHN C. CARPENTER
, a prosperous farmer and dairyman of Tompkins, N.
Y., was born in Broome County, July 4, 1841. His father, Benjamin
L. Carpenter, was a native of the same county, and resided there
until 1856, when he removed to Delaware County, and purchased a
tract of eighty-six acres of land, now included in the farm owned
and occupied by the subject of this biography. At the time of his
purchase it contained a small plank house and a log barn. Buying
interest in a saw-mill, Mr. Carpenter engaged in the lumber
business in connection with agricultural pursuits. Here he lived until his death, at the age of sixty-one years. His wife was Sarah
Hoag, daughter of Ezra and Charlotte Hoag; and she died when fiftyªseven years of age, having reared five children--Nancy Russell,
John C., and Charles W., Theressa, Mrs. Abram Moore, died February
9, 1863; George L. died January 14, 1864.
John C. Carpenter attended the district school in his boyhood, and
assisted his father in the care of the farm. In August, 1862, he
enlisted in Company A, One Hundred and Forty-fourth New York
Volunteer Infantry, and served in the various campaigns in which
this regiment was active. At the battle of Honey Hill he was
wounded in the left arm; and, as this accident caused him to be
unfit for service, he was honorably discharged March 30, 1865. He
returned to his home, and in 1866 purchased the old farm, and
leased a saw-mill, engaging in lumbering and farming.
April 11, 1867, Mr. Carpenter married Miss Mary C. Wood, and they
are the parents of five children--Willie A., Lewis G., Francis L.,
Adelbert, and Annie E.
Mr. and Mrs. Carpenter and four of their children are members of
the Methodist Episcopal church, in which organization they are
active workers. Mr. Carpenter is a Republican in politics, is a
member of the Plasket Post, Grand Army of the Republic, of Hancock,
and is highly respected in the town where he resides.
, attorney-at-law, residing in the village of
Walton, is a gentleman whose talent and culture has gained him an
honorable position in the legal profession, and placed him among
the leading and influential citizens of Delaware County. Andes is
the town of his birth, which occurred December 11, 1846. He is a
descendant of respected pioneer settlers of this region, being a
grandson of Alexander Neish, who was born in Crieff, Scotland, in
1779, and his wife, Jeannette (Drummond) Neish, also a native of
Several years after their marriage this worthy couple emigrated to
the United States, bringing with them four children, landing in New
York City after a three months' voyage. Purchasing horses and
wagons, they came through the intervening woods to the town of
Hamden, where they bought land, and carried on general farming on
an extensive scale for those days. Two more children were
subsequently added to their household circle. Mrs. Jeannette Neish
died in February, 1864, in the eighty-seventh year of her age,
survived only a few weeks by her husband, who died when eighty-five
years old. The record of their children is as follows: James, who
is now eighty-seven years old, owns and occupies one of the finest
farms in Andes; he is a widower, his wife having died in February,
1894, when past ninety years of age. John is the father of the
subject of this sketch. Ann, the wife of Haskell P. Wilber, resides
in the village of Walton. Mary, the widow of Walter Stott, lives at
Livingston Manor. William resides on the old homestead. Jeannette,
the youngest, married Senator William Lewis, and both are now
deceased. John Neish, son of Alexander, was a young lad when he came to
Andes, but has some remembrance of the dreary voyage across the
stormy Atlantic. He married Amelia M. Barnhart, the daughter of
Philip and Nancy (Knapp) Barnhart, a native of Washington County.
Mr. Barnhart was born in the town of Andes, being a son of John and
Eleanor (Shaver) Barnhart, the latter of whom is said to have been
the first white female child born within the limits of Andes, to
which place her father had come from Dutchess County. The Shaver
family were of Holland descent, and on removing to this county
brought some wealth with them. At the time of an Indian outbreak
they hid a kettle of silver in a binnacle, and were never afterward
able to find it. Of the union of Mr. and Mrs. John Neish six
children were born: one son died in infancy; another, Philip, who
was a lawyer by profession, was admitted to the bar in Iowa, and
subsequently died at the age of thirty-four years, leaving a wife
and children'; Juliana, the wife of O. G. Hendrix, lives in Walton
village; Alexander, also of Walton, is further mentioned below;
Byron V., a railway engineer, resides in Bucyrus, Ohio; Marietta,
married Henry A. Neidig, living in Andes. The parents are both
active and hearty people, and are esteemed members of the Methodist
church of Andes. In politics John Neish is a wide-awake Republican.
Alexander Neish was reared upon the family homestead, gained the
rudiments of his education at the district school, and pursued a
higher course of study at the Andes Collegiate Institute. As many
men now eminent in the various professions have done, Mr. Neish
began his career as a teacher, and continued to exercise that
calling for three years. He then entered the office of W. H.
Johnson, of Andes, and, after reading law with him for some time,
was admitted to the bar in May, 1869. The following month Mr. Neish
opened an office in the village of Walton, and began the practice
of his profession, in which he has met with eminent and flattering
success. On the 1st of January, 1894, he formed a partnership with
John G. More, the firm being known as Neish & More. Aside from his
legal duties Mr. Neish finds time to devote to the interests of his
community, having been President of the village of Walton for six
years, and having served on the Board of Education of Walton Union
Free School eleven years, this school taking a high rank among the
schools in this section of the State. Politically, he affiliates
with the Republican party.
On April 11, 1867, Mr. Neish was married to Miss Mary A. Hitchcock,
the daughter of Lucius and the late Susan (Sweet) Hitchcock, who
passed from earth in February, 1894, at the age of sixty-seven
years, leaving her husband and three children. Mr. Hitchcock is a
carpenter by trade, and an esteemed resident of Oneonta. Of the
union of Mr. and Mrs. Neish four children have been born: the
eldest, Flora M., a talented young lady and an accomplished
musician, was married to F. A. St. John, October 11, 1894, and
settled in Walton village; Lillian LaSalle, who, like her sister
Flora, was a graduate of the Walton High School, also pursued her
musical studies at the New England Conservatory of Music, Boston;
Alexander J., a youth of sixteen years, is in school, preparing for
college; Albert P., the youngest child, is a fine lad of nine years. The parents are sparing neither time nor expense in
educating these children to become self-reliant men and women, with
a definite place in this busy world of ours.
, late of Roxbury, N. Y., was the last male
descendant of his family possessing the old homestead in Delaware
County. He was a great-grandson of Johannes Hardenburgh, of
Rosendale, Ulster County, the patentee of the Hardenburgh Patent,
which was granted April 20, 1708, the lands having been previously
purchased of the Indians. The title was confirmed, it is said by
three governments--the Dutch, English, and United States. After the
Revolution it was found that the monuments were lost; and an act,
passed March 29, 1790, appointed Charles Tappen and James Cockburn
commissioners to make a survey of certain lines, to be properly
marked by stone heaps every two miles along the division lines. The
grant was divided into great tracts, numbered from one to fortyªtwo. The number of acres in the patent is not known. It lies within
the boundaries of Ulster, Sullivan, Greene, and Delaware Counties.
An elder Isaac, son of Johannes, came to the town of Roxbury in
1791, journeying by the way of Saugerties, through the gorge, up
the mountain, to Tannersville, and down the Schoharie Kill, by
marked trees and Indian trails. He was a man of vigerous physique,
was possessed of a considerable amount of legal knowledge, and
always dressed in Colonial style. He married Rachel Graham, of New
York City, and became the father of seven children--Frances, Lewis,
Margaret, Elizabeth, John, Catherine, and George. He built the old
stone house in the basement of which was kept the first store in
the town of Roxbury. Later he moved to Catskill, where he died on
January 15, 1822. As was the custom among the wealthy people of
that day, he kept a number of slaves; and they were very eager to
come to this land of promise, the maple-sugar country.
Lewis, the eldest son of the first Isaac, was born in 1783, was
married July 20, 1806, to Agnes Laraway, and came into possession
of the homestead. Lewis was a very active and energetic man. He had
made many improvements in his lands, and had planned many more,
when he was suddenly taken away by the hand of death in 1838, at
the age of fifty-five years, leaving a wife and six children--Ann
Eliza, Katie Maria, Rosina, Martin, Isaac, and Addison.
Isaac, second son of Lewis and Agnes Hardenburgh, was born November
2, 1827, at the old homestead in the town of Roxbury, and at his
father's death came into possession of the property. He was a
large, powerfully built man, of a genial and happy disposition and
of a noble heart. His mental endowments were superior: he was a
deep and accurate thinker, and all his life bore a reputation for
sterling integrity. Two old servants, Jack and Deyona, husband and
wife, who had been slaves of his father, were cared for by him to
a good old age. The death of Isaac Hardenburgh occurred March 16,
1889, and was an event deeply mourned by the entire community. Mr.
Hardenburgh was united in marriage September 29, 1881, to Mary
Shoemaker, of Roxbury, Delaware County, N. Y., a capable, thrifty,
and energetic woman, who looked well after his comfort in his
declining years. One little daughter, Agnes, named for Mrs. Hardenburgh's mother, was born October 17, 1885.
This sketch of the Hardenburgh family has been kindly contributed
to the "Review" by Mr. Hardenburgh's niece, Miss More, of Newark
Valley, Tioga County, N. Y. The accompanying portrait of Isaac
Hardenburgh will be recognized with pleasure by all who were so
fortunate as to have his personal acquaintance.
GEORGE W. ROBINSON
, a well known and enterprising dealer in every
description of market vegetables, of the town of Walton, was born
near this place, December 25, 1832, son of James and Elizabeth
(Case) Robinson. John Robinson, father of James, was a native of
Schoharie County, where he was one time engaged in the manufacture
of wagons. He afterward moved to Walton, where he continued his
business up to the time of his death. He left nine children:
namely, Hiram, James, George W., William, Edward, Charles, Nancy
M., Rebecca, and Delia. James Robinson was reared to agricultural
pursuits. He married a daughter of Buel and Abigail Case; and at
the time of his early death, which took place when he was but
thirty years of age, he left the following family: George W.,
Lyman, and Jane. Mrs. Robinson died in 1863, at the home of the
subject of this sketch. The father of Mrs. Robinson came from
Connecticut, and settled as a farmer in this State.
George W. Robinson, being but six years old when his father died,
spent his early years under the care of his grandfather. He
attended the district school, and afterward managed the farm and
took care of his grandparents until their death. He then exchanged
that farm for another, and after living thereon for eighteen years,
moved to his present location in 1887. Here he purchased a lot,
upon which he errected a fine dwelling. His first business venture
in Walton was in the ice business. Continuing at that for four
years, he afterward went into the raising of market vegetables on
a large scale, having an extensive trade.
Mr. Robinson was married December 30, 1856, to Miss Sarah J. Gray,
a daughter of Charles and Sarah (Butler) Gray. Mrs. Robinson has
the following brothers and sisters: Angelina, Marcus, Erastus,
Eliphet, and George. The grandfather of Mrs. Robinson was one of
the early settlers of Walton, coming here in 1808. He was a soldier
of the Revolutionary period. Mr. and Mrs. Robinson have the
following children: James A., who has two children: Charles,
married to Miss Hattie Wakeman, has one child, Josephine, and is a
carpenter residing in Walton: Ira, married to Harriett Berry, has
one child--William: Herman, residing in Montana, engaged in
business as a butcher; Addie, married to George E. Robinson; and
Libbie, who is engaged as a dressmaker. Mr. Robinson is a member of
Lodge No. 559, A. F. & A. M., of Walton, of which organization he
has occupied the position of Trustee. He is a Republican in
politics, and has been Assessor for twelve years. Mrs. Robinson is
a member of the Methodist church. Mr. Robinson is a man commanding
the utmost respect, not only in his business, but in his private
life, and has shown himself to be worthy of the public confidence.
WILLIAM L. WHITE
was born on the farm on which he now lives, on the
fourteenth day of February 1841. His parents Robert and Anna
(Graham) White came to America in 1834. Both are natives of regions
indissolubly connected with some of the most romantic and pathetic
episodes in Scottish history. The father was born in Ayrshire,
Scotland; the mother, in Montrose. Robert White was a carpenter by
trade, and was a skilled joiner, having served an apprenticeship of
five years in Scotland. This trade he followed for twenty-five
years after coming to America. In 1837 he bought a farm of fifty
acres, which he enlarged by different purchases from time to time.
Here he died April 5, 1869, at the age of sixty-eight years. His
wife survived him twenty-four years, reaching the advanced age of
ninety-four. Both husband and wife were devout and earnest members
of the United Presbyterian church. Robert White was a strong and
faithful advocate for and defender of Republican principals. Of the
nine children born to the Scotch couple five are now living,
namely: John G., a farmer in Mt. Hope, Wis.; Jane, the wife of John
D. Van Aikin, a farmer in Walton; Anna, the wife of John G.
Thompson, a farmer and laborer in Bovina; William L., the subject
of this memoir; Alexander, a farmer in Belle Plaine, Ia. James died
at eighteen years of age, and Mary and Robert died in infancy.
William L. White spent his boyhood on the farm where he was born,
and received the foundation of a good, plain education in the
district schools, afterward attending the Colegiate Institute of
Andes for four terms, where he fitted himself for a teacher. During
the long winter months he taught school, and through the summer
vacations he did carpenter's work. He taught for six terms in
Delaware County, and was for two terms Principal of the
Cannonsville High School, where he had an attendance of ninety-five
pupils. In 1869 he came into possession of his father's estate,
since which time he has turned his energies toward agricultural
pursuits and stock raising and dealing. He has been somewhat
largely engaged in buying and selling Western horses, five carloads
of which he has made adventageous disposition of since 1890. Under
his management his patrimony has been considerably augmented, and
the farm boundaries have greatly extended. The White farm being
adapted for a grazing farm, Mr. White keeps a herd of forty-eight
cattle, and has been eminently successful in breeding Jersey dairy
stock. The dairy is renumerative to its owner and satisfactory to
its patrons. The average number of pounds of butter per head for
1892 was two hundred and eighty-three, the quality of which was as
fine as its quantity was phenomenal.
Mr. White is in the communion of the United Presbyterian church at
Bovina Centre, and has always been a stanch Republican. For ten
years he has held the office of Justice of the Peace, and was in
1891 and 1892 Supervisor. Many minor offices have taxed the time
and energies of this busy, practical man, who has, nevertheless,
found himself able to discharge them satisfactorily to those who
intrusted the duties to his hand, and without detriment to his
personal work and interest. His many friends wish for him the best
things that can offer. He enjoys the respect and esteem of his
fellow-beings, and the worldly prosperity that his efforts deserve.
JAMES J. GREGORY
, one of the worthy descendants of the stanch
pioneer, Timothy Gregory, who founded Gregorytown, was born in
Tompkins, Delaware County, May 11, 1843. Josiah Gregory, father of
James, was born in the adjacent town of Colchester on March 29,
1797, and after a useful and successful life died February 15,
1886, and was buried in the family lot in Granton, having retained
to the last all his faculties. His wife, whom he married July 4,
1819, was Viletty Sutton. She died April 6, 1874. They had eleven
children: Jeremiah S., born January 25, 1821, died August 14, 1822;
Sally Ann born June 15, 1822, died October 15, 1885; Jeremiah T.,
born June 17, 1824, is Poor Master of the town, and resides in
Cannonsville (a further history of this gentleman may be found in
another part of this volume); Sherman S., was born February 20,
1826, and his sketch, together with a further history of the
Gregory family, may also be found in another part of this work;
Charlotte, born July 22, 1828; John P., born September 29, 1830;
Edwin R., born October 9, 1833; Peter W., born November 15, 1833;
Loomis M., born April 21, 1838, was drowned May 7, 1848; Jane C.,
born January 23, 1841. All of the above were born in Colchester,
while James J., who is under consideration in this sketch, was born
James J., after a common-school education succeeded his father in
the lumber business, and bought also the homestead farm, which he
now carries on. This farm has been in the family for half a
century: and many are the relics of the red men and of troublous
times that have been found about the place and are in the
possession of Mr. Gregory. It has an Indian orchard, and a tract
where the aborigines cultivated their corn.
On January 26, 1870, Mr. James J. Gregory was married in Franklin
to Ann Eliza Chilson, a native of Hamden. She was daughter of
Harvey and Betsey (Bailey) Chilson. Harvey Chilson's father was
Timothy Chilson, a descendant from one of the old Puritan families
of the New England States. He came to Hamden in the early part of
this century from Vermont, bringing his family with him, and for
some years operated a grist-mill near his new home. Later in life
he returned to Vermont, and while crossing Lake Champlain, was the
victim of a fatal accident, and was drowned. His wife survived him
many years, passing the later part of her life with her children in
Michigan. Harvey Chilson, father of Mrs. Gregory, received his
education in Hamden and learned the mason's trade. He married in
1844, Betsey Bailey, daughter of Edward and Mary (Wheaton) Bailey,
from Queenstown, Canada. She was of English descent on the Bailey
side, and German on the Wheaton side. Luther Bailey, greatªgrandfather of Mrs. Gregory, was a Captain in the British army
during the French and Indian War, and for distinguished services at
that time was given by the British government a large tract of land
in what is now the United States, and situated somewhere west of
New York State. This claim was never taken up, as the Captain was
soon after killed while defending Fort Defiance; and his only
child, Edward, removed with the widowed mother to Canada. Harvey
Chilson enlisted in the One Hundred and Forty-fourth Regiment of
the New York Volunteers, and served in the late war for nearly three years, being then discharged for disability. After the war he
settled in Michigan and took a soldier's grant of government land
near Whithall, Muskegon County. He there successfully engaged in
farming. He had four children--Mary, Anna Eliza, Elihu, and Matthew
E. Mr. and Mrs. James J. Gregory have one child, Bertha B., born
March 3, 1874, who is now being educated at the Deposit Academy.
Mr. Gregory, following the precedent of his family, is an able and
industrious farmer, carrying into effect all the principals brought
down to him from the past, improved and supplemented by the more
advance views of the present.
, of Sidney, is probably the oldest resident of
Delaware County, and is one of the most respected. He was born
November 7, 1800, in the town of Bedford, Westchester County, N.
Y., and so is within less than six years of being a centenarian.
His parents were Roger Searles and his wife, Esther Baker, of
Westchester County. The former was a farmer and dealer in live
stock, and lived to a good old age. His remains rest in the
cemetery at Flatbush, Kings County, N. Y.; while the mother, who
died in middle life, was buried at Catskill. They had a typical
pioneer family of eight sons and three daughters, all of whom save
one (Esther) arrived at maturity, but have now, with a single
exception (Alexander, above named), passed to the life beyond.
Having been trained to farm work in boyhood, absorbing whatever
knowledge could be obtained in the district schools of the time and
locality, Alexander, at the age of eighteen, in company with his
brother, Lewis, went to work at the tailor's trade in Westerlo,
Albany County. After obtaining a thorough insight into the
tailoring business, he came to Franklin, where he was for forty
years employed in working at his trade. In 1865 he purchased three
hundred and twenty acres of land in the town of Sidney, on the site
of the present village of that name. This land he greatly improved,
and sold it in 1871, much of the present village of Sidney having
been built upon it since that time. About seventeen years ago Mr.
Searles moved to his present home on Liberty Street, although he
has been a resident of the village for about thirty years, leading
a retired life, and enjoying the competence he had accumulated by
many previous years of hard labor.
Mr. Searles was married, at the age of twenty-five, to Eliza Dean,
of Meredith, daughter of Nathaniel Dean, whose wife was a member of
the Porter family of that place. The marriage was a happy one; and
sixty-five years of loving companionship glided almost
imperceptibly away, until Mrs. Searles was called to another life
by silent messenger of death. Her demise occurred February 10,
1890, when she was in her eighty-seventh year. She was a faithful
wife and mother, and was ever active in works of Christian charity.
Of the four children born to Mr. and Mrs. Searles, but one is now
living. Porter D., who was born June 16, 1838. One son died in
infancy. Helen, who became the wife of William T. Bradford, died May 26, 1889, at the age of sixty-one. And another daughter, Sarah,
died September 8, 1846, when she was nine years of age.
In earlier years Mr. Searles was a member of the New York State
militia, and rose from the ranks to the office of Major. In spite
of his great age, he still retains possession of all his faculties;
and few men as old as he can boast of better health or fewer
infirmities. Like a sturdy oak, he has weathered the storms of many
winters; and, with an almost phenomenal memory, he can look back
and from the scenes and events of his earlier years draw forth for the benefit of the younger generation many interesting reminiscences and characteristic anecdotes The vigor of his green old age may be some measure ascribed to the fact that he has all his life been a man of singular temperance, having always abstained from the use of tobacco and alcoholic drinks, though in his early days total abstinence was a thing almost unknown, and drinking the rule among all classes. It would be well for the younger generation if Mr. Searles's example were more widely imitated. It is not impossible that he may live to be pointed out with local pride as "the centenarian" of Delaware County, and thus see the dawn of a new and glorious century, full of hope and promise to the children of men.
JOHN E. NEWKIRK
, of Roxbury, N.Y., a prominent business man and citizen of that place, is descended from a very old family of "genuine Knickerbockers", his early ancestors having come from Holland and settled in New York nearly two and a half centuries age. His great-grandfather , Dr. Jacob Newkirk, who was of the fifth generation of Newkirks in this country, was born in Ulster County, N.Y., March 17, 1750. He was one of the first physicians in that place, and was very successful in his profession. The last years of his life were spent in Greene County, where he died in 1833. In 1778 he married Anna Person, and had two children-a daughter, Catherine, who married Abram A. Salisbury; and a son, John Person Newkirk, who was born in Greene County, April 30, 1780, in the midst of the Revolutionary War. John P. Newkirk was a physician and a merchant; and throughout his life he was , like his father, a member of the Dutch Reformed church. when he was twenty-two years old, he contracted marriage with Catherine Salisbury, who bore him these children; namely Adram Hasbrouck, Jacob, Ann, Catherine, Willaim, Caroline, Mary, and Harriet. His death occurred February 17, 1855; but his wife survived him eleven years. Jacob Newkiek, the second son of John P. Newkirk, was born in Carskill, Greene County, February 22, 1806. Like his grandfather, whose name he bore, he chose the medical profession, and was very successful in his practice. He studied with the famous Dr. King, of Cairo, N.Y. More than sixty years ago, Dr. Jacob Newkirk, second, commenced his practice in Roxbury, where he remained to the day of his death. He was always a very prominent citizen, growing up with the town, and identified at all times with its progress. When he settled here, the district was little more than a wilderness; no roads had been thoroughly cleared, and his patients lived some distance apart. His first visits were made on foot, or on horseback, conditions under which few physicians of the present day have to labor. Sometimes in the middle of the night, and obliged to ride several miles through rain or snow to attend an urgent case, his profession was no sinecure. Yet he lived to a good old age, being eighty-eight at his death, which occurred August 13, 1894. His wife was Deborah M. Burhans. They had two children, one of whom, William S. Newkirk, is now dead.
John E. Newkirk, the survivingson of Dr. Jacob and Deborah Newkirk, was born January 15, 1838. He received an excellent education at Roxbury Academy and Delaware Institute, where he was graduated. At the age of eighteen he accepted a position as clerk for Mr. H. Burhans. After holding this position two years, he started a hardware business with his brother William, buying the establishment of Edward Burhans; and for six years they carried the business on under the name of J. E. & W. S. Newkirk. At the end of that time he bought out his brother's share, and has since run the establishment alone, except one year in which his son was a partner. He has built up a flourishing business, and has a large patronage. In addition to his hardawre business, he also has an extensive plumbing trade, and has a large tin-shop.
He married Sarah C. Harter, of Herkimer County, where her father was a well-to-do farmer, who has since retired. Mrs. Sarah C. Newkirk died at the age of thirty-four, leaving five children, namely; Frank H. Newkirk, who is a train-dispatcher on the West Shore Railroad; William, who lives in Nebraska, where he is engaged in a prosperous insurance business; Jane, who married Mr. H.C. Londyear, and now lives at Pine Hill, in Ulster County; and Minnie and Margaret, who live at home. Mr. Newkirk has three grandchildren; John Jacob Newkirk, son of Frank H. Newkirk, who married Florence Fisher; and Frank H. and Sarah D. Longyear, the children of his daughter Jane.
Since the death of his first wife Mr. Newkirk has married again, his second wife being Josephine McGregor, the daughter of John McGregor, formerly of Hobart, N.Y. Mr. Newkirk is a long-life Democrat, and has held the office of Supervisor and Town Clerk in Roxbury. He belongs to several orders and lodges, is a prominent Mason, and is one of the most popular and respected citizens of the town. Mrs. Newkirk is a communicant of St Peter's Church [Episcopal] in Hobart.
SALMON HARRISON MATHEWSON
is a highly intelligent farmer of the town of Masonville, a man who reads the papers and takes a keen interest in matters and events of the day, especially in things that make for social progress and individual improvement. His native place was McDonough, Chenango County, N.Y., where he was born September 22, 1826. His parents, Daniel and Sarah [Darling] Mathewson, were born in Rhode Island, in the town of Gloucester, since called Burrillsville. Joshua Mathewson, his paternal grandfather, was the son of an early settler of Rhode Island, who lived to the rare old age of one hundred and three years and nine months. Joshua was a farmer, and owned seven hundred acres of "Little Rhody's" few thousands and was accounted a man of wealth in his day. His homestead was in Burrillsville, where he died at an advanced age, having reared six children. In religion he was liberal.
Daniel Mathewson owned a small farm in Burrillsville, where he married and had a family before he decided to move westward. He came with his wife and children to Chenango County, New York, about eighty-eight years age, making the trip with a covered wagon, a pair of horses and a yoke of oxen, bringing their household goods and provisions, and driving a cow. They tarried a little while at Norwich before coming to McDonough, where they settled. Mr. Mathewson bought about two hundred acres. About one-tenth was cleared, the rest in a wild state and for the most part thickly wooded, and abounding in bears,deer, and smaller animals, also wolves, which were far too numerous for the comfort and safety of domestic fowls and animals without the greatest precaution. The nearest market was Norwich and Oxford. Mr. Mathewson was a thrifty woodsman, and used his axe to good purpose, clearing his land, disposing of the timber by burning it in piles and manufacturing potash of the ashes, which he bartered for merchandise. The stores as well as the mill to which the grain must be carried to be ground were at a great distance from the home.
Mr. Mathewson died in 1852, at sixty-eight years of age. His wife, surviving him nine years, died in 1861, at seventy-eight. She was in early life in Rhode Island, and also in New York, a member of the Free Will Baptist church; while her husband was a Universalist in religious belief. In politics he was a Whig. Their ten children grew to manhood and womanhood. Three of them are now living, namely; Mestapha Mathewson, a retired farmer in the town of Cortland, Cortland County, N. Y.; S. Harrison Mathewson, a farmer in Masonville; Edilda Freeman, widow of the late Fitz Henry Freeman, lives in Montague, Mass. Julia E. Baldwin died in 1872; Hope died at thirty-four years of age; Daniel P. died at sixty-four years; Mary Franklin died at thirty-nine; Windsor died July 3, 1873; and Russell R. was killed while lumbering in Cameron, Steuben County, aged thirty-six years. S. Harrison Mathewson received his elementary education in the district school at McDonough, and afterward pursued more advanced studies in select schools, and in the Norwich Academy. He lived at home with his parents, assisting his father in farm work when not attending school, till nineteen years old, when he began life on his own account by working out on the farm of Mr. Batchelor, of McDonough, for four months at nine dollars per month. After a year of work as a farm laborer, he went to Rhode Island and engaged himself to Messes. Eddy and Jesse Potter, contractors and builders, to learn the carpenter's trade. He remained with them six years, receiving for the first year seven dollars per month and board, and in the latter part of the time having full wages of a skilled mechanic. Returning to McDonough, he there followed his trade for five years. He also in that time took to himself a wife. The following year, in the spring of 1857, they removed to Delaware County, and on April 3 took up their abode on the farm in Masonville, where he has continued to live to the present day. To his original purchase of one hundred and twenty-six acres he has added fifty-six, making one hundred and eighty-two in his home farm. Besides this he owns fifty acres in Tompkins. That Mr. Mathewson has been unwearied in his improvements in the thirty-seven years in which he has occupied his homestead is evident from the fact that he has summoned his neighbors no less than twelve times to assist "raising." The number and excellence of his buildings abundantly attest his skill in carpentry. He keeps a dairy of about twenty head of native cattle, and is a shareholder in the O.K. Creamery, in which he has one-fourth interest.
Mr. Mathewson was married on January 29. 1856, to Susan F. Randall, who was born in Masonville, March 13, 1837, daughter of Hezekiah A. and Eliza A. [Moody] Randall. Her grand-mother, Ichabod Randall, was an early settler of the town, who lived on the farm which is the home of Mr. Mathewson. Ornan Randall, brotherof Ichabod, was the first settler here, and built the original log house on the farm. Mrs. Mathewson's father was a representative farmer of his day. His wife died in McDonough, at forty-eight years of age. He died at the home of his daughter, Mrs. Mattewson, May 24, 1877, at sixty-six years of age. They were Presbyterian in religion, and Mr. Randall was a Democrat in ploitics. Of their eight children, four are now living.
Mr. Mathewson and his wife Susan reared four children, namely; Russell R., born September 29, 1858, was a teacher in early manhood, now lives in Binghamton; Flora Austin, born January 16, 1857, was also a teacher, now wife of Alexander Austin, of Masonville; Homer Mathewson, born July 26, 1870, a former teacher, now a farmer on the home farm; Jessie, formerly a teacher, born November 7, 1871, also lives at home. Mrs. Susan Mathewson died in Masonville, September 15, 1884. On January 9, 1886, Mr. Mathewson was married to Mrs. Eliza Case, whose maiden name was De Forest, who was born in Unadilla, N.Y., and who died September 19, 1893. She was a member of the Methodist Episcopal church, of which Mr. Mathewson has been a member for thirty- five years, holding various offices, as class leader, Steward, and Trustee. He was also Sunday-school superintendent for five years. He is of a deeply religious nature, and leads an exemplary Christian life.
Industrious, sagacious, and prudent; Mr. Mathewson has been financially successful in his various undertakings. His residence is a comely dwelling, fronted by a beautiful lawn sloping to the highway, conveniently and tastefully furnished and arranged as to home comforts and the exercise of generous hospitality. In politics Mr. Mathewson is a stanch Republician.
is a retired dairy farmer in comfortable circumstances, now living at Bovina Centre. He was born in Roxburghshire, Scotland, and came to america in 1845 with his parents, James and Charlotte [Armstrong] Graham. He has in his veins some of the gallant blood of the Scotch Highlanders of the olden days, inheriting it from his grandfather, Thomas Graham. James Graham held an important position in his native land of thistle and heather, having charge of a large landed estate. Four weeks from the day that he left Scotland he moved into his home in Bovina, wither he had come and purchased a farm. The following spring he bought a tract of three hundred and twenty acres of brush-covered land near Delhi, and it was a work of time and patience to get it into a state of productiveness. This farm was bought on credit, and by dint of good management the elder Graham met his payments as they became due, until there was no further debt, and he was sole and undisputed possessor. He was a Republician in politics, and an active worker and generous supporter of the First Presbyterian Church in Delhi, of which his wife was also a member. He died at the age of sixty-five years, his wife living to be seventy-four. Of their eight children, two sons, James and Thomas, are dead. The six living are Frank, the central figure of this family group portrait: Robert, a grocer in Canada: Beatrice, the widow of Robert Gow, in Bovina Centre; Walter, who lives at the home place in Delhi; Margaret, who married John Middlemast, and is a widow in Delhi; and Elliot, a farmer in Andes. Frank was a lad of sixteen when his father came to America, and had received his schooling in Scotland. For several years he worked out by the month , his first month's earnings amounted to only four dollars; and his largest yearly payment was one hundred and fifty dollars. In spite of his poor wages, he practised such close economy and self-denial that he was able after some years to buy a farm of one hundred and twenty-six acres near Delhi. Here he made dairy-farming a specialty. Besides some thirty head of cattle, he had some very fine full-blooded sheep. He had a good farm, and was a practical and successful farmer.
In 1858 he joined in wedlock to Mary Wright, a daughter of Matthew and Mary Elliot Wright. The parents of Mrs. Graham were among the early settlers of Delhi, and were also Scotch. Only one child crowned this marriage of Frank and Mary Graham, a rosebud born to bloom in heaven; for the daughter whose coming had awakened such joyful anticipation died in infancy. In 1890 Mr. Graham moved to Bovina Centre, where he now has a handsome residence in progress of erection. He has been an efficient worker in the Presbyterian church, to which communion his wife also belonged; and he has always been a loyal Republician. Mrs. Graham died at her home in Bovina Centre, September 14, 1894. With the accumulation of worldly possessions, official care has come; and Frank Graham has been for some years Assessor and member of the Excise Board, and is now Justice of the Peace in Bovina, where he is held in high regard as an upright man and a useful citizen.
Index to Biographical Review
This website is held in trust by Joyce Riedinger for the use of all Delaware County Researchers
© copyright 1996-2014